last time i check with SA, the interest 2.8+%
°° LYN Honda Insight Owners Thread V4 °°,, The Power Of Hybrid. Owners Welcome ! !
Jan 12 2012, 03:59 PM
24 posts Joined: Jul 2006 |
last time i check with SA, the interest 2.8+%
Jan 12 2012, 04:03 PM
115 posts Joined: Oct 2008 |
Jan 12 2012, 05:11 PM
24 posts Joined: Jul 2006 |
Jan 12 2012, 08:12 PM
487 posts Joined: Aug 2011 |
does anyone know the FC of an insight and a honda city? one told me city full tank can do 500km and another said 350km. which is which for the city?
Jan 12 2012, 09:02 PM
0 posts Joined: Dec 2009 |
QUOTE(Bryan131 @ Jan 11 2012, 04:37 PM) Guys. Beware of Sh@rty shop. Whoever bought and install spoiler from him do check your spoiler cos it would crack at the bottom near the screw. Mine cracked after two week. Sh@rty said it abs material but abs don't crack right? Me also got problem with door visor before tis, install at his shop. Door visor he sell by default didnt come with good quality double tape. causing my door visor come off after few months. Advice future buyer to remind him to use good quality of double tape b4 install. |
Jan 12 2012, 09:36 PM
163 posts Joined: Oct 2005 |
QUOTE(ahkam77 @ Jan 12 2012, 09:02 PM) Me also got problem with door visor before tis, install at his shop. Door visor he sell by default didnt come with good quality double tape. causing my door visor come off after few months. I have the same problem too, i paid RM20 for the double sided tape, problem comes 2-3 months later.Advice future buyer to remind him to use good quality of double tape b4 install. |
Jan 12 2012, 10:05 PM
310 posts Joined: Jul 2006 |
Jan 12 2012, 10:38 PM
0 posts Joined: Mar 2007 |
QUOTE(lunchtime @ Jan 12 2012, 08:12 PM) does anyone know the FC of an insight and a honda city? one told me city full tank can do 500km and another said 350km. which is which for the city? this is a question with a very wide range and subjective answer. never had a city, but for my insight, after 3 months of heavy use and clocking 15000km plus, this is what i can share.highway driving with smooth traffic (no jam), i will get close to 750km with one full tank. I already drove a few time puchong-penang-puchong same day trip with one tank, and when I pump back to full, it is plus minus RM63. That's about 22 plus km/l. Town driving, with a lot of stop and go, traffic jam and long traffic light wait or ocasionally stop with engine running waiting to pick up things, i get between 550km to 650km for about the same full tank. That's about 18 to 20 plus km/l. This is fully on econ mode on and never on S mode. so far personally i never felt i need to off econ or shift to S, only used that when going long downhill slope in attempt to slow the car down. I believe driving style greatly affects how many km you can do in a full tank. a carefully driven city may come close to insight, or even overtake it if the insight was driven in agresive manner. |
Jan 12 2012, 10:55 PM
104 posts Joined: Nov 2007 |
QUOTE(Happyman @ Jan 12 2012, 09:36 PM) those that top up to change a better double side tape ( if problem exist do get back to me ) to see whats the courseQUOTE(joshuawong @ Jan 12 2012, 10:05 PM) Same here! I need to pick up back my visor in the middle of road. Luckily didn't broke but got some scratches. Bought "AUTHENTIC" 3M sticker to stick. |
Jan 12 2012, 11:31 PM
487 posts Joined: Aug 2011 |
QUOTE(cbinn @ Jan 12 2012, 10:38 PM) this is a question with a very wide range and subjective answer. never had a city, but for my insight, after 3 months of heavy use and clocking 15000km plus, this is what i can share. you run 95 or 97?highway driving with smooth traffic (no jam), i will get close to 750km with one full tank. I already drove a few time puchong-penang-puchong same day trip with one tank, and when I pump back to full, it is plus minus RM63. That's about 22 plus km/l. Town driving, with a lot of stop and go, traffic jam and long traffic light wait or ocasionally stop with engine running waiting to pick up things, i get between 550km to 650km for about the same full tank. That's about 18 to 20 plus km/l. This is fully on econ mode on and never on S mode. so far personally i never felt i need to off econ or shift to S, only used that when going long downhill slope in attempt to slow the car down. I believe driving style greatly affects how many km you can do in a full tank. a carefully driven city may come close to insight, or even overtake it if the insight was driven in agresive manner. |
Jan 13 2012, 12:17 AM
1,635 posts Joined: May 2005 |
QUOTE(ahkam77 @ Jan 12 2012, 09:02 PM) Me also got problem with door visor before tis, install at his shop. Door visor he sell by default didnt come with good quality double tape. causing my door visor come off after few months. He did offer future better quality of double sided tape AFTER the some users experience the problem. I did topup for the double sided tape. So far still intact with my car.Advice future buyer to remind him to use good quality of double tape b4 install. But I do feel a bit unpleasant since he offer the lowest price, but need to top up. But what do to, rather topup than the door visor come off in the middle of the road. |
Jan 13 2012, 09:41 AM
0 posts Joined: Nov 2011 |
QUOTE(eltaria @ Jan 12 2012, 03:28 PM) Wtf... discount 5k + full body kit somemore, and tinting too? WTF, should have waited. Got mine in November, no disc, +1 stupid towel, + 1 stupid 60ringgit full tank. Honda craps That's like all in 10k discount Added on January 12, 2012, 3:28 pmGood for u Added on January 13, 2012, 9:44 am QUOTE(shaun1212 @ Jan 13 2012, 09:41 AM) WTF, should have waited. Got mine in November, no disc, +1 stupid towel, + 1 stupid 60ringgit full tank. Honda craps This post has been edited by shaun1212: Jan 13 2012, 09:45 AM |
Jan 13 2012, 11:21 AM
0 posts Joined: Mar 2007 |
QUOTE(lunchtime @ Jan 12 2012, 11:31 PM) I am on ron95. i did tried ron97 few times just out of curiosity, no actual measurable dyno result but personally did not felt any significant difference in power and fuel saving to justify the extra money paid.ron number does not directly signify power output of the fuel, in other words, ron97 is not 2 unit extra as compared to ron95. different engine are designed to run best on different ron fuel. if you use the wrong type, you get lower performance. on high performance engine (usually those on high rpm) specifically require high ron fuel to prevent kncoking (and thus degrading performance). Normal car can usually run both type of ron ok because the ecu will adjust accordingly based on feedback from the knock sensor. for detail on which fuel suite your engine best, refer to manual or manufacturer. Added on January 13, 2012, 11:25 am QUOTE(shaun1212 @ Jan 13 2012, 09:41 AM) WTF, should have waited. Got mine in November, no disc, +1 stupid towel, + 1 stupid 60ringgit full tank. Honda craps Hahaha, you offer considered not bad, mine end of nov, all i got is an umbrella, my petrol was so badly low that the range reading on the mid is only 5km left, and salesman just say 'not to worry, hybrid car does not use that much fuel, besides, there is a petrol station 100 meters away'.Added on January 13, 2012, 9:44 am So, does this make you feel better? This post has been edited by cbinn: Jan 13 2012, 11:25 AM |
Jan 13 2012, 11:28 AM
762 posts Joined: Jan 2007 From: Melaka |
what my SA tell me is i help you pump RM30 liao...but the ppl bring ur car to inspection (30km away) and now petrol no more lo...
Jan 13 2012, 12:14 PM
1,329 posts Joined: Sep 2007 From: Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia. |
Jan 13 2012, 08:22 PM
0 posts Joined: Dec 2009 |
QUOTE(shaun1212 @ Jan 13 2012, 09:41 AM) WTF, should have waited. Got mine in November, no disc, +1 stupid towel, + 1 stupid 60ringgit full tank. Honda craps Ok la tu. i also got same item as you. but minus the stupid towel. Added on January 13, 2012, 9:44 am |
Jan 13 2012, 09:20 PM
1,583 posts Joined: Mar 2007 From: KEPONG |
This is what I share @ autoworld forum..
My Insight is hitting 10K service now... After all the hoohaa about Hybrid... let me share my experience of driving it... I will compare to my previous car City IDSI 2006 and compare the performance with my friend BMW 320i (Unfair rite hahaha I'm evil!!!) _____________ Fuel Consumption... how much you can save seriously in real life driving not the JC test result etc etc... (Kepong Carefour -> Sg. Buloh -> Subang Airport and back) My journey to work milage My average Honda City IDSI will give me around 350 to 400KM mileage Insight will give me around 650KM mileage. Highway (Kepong-> Sg. Buloh Tol -> Taiping Perak) The best City IDSI milage meter is 17.5km/l (YES I MANAGE TO HIT THIS MUAHAHA) The best Insight is 25.8km/l (It can do better but so far this is the highway record) so far I have seen people hit up to 28km/l _____________ Quality of the Car (Exterior and Interior) Exterior City Exterior is pretty good but the looks is a debate since 2004 haha Fit and finish is OK paint job is smooth. The bumper clip is horrible it always give way even minor hit it look pretty bad... The light is Standard H4 clear reflector helogen (you install HID police will be very happy) it is not HID ready. Insight Has better fit and finish the join and gap is much refine and you will notice it is made in japan Paint job is not as good as Malaysia CKD, it is very rough you can see the orange skin effect under sunlight... it is mainly due to thick anti rust... it is good for rust proof but not so nice to look at haha The clip is stronger more support and stronger clips Headlight is Projector with manual electronic levelling yes it is HID ready The looks is good... with Mugen kits even better Interior City Interior is mainly Beige in colour vs Insight is Black The seat overall is better than city cause there is more back support and side (semi bucket seat) support The rear Head clearance is very bad on insight if you are tall you will have problem... The split rear glass you need to get used to it... some hate it... The boot space City is better but loading stuff Insight is better. I still like City ULTRA Seat... Insight is very quiet way more quiet than City the NVH is superb!!! ___________________ Performance and Technology Performance - Top Speed City IDSI top speed : 170km/h (On S mode paddle to the metal) Insight top speed : 200 km/h (Econ - Off / D mode / Still can press the accelerator paddle) it can still go but 200 is scary!!! We test this during Seremban-KL highway run with my friend BMW 320i even he is impressed by the 1.3l car haha!! (P/s: I cannot overtake 320i but manage to keep up with his car which is awesome) Performance - Acceleration (Hill Start) City IDSI - The CVT will have a little lag while Engine build up the torque to boost you will feel city boost at around 2000 rpm range... you will notice this when you stop at the hill Insight - The electric motor will kick in very fast and boost you so in hill start it is easier and you will notice the CVT work less in this scenario. Performance - Acceleration 0-100++ km/h City IDSI is not very strong at 0-100 as it is IDSI you want strong you have to op for VTEC... Insight - Electric Motor kick in very fast and strong you will notice tire skids and VSA kick in to hold it to the road and sling shot... the electric motor will very fast drive the engine to 5K RPM and will let the engine take over from there overall you will feel a little G-force pulling (very mild) overall it is fast!! Performance - Breaking City IDSI basically all the City will suffer soft breaking due to ABS thats because this ABS does not come with BA (Break Assist) Insight have 2 Break Regenerative and Normal Brake... it have ABS / BA / Traction Control / VSA / Panic Stop The break is very light and the break is very strong... some say the Drumbrake at back of the car is bad but the breaking power is there and it all thats matter... you can have super 4 disc and if you cant stop you are doom anyway.. haha!! Because of regenerative brake the brake pads wear is very minimum... Performance - Handling Both car has very good handling but Insight is on the harder ride side... City ride is softer... Conclusion. Is it worth is : 1. YES if you are looking for a replacement for a everyday family car. Compare to TDCi / TDi turbo diesel... - Different kind of car.. a Diesel car can achieve what Hybrid can do but @ malaysia Diesel quality is still very low... my experience with 2 Diesel pickup truck you need to overhaul the fuel injector filter as it become dirty easily... another thing is price... if you can afford a Polo why not... but put into consideration of maintenance. maintaining a conti car is not cheap... Compare to Prius - Prius is a better hybrid if you dont mind spending additional RM40K. some say Prius standard offering not available on insight...my answer with 40K you can have all their fittings!!! haha Battery How very scary!!! - Try google.. the Insight battery is basically D cell NimH joint together so I believe there is cheap aftermarket replacement in the future in U.S. people are retrofitting aftermarkets D cell into the 1st generation Insight at a super cheap price... I have no worries unless D cell went extinct... (Insight batteries is D cell nimh made by Sanyo) - On Prius batteries I believe it is proprieties and you will not have after markets parts... and I believe it is more expensive to replace although it last longer by additional 3 years... think about it... (Prius cell is a custom size made by Panasonic) Should I wait... YES but price and Government policy may change it may go lower or may go higher the RISK is yours... |
Jan 13 2012, 09:38 PM
17 posts Joined: Nov 2009 |
with a review like that how can anyone who is interested with this car WAIT???? I AM GOING TO HONDA TOMORROW!
QUOTE(calvin_ng @ Jan 13 2012, 09:20 PM) This is what I share @ autoworld forum.. My Insight is hitting 10K service now... After all the hoohaa about Hybrid... let me share my experience of driving it... I will compare to my previous car City IDSI 2006 and compare the performance with my friend BMW 320i (Unfair rite hahaha I'm evil!!!) _____________ Fuel Consumption... how much you can save seriously in real life driving not the JC test result etc etc... (Kepong Carefour -> Sg. Buloh -> Subang Airport and back) My journey to work milage My average Honda City IDSI will give me around 350 to 400KM mileage Insight will give me around 650KM mileage. Highway (Kepong-> Sg. Buloh Tol -> Taiping Perak) The best City IDSI milage meter is 17.5km/l (YES I MANAGE TO HIT THIS MUAHAHA) The best Insight is 25.8km/l (It can do better but so far this is the highway record) so far I have seen people hit up to 28km/l _____________ Quality of the Car (Exterior and Interior) Exterior City Exterior is pretty good but the looks is a debate since 2004 haha Fit and finish is OK paint job is smooth. The bumper clip is horrible it always give way even minor hit it look pretty bad... The light is Standard H4 clear reflector helogen (you install HID police will be very happy) it is not HID ready. Insight Has better fit and finish the join and gap is much refine and you will notice it is made in japan Paint job is not as good as Malaysia CKD, it is very rough you can see the orange skin effect under sunlight... it is mainly due to thick anti rust... it is good for rust proof but not so nice to look at haha The clip is stronger more support and stronger clips Headlight is Projector with manual electronic levelling yes it is HID ready The looks is good... with Mugen kits even better Interior City Interior is mainly Beige in colour vs Insight is Black The seat overall is better than city cause there is more back support and side (semi bucket seat) support The rear Head clearance is very bad on insight if you are tall you will have problem... The split rear glass you need to get used to it... some hate it... The boot space City is better but loading stuff Insight is better. I still like City ULTRA Seat... Insight is very quiet way more quiet than City the NVH is superb!!! ___________________ Performance and Technology Performance - Top Speed City IDSI top speed : 170km/h (On S mode paddle to the metal) Insight top speed : 200 km/h (Econ - Off / D mode / Still can press the accelerator paddle) it can still go but 200 is scary!!! We test this during Seremban-KL highway run with my friend BMW 320i even he is impressed by the 1.3l car haha!! (P/s: I cannot overtake 320i but manage to keep up with his car which is awesome) Performance - Acceleration (Hill Start) City IDSI - The CVT will have a little lag while Engine build up the torque to boost you will feel city boost at around 2000 rpm range... you will notice this when you stop at the hill Insight - The electric motor will kick in very fast and boost you so in hill start it is easier and you will notice the CVT work less in this scenario. Performance - Acceleration 0-100++ km/h City IDSI is not very strong at 0-100 as it is IDSI you want strong you have to op for VTEC... Insight - Electric Motor kick in very fast and strong you will notice tire skids and VSA kick in to hold it to the road and sling shot... the electric motor will very fast drive the engine to 5K RPM and will let the engine take over from there overall you will feel a little G-force pulling (very mild) overall it is fast!! Performance - Breaking City IDSI basically all the City will suffer soft breaking due to ABS thats because this ABS does not come with BA (Break Assist) Insight have 2 Break Regenerative and Normal Brake... it have ABS / BA / Traction Control / VSA / Panic Stop The break is very light and the break is very strong... some say the Drumbrake at back of the car is bad but the breaking power is there and it all thats matter... you can have super 4 disc and if you cant stop you are doom anyway.. haha!! Because of regenerative brake the brake pads wear is very minimum... Performance - Handling Both car has very good handling but Insight is on the harder ride side... City ride is softer... Conclusion. Is it worth is : 1. YES if you are looking for a replacement for a everyday family car. Compare to TDCi / TDi turbo diesel... - Different kind of car.. a Diesel car can achieve what Hybrid can do but @ malaysia Diesel quality is still very low... my experience with 2 Diesel pickup truck you need to overhaul the fuel injector filter as it become dirty easily... another thing is price... if you can afford a Polo why not... but put into consideration of maintenance. maintaining a conti car is not cheap... Compare to Prius - Prius is a better hybrid if you dont mind spending additional RM40K. some say Prius standard offering not available on insight...my answer with 40K you can have all their fittings!!! haha Battery How very scary!!! - Try google.. the Insight battery is basically D cell NimH joint together so I believe there is cheap aftermarket replacement in the future in U.S. people are retrofitting aftermarkets D cell into the 1st generation Insight at a super cheap price... I have no worries unless D cell went extinct... (Insight batteries is D cell nimh made by Sanyo) - On Prius batteries I believe it is proprieties and you will not have after markets parts... and I believe it is more expensive to replace although it last longer by additional 3 years... think about it... (Prius cell is a custom size made by Panasonic) Should I wait... YES but price and Government policy may change it may go lower or may go higher the RISK is yours... |
Jan 13 2012, 10:08 PM
184 posts Joined: Jan 2008 |
Looks like I could use you guys help for my final year report titled on Hybrid
Jan 13 2012, 10:24 PM
1,583 posts Joined: Mar 2007 From: KEPONG |
need to pay us muahahaha!!! no $$ no talk....
| Change to: | 0.0198sec
Time is now: 18th December 2025 - 03:56 PM |