243 Pages « < 56 57 58 59 60 > » Bottom

Working in Australia, Experiences working in Australia.

Alvin330000421
post Feb 15 2013, 10:47 AM

78 posts

QUOTE(konichiwawa @ Feb 15 2013, 07:57 AM)
As stated earlier, don't let 1 or 2 experiences generalise all Australians for you. It's no surprise that racism is a problem here but not only for Asians. For middle easterns, aboriginals etc it's all the same. Racism is a problem everywhere, even in Malaysia so that's nothing "new" there.

I don't see this happening in my current company. I think you are just thinking the worse of Australia and have no actual knowledge of the situation. HR here take discrimination in any forms very seriously. While Australians are not as bad as Americans, they will still go to the court over anything that they feel has gone against them. So most HRs here would want to nip the problem in the butt first before it goes out to public. I know the department at my company who deals with internal complaints and they definitely do take these kind of cases very very seriously. A lot of effort is taken to gather evidence and to understand the situation properly. My company also has a "warning" system. An employee would need to be put on a "program" to improve their performance first before they can be sacked.

Retrenchment is happening everywhere. In Europe, America and even in Singapore. And seriously, you think that the very first option for companies here to save money is to retrench staff? Retrenchment is usually done because they need to re-org or restructure because there are too many redundant roles in the organisation. Either that or they are out-sourcing certain functions. I definitely don't think it's a panic retrenchment. At least not for the bigger companies.

In the end, what I'm trying to say is that everything you've mentioned is happening everywhere in the world. Just because you don't know people who have had that experience doesn't mean it's not happening. There's nothing great about working in Australia, but there's nothing terrible like what you have mentioned as well. Just like the same as working in Malaysia, Singapore, London etc., you will definitely get your pros and cons. If you have so many ill feelings towards Australia in general, don't bother coming here. You will only make yourself feel miserable.
1 or 2? I heard like 10 complains and they are piling on.

You are right that I have less knowledge but I am trying to gauge the situation as well as I can.

So your company views allegations of racism seriously? To be frank, its very hard to proof racism. For instance, my friend who work as a surveyor in an Australian company, was downgraded to doing photostating and documentation. He hardly had any field experience. So when he said he wanted to go for field work, they say he wasn't good enough. Being a fresh grad, he doesn't know how its like to do field work, yet he was pressed down to do office work. In the end, they said he underperformed. On paper, you can't hardly see any element of racism but in reality, your heart tells you otherwise.

1) Warning system
This "warning system" is not design for employee advantage, its design to protect the employer. We must stop thinking that the employer is our best friend. Yes its a place where we earn our keep and probably make some friends but we must remember that if we don't perform, we go to the chopping block. If a complain is lodged, the employer uses this "warning system" to protect its image and to prevent it from getting locked into lawsuits, by making itself look like its doing its job by conducting all the paperwork, consultations and therapies.

Let me give you another example. Its an Australian company based in Malaysia. This friend of mine (one of my pub buddies) was complaining about some colleagues who was giving him trouble and one day he over-reacted. It wasn't a bit over-reaction but the company took his complain seriously. It went on to conduct interviews with involved parties...my friend and the other parties. But the company concluded that my friend was delusional. So they decided to send him to a psychologists. THe psychologist report came out favouring the employer (Of course lah - because the psychologists was paid by the employer). Then the psychologists delegated my friend to a psychiatrists, forced him to take anti depressant drugs. When he refused to take the drugs, the company downgraded his performance and place the comment there that he didn't want to seek help. Then another argument between him and the parties he complained about, erupted. This time the company placed spies to monitor his behaviour, sent in witnesses to write fabricated stories about him and then sent him warning letter. After this, he submitted his resignation letter.

He changed company, and he performed better, he even got promoted ! I have known him since my schooldays, and I have never believed him to be insane. Just that I know this fark up Australian company fixed him up, with their so-called "warning system".

2) Retrenchment
Retrenchment is done everywhere but not so in Malaysia, esp the China man companies. I know one shipping company, that was making 10% net profit margin in 2010 but in 2011, it made a 10% net loss margin, yet they did not do anything drastic like retrench staff or sell their merchant ships.

All this panic retrenchments stem from GE's Jack Welch, he first came up with slashing jobs whenever the company underperformed. Its a trend for western companies. For instance, Barclays slashed 3,500 jobs when Barclays were caught by the authorities for the LIBOR scandal, they were making less profit from the year before. And now Rio Tinto reported $3billion loss, expect more job slash.

Nope. Its not happening to Malaysia. Why? Because we got laws that require permission written to the HR ministry to retrench staff. I ask you, have you ever heard of large scale retrenchments in Malaysia? No, you can only do it if you file for bankfruptcy or close down your operations here. My previous company tried to retrench some staff because the results weren't so favourable but was turned down by the Ministry.

Retrenchment is not happening everywhere. Its happening a lot in Europe and to a lesser extend, USA. Asia's job market is flourishing for your information.

Why are you focusing on my ill feelings towards Australia? Now what we want to discuss is the pros and cons of Austrlian migration.
konichiwawa
post Feb 15 2013, 12:02 PM

148 posts

QUOTE(Alvin330000421 @ Feb 15 2013, 10:47 AM)
You are right that I have less knowledge but I am trying to gauge the situation as well as I can.
Why are you focusing on my ill feelings towards Australia? Now what we want to discuss is the pros and cons of Austrlian migration.
Wow, maybe your friends are exactly like you then. I can ask all of my friends working in Australia and I'm sure all of them will have more good to say about it.

Working in an Australian company based in Malaysia is not the same as working in Australia.

I'm focussing on your ill feelings towards Australia because there's absolutely no point in us telling you how we enjoy working here our share with you on the benefits of working here. You have a relative's/friend's/stranger's "experience" that life here is miserable to debunk us. On top of that, what's the point of finding out how good working in Australia is if you'll hate it here?! What works for 20-30-50-100 of us doesn't mean that it'll work out for you. Don't you get it?! If you have so many bad stories of migrating to Australia and have it pretty much set up in your mind that Australian system sucks, Australian bosses suck, Australian jobs not as good as Singapore/Malaysian jobs, then us telling you the good side is just a waste of our time.

My last reply to you. I really wanted to help you out but it's pretty clear to me that I've been wasting both our time. My last word of sincere advice to you, "Don't migrate to Australia".
Alvin330000421
post Feb 15 2013, 12:12 PM

78 posts

QUOTE(konichiwawa @ Feb 15 2013, 01:02 PM)
Wow, maybe your friends are exactly like you then. I can ask all of my friends working in Australia and I'm sure all of them will have more good to say about it.

Working in an Australian company based in Malaysia is not the same as working in Australia.

I'm focussing on your ill feelings towards Australia because there's absolutely no point in us telling you how we enjoy working here our share with you on the benefits of working here. You have a relative's/friend's/stranger's "experience" that life here is miserable to debunk us. On top of that, what's the point of finding out how good working in Australia is if you'll hate it here?! What works for 20-30-50-100 of us doesn't mean that it'll work out for you. Don't you get it?! If you have so many bad stories of migrating to Australia and have it pretty much set up in your mind that Australian system sucks, Australian bosses suck, Australian jobs not as good as Singapore/Malaysian jobs, then us telling you the good side is just a waste of our time.

My last reply to you. I really wanted to help you out but it's pretty clear to me that I've been wasting both our time. My last word of sincere advice to you, "Don't migrate to Australia".
Help or criticize?

You come out with one point, I am debunking the myth.

By far you haven't said anything convincing about migration, this is what exactly I want to hear.

You sound like this guy who migrated to Australia, 1st year, he said wow, everything thumbs up, he found a job with an accounting firm. Then second year he bought a Gti sports car. Thumbs up. Third year, he changed job to a managerial position. Fourth year, his wife took a year off to take care of the baby. Fifth year, he decided to venture into biz. Thumbs up.

Actually what happened was, first year he got a job with a small 10 men accounting firm, when he was a senior manager at the Big 4 back in Malaysia. Second year, Gti car in Australia is cheaper than in Malaysia, but he never said anything about FC. He changed job because his company closed down. Third year, he got a job as a one man Bookkeeping manager, one leg kick all, do everything job. Fourth year, the wife actually got retrenched because she was pregnant. Fifth year, his sister-in-law came from a rich family and asked him to help out the biz.

So I exactly trying to uncover but you see it as a waste of time.

Nemesis1980
post Feb 15 2013, 12:44 PM

1,066 posts

QUOTE(Alvin330000421 @ Feb 15 2013, 10:47 AM)

So your company views allegations of racism seriously? To be frank, its very hard to proof racism. For instance, my friend who work as a surveyor in an Australian company, was downgraded to doing photostating and documentation. He hardly had any field experience. So when he said he wanted to go for field work, they say he wasn't good enough. Being a fresh grad, he doesn't know how its like to do field work, yet he was pressed down to do office work. In the end, they said he underperformed. On paper, you can't hardly see any element of racism but in reality, your heart tells you otherwise.

1) Warning system
This "warning system" is not design for employee advantage, its design to protect the employer. We must stop thinking that the employer is our best friend. Yes its a place where we earn our keep and probably make some friends but we must remember that if we don't perform, we go to the chopping block. If a complain is lodged, the employer uses this "warning system" to protect its image and to prevent it from getting locked into lawsuits, by making itself look like its doing its job by conducting all the paperwork, consultations and therapies.

Let me give you another example. Its an Australian company based in Malaysia. This friend of mine (one of my pub buddies) was complaining about some colleagues who was giving him trouble and one day he over-reacted. It wasn't a bit over-reaction but the company took his complain seriously. It went on to conduct interviews with involved parties...my friend and the other parties. But the company concluded that my friend was delusional. So they decided to send him to a psychologists. THe psychologist report came out favouring the employer (Of course lah - because the psychologists was paid by the employer). Then the psychologists delegated my friend to a psychiatrists, forced him to take anti depressant drugs. When he refused to take the drugs, the company downgraded his performance and place the comment there that he didn't want to seek help. Then another argument between him and the parties he complained about, erupted. This time the company placed spies to monitor his behaviour, sent in witnesses to write fabricated stories about him and then sent him warning letter. After this, he submitted his resignation letter.

He changed company, and he performed better, he even got promoted ! I have known him since my schooldays, and I have never believed him to be insane. Just that I know this fark up Australian company fixed him up, with their so-called "warning system".

2) Retrenchment
Retrenchment is done everywhere but not so in Malaysia, esp the China man companies. I know one shipping company, that was making 10% net profit margin in 2010 but in 2011, it made a 10% net loss margin, yet they did not do anything drastic like retrench staff or sell their merchant ships.

All this panic retrenchments stem from GE's Jack Welch, he first came up with slashing jobs whenever the company underperformed. Its a trend for western companies. For instance, Barclays slashed 3,500 jobs when Barclays were caught by the authorities for the LIBOR scandal, they were making less profit from the year before. And now Rio Tinto reported $3billion loss, expect more job slash.

Nope. Its not happening to Malaysia. Why? Because we got laws that require permission written to the HR ministry to retrench staff. I ask you, have you ever heard of large scale retrenchments in Malaysia? No, you can only do it if you file for bankfruptcy or close down your operations here. My previous company tried to retrench some staff because the results weren't so favourable but was turned down by the Ministry.

Retrenchment is not happening everywhere. Its happening a lot in Europe and to a lesser extend, USA. Asia's job market is flourishing for your information.

Wow, alvin, i think i'm a surveyor too but let me get this thing right.
When i started work as fresh graduate, i do always do the documentation works including photostating and documentation. This is part of our work. Reason? Coz we're dealing with contract and every page with any amendments we need to be really good at and this is something we need to present to our client. If we're not good at the bottom, how would you expect them to give you a bigger job to you. To be honest, I engaged some consultants locally with like 5 years experience. They also can't perform well and with loads of mistake even my junior can do better than them. Somemore we pay fees asking them to do the job. For me, when you're stepping into someone's land, they need to see how you perform.
In order to give them confident, i think your friend need to put in double effort in the things he do.
Look, i'll always look things thoroughly on how yourself perform before concluding they're being racist. I do even saw some people can't even perform and got attitude problem blaming racial issue. For our case, we do engage some migrants from india who're really good in management level. Some proved they're really good but some really a bad ass. There's some bad apples in the basket, so i don't this should apply to all.

Retrenchment is a global phenomenon. Remember Western Digital in kelana jaya? My friends working there, constantly get promoted and travel overseas for seminar. Working 5 years, suddenly company facing financial problem retrenching him within 24 hours. Did he do anything wrong? No, coz company cutting down production, so they slicing the high paid staff 1st.

I'm not saying there's no racial issue in your case. Just that don't jump into that conclusion so fast. Shouldn't we analyse the issue 1st then only conclude? hmm.gif
Alvin330000421
post Feb 15 2013, 12:51 PM

78 posts

QUOTE(Nemesis1980 @ Feb 15 2013, 01:44 PM)
Wow, alvin, i think i'm a surveyor too but let me get this thing right.
When i started work as fresh graduate, i do always do the documentation works including photostating and documentation. This is part of our work. Reason? Coz  we're dealing with contract and every page with any amendments we need to be really good at and this is something we need to present to our client. If we're not good at the bottom, how would you expect them to give you a bigger job to you. To be honest, I engaged some consultants locally with like 5 years experience. They also can't perform well and with loads of mistake even my junior can do better than them. Somemore we pay fees asking them to do the job. For me, when you're stepping into someone's land, they need to see how you perform.
In order to give them confident, i think your friend need to put in double effort in the things he do.
Look, i'll always look things thoroughly on how yourself perform before concluding they're being racist. I do even saw some people can't even perform and got attitude problem blaming racial issue. For our case, we do engage some migrants from india who're really good in management level. Some proved they're really good but some really a bad ass. There's some bad apples in the basket, so i don't this should apply to all.

Retrenchment is a global phenomenon. Remember Western Digital in kelana jaya? My friends working there, constantly get promoted and travel overseas for seminar. Working 5 years, suddenly company facing financial problem retrenching him within 24 hours. Did he do anything wrong? No, coz company cutting down production, so they slicing the high paid staff 1st.

I'm not saying there's no racial issue in your case. Just that don't jump into that conclusion so fast. Shouldn't we analyse the issue 1st then only conclude? hmm.gif
Just want to ask, your surveying job is it in Malaysia or Australia?

If you haven't been to Australia, well sorry, I am not trying to scare you. My advice to you is to try, at least (touch wood) good or bad, at end of day, you tried.

Bad apples or good apples, I know one particular friend who is a lawyer, I don't think he is a bad apple, but from his story of mistreatment he had at an Australian law firm really made me feel utterly bad at the way Aussie employers treat asian workers. Hopefully this is just a one-off incident.

Well, that is why I am checking it out to see if this all is true. So Konichiwa has made his point but his last point - too bad, he could have said more.

Thats because Western Digital is MNC. WHat about the story of KTM needing RM7billion to revitalise its biz? KTM has been making losses since 1995, yet no retrenchment.

konichiwawa
post Feb 15 2013, 01:42 PM

148 posts

QUOTE(Alvin330000421 @ Feb 15 2013, 12:12 PM)
Help or criticize?
You come out with one point, I am debunking the myth.
Wow, just wow. I've given you links to look for jobs. Shown you that it's possible to find cheaper accommodation. Explained how the recruitment system here more or less works. And you can ask me that question. Wow. Some people are incredible. Just because I disagree with you doesn't mean I'm criticizing. Grow up man, it's a discussion.

Actually you are wrong. I came up with 2 points.

1. There are pros and cons where ever you work, be it Malaysia, Singapore, Australia etc.
2. What other people experienced in Australia is what they experienced and shouldn't be generalised. 10 people can have a bad experience and another 100 people can have good experiences, but doesn't mean that you'll have a good experience.

Anyway, it's not a myth for me. I'm here and I'm having a good time. How is that a myth? Again, I never said being here is the greatest thing ever. I still can't see myself being able to afford to buy a house any time soon but I'm still enjoying it here.

Ok and I was wrong. I said that earlier it was my last reply to you but I just had to reply. This is really my last 1.
Nemesis1980
post Feb 15 2013, 03:15 PM

1,066 posts

QUOTE(Alvin330000421 @ Feb 15 2013, 12:51 PM)
Just want to ask, your surveying job is it in Malaysia or Australia?

If you haven't been to Australia, well sorry, I am not trying to scare you. My advice to you is to try, at least (touch wood) good or bad, at end of day, you tried.

Bad apples or good apples, I know one particular friend who is a lawyer, I don't think he is a bad apple, but from his story of mistreatment he had at an Australian law firm really made me feel utterly bad at the way Aussie employers treat asian workers. Hopefully this is just a one-off incident.

Well, that is why I am checking it out to see if this all is true. So Konichiwa has made his point but his last point - too bad, he could have said more.

Thats because Western Digital is MNC. WHat about the story of KTM needing RM7billion to revitalise its biz? KTM has been making losses since 1995, yet no retrenchment.
Well, Alvin my friend. I'm agreed on what Konichiwawa commented previously. Just that i only can say your comment is far way to extreme though.
It's just too generalise on whatsoever your friend experience on Ozzie racism. It's all based on hearsay. Yes, we all know they've been through the White Policy before but at least they're open their doors and they're improving.
I think you're just emphasize on whether am i been to Ozzie or not. In this world, not just you been to Ozzie and telling us don't go there or watsoever bad things are.I think you just picking up his comment too serious, it's just a discussion. Relax...
A piece of advise, please grow up. I think your comment is just disgusted. If possible, just let your PR lapse and don't step into Oz again. This i have to really support Konichiwawa recommendation. No hard feelings.

This post has been edited by Nemesis1980: Feb 15 2013, 03:22 PM
pcychen72
post Feb 15 2013, 04:45 PM

i don't like to be screwed by proton, don't mind bimmer and merc though.

see my point. No.... doh.gif

next, i don't like to be screwed by the wrong system (e.g. management paid four to five times my salary). but i don't mind 1.5 to 2x.

see my point. No.... shakehead.gif

static
post Feb 15 2013, 06:16 PM

782 posts

QUOTE(Alvin330000421 @ Feb 14 2013, 12:48 PM)
What does your friend do? Perhaps he is not an Aussie grad?

Yeah, another friend of mine graduated 2 years ago as a mechanical engineer, could not find a job, ended up waitering for 2 years while doing his postgrad.

They do look at your Linkedin profile?
He was in procurement.

Yup, they actually do go through your linkedin profiles and headhunt for some of the big 4 companies (bank & audit) too.
static
post Feb 15 2013, 06:17 PM

782 posts

QUOTE(Nemesis1980 @ Feb 14 2013, 12:38 PM)
Mind to share what are the profession you guys holding??
I'm in IT - risk & compliance.

Nemesis1980
post Feb 15 2013, 08:13 PM

1,066 posts

QUOTE(static @ Feb 15 2013, 06:17 PM)
I'm in IT - risk & compliance.
IT is in demand now. My friend just get employed recently by the employer in Oz. LAst year the whole family just move over.
bysquashy
post Feb 16 2013, 05:20 AM

Wireless Bliss [3GPP R14]
2,884 posts

QUOTE(konichiwawa @ Feb 15 2013, 01:42 PM)

QUOTE(Nemesis1980 @ Feb 15 2013, 03:15 PM)

Guys, he's a typical whinger. I think even if he's in heaven, he'll whinge that it's too quiet there.

The only reason I kept replying previously was to avoid others to think what he said is true.

To others reading this, a lot of us ARE living and working here; we know first hand what is it like here. He likes to sensationalize isolated cases. All the "stories" that he shared can be reported to Fair Work and Fair Work will come down on the employer so hard that they don't know what hit them.
pcychen72
post Feb 16 2013, 06:30 AM

QUOTE(bysquashy @ Feb 16 2013, 08:20 AM)
Guys, he's a typical whinger. I think even if he's in heaven, he'll whinge that it's too quiet there.

The only reason I kept replying previously was to avoid others to think what he said is true.

To others reading this, a lot of us ARE living and working here; we know first hand what is it like here. He likes to sensationalize isolated cases. All the "stories" that he shared can be reported to Fair Work and Fair Work will come down on the employer so hard that they don't know what hit them.
let the whinger stay home. australian immigration has made it tough for all migration in recent years. they are teaching the young for the future with the hope of not distorted by the outside world.
maldini
post Feb 16 2013, 10:23 AM

104 posts

Wow, lots of back and forth arguments. No worries guys, there are always two sides of story and there is no right or wrong. The purpose is to share these with others. Personally, living in Australia has been one of the best experiences in my life. In fact, from time to time, I have my holiday there with my family. People think what's wrong with us going to the same place for holiday again and again but I just want to relive the experiences especially with my kids. I got the offer previous year from Accenture but total compensation can't match what I'm earning right here on one to one basis, in fact much much lower. Realistically, while I've great time living there a while back, currently I live much better over here. So as some forumers pointed out, if you are already earning 5 figures salary, attain high position most probably not a good idea to migrate as you can't achieve the same standard of living (not general population but individually). For me, I can relive the experiences once a year with short holiday and that's good enough for me smile.gif.
static
post Feb 16 2013, 10:54 AM

782 posts

QUOTE(Nemesis1980 @ Feb 15 2013, 08:13 PM)
IT is in demand now. My friend just get employed recently by the employer in Oz. LAst year the whole family just move over.
It is, actually. Unfortunately, my job is specialized and can only work in banks, bummer... We have been trying to hire someone for this MIS reporting role, their resumes were IMPRESSIVE, but once we made them take a basic SQL test, all of them failed blink.gif yawn.gif Just to join 2 basic tables! LOL.

This post has been edited by static: Feb 16 2013, 11:12 AM
static
post Feb 16 2013, 11:02 AM

782 posts

QUOTE(Alvin330000421 @ Feb 14 2013, 01:10 PM)
I have never seen $250 a week for room in Melbourne unless I am student and I agree to sleep in a domitory.
Wow, $250 a week for a room is quite steep, right in the city centre? There are heaps of rooms available around for $180pw, walking distance to the CBD or just a few tram stops. Some houses might be old, but they are roomy. You can even get a very SMALL unit for $260 - yes, we lived in one for short term accommodation before, better than a dorm room.

We are only charging $220 a week including utilities and internet, fully furnished with TV in the room for you. Own bathroom and shower to boot. Maybe we should increase our rent... sweat.gif

Stefanov
post Feb 17 2013, 01:05 PM

400 posts

QUOTE(static @ Feb 16 2013, 10:54 AM)
It is, actually. Unfortunately, my job is specialized and can only work in banks, bummer... We have been trying to hire someone for this MIS reporting role, their resumes were IMPRESSIVE, but once we made them take a basic SQL test, all of them failed  blink.gif  yawn.gif Just to join 2 basic tables! LOL.
means the locals in malaysia are lying for their own resumes.
springfall
post Feb 17 2013, 09:10 PM

Spring and fall helping Summer and winter
4,072 posts

QUOTE(Stefanov @ Feb 17 2013, 03:05 PM)
means the locals in malaysia are lying for their own resumes.
coooooreeect!! laugh.gif
alot of youngsters just wanna climb crop ladder.
take phone at front desk write front admin (sounds better than reception)
worse is just work 1-2 years then change to another company to built their 'work experience'
just fro bragging rights whistling.gif
Alvin330000421
post Feb 18 2013, 02:01 PM

78 posts

QUOTE(Nemesis1980 @ Feb 15 2013, 04:15 PM)
Well, Alvin my friend. I'm agreed on what Konichiwawa commented previously. Just that i only can say your comment is far way to extreme though.
It's just too generalise on whatsoever your friend experience on Ozzie racism. It's all based on hearsay. Yes, we all know they've been through the White Policy before but at least they're open their doors and they're improving.
I think you're just emphasize on whether am i been to Ozzie or not. In this world, not just you been to Ozzie and telling us don't go there or watsoever bad things are.I think you just picking up his comment too serious, it's just a discussion. Relax...
A piece of advise, please grow up. I think your comment is just disgusted. If possible, just let your PR lapse and don't step into Oz again. This i have to really support Konichiwawa recommendation. No hard feelings.
Well, at least you can speak logically and at ease with others. Not like this idiot lady Bi Squashy, what kind of name is that anyway? She name herself after a vege? Can't even take constructive comment, this idiot lady and she starts going personal insults at me.

I am a realists.

I have to take up all the factors there are because its a big risk to go over there. This Bi Squashy for all we know, most likely end up in a dead end job and struggling but its too proud to admit that she's a big failure there.

If Australia goes to another big 1994 recession, bet this Bi Squashy will be coming back to Msia begging for jobs, that day, I'll laugh at this loser, because with all the crap experience she gained in her rubbish job in Australia, she doesn't stand a chance in competition with the rest of us.

She is so dumb, this Bi Squashy, when I mention about comparisons of working in Australia, she tried to limit my debate to Malaysia vs Australia, so stupid. No brains. Wonder how her whitey racist employers can stand her brainlessness. I explain to her that yes Malaysia situation is bad, corruption and all but compared to other countries, like Myanmmar and Syria, we at least still got a home to go back to and if we don't like to work for GLCs, at least there are more variety of places to work like MNCs or china man companies. We are changing and we are transforming, there's the Bersih 3.0 revolution, people here are getting more aware of whats happening.

We are here for a healthy debate but this brainless Bi Squashy is only interested in pooking personal attacks because she has a personal stake in this Australia thing. She just can't accept the fact that she's loving a losery life. A deniar and hallucinator - thats what she is.
Alvin330000421
post Feb 18 2013, 02:06 PM

78 posts

QUOTE(konichiwawa @ Feb 15 2013, 02:42 PM)
Wow, just wow. I've given you links to look for jobs. Shown you that it's possible to find cheaper accommodation. Explained how the recruitment system here more or less works. And you can ask me that question. Wow. Some people are incredible. Just because I disagree with you doesn't mean I'm criticizing. Grow up man, it's a discussion.

Actually you are wrong. I came up with 2 points.

1. There are pros and cons where ever you work, be it Malaysia, Singapore, Australia etc.
2. What other people experienced in Australia is what they experienced and shouldn't be generalised. 10 people can have a bad experience and another 100 people can have good experiences, but doesn't mean that you'll have a good experience.

Anyway, it's not a myth for me. I'm here and I'm having a good time. How is that a myth? Again, I never said being here is the greatest thing ever. I still can't see myself being able to afford to buy a house any time soon but I'm still enjoying it here.

Ok and I was wrong. I said that earlier it was my last reply to you but I just had to reply. This is really my last 1.
Grow up? You should grow up for a change, because you yourself said that people come here for a healthy debate. People will always disagree with each other.

Don't be like that ridiculous Bi Squashy, you are more mature than that brainless twat.

At least you can still debate but not go for personal attacks just yet (like the Bi Squashy).

Point is, one has go to see if living in Australia, the benefits outweigh the costs.

My advice is after 2 or 3 years if you don't see the destination or achievements, maybe its time to come back but if you still see some ray of hope of hanging around, then its up to you to be there. I am not debating anything on that issue.

243 Pages « < 56 57 58 59 60 > » Top

0.0350sec    0.65    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 21st December 2025 - 01:49 AM