243 Pages « < 16 17 18 19 20 > » Bottom

Working in Australia, Experiences working in Australia.

jskf01
post Feb 22 2012, 07:52 PM

79 posts

QUOTE(darkhorse_86 @ Feb 22 2012, 09:22 PM)
Dear all,
After much anticipation and waiting, i have finally got my PR valid for 5 years to reside in australia. I would like to ask for the people who are there at the moment, which areas have job vacancies/ opportunities at the moment? I am from a finance/banking background, having a degree in accounting/finance and have banking experience. Thanks.
Congrats am glad to hear that! I suggest you come over immediately if you are not already here. As someone else already said, start looking on SEEK and see what is available. Your field is very competitive therefore resume and cover letter must be very good. I would suggest start applying in Sydney and Melb first. Do you know where you will be residing yet. If you have no pref then just apply all states and see what happens.
static
post Feb 25 2012, 10:57 AM

782 posts

Most of them wouldn't reply if you're not in Aus (personal experience) and without an Aussie number. Most of the banking/finance jobs offered to me were based in Sydney but I wanted Melbourne since most of the family are here. Luckily got hired on the 2nd week as the dollar was quite high at that time! It depends which area you're in, most of the IT banking related stuff, I believe most of them are based in Melb. Good luck!
mercury8400
post Feb 25 2012, 01:35 PM

2,703 posts

QUOTE(divine061 @ Feb 10 2012, 03:22 PM)
Watch the news. Westpac cut job, was it 600? And ANZ let go of 1000? (don't really recall which two banks, but I am pretty sure about the number). Both just happened within last few months ... HSBC is cutting people worldwide. All big 4s are crying about losses if interest rate is cut ... So unless you are the CEO who are still taking in millions of bonuses each year, tell me if it will be easy?
Got an insider news that ANZ could lay off as many as 3000 people in Aus alone.....
in batches of course!

Added on February 25, 2012, 1:39 pm
QUOTE(darkhorse_86 @ Feb 22 2012, 06:22 PM)
Dear all,
After much anticipation and waiting, i have finally got my PR valid for 5 years to reside in australia. I would like to ask for the people who are there at the moment, which areas have job vacancies/ opportunities at the moment? I am from a finance/banking background, having a degree in accounting/finance and have banking experience. Thanks.
dude, no offense, but you chose the worst time to be working in Aus especially for banking....
almost all banks in Aus are laying-off people in the hundreds, and while i won't say your chances are excatly zero, but it comes close....
Personal suggestion is to let this bad storm clear-up before venturing in....
You don't want to be jobless in Aus and spending all your reserve money with no jobs in sight....

This post has been edited by mercury8400: Feb 25 2012, 01:39 PM
victoria_lucas
post Feb 25 2012, 01:41 PM

98 posts

QUOTE(mercury8400 @ Feb 25 2012, 01:35 PM)
Got an insider news that ANZ could lay off as many as 3000 people in Aus alone.....
in batches of course!

dude, no offense, but you chose the worst time to be working in Aus especially for banking....
almost all banks in Aus are laying-off people in the hundreds, and while i won't say your chances are excatly zero, but it comes close....
You don't want to be jobless in Aus and spending all your reserve money with no jobs in sight....
What about in accounting and finance industry? Any thought?

darkhorse_86
post Feb 25 2012, 05:12 PM

152 posts

QUOTE(mercury8400 @ Feb 25 2012, 01:35 PM)
in batches of course!

Thanks for the advice. Will consider this.

static
post Feb 25 2012, 07:49 PM

782 posts

The ANZ news is not insider, it's all over the newspaper here and we already knew it since last year when they laid off the first batch. They are offshoring hence cutting down on redundant roles, OR otherwise, you can move to Phils or Bangalore to keep the job... tongue.gif

It depends what your skills are, whether it is a high sought one or just an average skill. Most banks use agents here, or advertised internally (good if you have friends working within the bank). Just apply the advs in SEEK, if you get a few positive feedbacks then you're good smile.gif

This post has been edited by static: Feb 25 2012, 07:52 PM
Geminist
post Feb 28 2012, 08:15 PM

- ドSな彼女 -
2,928 posts

Hello All

I have a few questions regarding Australia which hopefully someone of you can help me with.

1) There is apparently quite a huge demand for engineering consultants in Australia, is that what you are seeing there?

2) In terms of salary, Google tells me an engineering consultant with 6 years of experience takes home about $100,000AUD a year, is this a reasonable figure?

3) For tax, I got a figure of about 30% off your gross salary, again is this about right?

4) What is the living expenses like in Sydney, assumming a normal lifestyle? For example a single bedroom/studio apartment in a decent area not too far to city, no binge drinking/smoking/partying, maybe a small car, dining out a few times a week in a normal restaurant.

annielee
post Feb 28 2012, 08:32 PM

294 posts

QUOTE(Geminist @ Feb 28 2012, 08:15 PM)
Hello All

I have a few questions regarding Australia which hopefully someone of you can help me with.

1) There is apparently quite a huge demand for engineering consultants in Australia, is that what you are seeing there?
--> what engineering u r referring to ?

2) In terms of salary, Google tells me an engineering consultant with 6 years of experience takes home about $100,000AUD a year, is this a reasonable figure?
--> hmm..dun put high hope on ur 1st job, coz u r a migrant there without local experience, but unless u got sponsored, then its a different story..

3) For tax, I got a figure of about 30% off your gross salary, again is this about right?
--> you can check with ATO for the rates, the more u earn, the more tax u have to pay..

4) What is the living expenses like in Sydney, assumming a normal lifestyle?  For example a single bedroom/studio apartment in a decent area not too far to city, no binge drinking/smoking/partying, maybe a small car, dining out a few times a week in a normal restaurant.
--> in sydney, the rent is bulk of ur expense, if u wanna stay near the city, it will be expensive,  can search in RE for some reference
This post has been edited by annielee: Feb 28 2012, 08:34 PM
ch1ng
post Mar 3 2012, 05:12 AM

Hi , i'm wondering if australia is in demand of finance ppl (audit or tax) ? Im currently an ACCA fresh graduate .
fastreader
post Mar 3 2012, 12:18 PM

4,554 posts

QUOTE(ch1ng @ Mar 3 2012, 05:12 AM)
Hi , i'm wondering if australia is in demand of finance ppl (audit or tax) ? Im currently an ACCA fresh graduate .
with zero experience?..no offense, but the best bet is for u to go to singapore and get some exp 1st..cos if fresh graduate alone, its quite hard to secure a job there...juz look at the number of finance grad tat they churn out every year... smile.gif nonetheless, can try...who knows u can b the lucky ones...
Jewelgal
post Mar 3 2012, 08:27 PM

143 posts

hi all, I would like to know is the IT industry in Australia still in demand? I have 2.5 years experiences in web applications development (using .Net) and 1 year experience as DBA (MSSQL). Also, I would like to know whether there is any possibility for me to move into BI field?

Thank you.
hihihehe
post Mar 3 2012, 09:25 PM

13,791 posts

QUOTE(Geminist @ Feb 28 2012, 11:15 PM)
Hello All

4) What is the living expenses like in Sydney, assumming a normal lifestyle?  For example a single bedroom/studio apartment in a decent area not too far to city, no binge drinking/smoking/partying, maybe a small car, dining out a few times a week in a normal restaurant.
1. from my opinion, yes. but most of the engineering jobs located in suburb

2. i would say that pretty average and it depends whether your experience useful in australia or not.

3. this website says it all(of course not 100% accurate) http://www.paycalculator.com.au/

4. let me make a rough guess. $700-800 per month for rental, $200-$300 per month for petrol(depends too), $300-$400 for foods and groceries per month

QUOTE(Jewelgal @ Mar 3 2012, 11:27 PM)
hi all, I would like to know is the IT industry in Australia still in demand? I have 2.5 years experiences in web applications development (using .Net) and 1 year experience as DBA (MSSQL). Also, I would like to know whether there is any possibility for me to move into BI field?

Thank you.
again, most of the IT jobs here prefer experience from australia rather than oversea especially malaysia but better than nothing though. 3 years experience is standard requirement to enter IT industry here but not consider as senior yet(and of course depends on the company)
Jewelgal
post Mar 3 2012, 10:12 PM

143 posts

QUOTE(hihihehe @ Mar 3 2012, 09:25 PM)

again, most of the IT jobs here prefer experience from australia rather than oversea especially malaysia but better than nothing though. 3 years experience is standard requirement to enter IT industry here but not consider as senior yet(and of course depends on the company)
Hi, mind to share why malaysians are not preferred?
hihihehe
post Mar 3 2012, 10:16 PM

13,791 posts

QUOTE(Jewelgal @ Mar 4 2012, 01:12 AM)
Hi, mind to share why malaysians are not preferred?
not really "recognised" although the theory is same?

anyway, they will prefer local experience and non-local always at behind unless they having tight budget.

This post has been edited by hihihehe: Mar 3 2012, 10:17 PM
Raitama
post Mar 4 2012, 02:01 AM

200 posts

got recruiter from aus contact me ask me interview for a position, they said willing to sponsor me visa. want to check how does the visa work? how long i need to work there to be eligible for PR so I can set up my own company in aus? thx
divine061
post Mar 4 2012, 09:56 AM

256 posts

QUOTE(Geminist @ Feb 28 2012, 08:15 PM)
Hello All

1) Depending on which engineering

2) Depending on which engineering. 100k gross is possible, but unlikely for new immigrant

3) Just google it

4) single bedroom can be between 350 to 500 per week, just go www.domain.com.au
Food court is less then $10, but only city's food court open in the night. Eating out on take away food is about $10 per person. Dining out can be $20 ~ $40 per person. You can find cheaper food in city, western and eastern suburbs. I'm staying in the north and dining out is more expensive.

Added on March 4, 2012, 9:57 am
QUOTE(Jewelgal @ Mar 3 2012, 08:27 PM)

Thank you.
The trend everywhere is to outsource especially in Australia where the currency is strong. It is not impossible to look for a job, but it will be much harder.

This post has been edited by divine061: Mar 4 2012, 09:57 AM
Mirror_man
post Mar 6 2012, 10:56 AM

78 posts

QUOTE(Raitama @ Mar 4 2012, 02:01 AM)
got recruiter from aus contact me ask me interview for a position, they said willing to sponsor me visa. want to check how does the visa work? how long i need to work there to be eligible for PR so I can set up my own company in aus? thx
Hi Raitama,

Great for you! Based on the IMMI website the work visas take 2-4 months... =)

Added on March 6, 2012, 10:59 am
QUOTE(Jewelgal @ Mar 3 2012, 08:27 PM)

Thank you.
I had small chat with my agent a couple of weeks back and apparent melbourne still has need of ICT professionals. Just last week they posted a link about ACT needing IT professionals... you can follow the news on their FB page..

i think IT is easy to move since it's the same anywhere... but like marketing, accounting and others you need to learn how the market works first..

Added on March 6, 2012, 11:01 am
QUOTE(ch1ng @ Mar 3 2012, 05:12 AM)
You will be trying to apply without a PR? I think would be hard.. i have frenz who spent 4-5 yrs in big 4 also can't get a transfer to Aust.. but if you have PR first then it's different...

This post has been edited by Mirror_man: Mar 6 2012, 11:01 AM
ben3003
post Mar 7 2012, 03:15 PM

10,859 posts

is it possible for a materials engineer who specialize in metallurgy to work in australia, esp in their OnG and mining industry?
bossnass15
post Mar 7 2012, 03:41 PM

Veni, Vidi, Vici
1,188 posts

QUOTE(Raitama @ Mar 4 2012, 02:01 AM)
I got my 457 visa in 2 months...in the SAP industry btw..
To be eligible for PR you can either apply yourself (Rules are tightening this July, SAP is no longer on the CSL) or get the company to sponsor your PR after some time.

mercury8400
post Mar 7 2012, 04:17 PM

2,703 posts

In my opinion, for those that already secured a job, by all means feel free to relocate to Aus...but for those who have yet to get a job, thinking by getting a PR and getting there physically to find a job, please don't. Unless you have very deep pockets.

243 Pages « < 16 17 18 19 20 > » Top

0.0255sec    1.09    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 18th December 2025 - 07:04 PM