Public Mutual v3, Public/PB series funds

monsta2011
post Aug 22 2011, 11:02 PM

432 posts

How long does it take to have a license granted after sitting the CUTA exam?
monsta2011
post Aug 23 2011, 11:52 AM

432 posts

QUOTE(wongmunkeong @ Aug 23 2011, 07:57 AM)
From memory - within a month.
QUOTE(kparam77 @ Aug 23 2011, 10:54 AM)
i got it within a week.
Thanks smile.gif
Can one be an agent of PM and other fund houses after getting the license?
monsta2011
post Aug 23 2011, 12:29 PM

432 posts

QUOTE(wongmunkeong @ Aug 23 2011, 11:59 AM)
Nope - U can only be a rep of one fund house UNLESS U sit for gawd knows what exam and register with SC or something, then U can represent a few. I think there are less than50 or so people that has the license to do so.

Sifus - please correct & add details yar. My memory's getting foggy - read and met up with a few of these fellows 2 to 3 years ago tongue.gif
QUOTE(kparam77 @ Aug 23 2011, 12:20 PM)
ya corrct - 1 UT compnay only. if want to join other UT company, kena resign frm current company.
I see I see. Thanks for the reply. notworthy.gif
monsta2011
post Aug 23 2011, 11:00 PM

432 posts

QUOTE(Irresistible @ Aug 23 2011, 10:49 PM)
This is the right time to buy such equity fund ?  Among the three, which give the best return ? which has the lowest risk ?
Which GOOD bond fund is still open ?
You can try Public Strategic Bond Fund. It is relatively new but the return has been good.
monsta2011
post Aug 24 2011, 01:01 PM

432 posts

QUOTE(wongmunkeong @ Aug 24 2011, 08:18 AM)

Added on August 24, 2011, 9:32 amNote for those that are interested in being their own agent:
PM just sent out a memo for renewal of UTC agent fees and stuff. One of their requirements is $30K of personal sales by Nov 2011.

Just thought U may be interested to know the "minimum sales"
Hah? Got sales target one ah. 30k seems a bit hard to achieve if i just want to invest thru myself sweat.gif
monsta2011
post Aug 24 2011, 04:27 PM

432 posts

QUOTE(wongmunkeong @ Aug 24 2011, 01:13 PM)
Aiya - they put there only mar BUT enforcement may be another thing tongue.gif

Anyways, phew - luckily my family & personal investments can hit this minimum. Phew dodged THAT bullet  sweat.gif
I'm gona ask my baba mama gogo didi meimei gugu susu to help me laugh.gif
monsta2011
post Aug 26 2011, 01:43 AM

432 posts

QUOTE(cheahcw2003 @ Aug 26 2011, 12:01 AM)
yes, can sell cannot buy
if someone sells does that mean i can buy even if the fund is closed?
monsta2011
post Aug 30 2011, 02:34 PM

432 posts

QUOTE(wongmunkeong @ Aug 30 2011, 02:01 PM)
Rubbing it in huh?  tongue.gif

BTW, bro - technically it's taxed twice right?(on whatever taxable) right?
ie.
1st time: Companies payout dividends to stock holders ---> PubMut: 25%
2nd time: PubMu --> SmallCap investor: 25%
No imputation system?
monsta2011
post Aug 31 2011, 05:10 PM

432 posts

QUOTE(cheahcw2003 @ Aug 31 2011, 06:53 AM)
what do u meant by imputation?
Hmm it's like the shareholders are given tax credit (imputation credit) for the tax paid by the company to eliminate double taxation. But apparently new companies commencing their operations in YA08 will use the single tier dividend system where tax paid by the company is the final tax (shareholders dont need to pay tax on the dividends they receive). Companies operating before YA2008 will have until the end of 2013 to fully transit to Single Tier system.
monsta2011
post Sep 2 2011, 05:05 PM

432 posts

QUOTE(holybo @ Sep 1 2011, 07:10 PM)
i heard from my friend that if the fund distribute 5sens, then the fund price will drop 5sens as well. it seem confusing whether do we really earn on the distribution or not
Just treat the distributions as realised profits rather than bonus/interest income rolleyes.gif
monsta2011
post Sep 2 2011, 08:49 PM

432 posts

QUOTE(howszat @ Sep 2 2011, 07:47 PM)
That's the problem - distributions are NOT profits either.

Distributions are happily given out even when the fund is making a loss. SMALLCAP for eg, is making a loss, but it is giving out a ~15% distribution.
Ya not really profits but can view them as realised profits or losses ler since they were distributed out of the... erm... gain/loss on NAV. *Maybe i'm wrong here blush.gif *
monsta2011
post Sep 3 2011, 02:39 AM

432 posts

QUOTE(wilsonjiahe @ Sep 3 2011, 02:30 AM)
are u sure the PBGF already closed? but I am still making additional investment for my client.

There is a new fund will be launching on 6th September..It is a quite good fund. If you interested and you want know the details,you may PM me.
Mind elaborate more on that? unsure.gif
monsta2011
post Sep 4 2011, 12:20 AM

432 posts

QUOTE(Bonescythe @ Sep 3 2011, 11:25 PM)
Mutual fund is a basket mixed of shares traded in the stock exchange market.
Usually Mutual Fund will have distribution.

If only focuses on capital growth, then you can search at KLSE market, as some counter focuses on capital gain rather than distribution. Example : AirAsia.
AirAsia is the biggest shareholder of Malaysia Airlines now. Oh boy.. doh.gif
monsta2011
post Sep 5 2011, 02:05 AM

432 posts

QUOTE(Irresistible @ Sep 5 2011, 01:30 AM)
I plan to top up my equity fund.. (making loss)

Now, not the right time ?  Switch to bond ?

If I switch to bond .... then from bond switch to equity fund, will get SC 5.5% ?

eg.  equity fund ===> bond  (RM 25 )
      bond      =====> equity (RM 25 +  5.5 % or not ?? )

Then, I incurred 5.5% charge TWICE ??
I think RM25 switching fee is only applicable if you switch between funds of the same type ie. equity to equity. Otherwise, you will need to pay the entry fee of the fund u switch to.
monsta2011
post Sep 6 2011, 05:05 PM

432 posts

Yalo, especially PB Islamic Bond.
monsta2011
post Sep 7 2011, 09:51 PM

432 posts

QUOTE(kobe8byrant @ Sep 7 2011, 09:30 PM)
I don'[t understand from your own momey. If you say from your own money, wouldnt that mean you earn RM 0.00! Very misleading.
Interest and dividend are two different thing. Interest is like a bonus on top of your EPF where as dividends from equity/bond are distributed out of the profit/gain or loss on NAV. Lets say u invested $1 and it increased to $1.4 in a year, the dividend u receive will come from the 0.40 gain (or maybe more? i dono)... at least thats what i was told
monsta2011
post Sep 7 2011, 11:30 PM

432 posts

QUOTE(Irresistible @ Sep 7 2011, 11:25 PM)
Where can I find Public Mutual DATA more than  52 weeks ? ( 1 year)
Wow , I see that PUBLIC BOND FUND drop quite a lot on Aug'11 . The reason behind ?

Thanks ...
Here: http://www.publicmutual.com.my/application...formancenw.aspx

PBOND? You saw the wrong fund, Bro.
monsta2011
post Sep 10 2011, 09:08 PM

432 posts

QUOTE(kucingfight @ Sep 10 2011, 08:29 PM)
+1 , n low service charge..2% n sometimes even 1%.

DDI 1% biggrin.gif

0.0565sec    0.89    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 12th December 2025 - 04:06 AM