243 Pages « < 54 55 56 57 58 > » Bottom

Working in Australia, Experiences working in Australia.

darkhorse_86
post Feb 14 2013, 09:55 AM

152 posts

QUOTE(Alvin330000421 @ Feb 14 2013, 09:16 AM)
Visiting their website?

Gosh its a lot of work, isn't it?

I see the convenience of jobstreet.com, I just open it, and wallah...30 jobs advertised a day.

Then in Australia, I have to think of whom is the top employers...like err, Fortesque Metals, BHP, Rio Tinto, Woolworths, Commonwealth Bank, etc (By the way I am not familiar with local Australian brand names). I have to look at one by one of the co websites? Quite taxing.
Doing this is only one of the many ways to get a job. Networking is extremely important as well since most of the jobs are in the hidden job market and are not advertised. Best way is joining clubs and societies and volunteering.

There is no easy thing in life. Actually I think one would of have better chances if a direct application was made. However they can be tedious as some required you to address certain questions, key selection criteria and undergo a personality tests.

apple2011
post Feb 14 2013, 10:47 AM

19 posts

QUOTE(Alvin330000421 @ Feb 14 2013, 09:16 AM)
Visiting their website?

Gosh its a lot of work, isn't it?

I see the convenience of jobstreet.com, I just open it, and wallah...30 jobs advertised a day.

Then in Australia, I have to think of whom is the top employers...like err, Fortesque Metals, BHP, Rio Tinto, Woolworths, Commonwealth Bank, etc (By the way I am not familiar with local Australian brand names). I have to look at one by one of the co websites? Quite taxing.
Been reading your posts. To me, it is very clear of where you stand. Everything in Australia is "a lot of work" and "inconvenient" and "causing too much hassle for you". You hate cold weather, you hate white Aussies, you hate how Australian system works. So why move to Australia? Keeping your options open? for what?

So I think you should just let go of your Australian PR and just try Singapore or stay Malaysia since you are doing very well and have a good career development. There is no point for you to migrate to Australia just for the sake of your PR.

Why do you have to be scared if your parents get angry at you for staying in Malaysia and letting go of your PR? Since you are doing very well, it should not be a problem. It is your life afterall. You should make the best decision out of your own circumtances.

Good luck.

This post has been edited by apple2011: Feb 14 2013, 10:49 AM
kwh1989
post Feb 14 2013, 11:08 AM

412 posts

QUOTE(Alvin330000421 @ Feb 13 2013, 08:42 AM)
One thing I want to bring up is the frustrations of applying jobs in Australia. You see, unlike here in Malaysia in which we got two main mediums - jobstreet and the Star, in Australia all job applications have to go through Job Recruitment firms.
I think you are not looking hard enough.

There's

http://www.seek.com.au/

An Aus equivalent of Jobstreet.

Else you could always start on finding the companies that suit you, before emailing them to inquire about vacancy.

Seems that it is your own problem, not much of the system.

And I been there, done that.
Alvin330000421
post Feb 14 2013, 11:17 AM

78 posts

QUOTE(apple2011 @ Feb 14 2013, 11:47 AM)
Been reading your posts. To me, it is very clear of where you stand. Everything in Australia is "a lot of work" and "inconvenient" and "causing too much hassle for you". You hate cold weather, you hate white Aussies, you hate how Australian system works. So why move to Australia? Keeping your options open? for what?

So I think you should just let go of your Australian PR and just try Singapore or stay Malaysia since you are doing very well and have a good career development. There is no point for you to migrate to Australia just for the sake of your PR.

Why do you have to be scared if your parents get angry at you for staying in Malaysia and letting go of your PR? Since you are doing very well, it should not be a problem. It is your life afterall. You should make the best decision out of your own circumtances.

Good luck.
Yeah? I cannot weigh the cons is it? Then tell me the pros if you have any.

Yes it is my life, but I do favor getting feedback from parents because they are dear to me.

Why not keep my options open? If I have a toyota altis but someone sell to me proton preve for quarter price, why not accept it and have two cars instead of one?

Who knows? If let say my career turns sour, at least I can look at this option. Or if happens a riot or war in Malaysia (which seems unlikely) I could see this option as well. My policy is to never burn the bridge...keep it open.
konichiwawa
post Feb 14 2013, 11:18 AM

148 posts

QUOTE(Alvin330000421 @ Feb 14 2013, 09:10 AM)
1. How come I hardly see any company personally advertised in the career page of The Age newspaper online?

2. They do reveal the name of employer? Funny thing, Malaysian headhunters don't reveal until the first interview but only once the reveal to me when I ask, many don't.

3. Quite a waste of time, honestly. Even if I am in Australia, its a waste of time. In MAlaysia, I can get like 8 interviews in one month, if I am in Australia, then I get 8X2= 16 interviews ! How many leaves I gotta take?

Problem is, I apply to Australia for fun and got it, now I am in dilemna. But maybe my hearts set on what I want. Still, I keep my options open. That is why I am open for debate and feedback.
1. That's how the system works in Australia. So either you accept it for what it is or too bad. Considering that we are the ones that needs a job, I'm guessing it's better we conform to the system rather than expecting the system to conform to us. Anyway, as I have mentioned; vacancies are advertised on the respective company's website instead of them putting it up else where.

2. Australian headhunters do, at least based on my personal experience. I don't know about Malaysian headhunters. I personally didn't know that you are speaking with Malaysian headhunters as it would surprise me that Australian vacancies are dealt with by headhunters in Malaysia. I naturally assumed that you were lucky enough to deal with headhunters based here in Australia.

3. Well, if it's a waste of time then don't apply or don't bother. If you think that your skillset is so great that headhunters should be begging you to submit your CV, then wait. Headhunters will definitely call you if they know about you. As I said, I've not put myself out there but I've had 5 calls in the last 2 years. I'm not saying that I'm good, it's just that my details are on LinkedIn, my professional certification website and on Seek.com.au and if a headhunter thinks my experience is relevant to the vacancy, they would give me a call.

I think that there's no debate required for you. You seem pretty set that the only thing that Australia has going for you is that you have a PR. Other than that, you don't show any real interest in coming here. Follow what you think is right. No point relocating here and regretting it later. If you've had interviews for vacancies in Australia while in Malaysia, I must say that you are extremely lucky. I've had 2-3 friends who tried in the last 2 years and none of them were even given an interview because they weren't in the country. They held PRs but were hoping for a job before migrating but no one would give them a chance. 1 took a leap of faith and came here to look for a job and only got a job 6 months later while the other is still trying from Malaysia.
Alvin330000421
post Feb 14 2013, 11:20 AM

78 posts

QUOTE(kwh1989 @ Feb 14 2013, 12:08 PM)

There's

Else you could always start on finding the companies that suit you, before emailing them to inquire about vacancy.

Seems that it is your own problem, not much of the system.

And I been there, done that.
Not looking hard enough?

That is why I am here talking about this.

I'll check the site out. Hopefully its not filled with Job recruiters advertising, I am more interested to apply directly.
konichiwawa
post Feb 14 2013, 11:20 AM

148 posts

QUOTE(kwh1989 @ Feb 14 2013, 11:08 AM)

There's

Nah, I understand where Alvin is coming from. Even on Seek.com.au, most vacancies are advertised by recruitment agencies/headhunters. At least for my profession/industry it is.
omgimahero
post Feb 14 2013, 11:21 AM

479 posts

You know DJ Tensai?
konichiwawa
post Feb 14 2013, 11:22 AM

148 posts

QUOTE(Alvin330000421 @ Feb 14 2013, 11:20 AM)
I'll check the site out. Hopefully its not filled with Job recruiters advertising, I am more interested to apply directly.
Look, I'm not sure what industry you are in or what jobs you are looking for. But I'm pretty sure whatever job that you are looking for, there's more or less an industry or 2 that you are looking at. Manufacturing, retail, telco, financial institution, engineering, O&G etc etc. Share with us which industry you are looking at and hopefully some of us would know what other the bigger companies in Australia in those industries. From there, you can look at the Career pages of those companies. Else, do some research on your own and find out which other the bigger companies for those industries and look at their Career pages.
Alvin330000421
post Feb 14 2013, 11:26 AM

78 posts

QUOTE(konichiwawa @ Feb 14 2013, 12:18 PM)
1. That's how the system works in Australia. So either you accept it for what it is or too bad. Considering that we are the ones that needs a job, I'm guessing it's better we conform to the system rather than expecting the system to conform to us. Anyway, as I have mentioned; vacancies are advertised on the respective company's website instead of them putting it up else where.

2. Australian headhunters do, at least based on my personal experience. I don't know about Malaysian headhunters. I personally didn't know that you are speaking with Malaysian headhunters as it would surprise me that Australian vacancies are dealt with by headhunters in Malaysia. I naturally assumed that you were lucky enough to deal with headhunters based here in Australia.

3. Well, if it's a waste of time then don't apply or don't bother. If you think that your skillset is so great that headhunters should be begging you to submit your CV, then wait. Headhunters will definitely call you if they know about you. As I said, I've not put myself out there but I've had 5 calls in the last 2 years. I'm not saying that I'm good, it's just that my details are on LinkedIn, my professional certification website and on Seek.com.au and if a headhunter thinks my experience is relevant to the vacancy, they would give me a call.

I think that there's no debate required for you. You seem pretty set that the only thing that Australia has going for you is that you have a PR. Other than that, you don't show any real interest in coming here. Follow what you think is right. No point relocating here and regretting it later. If you've had interviews for vacancies in Australia while in Malaysia, I must say that you are extremely lucky. I've had 2-3 friends who tried in the last 2 years and none of them were even given an interview because they weren't in the country. They held PRs but were hoping for a job before migrating but no one would give them a chance. 1 took a leap of faith and came here to look for a job and only got a job 6 months later while the other is still trying from Malaysia.
Actually there was a vacancy in my company for an Australian position. I beg the boss to relocate me. They offered me Hong Kong instead, I say no because the position was not my cup of tea, so they gave me the KL position. The Australian position ended up with another colleague.

Ok this is what I want to hear. So you are already here. It took you 6 months to get a permanent job? You must have used up a lot of cash reserves.

May I ask you the following:
1) What field are you in? (I want to know if my skillsets are in demand)
2) How much cash reserve I need to survive before getting a job?
3) Has your leap of faith reaped rewards lately?
4) How long have you been in Australia?
5) What about Gumtree? Is it a good jobs site?

Alvin330000421
post Feb 14 2013, 11:29 AM

78 posts

QUOTE(darkhorse_86 @ Feb 14 2013, 10:55 AM)
Doing this is only one of the many ways to get a job. Networking is extremely important as well since most of the jobs are in the hidden job market and are not advertised. Best way is joining clubs and societies and volunteering.

There is no easy thing in life. Actually I think one would of have better chances if a direct application was made. However they can be tedious as some required you to address certain questions, key selection criteria and undergo a personality tests.
I have actually gone through these "tests" before. Actually they are kind of fun. But yes, tedious and time consuming.

One poster mention about www.seek.com.au

If its like jobstreet, then its very convenient, just upload your CV, the rest is view jobs, click for application. Then wait. View, click, wait - damn easy.
konichiwawa
post Feb 14 2013, 11:38 AM

148 posts

QUOTE(Alvin330000421 @ Feb 14 2013, 11:26 AM)
Actually there was a vacancy in my company for an Australian position. I beg the boss to relocate me. They offered me Hong Kong instead, I say no because the position was not my cup of tea, so they gave me the KL position. The Australian position ended up with another colleague.

Ok this is what I want to hear. So you are already here. It took you 6 months to get a permanent job? You must have used up a lot of cash reserves.

May I ask you the following:
1) What field are you in? (I want to know if my skillsets are in demand)
2) How much cash reserve I need to survive before getting a job?
3) Has your leap of faith reaped rewards lately?
4) How long have you been in Australia?
5) What about Gumtree? Is it a good jobs site?
I see interesting. Well, do try again. I got my job here because my current company had a vacancy in Singapore and I applied for that while I was in Singapore. During the interview, I was offered a similar vacancy in Australia and next thing you know; here I am.

It was my friend, not me that took a leap of faith. I'm not brave enough to do that unfortunately =)

1. I'm in the IT field. Currently in telco industry.
2. No idea about that, my friend was lucky because he stayed with a friend during that 6 months. If you are going to pay rental then I would assume you need at least AU$8k to survive that 6 months.
3. N/A
4. I've been here 2.5 years now.
5. Gumtree is a terrible site for looking at jobs. It's mostly a second-hand cash on delivery sales site. Seek.com.au or monster.com.au are your best bets, but as I earlier stated, while it's like Jobstreet, the adverts are mostly put up by agencies.
joeblows
post Feb 14 2013, 11:39 AM

1,091 posts

QUOTE(Alvin330000421 @ Feb 14 2013, 11:29 AM)
I have actually gone through these "tests" before. Actually they are kind of fun. But yes, tedious and time consuming.

One poster mention about www.seek.com.au

If its like jobstreet, then its very convenient, just upload your CV, the rest is view jobs, click for application. Then wait. View, click, wait - damn easy.
Damn easy hor?

Damn easy to get ignored too.

You can try to apply, but no guarantee you will be employed even after 6 mths if you only go via SEEK. smile.gif
static
post Feb 14 2013, 12:29 PM

782 posts

I have a friend recently relocated to Melb mid last year and still unemployed... Lucky me only used SEEK and Indeed, and found a job only after 2 weeks and that was years ago. Yeap, just click and wait, but cover letters are sometimes essential so don't be lazy smile.gif

My 2 cents, update your linkedin profile and apply for jobs advertised there as well - some are advertised directly by the company. Headhunters do lurk around there as well, I get an average of 2 messages a week from them even though I am not looking atm.

This post has been edited by static: Feb 15 2013, 06:14 PM
Nemesis1980
post Feb 14 2013, 12:38 PM

1,066 posts

Mind to share what are the profession you guys holding??
Alvin330000421
post Feb 14 2013, 12:43 PM

78 posts

QUOTE(konichiwawa @ Feb 14 2013, 12:38 PM)
I see interesting. Well, do try again. I got my job here because my current company had a vacancy in Singapore and I applied for that while I was in Singapore. During the interview, I was offered a similar vacancy in Australia and next thing you know; here I am.

It was my friend, not me that took a leap of faith. I'm not brave enough to do that unfortunately =)

1. I'm in the IT field. Currently in telco industry.
2. No idea about that, my friend was lucky because he stayed with a friend during that 6 months. If you are going to pay rental then I would assume you need at least AU$8k to survive that 6 months.
3. N/A
4. I've been here 2.5 years now.
5. Gumtree is a terrible site for looking at jobs. It's mostly a second-hand cash on delivery sales site. Seek.com.au or monster.com.au are your best bets, but as I earlier stated, while it's like Jobstreet, the adverts are mostly put up by agencies.
1. I am in the accounting field. Do you think there's demand in Australia? It seems that all the accounting jobs are coming to M'sia, Philipinnes and India. I don't want to go there to do mere bookeeping.

A lot of MNCs and Australian companies are setting up shared services in Cyberjaya and KL. BHP, Nestle, BP, Exxon, Shell, HP, AP-Nol, Epson, Schlumberger, the list goes on. My company recently took back the Australian finance and centralise it here in Klang Valley.

2. I don't think $8k is enough to survive for 6 months. Rent is about $1.5k a month, if I am not mistaken? I am not aiming for Perth, I am aiming for the big cities where the rent is higher.

5. Ok

6. How is the work environment like? Other fields like civil engineering is bad, I have had friends who migrated there, ended up doing photostating work.
Alvin330000421
post Feb 14 2013, 12:46 PM

78 posts

QUOTE(konichiwawa @ Feb 14 2013, 12:22 PM)
Look, I'm not sure what industry you are in or what jobs you are looking for. But I'm pretty sure whatever job that you are looking for, there's more or less an industry or 2 that you are looking at. Manufacturing, retail, telco, financial institution, engineering, O&G etc etc. Share with us which industry you are looking at and hopefully some of us would know what other the bigger companies in Australia in those industries. From there, you can look at the Career pages of those companies. Else, do some research on your own and find out which other the bigger companies for those industries and look at their Career pages.
I am in accountancy, I can go to any industry. I have worked in all industries except Banking and Oil & Gas.

Alvin330000421
post Feb 14 2013, 12:48 PM

78 posts

QUOTE(static @ Feb 14 2013, 01:29 PM)
I have a friend recently relocated to Melb mid last year and still unemployed... Lucky me only used SEEK and Indeed, and found a job only after 2 weeks and that was years ago. Yeap, just click and wait, but cover letters are sometimes essential so don't be lazy smile.gif

My 2 cents, update your linkedin profile and apply for jobs advertised there as well - some are advertised directly by the company. Headhunters do lurk around there as well, I get an average of 2 messages from them even though I am not looking atm.
What does your friend do? Perhaps he is not an Aussie grad?

Yeah, another friend of mine graduated 2 years ago as a mechanical engineer, could not find a job, ended up waitering for 2 years while doing his postgrad.

They do look at your Linkedin profile?

Alvin330000421
post Feb 14 2013, 12:50 PM

78 posts

QUOTE(joeblows @ Feb 14 2013, 12:39 PM)
Damn easy hor?

Damn easy to get ignored too.

You can try to apply, but no guarantee you will be employed even after 6 mths if you only go via SEEK.  smile.gif
Of cuz lah. I am saying its damn easy to click and apply.

I am not saying its damn easy to find a job in Oz. Although by Malaysian standards, I could find a job in 3 months. If I am not choosy, within one month through job street. Can't say the same for SEEK though.
annielee
post Feb 14 2013, 12:52 PM

294 posts

are u cpa certified ? i got a friend cant find a job in accounting, but shes choosy also, coz she need to take care of her kids.. so shes doing part time book keeping now... accommodation will depends..if u rent a room only, then it will be cheaper provided u r here alone (couple or family very susah to rent a room)

QUOTE(Alvin330000421 @ Feb 14 2013, 12:43 PM)
1. I am in the accounting field. Do you think there's demand in Australia? It seems that all the accounting jobs are coming to M'sia, Philipinnes and India. I don't want to go there to do mere bookeeping.

A lot of MNCs and Australian companies are setting up shared services in Cyberjaya and KL. BHP, Nestle, BP, Exxon, Shell, HP, AP-Nol, Epson, Schlumberger, the list goes on. My company recently took back the Australian finance and centralise it here in Klang Valley.

2. I don't think $8k is enough to survive for 6 months. Rent is about $1.5k a month, if I am not mistaken? I am not aiming for Perth, I am aiming for the big cities where the rent is higher.

5. Ok

6. How is the work environment like? Other fields like civil engineering is bad, I have had friends who migrated there, ended up doing photostating work.

243 Pages « < 54 55 56 57 58 > » Top

0.0308sec    0.95    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 19th December 2025 - 09:44 AM