Public Mutual v3, Public/PB series funds

kucingfight
post Aug 23 2011, 10:23 PM

5,784 posts

QUOTE(Irresistible @ Aug 23 2011, 09:38 PM)
If I invest into Bond now, is it OK ? Just to diversify my portfolio...

Which bond is recommended ?

Thank you
PBFI or PSTBF
kucingfight
post Aug 24 2011, 09:46 AM

5,784 posts

QUOTE(kparam77 @ Aug 23 2011, 11:45 PM)
u got it....dividedn fund with capital grow such as PIDF and PSDF or otehr fund with distribution policy annual income. but dont go for Bond-lah...not much grow-lah... only steady income.
This is the ONE BIG problem i have with PM agents, they don recommend bond BECAUSE they can't get commission from it. SIMPLE.
Being a agent urself, i fail to see how you comprehend the whole understanding of fundamental financial planning. doh.gif
I think there was a study done before, comparing a 10-15yr of an individual investing in equities vs bond, and in the end, returns are somewhat similiar whistling.gif
AND also, dividend funds are not good, it's merely passing the income from right to left hand WITH tax incurred

QUOTE(kparam77 @ Aug 24 2011, 12:02 AM)
go to fund review and look for;
consisten return;
preservation;
total return;

1 to 5... the higher is the better.

i think all the BOND funds not much diff in performance.
check out funds like PBOND, PBIBF , u'll be suprised on the returns
Even then a better than average bond like PBFI is having 7-8% return consistently.

@ bro wongmunkeong,

as i fully agree with u. bonds are steady n slow, suitable for conservatives and for those who like to balance their portfolio

This post has been edited by kucingfight: Aug 24 2011, 09:53 AM
kucingfight
post Aug 25 2011, 04:24 PM

5,784 posts

QUOTE(echoesian @ Aug 25 2011, 04:06 PM)
I thought Public Islamic Bond Fund is already closed?
yaya it's closed, he's just showing you the potential of good bonds' return
kucingfight
post Aug 29 2011, 02:26 PM

5,784 posts

QUOTE(kobe8byrant @ Aug 29 2011, 09:56 AM)
Any opinions on PB Fixed Income Fund and China Asean Equity Fund? I'm looking at two different funds to diversify.
again, they r both diff class of funds. bond n equity, and investment region
if ur conservative n looking for a slow n steady growth, bond fund (PBFI) suits u well, else any other equity funds. high risk, high gain/lost

Personally, for equities, i'll just stick to local based funds
kucingfight
post Sep 6 2011, 05:00 PM

5,784 posts

QUOTE(David83 @ Sep 6 2011, 04:21 PM)
Not interested with the 3 new funds since they're under PB series under Public Bank.
i supposed the bonds from PB are doing quite well..
kucingfight
post Sep 7 2011, 09:09 PM

5,784 posts

QUOTE(lowyat2011 @ Sep 7 2011, 08:02 PM)
Thanks David83 for the clarifications.

Since the bond fund distribute every financial year/period-ended, does it means... after EPF pay the yearly dividend (lets say 5%) on April 30, then we can use the eligible $ in EPF a/c1 to invest a bond fund and get another dividend from bond fund (lets say 6% on Dec 31) in the same year... then transfer all the $ back to EPF a/c1... repeat the same process all over again... eventually, we are getting 5% from EPF + 6% bond fund dividends every year... just pay 0.25% SC only, can this work?  blush.gif  sorry... just some thoughts only smile.gif
it won't work, once dividends declared, NAV drops @ the same time. there's no free money, dividends have to come FROM somewhere
kucingfight
post Sep 7 2011, 09:32 PM

5,784 posts

QUOTE(kparam77 @ Sep 7 2011, 09:28 PM)
good idea, but it wont work. the dividedns for BOND is From own pocket.

EPF dividedns (5%) calculation, lets say for RM5000,
RM5000 x 5% = RM250.00

for Bond,
total units x declared dividedns = dividedns. n this dividedns will be given from ur own money. not  give addtional like EPF.
QUOTE(kobe8byrant @ Sep 7 2011, 09:30 PM)
I don'[t understand from your own momey. If you say from your own money, wouldnt that mean you earn RM 0.00! Very misleading.
LOL..cut long story short.

EPF declares INTEREST RATE.
any UT declares DIVIDENDS.. habis cerita

and exactly. google why dividends are bad. it;s only passing the money from ur left to right hand value with tax incurred. so in most cases, u actually loose more.

This post has been edited by kucingfight: Sep 7 2011, 09:33 PM
kucingfight
post Sep 8 2011, 04:05 PM

5,784 posts

QUOTE(mois @ Sep 8 2011, 03:31 PM)
anyone invest in public sukuk fund? looks like PM bond funds are getting better even for new one. Quite easily 6-8% p.a.
yeap i invested some in PSKF..juz for fun..lol..but okla..usually bonds don perform the 1st yr
kucingfight
post Sep 10 2011, 08:29 PM

5,784 posts

QUOTE(MNet @ Sep 10 2011, 03:44 PM)
tht y i buy kenanga growth fund
+1 , n low service charge..2% n sometimes even 1%.
kucingfight
post Sep 25 2011, 01:28 PM

5,784 posts

QUOTE(cielchan @ Sep 25 2011, 12:07 PM)
What are the fees/charges of PB Islamic Bond Fund?
currently, it's closed . and has been closed for a few months already

perhaps, public bank sukuk/bond mayb a good alternative
kucingfight
post Feb 1 2012, 12:04 AM

5,784 posts

QUOTE(Aurora Boreali @ Jan 31 2012, 10:56 PM)
Looking for a good bond fund to invest now that many performing bond funds are closed.

Public Strategic Bond and Public Islamic Strategic Bond seem like good choices. Thoughts?
yup they are both gd bond funds, performed even @ their 1st yr. i tend to prefer the islamic
kucingfight
post Feb 1 2012, 12:22 AM

5,784 posts

QUOTE(Aurora Boreali @ Feb 1 2012, 12:15 AM)
Any particular reasons? I know the returns so far is a bit higher than the non-Islamic one.
there are some determining/guiding factors: sharpe ratio, alpha ratio, risk adjusted return etc. a fellow forumer, 'xuzen' is very well versed in these, i'm just researching/reading up with all these laugh.gif
kucingfight
post Feb 8 2012, 10:05 PM

5,784 posts

QUOTE(kent05 @ Feb 8 2012, 06:31 PM)
is pb sukuk fund a good investment? cos i plan to switch pbaef to this fund once equity fund has breakeven.
yeah relatively a new fund, hard 2 judge. probably, it's better to switch to PISTBF/ PSTBF (currently open). but again, who knows the PB sukuk could be the another PBIBF smile.gif
kucingfight
post Feb 16 2012, 04:32 PM

5,784 posts

QUOTE(Felice821 @ Feb 16 2012, 11:17 AM)
Need some advice. It's time for me to withdraw another round of EPF for PM. I wonder which fund is OK to go for it. I'm currently holding:

PIX
PIF
PSF
PIttikal

Should I reinvest back to the same fund or invest into new fund? If invest into new fund, what fund is good? I got in mind but donno how feasible it is.

PBF
PGF
PAGF
PDSF
PSSF

Btw, I got PIttikal holding, can I re-invest it since it's not open for investment but it's under EPF scheme. And also if I did not perform DDI last time, can I start DDI for those is not open anymore?
honestly, i would recommend holding off for now first. Market's consolidating and the global sentiment isnt good
kucingfight
post Feb 17 2012, 10:12 PM

5,784 posts

yup indeed is crazily high. 5.5%. and when invested the 'wrong' period, it really takes some time to recoup the service charge. there are many other Unit trust agents out there, like fundsupermart, at times, promotional 1%.

PCSF? forget bout it, shitty fund, till up to today

currently, i'm slowly converting my equities to bonds
kucingfight
post Feb 22 2012, 03:22 PM

5,784 posts

QUOTE(felixmask @ Feb 22 2012, 03:09 PM)
Any recommend fund?
Bond funds = PSTBF, PISTBF

other good bonds too = AMBON ISLAM, AMDYNAMIC BOND thumbup.gif
kucingfight
post Feb 23 2012, 09:25 PM

5,784 posts

QUOTE(ngaisteve1 @ Feb 23 2012, 09:04 PM)
ya i know but do u think it is safer to switch from aggressive to defensive fund, seeing the Greece situation now.
here are some 'better' bonds available for investment rite now
-PSTBF
-PISTBF
-PIINFBF
-PBINFBF

alternatively, redeem ur PM, and invest in amdynamic bond smile.gif
kucingfight
post Mar 1 2012, 03:13 PM

5,784 posts

QUOTE(jeenhao @ Mar 1 2012, 09:34 AM)
Hi all sifu,

I am thinking of to put RM1,000 to buy pb funds. Any recommendation???

Sorry if this question is being too general and irritating. This is my first time of doing investment. I came over this because now everyday got PB funds fair in my school and in shopping malls.

Thanks if someone can point me to a direction.

Thanks a lot!
i would suggest putting in BONDS first , eg; PISTBF, PSTBF

alternatively, other good bonds like amdynamic bond.
kucingfight
post Mar 1 2012, 04:13 PM

5,784 posts

QUOTE(Violet Ling @ Mar 1 2012, 03:28 PM)
Yes I understand you...
But if know the trend going downwards soon(imo), why don't we protect our investment $$?? And only buy back those funds cheaply(after going down)?  smile.gif
yeap no problem if you opt to do this strategy. everyone has their own plan.juz be reminded the incurring 5.50% charge back to equity from bond again.
but my advise, yeah if you've bought it at 'low' peak, just hold on to it.

This post has been edited by kucingfight: Mar 1 2012, 04:14 PM
kucingfight
post Mar 1 2012, 08:43 PM

5,784 posts

QUOTE(jeenhao @ Mar 1 2012, 07:26 PM)
So bond funds will be better for me to enter now?
since ur new to financials, invest in bonds first, it's sort of like a FD with higher return. Remember, rule of thumb, do not invest blindly, only invest in what u understand. only then, when ur more knowledgeable, u can explore other options

0.0249sec    0.44    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 01:10 AM