243 Pages « < 77 78 79 80 81 > » Bottom

Working in Australia, Experiences working in Australia.

hihihehe
post Aug 2 2013, 08:23 PM

13,799 posts

QUOTE(Nemesis1980 @ Aug 2 2013, 02:03 PM)
Exactly, perth is a mining city. If mining in deep shit, all industries will sink. Yeah, i knew syd & melb should be stabilised coz they're not rely heavily on mining. It's sad that perth still in the state of recession now. Saw everyone seems waiting for durian to fall down.
It has been 5 years perth in this condition. Still no traces of improvement. Maybe after 6 mths if nothing happen, might shift to other cities
Kinda envy that you have PR and able to settle down. I have exactly 2 months left in Australia and I don't want to face the working life in Malaysia.

Fortunately, I save enough money for a house in Malaysia
alimony
post Aug 2 2013, 08:56 PM

266 posts

hi all. i have been fruitless and frustrated searching for jobs here, so i am seriously thinking about joining my sister in australia in search of a better life there. i need some advice from experienced sifu here (:

firstly, what is the procedure in preparation to work in australia? i have checked via many 'free' assesments and it would seem i qualify for a visa. would i need a job offer already, or can i apply first, go and look for a job later? if the latter, do i need to go immediately upon approval of visa (assuming approved), or can i apply now and go at a later date?

please do share your experiences... hopefully can have a brighter future there.
SUSrobertchoo
post Aug 2 2013, 10:41 PM

5,753 posts

QUOTE(alimony @ Aug 2 2013, 08:56 PM)
hi all. i have been fruitless and frustrated searching for jobs here, so i am seriously thinking about joining my sister in australia in search of a better life there. i need some advice from experienced sifu here (:

firstly, what is the procedure in preparation to work in australia? i have checked via many 'free' assesments and it would seem i qualify for a visa. would i need a job offer already, or can i apply first, go and look for a job later? if the latter, do i need to go immediately upon approval of visa (assuming approved), or can i apply now and go at a later date?

You need to secure a job then the com will apply a work visa for you. But this is highly unlikely unless you are very very senior or have very very niche skills that cannot be filled by australians or the hordes of pr.

If you have trouble finding jobs in msia, then your chances of finding job is australia is even less even with a pr let alone with none. Unless you have niche skills.
Nemesis1980
post Aug 3 2013, 07:13 AM

1,066 posts

QUOTE(hihihehe @ Aug 2 2013, 08:23 PM)
Kinda envy that you have PR and able to settle down. I have exactly 2 months left in Australia and I don't want to face the working life in Malaysia.

Fortunately, I save enough money for a house in Malaysia
I'm settling down yet coz still looking for a job. If within couldn't find a job here might work for nightfillers in woolworth or coles. Pretty bored here if u staying in a house waiting for reply.
I knew one of the housemate who actually work in woolworth for 7 years. Now he's a manager here. Wow, 7 years as kuli but still it's worth it...he's an IT guy, i think he just sacrifice his degree
Nemesis1980
post Aug 3 2013, 07:23 AM

1,066 posts

Always bear this principle in applying visa here:-
1) No PR No Job.
2) Got PR doesn't mean u got ur job profession
3) U won't getting too poor or too rich, life's so so here

Good thing is:-
1) social welfare is good
2) insurance coverage is damn good, for a family of 4 cost AUD240/mth. Includes dental and optical, even acupuncture in the list. Malaysia insurance coverage is shit, paid so many but limiting ur coverage. If u got cancer, Oz insurance still cover ur back ass
3) cars and gadget pretty cheap based on ur income here to buy

My advice, take the free assessment 1st in DIAC webpage. Get IELTS score, apply EOI. This can be DIY or agents.
Please note that the application fees has increased recently. So better check DIAC website for further info. Always do ur own homework 1st before proceed further

If u hardly find a job in Malaysia, doesn't mean u could find it here. But i'm not sure what's ur profession. Sometimes ur profession 'maybe' highly required here. Maybe malaysia doesn't require ur skills?

This post has been edited by Nemesis1980: Aug 3 2013, 07:28 AM
Nemesis1980
post Aug 3 2013, 07:26 AM

1,066 posts

QUOTE(robertchoo @ Aug 2 2013, 10:41 PM)
You need to secure a job then the com will apply a work visa for you. But this is highly unlikely unless you are very very senior or have very very niche skills that cannot be filled by australians or the hordes of pr.

If you have trouble finding jobs in msia, then your chances of finding job is australia is even less even with a pr let alone with none. Unless you have niche skills.
Oz has restricted very much on 457. Thanks to 'rich' migrants from the north. I heard the local immigrants saying they actually look for a company here to sponsor them from china to Oz with a amount of $$. 2 years later, they could apply directly on shore. DIAC found out this realise it has being abused and put up so many restriction on this visa.

hihihehe
post Aug 3 2013, 07:33 AM

13,799 posts

QUOTE(Nemesis1980 @ Aug 3 2013, 09:13 AM)
I'm settling down yet coz still looking for a job. If within couldn't find a job here might work for nightfillers in woolworth or coles. Pretty bored here if u staying in a house waiting for reply.
I knew one of the housemate who actually work in woolworth for 7 years. Now he's a manager here. Wow, 7 years as kuli but still it's worth it...he's an IT guy, i think he just sacrifice his degree
is not unusual. you can see most of the the fresh graduates working in 7-11 but you can move up from there if you are good. My colleague's friend started as cashier in KFC and now his position is Regional Manager that responsible for KFC in Australia. Good perks and salary.

QUOTE(Nemesis1980 @ Aug 3 2013, 09:26 AM)
Oz has restricted very much on 457. Thanks to 'rich' migrants from the north. I heard the local immigrants saying they actually look for a company here to sponsor them from china to Oz with a amount of $$. 2 years later, they could apply directly on shore. DIAC found out this realise it has being abused and put up so many restriction on this visa.
457 is not that easy as before. Rules were changed on July where employer have to prove that they advertised a position for at least 3 months and give a valid reason why they can't find local people and have to sponsor foreigners. Many employers(including my gf's company) refused to do those paperworks and reject them sad.gif
darkhorse_86
post Aug 3 2013, 04:04 PM

152 posts

QUOTE(Nemesis1980 @ Aug 3 2013, 07:23 AM)
Good thing is:-
1) social welfare is good
2) insurance coverage is damn good, for a family of 4 cost AUD240/mth. Includes dental and optical, even acupuncture in the list. Malaysia insurance coverage is shit, paid so many but limiting ur coverage. If u got cancer, Oz insurance still cover ur back ass
3) cars and gadget pretty cheap based on ur income here to buy
However things to note:
1) You can only ''unlock'' your social welfare once you get your PR and stay onshore for at least 2 years - and the social welfare is subjected to various income and asset test
2) PHI is good, but take note that for the tax purposes, it only knocks off the medicare levy surcharge, not the medicare levy. And bear in mind that from July 2014 onwards, the medicare levy is increased to 2%, and the PHI rebate that you normally get is income tested as well, so you may be getting more rebate than you should.
3) Cars may be cheap. Petrol, upkeep, maintenance and car rego may not.
segamatboy
post Aug 3 2013, 05:34 PM

637 posts

Nothing wrong with that. People change jobs all the time. Maybe it could be a Malaysian beliefs that a person career should be based on what he/she studied.
One of my Aussie cousins left the IT industry in Sydney and guess what? He became a park ranger. Why??? Sick and tired of deadlines and office politics. Another Aussie cousin left the accounting field and started his own business. He bought an old house and had it renovated. Found his new passion and walked away from his accounting job
One of my Canadian cousins quitted her job last year and then worked as a unpaid intern for a TV station for 3 months. She studied business management and ended up in broadcast journalism(behind the scene) Another Canadian cousin quitted her job recently. She was working for an oil company and now working as a ESL instructor.
There's nothing wrong sacrificing your degree if there is no passion in your line of work

QUOTE(Nemesis1980 @ Aug 3 2013, 07:13 AM)

...he's an IT guy, i think he just sacrifice his degree

Pete the great
post Aug 3 2013, 06:15 PM

519 posts

QUOTE(Nemesis1980 @ Aug 3 2013, 07:13 AM)
Nowadays I go to UK/Australia, woolworthes, coles, tesco, mark & spencer, Asda all using electronic counters, only one or two cashiers not like here in malaysia. So want to have career progress in supermkt job also hard.

I also know doctors who migrated there, struggling with 48 hour work.
Pete the great
post Aug 3 2013, 06:18 PM

519 posts

QUOTE(hihihehe @ Aug 3 2013, 07:33 AM)
is not unusual. you can see most of the the fresh graduates working in 7-11 but you can move up from there if you are good. My colleague's friend started as cashier in KFC and now his position is Regional Manager that responsible for KFC in Australia. Good perks and salary.
457 is not that easy as before. Rules were changed on July where employer have to prove that they advertised a position for at least 3 months and give a valid reason why they can't find local people and have to sponsor foreigners. Many employers(including my gf's company) refused to do those paperworks and reject them sad.gif
I don't see the point of migrating there to be a cashier or cleaner.

Like my cousin, an engineer grad, now doing night time magic show. And then another friend of mine who was a senior manager at HP, now working as a cashier.
Pete the great
post Aug 3 2013, 06:21 PM

519 posts

To be honest with you, Australians don't even consider your malaysian work experience. They think your msian work experience is inferior or probably don't fit their work culture. At least in UK, they do consider your msian work experience because I work there for a while before. I know a lot of msians who work as senior managers here, when they migrate, they work low level jobs like sales girl at the stores, promoters, petrol station attendees.

So, if you find you struggle here in malaysia, australia is much worst, unless you don't mind a 7-11 job.

Sorry i don't mean to sound rude and inconsiderate, i understand that you are struggling to find job and I symphathise with your situation but I don't think Australia is tthe solution.
empire23
post Aug 3 2013, 08:06 PM

Team Island Hopper
9,417 posts

QUOTE(supercolossal @ Aug 1 2013, 11:06 AM)
Can anybody comment on the job market in melbourne for electronic engineers?
It is the best of the cities, but still not good. If you want an EnE job Singapore, Taiwan or Malaysia are your tickets. There is little in terms of need for electronic engineers (which is reflected in the SkillSelect demand list)

If you're willing to go electrical, knowledge of AS3000, AS3008, AS1102 (with AS3007 and 3008 if you want to work in Mining or Construction). All the shit they never taught me in Uni.

QUOTE(giomanach @ Aug 1 2013, 01:34 PM)
Oh. I see. I'm still in my early 20s. I am actually working in project management now but I wanna go to design. It's so damn hard to find a design job in oil and gas here in Perth. Contrary to popular beliefs, not everyone's salary will have a huge hike. My company pays me peanuts as compared to my other peers. If only the job market is better... But then again I am a fresh grad. I'm probably too gungho at the moment.
If you don't mind me asking, how much are you being paid and which subsector of OnG mining are you in? I got an offer to move to WA recently although my answer for the pay offered was akin to "get **cked"

My mates from Weatherford just got screwed. It isn't going anywhere till after post election consolidation.

If you can't find a job in Malaysia where getting interviews and landing your first job is a 2 to 3 month affair, you won't find one here man.

The only people you should do an assessment with is the DIAC. Once you are granted a permanent visa, they will give an ARRIVE NO LATER DATE on your visa. Example below of my old expired visa.

hihihehe
post Aug 3 2013, 08:49 PM

13,799 posts

QUOTE(Pete the great @ Aug 3 2013, 08:18 PM)
I don't see the point of migrating there to be a cashier or cleaner.

Like my cousin, an engineer grad, now doing night time magic show. And then another friend of mine who was a senior manager at HP, now working as a cashier.
You got me wrong.

What I meant was many fresh graduates can't find a proper job in Australia and end up become a cashier/waiter but if you really can impress from there, you might have a chance to shine from that field instead from what you have studied
Skywalker10
post Aug 3 2013, 10:19 PM

I have already obtained my PR for 2 years. Still holding back to make a move. I am in 40's and working in electronics manufacturing industry. I think it is difficult for me to get a job in Australia. Any business opportunity in Melbourne/Sydney? Should I stay or migrate?
hihihehe
post Aug 3 2013, 10:32 PM

13,799 posts

QUOTE(Skywalker10 @ Aug 4 2013, 12:19 AM)
I have already obtained my PR for 2 years. Still holding back to make a move. I am in 40's and working in electronics manufacturing industry. I think it is difficult for me to get a job in Australia. Any business opportunity in Melbourne/Sydney?  Should I stay or migrate?
If I was in your shoe, I will stay in Malaysia and wait for retired but I will recommend my kids to study and work in Australia(if they want to). You can always visit them once your kids are settled down there
Skywalker10
post Aug 4 2013, 06:47 AM

QUOTE(hihihehe @ Aug 3 2013, 10:32 PM)
If I was in your shoe, I will stay in Malaysia and wait for retired but I will recommend my kids to study and work in Australia(if they want to). You can always visit them once your kids are settled down there
Thanks for your suggestion. My kids are able to enrol as local students to uni or senior secondary school within the visa period. However, I am tired with my current job and thinking of some freelance jobs in Australia such as real estate salesperson, stockbroker, financial trust consultant... For those already in Australia, appreciate if you can comment on those jobs.
Pete the great
post Aug 4 2013, 10:38 AM

519 posts

QUOTE(hihihehe @ Aug 3 2013, 08:49 PM)
You got me wrong.

What I meant was many fresh graduates can't find a proper job in Australia and end up become a cashier/waiter but if you really can impress from there, you might have a chance to shine from that field instead from what you have studied
Shine from a cashier/waiter?

Who wants to make a career out of a cashier/waiter?

If the company employs me as an administrator of a bed & breakfast, a web designer or a golf course caretaker, maybe there is a career to be made from there.
Soony
post Aug 4 2013, 10:41 AM

I love Photography !
2,131 posts

QUOTE(Pete the great @ Aug 4 2013, 10:38 AM)
Shine from a cashier/waiter?

Who wants to make a career out of a cashier/waiter?

If the company employs me as an administrator of a bed & breakfast, a web designer or a golf course caretaker, maybe there is a career to be made from there.
Well, I understand where you're coming from. It's like those with degree should do decent work in their respective fields.

I guess you can say not all degree holder would do what they study in the end, especially in the times where the economy is that bad now.

The most available jobs are the cashier/waiter nowadays. It pays good though, can go up as high as like $25-30 per hour, better than some engineers locally.
Pete the great
post Aug 4 2013, 10:55 AM

519 posts

QUOTE(Soony @ Aug 4 2013, 10:41 AM)
Well, I understand where you're coming from. It's like those with degree should do decent work in their respective fields.

I guess you can say not all degree holder would do what they study in the end, especially in the times where the economy is that bad now.

The most available jobs are the cashier/waiter nowadays. It pays good though, can go up as high as like $25-30 per hour, better than some engineers locally.
If like this I would rather work in UK, the $$$ is better.

The community there is more tolerable. Nowadyas, I see many black guys holding hands with white girls in UK.

243 Pages « < 77 78 79 80 81 > » Top

0.0254sec    0.67    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 22nd December 2025 - 07:49 PM