Public Mutual v3, Public/PB series funds

kparam77
post Aug 23 2011, 11:41 PM

952 posts

QUOTE(mkyam @ Aug 23 2011, 08:38 PM)
Greetings everyone!

I'm a new member and also quite new to investing. I do have a few questions that I hope someone can give me some pointers. I'm trying to perform asset allocation and buying some funds that meets my criteria and one of the main determinant in asset allocation is to find out the fund's investment style (value, blend, growth) and type of holdings (small, mid, large-cap). But from what I gather these info is not readily available.

So my main question is: is there a place where I can obtain these info on a particular fund?
Thanks and sorry for the long post!  smile.gif
from here http://www.publicmutual.com.my/OurProducts...FundReview.aspx

& here http://www.publicmutual.com.my/OurProducts...tatementFS.aspx

kparam77
post Aug 23 2011, 11:45 PM

952 posts

QUOTE(kobe8byrant @ Aug 23 2011, 08:39 PM)
I'm looking for steady dividends and capital growth (in that order). what would you recommend?
u got it....dividedn fund with capital grow such as PIDF and PSDF or otehr fund with distribution policy annual income. but dont go for Bond-lah...not much grow-lah... only steady income.
kparam77
post Aug 23 2011, 11:51 PM

952 posts

QUOTE(koinibler @ Aug 23 2011, 09:10 PM)
david explain me the other way around of calculating SC.
SC is not from value invest in RM but the value of NAV.
I do get the correct amount using david formula.

Unless, you had something to explain differently!
ya, u can go to my signature - how to calculate unit trust. i hv explain abt SC.
kparam77
post Aug 23 2011, 11:56 PM

952 posts

QUOTE(debbieyss @ Aug 23 2011, 10:26 PM)
Public Saving Fund, Public SmallCap, Public Growth Fund. These are the funds that suit my appetite. To each his own.
add PRSF, PIDF, PDSF, PAGF, PEF, PIEF,PIX,PBF (all my favorites)

anybody want to add more?
kparam77
post Aug 24 2011, 12:02 AM

952 posts

QUOTE(Irresistible @ Aug 23 2011, 10:49 PM)
This is the right time to buy such equity fund ?  Among the three, which give the best return ? which has the lowest risk ?
Which GOOD bond fund is still open ?
go to fund review and look for;
consisten return;
preservation;
total return;

1 to 5... the higher is the better.

i think all the BOND funds not much diff in performance.

wongmunkeong
post Aug 24 2011, 08:07 AM

Barista FIRE
5,608 posts

QUOTE(kparam77 @ Aug 23 2011, 11:45 PM)
u got it....dividedn fund with capital grow such as PIDF and PSDF or otehr fund with distribution policy annual income. but dont go for Bond-lah...not much grow-lah... only steady income.
I think we shouldnt discount Bond Funds since bro kobe8byrant stated he wants steady income first tongue.gif

In addition, is he a working stiff like me (employee lar) OR a biz person with no EPF?
If no EPF, bond funds i should think is a MUST as part of an anchor to Asset Allocation across asset classes.

Bond funds are one of the ways to truly be Asset Class diversified, instead of just diversifying within Equities which is dangerous by itself - point of fact, see end2008 subprime crisis + 1997-1998 asian currency crisis + maybe even 2001 dot com burst, what happened to Equities VS what happened to Bonds brows.gif

This post has been edited by wongmunkeong: Aug 24 2011, 08:19 AM
wongmunkeong
post Aug 24 2011, 08:18 AM

Barista FIRE
5,608 posts

QUOTE(koinibler @ Aug 23 2011, 09:10 PM)
david explain me the other way around of calculating SC.
SC is not from value invest in RM but the value of NAV.
I do get the correct amount using david formula.

Unless, you had something to explain differently!
Bro - attached is a ZIP Excel sheet. U can see the logic & workings there easily and mess around with the YELLOW cells for other funds with front load charges.

Attached File  Service_Charge.zip ( 3.87k ) Number of downloads: 126

Added on August 24, 2011, 9:32 amNote for those that are interested in being their own agent:
PM just sent out a memo for renewal of UTC agent fees and stuff. One of their requirements is $30K of personal sales by Nov 2011.

Just thought U may be interested to know the "minimum sales"

This post has been edited by wongmunkeong: Aug 24 2011, 09:33 AM
kucingfight
post Aug 24 2011, 09:46 AM

5,784 posts

QUOTE(kparam77 @ Aug 23 2011, 11:45 PM)
This is the ONE BIG problem i have with PM agents, they don recommend bond BECAUSE they can't get commission from it. SIMPLE.
Being a agent urself, i fail to see how you comprehend the whole understanding of fundamental financial planning. doh.gif
I think there was a study done before, comparing a 10-15yr of an individual investing in equities vs bond, and in the end, returns are somewhat similiar whistling.gif
AND also, dividend funds are not good, it's merely passing the income from right to left hand WITH tax incurred

QUOTE(kparam77 @ Aug 24 2011, 12:02 AM)
go to fund review and look for;
consisten return;
preservation;
total return;

1 to 5... the higher is the better.

i think all the BOND funds not much diff in performance.
check out funds like PBOND, PBIBF , u'll be suprised on the returns
Even then a better than average bond like PBFI is having 7-8% return consistently.

@ bro wongmunkeong,

as i fully agree with u. bonds are steady n slow, suitable for conservatives and for those who like to balance their portfolio

This post has been edited by kucingfight: Aug 24 2011, 09:53 AM
kparam77
post Aug 24 2011, 10:29 AM

952 posts

QUOTE(kucingfight @ Aug 24 2011, 09:46 AM)
This is the ONE BIG problem i have with PM agents, they don recommend bond BECAUSE they can't get commission from it. SIMPLE.
Being a agent urself, i fail to see how you comprehend the whole understanding of fundamental financial planning.  doh.gif
I think there was a study done before, comparing a 10-15yr of an individual investing in equities vs bond, and in the end, returns are somewhat similiar  whistling.gif
AND also, dividend funds are not good, it's merely passing the income from right to left hand WITH tax incurred
Even then a better than average bond like PBFI is having 7-8% return consistently.

@ bro wongmunkeong,

as i fully agree with u. bonds are steady n slow, suitable for conservatives and for those who like to balance their portfolio
bro, our frend asking "I'm looking for steady dividends and capital growth (in that order). what would you recommend?"

So, dividned funds ok-lah.....

if he ask steady income with lower risk..... go for bond-lah.

normaly i recommend BOND for those 50 yrs and above.

40 - 50 yrs - moderate
below 40 - aggessive.

its a age VS risk factor.

if a 30 yrs old, but conservative... than BOND for him.

ya, its better to hv BOND in a portfolio.

monsta2011
post Aug 24 2011, 01:01 PM

432 posts

QUOTE(wongmunkeong @ Aug 24 2011, 08:18 AM)

Added on August 24, 2011, 9:32 amNote for those that are interested in being their own agent:
PM just sent out a memo for renewal of UTC agent fees and stuff. One of their requirements is $30K of personal sales by Nov 2011.

Just thought U may be interested to know the "minimum sales"
Hah? Got sales target one ah. 30k seems a bit hard to achieve if i just want to invest thru myself sweat.gif
wongmunkeong
post Aug 24 2011, 01:13 PM

Barista FIRE
5,608 posts

QUOTE(monsta2011 @ Aug 24 2011, 01:01 PM)
Hah? Got sales target one ah. 30k seems a bit hard to achieve if i just want to invest thru myself sweat.gif
Aiya - they put there only mar BUT enforcement may be another thing tongue.gif

Anyways, phew - luckily my family & personal investments can hit this minimum. Phew dodged THAT bullet sweat.gif

This post has been edited by wongmunkeong: Aug 24 2011, 01:22 PM
mkyam
post Aug 24 2011, 02:20 PM

QUOTE(kparam77 @ Aug 23 2011, 11:41 PM)
Thanks for your reply.
The links provided is good, but what I'm looking for is something similar to the Morningstar Stylebox. Sadly, the stylebox from Morningstar website mostly doesn't have this information of PM funds.
kparam77
post Aug 24 2011, 02:50 PM

952 posts

QUOTE(monsta2011 @ Aug 24 2011, 01:01 PM)
CARI-LAH PROSPECT. SURE CAN GET ONE. 1 MONTH 1 PROSPECT WITH RM3K. NOT POSSIBLE-LAH? EPF PUN BOLEH JUGA.
monsta2011
post Aug 24 2011, 04:27 PM

432 posts

QUOTE(wongmunkeong @ Aug 24 2011, 01:13 PM)

Anyways, phew - luckily my family & personal investments can hit this minimum. Phew dodged THAT bullet  sweat.gif
I'm gona ask my baba mama gogo didi meimei gugu susu to help me laugh.gif
koinibler
post Aug 24 2011, 09:19 PM

2,050 posts

QUOTE(wongmunkeong @ Aug 24 2011, 01:13 PM)

Anyways, phew - luckily my family & personal investments can hit this minimum. Phew dodged THAT bullet  sweat.gif
Thanks Wong for the service charge spreadsheet, I'm downloader no. 11.

I know for sometime already the requirement for 30K,
seem a bit high for me and family doh.gif
and lazy to convince friend and people around me laugh.gif
not agent material lor....
holybo
post Aug 24 2011, 10:29 PM

1,449 posts

Just want to ask a question, the fund price we always look at the internet is yesterday price, if we buy today, which price do we buy, today (which havent announce) or yesterday?
cheahcw2003
post Aug 24 2011, 10:43 PM

5,379 posts

QUOTE(kucingfight @ Aug 24 2011, 09:46 AM)

@ bro wongmunkeong,

PBond, PBIBF 3 years annualised return is better than ASB.
PBFI's 3 years annualised return also surpassing ASW, ASM, AS1M. Those who are not able to invest in PNB's fixed price fund, may take this as an alternative.

Added on August 24, 2011, 10:53 pmuser posted image

Sources: Morningstar.com

This post has been edited by cheahcw2003: Aug 24 2011, 10:53 PM
lytros
post Aug 25 2011, 12:14 AM

401 posts

QUOTE(holybo @ Aug 24 2011, 10:29 PM)
Just want to ask a question, the fund price we always look at the internet is yesterday price, if we buy today, which price do we buy, today (which havent announce) or yesterday?
If you buy today, the price is today's price. (which is announced on the next working day)

This post has been edited by lytros: Aug 25 2011, 12:14 AM
Bonescythe
post Aug 25 2011, 12:18 AM

One Quarter In...
28,187 posts

QUOTE(holybo @ Aug 24 2011, 10:29 PM)
You buy today, means buying yesterday closing price.
You buy tomorrow, means buying today closing price
wongmunkeong
post Aug 25 2011, 06:48 AM

Barista FIRE
5,608 posts

QUOTE(koinibler @ Aug 24 2011, 09:19 PM)
Thanks Wong for the service charge spreadsheet, I'm downloader no. 11.

I know for sometime already the requirement for 30K,
seem a bit high for me and family  doh.gif
and lazy to convince friend and people around me  laugh.gif
not agent material lor....
Then your other option is to get chummy with an agent and negotiate tongue.gif - like offer to DIY most of the stuff, and have some er.. cheaper charges personally from your agent lor

It's a biz to the agent - in biz, anythings negotiable as long as there's win-win situation, right or right? brows.gif

BTW, U'd be surprise that U may not need to convince anyone.
As U do it and see results and share your methodologies as U care & want your close friends/relatives to prosper as well, U will somehow get "offers". I'm a typical nerd / IT guy lar - not marketing/sales fler. Just do it right and share not for $ but as an option to enable your close friends/relatives to build something for their/their loved ones' future.

The ONLY hiccup is that some may not be able to "handle" the losses when a downturn happens (not IF but WHEN it happens). Thus, education & expectations management required by drawing out agreed investment programs/approaches and followed.

This post has been edited by wongmunkeong: Aug 25 2011, 06:56 AM

127 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Top

0.0235sec    0.51    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 11:07 PM