243 Pages « < 126 127 128 129 130 > » Bottom

Working in Australia, Experiences working in Australia.

segamatboy
post Jan 2 2014, 04:11 AM

637 posts

Are you one of those who think employers should only hire students with the best grades and work experience is irrelevant???
It's Xmas break. Was shopping in Chinatown recently. Guess what??? Tuition centres were open. There were young men/women. Must be Chinese or Asian beliefs to get a head start or get better grades. I kept wondering if work experiences ever cross their minds??? Do they think employers will hire people with little or no work experiences ???

QUOTE(Nemesis1980 @ Dec 31 2013, 11:36 AM)
Very indeed. Some employer really piss me off. I dunno wat's inside their brain, $hit?!? vmad.gif
Nemesis1980
post Jan 2 2014, 09:44 AM

1,066 posts

QUOTE(segamatboy @ Jan 2 2014, 04:11 AM)
Are you one of those  who think employers should only hire students with the best grades and work experience is irrelevant???
It's Xmas break. Was shopping in Chinatown recently. Guess what??? Tuition centres were open. There were young men/women. Must be Chinese or Asian beliefs to get a head start or get better grades. I kept wondering if work experiences ever cross their minds??? Do they think employers will hire people with little or no work experiences ???
Well, I'm not that type of person who only emphasize academic. My point is some employer when they try to appoint fresh graduate and requires 1-2 years experience is retarded! They just want to save their money, pay u peanuts. Straight away just say employ fresh graduate or employ some1 with 1-2 years exp.

As for fresh graduate, need to get the apprentice position or industrial training 6-12mths. Forget about the high pay. It's tough but this is the process that need to go thru.
I always believe working experience is greater than academic coz I walked thru that process.

My company last time came in a Malaysian who apply for marketing. He's a fresh graduate and request 80k + commission + allowance. doh.gif
I think he's come from rich family. We offer him far lesser like 50k + commision + allowance as no working experience here. He just walk away
immabee
post Jan 2 2014, 05:50 PM

260 posts

QUOTE(Nemesis1980 @ Jan 2 2014, 09:44 AM)
My company last time came in a Malaysian who apply for marketing. He's a fresh graduate and request 80k + commission + allowance.  doh.gif
I think he's come from rich family. We offer him far lesser like 50k + commision + allowance as no working experience here. He just walk away
If your company is still searching, I can recommend a friend of mine in Perth smile.gif . Am sure he's willing to work hard for this.
hihihehe
post Jan 2 2014, 06:55 PM

13,799 posts

QUOTE(segamatboy @ Jan 2 2014, 03:53 AM)
Do unis have student employment offices on campus??  Does OZ gov't operates youth/student employment offices?? During your student years, did you work during holiday/summer breaks??  Btw...can foreign students work in OZ during their student years??
They do. I worked in university and many high school students and TAFE students were assigned to out department to see the real work life. This can take up to 12 months for TAFE students but just few weeks for high school student. The TAFE students have opportunities to work in the same company after graduate if they perform well

QUOTE(Nemesis1980 @ Jan 2 2014, 09:44 AM)
Well, I'm not that type of person who only emphasize academic. My point is some employer when they try to appoint fresh graduate and requires 1-2 years experience is retarded! They just want to save their money, pay u peanuts. Straight away just say employ fresh graduate or employ some1 with 1-2 years exp.

As for fresh graduate, need to get the apprentice position or industrial training 6-12mths. Forget about the high pay. It's tough but this is the process that need to go thru.
I always believe working experience is greater than academic coz I walked thru that process.

My company last time came in a Malaysian who apply for marketing. He's a fresh graduate and request 80k + commission + allowance.  doh.gif
If your company can provide work sponsorship, my gf is the best candidate for the Marketing role. brows.gif
ryant3
post Jan 2 2014, 08:26 PM

1,268 posts

Anyone currently based at Adelaide?
Nemesis1980
post Jan 3 2014, 03:14 PM

1,066 posts

QUOTE(immabee @ Jan 2 2014, 05:50 PM)
If your company is still searching, I can recommend a friend of mine in Perth  smile.gif . Am sure he's willing to work hard for this.
Sorry, the position has been taken few months back. A Sri Lankan girl fresh graduate.

ryant3
post Jan 4 2014, 12:40 PM

1,268 posts

Hi guys, I plan to apply VISA subclass 189/190 on my own. From what I understand, these are the steps that I have to go through. Please do correct me if I'm wrong in any of the below

1. Read DIAC website on interested VISA type (subclass 189/190 for me)
2. Find your occupation from skillselect
3. Get your skills assessed (mine is by ACS since I'm in IT and currently at this stage), prepare educational certs, company employment reference letter and get them certified by MOHE/Notary Public
4. Take the IELTS exam
5. Submit EOI
6. EOI approve then submit VISA application for subclass 189(12months) / 190(6months)

Anything that I missed out?

This post has been edited by ryant3: Jan 4 2014, 12:41 PM
sunblaze
post Jan 4 2014, 07:06 PM

107 posts

QUOTE(ryant3 @ Jan 4 2014, 12:40 PM)
Hi guys, I plan to apply VISA subclass 189/190 on my own. From what I understand, these are the steps that I have to go through. Please do correct me if I'm wrong in any of the below

1. Read DIAC website on interested VISA type (subclass 189/190 for me)
2. Find your occupation from skillselect
3. Get your skills assessed (mine is by ACS since I'm in IT and currently at this stage), prepare educational certs, company employment reference letter and get them certified by MOHE/Notary Public
4. Take the IELTS exam
5. Submit EOI
6. EOI approve then submit VISA application for subclass 189(12months) / 190(6months)

Anything that I missed out?
Yep, you got it right smile.gif

immabee
post Jan 5 2014, 12:16 AM

260 posts

QUOTE(Nemesis1980 @ Jan 3 2014, 03:14 PM)
Sorry, the position has been taken few months back. A Sri Lankan girl fresh graduate.
Thanks Nemesis. Good on her. smile.gif
jin06
post Jan 5 2014, 09:20 PM

34 posts

what's the chance for a fresh grad in BSc Biotechnology (graduated from a UK uni) to get a job in Australia?? Any feedback is appreciated!
Nemesis1980
post Jan 13 2014, 03:17 PM

1,066 posts

QUOTE(jin06 @ Jan 5 2014, 09:20 PM)
what's the chance for a fresh grad in BSc Biotechnology (graduated from a UK uni) to get a job in Australia?? Any feedback is appreciated!
Check SOL 1st. Not impossible unless you try
teikwing
post Jan 19 2014, 05:24 PM

Dah Macan?
3,239 posts

Hi all,

This may not be directly related to working in Australia but would like to seek opinions from those who are already there.

Me & my wifey is planning to migrate to OZ in the next 12-18 months and is planning to go over via the PR route aka subclass 187. I am a banker myself (occupation not on SOL) while wifey is a chartered accountant and her job is on the SOL.

Basically, both of us went over to Rayford last week for consultation and it seems that our chances are bright. Both of us scored over 65 points under the mock test points system. Agent advised us to lodge application through wifey and once she gotten her PR, she in turn will sponsor me as a spouse. Total costs involved is about AUD10k for both of us, which includes all fees from skills assessment (6 months), EOI (2-6 months), invitation to apply (4-6 months) and sponsorship of spouse. Our first step now is to sit for IELTS exam and study hard enough that both of us score a band 7-8.

Now, my question is:

1) Given our qualifications above, how likely is that my wife will be selected/invited to apply? Agent seemed very optimistic and claimed that with decent points + occupation in SOL, very high chance. Planning to seek second opinion through another migration agent (probably Global Migrations or Migration Avenue) but asking based on those who went through the same route, what is the likelihood of being selected?

The reason why I'm asking is that both of us do not want to waste our time/hard-earned money should the chances are just 50-50 or even lower. Knowing that it is very competitive out there, probably tons of applicants with same points and qualifications trying to apply as well.

Our secondary choice is Singapore, which PR application is much more straight-forward (cost less as well) and easier to score jobs for both of us.
hihihehe
post Jan 19 2014, 07:12 PM

13,799 posts

QUOTE(teikwing @ Jan 19 2014, 05:24 PM)
Hi all,

This may not be directly related to working in Australia but would like to seek opinions from those who are already there.

Me & my wifey is planning to migrate to OZ in the next 12-18 months and is planning to go over via the PR route aka subclass 187. I am a banker myself (occupation not on SOL) while wifey is a chartered accountant and her job is on the SOL.

Basically, both of us went over to Rayford last week for consultation and it seems that our chances are bright. Both of us scored over 65 points under the mock test points system. Agent advised us to lodge application through wifey and once she gotten her PR, she in turn will sponsor me as a spouse. Total costs involved is about AUD10k for both of us, which includes all fees from skills assessment (6 months), EOI (2-6 months), invitation to apply (4-6 months) and sponsorship of spouse. Our first step now is to sit for IELTS exam and study hard enough that both of us score a band 7-8.

Now, my question is:

1) Given our qualifications above, how likely is that my wife will be selected/invited to apply? Agent seemed very optimistic and claimed that with decent points + occupation in SOL, very high chance. Planning to seek second opinion through another migration agent (probably Global Migrations or Migration Avenue) but asking based on those who went through the same route, what is the likelihood of being selected?

The reason why I'm asking is that both of us do not want to waste our time/hard-earned money should the chances are just 50-50 or even lower. Knowing that it is very competitive out there, probably tons of applicants with same points and qualifications trying to apply as well.

Our secondary choice is Singapore, which PR application is much more straight-forward (cost less as well) and easier to score jobs for both of us.
Can you describe the 65 points that you are getting? Age, Occupation,etc...

Given that you and your wife are legally married then I don't see the point of your wife lodge the application first then only sponsor you. Both can be done in the same application,same time, and same cost. THis is what they called de facto application.

There is no cost of submitting EOI. Actually both of you can do the application without going through the agent. The step is same as what ryant3 mentioned but you just have to prove both of you are legally married which is easy enough.

Again, list out the points and the criteria you met
teikwing
post Jan 19 2014, 07:46 PM

Dah Macan?
3,239 posts

QUOTE(hihihehe @ Jan 19 2014, 07:12 PM)
Can you describe the 65 points that you are getting? Age, Occupation,etc...

Given that you and your wife are legally married then I don't see the point of your wife lodge the application first then only sponsor you. Both can be done in the same application,same time, and same cost. THis is what they called de facto application.

There is no cost of submitting EOI. Actually both of you can do the application without going through the agent. The step is same as what ryant3 mentioned but you just have to prove both of you are legally married which is easy enough.

Again, list out the points and the criteria you met
Hi hihihehe,

Thanks for the swift reply. Correction on my earlier post (after double-checking my points sheet). Wife scored 65, while I scored 55 (below minimum requirement of 60pts). Below are points scored individually:

Qualification - Bachelor's Degree = 15pts (Same for both)
English ability - IELTS (assuming B7 minimum) = 10pts (Same for both)
Age - 25-32 yrs old = 30pts (Same for both)
Work experience outside Australia - 5yrs = 10pts (Wife only. 0 for me as job not listed under SOL.)
Australian work experience - Nil = 0pts (Same for both)
Australian qualification - Nil = 0pts (Same for both)

Hence the reason why we were advised to apply under my wife, unless I am able to score a B8 for IELTS which will boost up my score to 65pts. But still, with my current occupation not listed under SOL, we were informed that my chances are slim.

Back to my first question in my earlier post, what are the chances of being selected to apply for a PR, assuming one's points is well above the minimum requirement of 60pts (assuming 65-75pts)?

hihihehe
post Jan 19 2014, 09:16 PM

13,799 posts

QUOTE(teikwing @ Jan 19 2014, 07:46 PM)
Hi hihihehe,

Thanks for the swift reply. Correction on my earlier post (after double-checking my points sheet). Wife scored 65, while I scored 55 (below minimum requirement of 60pts). Below are points scored individually:

Work experience outside Australia - 5yrs = 10pts (Wife only. 0 for me as job not listed under SOL.)

Hence the reason why we were advised to apply under my wife, unless I am able to score a B8 for IELTS which will boost up my score to 65pts. But still, with my current occupation not listed under SOL, we were informed that my chances are slim.

Back to my first question in my earlier post, what are the chances of being selected to apply for a PR, assuming one's points is well above the minimum requirement of 60pts (assuming 65-75pts)?
If your wife is a primary applicant then you don't have to meet 60 points.

You can include the following people in your visa application:

your partner (married or de facto)
your or your partner’s dependent children
other dependent relatives.
These family members must meet the requirements for including family members in your application. The application must include documentary evidence of their relationship to you.

Your family members must be able to show that they meet health and character requirements.

You can add your partner and dependent children to your application at any time until your visa is decided

http://www.immi.gov.au/Visas/Pages/189.aspx

60 points is the minimum but of course the higher the better so that your application will be given priority(fast processing) than the lower points.

If you able to meet 60 points and above and no issue with your police and medical check then the chance is very very high. I would suggest you to do skill assessment first and see if the occupation matched the SOL.
ryant3
post Jan 19 2014, 09:43 PM

1,268 posts

QUOTE(teikwing @ Jan 19 2014, 07:46 PM)
Hi hihihehe,

Hi teikwing, I'm going through the same thing as you are, only difference is I'm going solo and is in the IT industry.

I'm doing it by myself instead of via an agent because their service charges will leave me with nothing to spend if I ever step foot on Aussie soil (about 200% of what you're paying for if you do it yourself).

I have submitted my skills for assessment by the Australian Computer Association and paid AU$450 for it and they expect us to wait 3 months for the results. This portion is quite tedious as you need to get your photocopied certificate of all your relevant qualifications certified by MOHE or notary public only then you can submit for skills assessment

I have also scheduled my IELTS exam next month

I will have to wait for my skills to be assessed and deemed suitable for the SOL that I have applied for only then I can submit EOI

Like what hihihehe said, get your skills assessed first before anything else.

At the end of the day it will cost me about 13k (visa AU$3500, skills assessment AU$450, IELTS RM610, etc ie certification of certs by notary public)
ryant3
post Jan 19 2014, 10:25 PM

1,268 posts

Dear hihihehe, would like to ask you a question.

Since I'm in the midst of getting my skills assessed, and will probably only get to lodge the VISA application some time around April - June. Subsequently will take another 12 months or so to get it approved.

I'm planning to apply for work and holiday VISA in March as its approval takes a shorter time. Will doing this affect my long term VISA application? In the Subclass 189 page it says that I can be in or out of Aus when the VISA is granted. Does that mean I can hold 2 valid VISAs at the period when the long term VISA is granted?
teikwing
post Jan 19 2014, 10:48 PM

Dah Macan?
3,239 posts

QUOTE(hihihehe @ Jan 19 2014, 09:16 PM)
If your wife is a primary applicant then you don't have to meet 60 points.
http://www.immi.gov.au/Visas/Pages/189.aspx

60 points is the minimum but of course the higher the better so that your application will be given priority(fast processing) than the lower points.

If you able to meet 60 points and above and no issue with your police and medical check then the chance is very very high. I would suggest you to do skill assessment first and see if the occupation matched the SOL.
Noted and thanks. That's what I was told by the agent as well. Planning to submit docs for assessment by end of the month. IELTS scheduled for early March.

QUOTE(ryant3 @ Jan 19 2014, 09:43 PM)
Hi teikwing, I'm going through the same thing as you are, only difference is I'm going solo and is in the IT industry.

I'm doing it by myself instead of via an agent because their service charges will leave me with nothing to spend if I ever step foot on Aussie soil (about 200% of what you're paying for if you do it yourself).

I have submitted my skills for assessment by the Australian Computer Association and paid AU$450 for it and they expect us to wait 3 months for the results. This portion is quite tedious as you need to get your photocopied certificate of all your relevant qualifications certified by MOHE or notary public only then you can submit for skills assessment

I have also scheduled my IELTS exam next month

I will have to wait for my skills to be assessed and deemed suitable for the SOL that I have applied for only then I can submit EOI

Like what hihihehe said, get your skills assessed first before anything else.

At the end of the day it will cost me about 13k (visa AU$3500, skills assessment AU$450, IELTS RM610, etc ie certification of certs by notary public)
Hi ryant3. Thanks for sharing. MYR13k is less than half of what I gonna have to pay. Prolly go for the DIY route if I can find the time. Significant savings there. Care to share the process on how did you get your skills assessed?
ryant3
post Jan 19 2014, 11:35 PM

1,268 posts

QUOTE(teikwing @ Jan 19 2014, 10:48 PM)
Noted and thanks. That's what I was told by the agent as well. Planning to submit docs for assessment by end of the month. IELTS scheduled for early March.
Hi ryant3. Thanks for sharing. MYR13k is less than half of what I gonna have to pay. Prolly go for the DIY route if I can find the time. Significant savings there. Care to share the process on how did you get your skills assessed?
teikwing, since your wife is a chartered accountant, the assessing authority will be CPA Australia or 2 other assessing authorities as mentioned here:

http://www.immi.gov.au/asri/occupations/a/...eneral.htm#SKIA

go to CPA website, read and understand carefully what you need to prepare:

http://www.cpaaustralia.com.au/become-a-cp...tion-assessment

As for my case, I submitted the docs to ACS online. They have a page dedicated for migration skills assessment so it's pretty straight forward. What's difficult is preparing the documents. You really need time to prepare them. The documents involved were:
- Passport
- Academic qualifications (Bachelor's and Diploma degree certificate, transcript detailing the subjects, CGPA confirmation transcript)
- Other professional certificates (relevant ones)
- Company reference letter (sample letter by ACS). I wrote a letter based on the sample detailing my everyday tasks and responsibilities and got my boss to sign it

All documents above have to be certified true copy by Notary Public with a fee of about RM50 per document except of academic qualifications, which can be certified true copy at Ministry of Higher Education for free but be prepared to spend half day at MOHE.

Once you've got all the stamps/chops/seals needed for all your copied documents, scan them, upload them and pay for the assessment. Next is to wait and pray
hihihehe
post Jan 19 2014, 11:40 PM

13,799 posts

QUOTE(ryant3 @ Jan 19 2014, 10:25 PM)
Dear hihihehe, would like to ask you a question.

Since I'm in the midst of getting my skills assessed, and will probably only get to lodge the VISA application some time around April - June. Subsequently will take another 12 months or so to get it approved.

I'm planning to apply for work and holiday VISA in March as its approval takes a shorter time. Will doing this affect my long term VISA application? In the Subclass 189 page it says that I can be in or out of Aus when the VISA is granted. Does that mean I can hold 2 valid VISAs at the period when the long term VISA is granted?
I wouldn't do that as it will complicate the application and moreover immigration is hard to deal with. If you are not holding any Australian visa at the moment then just go for 1 application only.

QUOTE(teikwing @ Jan 19 2014, 10:48 PM)
Just get a reference letter from your company to prove your experience and duties. You can get the template from skill assessment authority and amend it. Make sure there is a company letterhead in the letter

243 Pages « < 126 127 128 129 130 > » Top

0.0240sec    0.92    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 22nd December 2025 - 07:50 PM