243 Pages « < 11 12 13 14 15 > » Bottom

Working in Australia, Experiences working in Australia.

hihihehe
post Jan 16 2012, 06:03 PM

13,791 posts

QUOTE(mercury8400 @ Jan 16 2012, 08:38 PM)
This ^ comming for someone who accepted other forumers claims "bulat-bulat" and chose to discredit sources when presented. ^ has selective hearing. He hears and believes what he wants to believe.

I've studied in Aus for 3 years and worked for 3 in a very respectable Bank in Aus. I know what I saw and I know what i've been through. All the Asian in my batch has left due to similar reason. There are those that choose to accept it (like they accepted it in Malaysia - when working for GLC) and there are those that don't and move on - those that migrated. I'm just telling those who have NOT been to Aus to NOT be swayed by sweet talks of all the Pros of living in Aus. In other words I'm giving you an alternative view from all the non-sense some forumers spew without working in Aus or just because few were lucky enough to land a "good" job.

In fact, if yr NOT a PR (and even if you are) and NOT in mining, the real unemployment rate is Aus is at 8.6% and it's tipped to increase further. http://tvnz.co.nz/business-news/aussie-une...ed-rise-4689531. And I'm quite sure White Knight or someone else will reply and say that the source is flawed, an attempt to spoil their dream country or just insult me. SO you believe what you want to believe but facts are there.

Which is also why many Australians actually migrated OUT of Aus to somewhere else mostly UK, HK and SG.

Added on January 16, 2012, 5:42 pm
^ this comming from someone who went to the SG forum and posted a "can someone get a banking job for me in SG" plea in broken english.  rclxms.gif

Nice!
Be sure to insult/make sacarstic comments to yr interviewers (assuming you even have an interview) when they tell you your weakness.  rclxms.gif

Added on January 16, 2012, 5:46 pm
^ and each time i post a "moronic" comment, you replied with gusto in an equally moronic replies.....Takes one to know when, eh? whistling.gif
i guess you referring me. i admit i was lucky but it doesn't change a fact that i landed into good job and pay.
you or your team having bad experience in a VERY respectable bank doesn't mean other teams having the same issue too. could be your department that the only worst department or etc..

anyway, you are right that not to look at the pros only but also need to look what is the pros in malaysia too. IF you feel that malaysia pros are better, stay in malaysia.
Def
post Jan 16 2012, 10:52 PM

139 posts

QUOTE(hihihehe @ Jan 16 2012, 06:03 PM)
you or your team having bad experience in a VERY respectable bank doesn't mean other teams having the same issue too. could be your department that the only worst department or etc..

with no PR , do you think this mercury can work in a VERY respectable bank in Aust for 3 years??
Come on, this mercury is bluffing....he thinks we are so naive & don't know anything. He got nothing else to say & simply make up stories saying he & some Asian work colleagues had bad experience in Aust bank.
Beside his 'powderful' englik, he's also a sifu in making up stories....out from no where, suddenly there's a story of mercury worked in Aust bank...what a joke! If we talk about England, then there will be a story of mercury worked in a bank in England....if Canada, there will be another legendary story of mercury worked in Canadian bank....& so on.

Added on January 16, 2012, 10:57 pm
QUOTE(hihihehe @ Jan 16 2012, 06:03 PM)
anyway, you are right that not to look at the pros only but also need to look what is the pros in malaysia too. IF you feel that malaysia pros are better, stay in malaysia.

with his attitude, he cannot progress further regardless where he works.

This post has been edited by Def: Jan 16 2012, 10:57 PM
tester
post Jan 17 2012, 01:09 AM

379 posts

QUOTE(mercury8400 @ Jan 16 2012, 05:38 PM)
I've studied in Aus for 3 years and worked for 3 in a very respectable Bank in Aus. I know what I saw and I know what i've been through. All the Asian in my batch has left due to similar reason.
I agree with Def on this: perhaps you could enlighten us on how you managed to work for 3 years in a very respectable bank without a PR?

I would take your "Australian experience" with a grain of salt before you offer a satisfying explanation.

I'm just telling those who have NOT been to Aus to NOT be swayed by sweet talks of all the Pros of living in Aus. In other words I'm giving you an alternative view from all the non-sense some forumers spew without working in Aus or just because few were lucky enough to land a "good" job.
Somehow you conveniently ignored (even disagreed) with my point that you have to be VERY good to survive decently in Australia, which was the crux of my initial post. If you are more on the mediocre side and has nothing valuable to offer, then of course you are going to struggle.

hihihehe
post Jan 17 2012, 06:17 AM

13,791 posts

QUOTE(Def @ Jan 17 2012, 01:52 AM)
with no PR , do you think this mercury can work in a VERY respectable bank in Aust for 3 years??
Come on, this mercury is bluffing....he thinks we are so naive & don't know anything. He got nothing else to say & simply make up stories saying he & some Asian work colleagues had bad experience in Aust bank.
Beside his 'powderful' englik, he's also a sifu in making up stories....out from no where, suddenly there's a story of mercury worked in Aust bank...what a joke! If we talk about England, then there will be a story of mercury worked in a bank in England....if Canada, there will be another legendary story of mercury worked in Canadian bank....& so on.

Added on January 16, 2012, 10:57 pm
with his attitude, he cannot progress further regardless where he works.
i do not know that he was trolling around so yeah, i just reply whatever he posted
mercury8400
post Jan 17 2012, 09:46 AM

2,703 posts

QUOTE(tester @ Jan 17 2012, 01:09 AM)
I agree with Def on this: perhaps you could enlighten us on how you managed to work for 3 years in a very respectable bank without a PR?
What makes you think I don't have one?

I would take your "Australian experience" with a grain of salt before you offer a satisfying explanation.
Somehow you conveniently ignored (even disagreed) with my point that you have to be VERY good to survive decently in Australia, which was the crux of my initial post. If you are more on the mediocre side and has nothing valuable to offer, then of course you are going to struggle.
Why should I be explaining to you, who are so stubborn and absolutely refuse to accept any contradictory view? Like I said, if people like you think Aus is your "kingdom of heaven" and anyone who so much as passes a snide remark constitues a personal attack on you, then be my guest. I speak through my experience for the benefit of others, to give a contrarary view on your "kingdom of heaven"....which my not turn out to be any sort of heaven for some.....

If you are the absolute BEST at what you do, nobody ever considers Australia a viable destination. Better to go to US. I am GOOD ENOUGH to produce results which EXCEEDS the expectation of my bosses. Which is why he reocmmended me to a job in SG.

munkeyflo
post Jan 17 2012, 10:06 AM

Blooop bloop bloop
2,799 posts

Almost everyone that I know who wants to get a job in Australia (or NZ) have it very hard.

If you are one of those lucky ones who got a good job with a good pay in Aus then good for you. But the majority isn't like that. My family has migrated over there and almost all of our family friends that we know aren't able to get a decent job.

First of all, you have to be prepared to be downgraded. We know someone who is a top marketing director here and the only job she could find was photostating documents in the council, her whole family is a PR before she started to look for a job. Some of my family friends in Malaysia have their children studying in Aus and want them to get a job there in hopes that they'll get a PR. One of the son calls back and tell the mom that he's working 'like a foreign worker in Malaysia' in Australia - helping to unload trucks at hypermarkets. That was the only job he could find, well at least that's a job. Another friend's daughter has been studying there for years cause she can't find a job, now she's taking another course for early child development or something which will involve lots of practical on-site work, so she hopes she can get a job with this qualification and local experiences in the future.

Just sharing some of the family get-together stories I always come across. smile.gif
mercury8400
post Jan 17 2012, 10:14 AM

2,703 posts

QUOTE(munkeyflo @ Jan 17 2012, 10:06 AM)
Almost everyone that I know who wants to get a job in Australia (or NZ) have it very hard.

If you are one of those lucky ones who got a good job with a good pay in Aus then good for you. But the majority isn't like that. My family has migrated over there and almost all of our family friends that we know aren't able to get a decent job.

First of all, you have to be prepared to be downgraded. We know someone who is a top marketing director here and the only job she could find was photostating documents in the council, her whole family is a PR before she started to look for a job. Some of my family friends in Malaysia have their children studying in Aus and want them to get a job there in hopes that they'll get a PR. One of the son calls back and tell the mom that he's working 'like a foreign worker in Malaysia' in Australia - helping to unload trucks at hypermarkets. That was the only job he could find, well at least that's a job. Another friend's daughter has been studying there for years cause she can't find a job, now she's taking another course for early child development or something which will involve lots of practical on-site work, so she hopes she can get a job with this qualification and local experiences in the future.

Just sharing some of the family get-together stories I always come across.  smile.gif
Precisely.
But later I'm sure someone like Tester or Def will question your statement and ask you to prove it or discredit you and call you a liar for besmirching their "Kingdom of Heaven" where everyone lives happily ever after like some fairytale story book......
munkeyflo
post Jan 17 2012, 10:36 AM

Blooop bloop bloop
2,799 posts

QUOTE(mercury8400 @ Jan 17 2012, 10:14 AM)
Precisely.
But later I'm sure someone like Tester or Def will question your statement and ask you to prove it or discredit you and call you a liar for besmirching their "Kingdom of Heaven" where everyone lives happily ever after like some fairytale story book......
I'm sorry if I don't have a published journal article to backup these 'stories' since it's all based on experiences. It's up to them to believe it. laugh.gif

Just remember another one of my family friend who was Singaporean and migrated to NZ (not Aus) over 10 years ago. Their daughter studied in NZ and graduated as a speech therapist. Unable to find a job for over a year now and is considering going back to Singapore to get a job. The parents feel kinda disappointed as they gave up everything to go over there in search for a better life and now the daughter has to go back to their home country to get a job.
mercury8400
post Jan 17 2012, 01:04 PM

2,703 posts

QUOTE(munkeyflo @ Jan 17 2012, 10:36 AM)
I'm sorry if I don't have a published journal article to backup these 'stories' since it's all based on experiences. It's up to them to believe it. laugh.gif
Then they will say you are a herectic and threaten to burn you at the stakes! haha biggrin.gif

Def
post Jan 17 2012, 02:27 PM

139 posts

I've studied in Aus for 3 years and worked for 3 in a very respectable Bank in Aus. I know what I saw and I know what i've been through. All the Asian in my batch has left due to similar reason. There are those that choose to accept it (like they accepted it in Malaysia - when working for GLC) and there are those that don't and move on - those that migrated. I'm just telling those who have NOT been to Aus to NOT be swayed by sweet talks of all the Pros of living in Aus. In other words I'm giving you an alternative view from all the non-sense some forumers spew without working in Aus or just because few were lucky enough to land a "good" job.

I have a compliment for you. You're not only good with all your foul language but you're also good in making up stories. I am eager to know without a PR, how can you land a job in a bank in Australia? what visa was that? can you describe? Btw where are your foul language gone? We know that 3 days suspension taught you a lesson due to your postings in Working In Singapore thread & it was so unfortunate that the moderator was in that thread. In this thread, you're free to say anything.

But I truly believe that you studied for 3 yrs in aus. Isn't that made you a hypocrite....since you don't like Aust & yet you spent money studying in Aust. I am also eager want to know your explanation. You said you worked 3 years in Aust?...was it while holding student visa, you worked for limited hours in fast food outlets (Hungry Jacks, Mac D, KFC, Subway)....and you substitute fast food outlets with banks? Come on...even a blind person knows you're bluffing & beating the bush.

You're not only made a fool of yourself but you also prove you're a hypocrite....or should I say fool cum hypocrite (don't like aus but spent money studied in aus).

I am still waiting for your reply to the comments posted by tester just before your suspension last week. It looks like you agree to tester's comment by keeping quite.

Replies in blue.

Added on January 17, 2012, 2:33 pm
QUOTE(munkeyflo @ Jan 17 2012, 10:06 AM)

Just sharing some of the family get-together stories I always come across.  smile.gif
No offence please. Your comments represent the small minority migrants. For large majority asian migrants regardless which countries, you can refer to my reply posting to annielee on Jan 11 10:38pm

This post has been edited by Def: Jan 17 2012, 02:33 PM
extremepower
post Jan 17 2012, 02:39 PM

545 posts

Mate,

I studied in Australia mate. Gday mate. A champion there also mate. Banyak mate mate. lol.

The good thing about australia from 'my' perspective is the 4 seasons. Fresh veges and fruits, cheaper cars. Aussie dollar is powderful. Nice b1t.ches... err beaches. Everything is big... cost also big la... rclxms.gif

But taxes are high, safety is a potential issue compared to sg. Same with KL and JB I guess. U are a 2nd class citizen if you don't mix well. Everwhere is so damn far away mate... lol. cry.gif

Anyway, everywhere is similar in western world. If you are in IT, doctor or some niche fields, maybe you are lucky. Else, have to sapu lantai and work your way up. Connection is also important. Many malaysians play badminton, so, if you play badminton, you can easily mix with some of the malaysians there. I know lots of malaysian kakis there playing badminton.

Life is a journey. If you can adapt, enjoy. If not, just pack and come back. In SG, you should be able to survive easily. Initially I don't like SG attitudes, eventually you will become one of them. lol. Take it easy la...

I have friends who are Malaysian Aussies coming to work in Singapore. Like wise, I have friends who went to Australia to work. 2 times already. Now, working for BHP. Nothing is perfect for sure. It's up to you as to whether you enjoy the life there. Having friends who can click is important.

I did when I was studying there and playing badminton tournaments everywhere. But I chose SG coz its nearer to home and I can eat manyak manyak, huntam badminton with them kuat kuat and suka suka, I can slap some friends face. Apa cam? lol. wink.gif Relex la.. enjoy life is a journey. thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by extremepower: Jan 17 2012, 02:47 PM
Def
post Jan 17 2012, 02:43 PM

139 posts

QUOTE(munkeyflo @ Jan 17 2012, 10:36 AM)
Just remember another one of my family friend who was Singaporean and migrated to NZ (not Aus) over 10 years ago. Their daughter studied in NZ and graduated as a speech therapist. Unable to find a job for over a year now and is considering going back to Singapore to get a job. The parents feel kinda disappointed as they gave up everything to go over there in search for a better life and now the daughter has to go back to their home country to get a job.
Here i am not promoting Aust, NZ, Msia or SG. It depends on a person's field of profession. Some professions are highly demanded & some not. The job opportunity for speech therapist is limited in NZ & I can understand why she can't find a job unless she's in a highly demanded profession like teachers, engineering, accounting, IT, medical related profession etc.
It's even worst in Msia & SG because the speech therapist profession almost do not exist unless she's willing to sacrifice her dream job & take up any general job like marketing, administrator etc.

This post has been edited by Def: Jan 17 2012, 02:46 PM
mercury8400
post Jan 17 2012, 03:14 PM

2,703 posts

QUOTE(Def @ Jan 17 2012, 02:27 PM)
Replies in blue.

Added on January 17, 2012, 2:33 pm
No offence please. Your comments represent the small minority migrants. For large majority asian migrants regardless which countries, you can refer to my reply posting to annielee on Jan 11 10:38pm
Now you can clearly see, Ms. munkeyflo and all other forumers that I'm absolutely spot on. Didn't I tell you that any attempts to even question the working benefits in Aus will be taken personally (by Def and gang) and treated as if you have just insulted their "kingdom of heaven"!!! hahaha thumbup.gif

These people are dead set in their mind (or in other words stubborn) that Aus is like heaven. Nothing and nobody can question it without them having something to say about everything, even things they don't know.

In short no point talking to them. It's like trying to convince a terrorist that suicide bombing is not going to help their cause, coz they are too "focused" on being a mytr and in the company of 72 virgins...

And they attack you personally and make baseless assumptions and accusations that i don't have a PR, that i work for mcdonalds and kfc and that all my stories are fake. Again like i said, they would rather choose to discredit the person and his source for having the temerity to destroy their "kingdom of heaven"!!!!

Or maybe, I'm starting to suspect, that Def is actually a migration agent.Coz talking bad about Aus would invariably affect their migrate to Aus business. Business section ------> way.... doh.gif

Added on January 17, 2012, 3:23 pm
QUOTE(extremepower @ Jan 17 2012, 02:39 PM)
Mate,

I studied in Australia mate. Gday mate. A champion there also mate. Banyak mate mate. lol.

The good thing about australia from 'my' perspective is the 4 seasons. Fresh veges and fruits, cheaper cars. Aussie dollar is powderful. Nice b1t.ches... err beaches. Everything is big... cost also big la... rclxms.gif

But taxes are high, safety is a potential issue compared to sg. Same with KL and JB I guess. U are a 2nd class citizen if you don't mix well. Everwhere is so damn far away mate
... lol. cry.gif

Anyway, everywhere is similar in western world. If you are in IT, doctor or some niche fields, maybe you are lucky. Else, have to sapu lantai and work your way up. Connection is also important. Many malaysians play badminton, so, if you play badminton, you can easily mix with some of the malaysians there. I know lots of malaysian kakis there playing badminton.

Life is a journey. If you can adapt, enjoy. If not, just pack and come back. In SG, you should be able to survive easily. Initially I don't like SG attitudes, eventually you will become one of them. lol. Take it easy la...

I have friends who are Malaysian Aussies coming to work in Singapore. Like wise, I have friends who went to Australia to work. 2 times already. Now, working for BHP. Nothing is perfect for sure. It's up to you as to whether you enjoy the life there. Having friends who can click is important.

I did when I was studying there and playing badminton tournaments everywhere. But I chose SG coz its nearer to home and I can eat manyak manyak, huntam badminton with them kuat kuat and suka suka, I can slap some friends face. Apa cam? lol. wink.gif Relex la.. enjoy life is a journey. thumbup.gif
Careful there brother!
Later Def will come in and say that you're actually a "aeroplane jumper" to aus, and you know nothing about Aus enough to say the bolded part. whistling.gif

He will also start to accuse you and ask you to PROVE that you have been to Aus. And even if you post a proof, he will discredit you and say that it was cropped. thumbup.gif

He will also label you a moron and a fake for questioning his "kingdom of heaven" known as Australia... wink.gif

This post has been edited by mercury8400: Jan 17 2012, 03:23 PM
jhcj
post Jan 17 2012, 03:47 PM

TK 20682
2,357 posts

I've had just about enough of you mercury8400. It is obvious you are incapable of holding discussions without resorting to name-calling, insults, jabs, etc. Take the week off to enjoy your Chinese New Year...away from the forums.

If I see you back here again trolling, your next offense will result in a permanent suspension of your account.

Geez.
extremepower
post Jan 17 2012, 03:55 PM

545 posts

Again, no country is perfect for everyone. As we speak, people move in and out of each country. If you been to ellis island in New York, you can see the globe with lights in and out of USA. rclxub.gif

Everyone has different tastes. Fair dinkum. What do you reckon mate? Initially I hated this fair dinkum, reckon lah, cricket lah, rubgy league lah, ironman lah.. then later, I got addicted. They got their indiana jones there bradder. In Malaysia, what do we have? Jibby? lol. drool.gif

Not many malaysians have the 'opportunity' to travel or work here and there tho. If you got the chance, considered you are a lucky person for being able to experienced it. You see different types of discrimination as a foreigner and 2nd class citizen. wink.gif thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by extremepower: Jan 17 2012, 03:57 PM
tester
post Jan 17 2012, 04:12 PM

379 posts

Replies in blue.
QUOTE(mercury8400 @ Jan 17 2012, 09:46 AM)
What makes you think I don't have one?
What makes me think you don't have one?

Your lack of understanding and incorrect statements regarding Australian PR conditions and rights.
I find it hard to believe that someone who had been granted a PR can spill out so much nonsense.

Why should I be explaining to you, who are so stubborn and absolutely refuse to accept any contradictory view? Like I said, if people like you think Aus is your "kingdom of heaven" and anyone who so much as passes a snide remark constitues a personal attack on you, then be my guest. I speak through my experience for the benefit of others, to give a contrarary view on your "kingdom of heaven"....which my not turn out to be any sort of heaven for some.....
Chill dude... go back to my previous posts and read carefully what I have written.

In fact, it will NOT be the heaven for most people, as I have repeated many times.

What I disagreed with you was your claim that you are not welcomed and being discriminated against because of your race, and your attempt to generalise your misfortune to everyone else.

Judging from your earlier posts and your attitude, sorry I have to be blunt: it's not that they do not welcome us, they just don't welcome you.

If you are the absolute BEST at what you do, nobody ever considers Australia a viable destination. Better to go to US.
There are many reasons actually. Pay is one of them, which is why so many Australians who have postdoc'ed in the US and UK came back.

I am GOOD ENOUGH to produce results which EXCEEDS the expectation of my bosses. Which is why he reocmmended me to a job in SG.
If you say so biggrin.gif
hajime86
post Jan 17 2012, 04:45 PM

13 posts

QUOTE(mercury8400 @ Jan 17 2012, 03:14 PM)
Now you can clearly see, Ms. munkeyflo and all other forumers that I'm absolutely spot on. Didn't I tell you that any attempts to even question the working benefits in Aus will be taken personally (by Def and gang) and treated as if you have just insulted their "kingdom of heaven"!!! hahaha  thumbup.gif

These people are dead set in their mind (or in other words stubborn) that Aus is like heaven. Nothing and nobody can question it without them having something to say about everything, even things they don't know.

In short no point talking to them. It's like trying to convince a terrorist that suicide bombing is not going to help their cause, coz they are too "focused" on being a mytr and in the company of 72 virgins...

And they attack you personally and make baseless assumptions and accusations that i don't have a PR, that i work for mcdonalds and kfc and that all my stories are fake. Again like i said, they would rather choose to discredit the person and his source for having the temerity to destroy their "kingdom of heaven"!!!! 

Or maybe, I'm starting to suspect, that Def is actually a migration agent.Coz talking bad about Aus would invariably affect their migrate to Aus business. Business section ------> way.... doh.gif

Added on January 17, 2012, 3:23 pm
Careful there brother!
Later Def will come in and say that you're actually a "aeroplane jumper" to aus, and you know nothing about Aus enough to say the bolded part.  whistling.gif

He will also start to accuse you and ask you to PROVE that you have been to Aus. And even if you post a proof, he will discredit you and say that it was cropped.  thumbup.gif 

He will also label you a moron and a fake for questioning his "kingdom of heaven" known as Australia... wink.gif
Australia is not perfect, no country is.
To question the benefit of working in Australia is just to bring forward discussion, i.e why is it not working out for you? what other people may have done to make it a better place for them?

I got collegue that chose to go back Malaysia to work as well, because her priorities in life are in Malaysia. Even though she's doing very well in Australia.
She missed her families in Malaysia, and wanted to settle down soon. Working in Aus, may or may not work out for everyone!

It is never a good idea to "jump aeroplane", that is just wrong. I know that people in desperation will try to use any means necessary to get into Aus.
That's because they thought it would be great opportunity in Aus, even though maybe working in a restaurant washing dishes, or handling apples at farm.

I too left Malaysia for a better opportunity, and it has not been always sunshine for me here. You missed the time you hang out with your buddies at Malaysia or enjoying the company of your familes.
Pros and cons bro... just that...
White Knight
post Jan 18 2012, 07:12 AM

190 posts

I've studied in Aus for 3 years and worked for 3 in a very respectable Bank in Aus. I know what I saw and I know what i've been through. All the Asian in my batch has left due to similar reason.

I am particularly amazed with your statement in red. No PR but still can work in a very respectable bank in Aus. Can you share with us how you managed to do it? Only a fool will believe you. You don't realise that everytime you troll by posting fool comments, you are making yourself look more and more stupid.
If you think what you said is right, then I can also say I am holding a cabinet minister post in Spore eventhough I m not a Spore citizen, not a MP and never stood for the Spore general election.

The employment regulation in Aus is straight forward....an individual must has a PR in order to work in Aust.

hajime86
post Jan 18 2012, 07:39 AM

13 posts

QUOTE(White Knight @ Jan 18 2012, 07:12 AM)
I am particularly amazed with your statement in red. No PR but still can work in a very respectable bank in Aus. Can you share with us how you managed to do it? Only a fool will believe you. You don't realise that everytime you troll by posting fool comments, you are making yourself look more and more stupid.
If you think what you said is right, then I can also say I am holding a cabinet minister post in Spore eventhough I m not a Spore citizen, not a MP and never stood for the Spore general election.

The employment regulation in Aus is straight forward....an individual must has a PR in order to work in Aust.
Hmmm... I'm working in Australia, and I am not a PR, I'm just holding a 457 business (long stay) visa.
That is if you got a sponsor company in Australia that want to employs you, and the job is considered as a in-demand too.
White Knight
post Jan 18 2012, 09:41 AM

190 posts

QUOTE(hajime86 @ Jan 18 2012, 07:39 AM)
Hmmm... I'm working in Australia, and I am not a PR, I'm just holding a 457 business (long stay) visa.
That is if you got a sponsor company in Australia that want to employs you, and the job is considered as a in-demand too.
Yes we know that. 457 is a working visa (4 years, i guess) for for those who has a highly specialised skill (eg particularly IT, engineering, medical etc) which can hardly be filled by local people or in a high demand occupation list and the company is willing to sponsor you because they need your skill desperately. I have my Malaysian former schoolmate who's holding a 457 visa & he's in the water engineering line...a very specialised field.
I am sure you're in a specialised field. What field are you in? if you don't mind to share or you can just PM me.

For this mercury, he knows nothing abt visa 457 or other subclass visas. He works in a Singapore bank. Banking jobs have never never been on the demand list in Aust and it's ridiculous for an Aust bank to apply for a 457 visa. Unless the company is in a highly tech industry like engineering, IT, mining, medical, then I can understand. I am in the accounting line (though it's still on demand list) & it's also ridiculous for the Big 4 firm to apply for a 457 visa. This mercury is trolling around by posting stupid comments.

This post has been edited by White Knight: Jan 18 2012, 09:56 AM

243 Pages « < 11 12 13 14 15 > » Top

0.0217sec    0.23    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 18th December 2025 - 05:31 AM