243 Pages « < 6 7 8 9 10 > » Bottom

Working in Australia, Experiences working in Australia.

naleh33
post Nov 27 2011, 08:21 PM

1,021 posts

QUOTE(hihihehe @ Nov 27 2011, 08:15 PM)
+1

I working in IT industry as well and I'm the only chinese in the department where most of them are Indians, whites and vietnamese. They are all friendly and helpful but when dealing with customers who mostly white, you can hear their arrogance voice and they can't hold their temper properly.

In term of securing job, it's quite common sense that Asian need to put more efforts to secure job interview compare to whites. Most of the whites are local and would you hire Asians that not local/PR when you looking for people? Would you hire Asians that most of their native language is not English?

You want a job in Australia, you should know you will get less advantage compare to locals and learn to suck it up. Can't hold any longer? go back to where you came from. You own a company, hire Asians only and throw all white's resume to the bin.

+2 well said.

Yes, I totally agree with you. The whites are more straightforward and blunt in their conversation, but the thing is that they do not take those words personally. Whites who are capable are arrogant, no doubt. I worked with a few of them. As you said, suck it up and also be positive. Learn a few tricks/knowledge from them as well and it will definitely benefit you. thumbup.gif
sparcov
post Nov 27 2011, 08:36 PM

55 posts

I'm from Malaysia reside in middle east, no relation to Australia topic here.

In middle east you will have different people from around the world working here.

Generally, Whites are more sociable, asian if you don't say hello, they won't say hello to you. Arabs, if you say hello to them, they will say 10 times hello to you and if you don't say, you will say they are arrogant.

So the same concept applied everywhere in the world. you say people racist, arrogant. Other people also view the same on you.

Again, 1 or 2 people leave a bad experience for you does not means that billions of them is the same type. not fair to judge them in this way.

mercury8400
post Nov 28 2011, 01:09 PM

2,703 posts

QUOTE(sparcov @ Nov 27 2011, 08:36 PM)
I'm from Malaysia reside in middle east, no relation to Australia topic here.

In middle east you will have different people from around the world working  here.

Generally, Whites are more sociable, asian if you don't say hello, they won't say hello to you. Arabs, if you say hello to them, they will say 10 times hello to you and if you don't say, you will say they are arrogant.

So the same concept applied everywhere in the world. you say people racist, arrogant. Other people also view the same on you.

Again, 1 or 2 people leave a bad experience for you does not means that billions of them is the same type. not fair to judge them in this way.
This reports' sample size is definately more than 1 or 2 "outliers". http://articles.economictimes.indiatimes.c...icants-brisbane
hihihehe
post Nov 28 2011, 01:42 PM

13,791 posts

QUOTE(mercury8400 @ Nov 28 2011, 04:09 PM)
This reports' sample size is definately more than 1 or 2 "outliers". http://articles.economictimes.indiatimes.c...icants-brisbane
Heck, even in Malaysia need to find out are you Bumiputra or not. Not big deal.
kaiserwulf
post Nov 28 2011, 04:34 PM

1,110 posts

QUOTE(hihihehe @ Nov 27 2011, 08:15 PM)
+1

I working in IT industry as well and I'm the only chinese in the department where most of them are Indians, whites and vietnamese. They are all friendly and helpful but when dealing with customers who mostly white, you can hear their arrogance voice and they can't hold their temper properly.

In term of securing job, it's quite common sense that Asian need to put more efforts to secure job interview compare to whites. Most of the whites are local and would you hire Asians that not local/PR when you looking for people? Would you hire Asians that most of their native language is not English?

You want a job in Australia, you should know you will get less advantage compare to locals and learn to suck it up. Can't hold any longer? go back to where you came from. You own a company, hire Asians only and throw all white's resume to the bin.
Helpdesk is ALWAYS at firing line no matter the race.
hihihehe
post Nov 28 2011, 05:47 PM

13,791 posts

QUOTE(kaiserwulf @ Nov 28 2011, 07:34 PM)
Helpdesk is ALWAYS at firing line no matter the race.
And yet, i can sucked it up(unless there are some words that offended me) since that is my job anyway. I know the job description before I accepted the offer and I can't blame anyone.

Also most of the people will thought Helpdesk is based from India and they will shoot you before open your mouth. That's the fact(even me shot them when dealing with personal ISP issue)
SUSMaterazzi
post Nov 28 2011, 08:12 PM

1,569 posts

QUOTE(naleh33 @ Nov 27 2011, 08:21 PM)
+2 well said.

Yes, I totally agree with you. The whites are more straightforward and blunt in their conversation, but the thing is that they do not take those words personally. Whites who are capable are arrogant, no doubt. I worked with a few of them. As you said, suck it up and also be positive. Learn a few tricks/knowledge from them as well and it will definitely benefit you.  thumbup.gif
Whites love their families better than asians. Asian make their wives as maids + wives but whites always share housework with their wives although they are busy.
hihihehe
post Nov 28 2011, 08:24 PM

13,791 posts

QUOTE(Materazzi @ Nov 28 2011, 11:12 PM)
Whites love their families better than asians. Asian make their wives as  maids + wives but whites always share housework with their wives although they are busy.
From what I see, they never teach their kids properly.
quintessential
post Nov 29 2011, 12:06 AM

ilha formosa
2,919 posts

QUOTE(Materazzi @ Nov 28 2011, 09:12 PM)
Whites love their families better than asians. Asian make their wives as  maids + wives but whites always share housework with their wives although they are busy.
i beg to differ.

mercury8400
post Nov 29 2011, 10:50 AM

2,703 posts

Last I heard Aus is again tightening the immigration criterias again. So unless you're really good or working in a field that they require talent, it's highly unlikely you will get in. And remember folks for the thousand time DO NOT JUMP AEROPLANE!!! Not only in Aus but anywhere in the world! Overstaying is a SERIOUS offence in many countries.
The Analyst
post Dec 2 2011, 08:07 PM

127 posts

QUOTE(mercury8400 @ Nov 29 2011, 10:50 AM)
Last I heard Aus is again tightening the immigration criterias again. So unless you're really good or working in a field that they require talent, it's highly unlikely you will get in. And remember folks for the thousand time DO NOT JUMP AEROPLANE!!! Not only in Aus but anywhere in the world! Overstaying is a SERIOUS offence in many countries.
Yeah... i have friends still waiting for their PR after 4 years. Sucks really.
shaquenator
post Dec 3 2011, 01:17 AM

1,021 posts

QUOTE(kaiserwulf @ Nov 27 2011, 08:34 AM)
I have questions pertaining to disposable income when working in Australia.
1) With nett pay is a man able to support his wife on his own?
2) How much is the disposable (max potential savings) income after deducting 1 car and probably home rental (2 room min-suburb)?

Trying to estimate the value of migrating there through total amount saved. 3-5 years work experience scenario.

Just share with me your experiences as I understand different industry pays differently.

Thanks smile.gif
Shaq, go elsewhere if you got your e-peen hurt.
hhhmmm, hurt ? am i supposed to get hurt with his way of talking ? in reality, I think people will avoid him. I would rather avoid than getting hurt...waste time lah.

This post has been edited by shaquenator: Dec 3 2011, 01:19 AM
hihihehe
post Dec 3 2011, 08:08 AM

13,791 posts

QUOTE(The Analyst @ Dec 2 2011, 11:07 PM)
Yeah... i have friends still waiting for their PR after 4 years. Sucks really.
there are many people still waiting to be approved. it depends whether your occupation is under priority list or not

they going to increase visa fee starting next month.gonna apply for bridging visa b before they increase
Def
post Dec 5 2011, 03:21 PM

139 posts

QUOTE(hihihehe @ Dec 3 2011, 08:08 AM)
there are many people still waiting to be approved. it depends whether your occupation is under priority list or not

they going to increase visa fee starting next month.gonna apply for bridging visa b before they increase
if not approved, then apply somewhere else lar....
mercury8400
post Dec 6 2011, 04:22 PM

2,703 posts

QUOTE(Def @ Dec 5 2011, 03:21 PM)
if not approved, then apply somewhere else lar....
And yet still many people die, die also want to work Australia despite the less than encouraging job market (for anything that is non commodities related), the stricter PR requirements, the high taxes and the blatant discrimination that you (as Asians) will no doubt be facing when trying to get a job there. So unless you already got the job, i highly recommend you go somewhere else. Afterall why want to go somewhere you are NOT WELCOMED??!!

Added on December 6, 2011, 4:42 pm
QUOTE(shaquenator @ Dec 3 2011, 01:17 AM)
hhhmmm, hurt ? am i supposed to get hurt with his way of talking ? in reality, I think people will avoid him. I would rather avoid than getting hurt...waste time lah.
Of course ^ will avoid. Coz He/She knows I'm right and has nothing at their disposal to prive otherwise. You can only have an argument with facts and I gave facts wherelese others just blow hot air and say things based on their "experience".

Like when they go to Aus on a 3 week holiday and say Australians are GENERALLY very polite and nice and not racist. (I mean cammon, you're a tourist, of course they are gonna be nice. Otherwise how to earn yr money?)

BTW i strongly believe ^ does not know the meaning of sarcasm when i say "And you think M'sia media tell the truth" or smtg along those lines. These are examples of people who take what other people say literally without the need to go actually do their own research. Failure of our education system? or just spoon feeding mentality? I also wonder why these people even bother to look outside M'sia since "according to our Ministers and ruling party, M'sia is a paradise and the greatest place in the world to be at" doh.gif

This post has been edited by mercury8400: Dec 6 2011, 04:42 PM
strawberyeve
post Dec 12 2011, 09:25 PM

24 posts

Its true. DONT COME! I am currently staying in Australia since my family migrated here. But still its pretty hard for an asian to get a job here. Even u r alot smarter than them they still will prefer their own people anyway. That's y i plan to go back malaysia to work nxt yr. Just an opinion.
kinccc
post Dec 12 2011, 10:41 PM

109 posts

Now start seeing more European come to work in Malaysia, economy must real bad over there.
Murusundram
post Dec 12 2011, 10:47 PM

45 posts

QUOTE(strawberyeve @ Dec 12 2011, 09:25 PM)
Its true. DONT COME! I am currently staying in Australia since my family migrated here. But still its pretty hard for an asian to get a job here. Even u r alot smarter than them they still will prefer their own people anyway. That's y i plan to go back malaysia to work nxt yr. Just an opinion.
R u married with children?
mercury8400
post Dec 13 2011, 12:02 AM

2,703 posts

QUOTE(kinccc @ Dec 12 2011, 10:41 PM)
Now start seeing more European come to work in Malaysia, economy must real bad over there.
Europe is screwed pretty badly.
Spains unemployment is 20% at one point not too long ago and is hovering over the 10% mark. Greece and Italy might be even higher. Even in the Great USA its around the 10% mark.
Imagine, oout of 10 people, 2 people are unemployed. How are they going to feed themselves?
strawberyeve
post Dec 13 2011, 10:01 AM

24 posts

QUOTE(Murusundram @ Dec 12 2011, 10:47 PM)
R u married with children?
No i am not. i am 22 years old.

243 Pages « < 6 7 8 9 10 > » Top

0.0290sec    0.62    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 18th December 2025 - 03:51 AM