4 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

°° LYN Honda Insight Owners Thread V4 °°,, The Power Of Hybrid. Owners Welcome ! !

lunchtime
post Aug 21 2011, 02:47 PM

487 posts

QUOTE(ahh meng @ Aug 20 2011, 11:02 PM)
i really wan to t*u Honda install such a palia battery for this car...

just now my insight unable to START engine, on genting ler...need to go ask around to get a cable to jump start then only settle. really sweat ==''
i thought insight go hibernated under such cold temperature !!

i think i'm not the 1st one having this problem...lastime got another fren here oso battery kong at home if i not mistaken.

advise: get yourself a jump start cable on car to standby, dono who will be the next victim.
i tot all new cars are prone to dead battery within the 1st year. blush.gif

Added on August 21, 2011, 2:51 pm
QUOTE(lunchtime @ Aug 21 2011, 02:47 PM)
i tot all new cars are prone to dead battery within the 1st year.  blush.gif
on another note, some insight owners quite smallgas, else why would they be buying an insight and complaining about not getting enough mileage from a tank of ron 95, 600km ++ WTF????? 600km??? icon_rolleyes.gif rclxms.gif

This post has been edited by lunchtime: Aug 21 2011, 02:51 PM
lunchtime
post Aug 21 2011, 10:12 PM

487 posts

took delivery of my insight today wowowooww can balik kampung Raya in new car rclxm9.gif

still looking for my driving position and how to put my things. where do you guys place your smartag, sunglasses & coins? rclxub.gif

on the way back, with econ off, why autostop activiated? i tot autostop only when econ on. has anyone change tyres to 205 from the existing 185? if so, was it better and how much mileage do you lose?

lunchtime
post Aug 21 2011, 10:40 PM

487 posts

QUOTE(loonsave @ Aug 21 2011, 10:23 PM)
I feel bad to hear that. Thieve nowadays just grab anything. Hate them.
vroom vroom. Drive safe to back to hometown. I keep my smartag in the armrest. No sunglasses since I wear spec. Coin I keep it at the door compartment.

Autostop still engaged even econ OFF, but it would be that often compare to econ ON.
smartag in the arm rest, would that be difficult to takeout when you are driving? i tot of placing it at the side door. That armrest is really pathetic, so small & short, can't hold anything. Coins at the door handle?
lunchtime
post Aug 21 2011, 11:33 PM

487 posts

QUOTE(ultramankaiser @ Aug 21 2011, 11:08 PM)
there is a small slot dedicated for smart tag on the right side of the dashboard...its somewhere near your right knee,below the side mirror adjustment buttons....i put mine there...=)
really? i didn't notice that, must check tomorrow hehehe rolleyes.gif
lunchtime
post Aug 22 2011, 10:08 PM

487 posts

going to keep the car as it is at the moment, drive a few thousand km before deciding on any changes.

SA mentioned that honda uses mineral oil for the insight, not semi or full.

Added on August 22, 2011, 10:14 pm
QUOTE(Morpheus81 @ Aug 22 2011, 10:11 AM)
WOw... just check... passenger side window cost freaking RM980.... almost same price with SLK300 Merc double lamp side window... freaking expensive...
how much were you expecting?

This post has been edited by lunchtime: Aug 22 2011, 10:14 PM
lunchtime
post Aug 22 2011, 11:17 PM

487 posts

QUOTE(ultramankaiser @ Aug 22 2011, 11:07 PM)
its proven that insight uses semi for free services...you can even request for the left overs to bring back home...
got to check with SA again on this.

BTW, for the side step, i was thinking of installing a layer of protective film, has anyone tried this?
lunchtime
post Aug 23 2011, 08:17 PM

487 posts

QUOTE(Sh@rty 5 @ Aug 23 2011, 06:37 PM)
Goodie news . Got some update on the side step thingy that alot of ppl have been asking for
you got film solution?
lunchtime
post Aug 23 2011, 09:35 PM

487 posts

QUOTE(konholio @ Aug 23 2011, 09:29 PM)
Why all my fren think i am dump buying Honda Insight??  cry.gif
i hope when i get my insight they will admire me. drool.gif
cuz your friends don't understand the concept behind the car, men fear what they don't know & understand. Just enjoy the car when you received it. icon_rolleyes.gif
lunchtime
post Aug 24 2011, 07:35 PM

487 posts

the way i see the insight, firstly it a Japan CBU car for 99k, this itself is a no brainer, where in Malaysia can you find a Japan CBU for 99k? its really value for money.

FC is secondary to me, if the insight manages 700km on 40 litres of RON95, its a +1 for me.

As for the battery, when you sell the car, just factor in the 6k (battery cost), what's so troublesome about that? 6k is a lot of money, well is 1 iphone, 1 ipad & 1 PS3 a lot of money? And if 6k is really a lot of money, then you don't qualify to even think about owning an Insight, Vios, City, Swift, you should be looking at Saga, Viva range of cars.

some people can't see value, some can. let them be & enjoy your insight cool2.gif
lunchtime
post Aug 24 2011, 08:49 PM

487 posts

QUOTE(I-Kurosaki @ Aug 24 2011, 08:01 PM)
Barely 2 weeks ago, I just had my ICE upgraded over the weekend at an accessories shop. I had the original 4 speakers (looks like thin reflective plastic cone to me) pulled apart and re-use the speaker casing. 6.5" speakers will be able to fit nicely at door chasis. Just to share with you guys on the ICE installation:

1) Tweeters are placed at the front mesh panels, where they are supposed to be in the 1st place. HM has removed the tweeters in order to make Insight priced 'competitively'. Recommended to slot in cloth in between the plastic panels and the surrounding dash before pry open with flathead screwdriver. Or else, you might accidentally scratch the pastic dash...I had mine scratch, but a tiny one.
End result, the tweeters are attached to the panels by superglue. The cables are lined all the way down the pillar and routed to the amp.

2) Replaced all ori speakers with 4 mid bass at every passenger doors. Initially 'heartbroken' when sifu ripped apart the door trims, exposing the bare door chasis. He went ahead to 'destroy' the ori speakers so that the speaker casing can be re-used.

3) As for the amps, sifu creatively installed the amp at the front passenger foot rest, beneath the floor mat. Unlike the typical location at passenger underseat, tuning can be done without difficulties and the bottom A/C blower can cool the temp of the amps if engaged. Beneath the floor mat, there's a polysterene board; sifu just cut-out an opening to suit the amps.

Finished product. The amp is barely noticeable when I step on it. Hopefully it's durable enuf~! tongue.gif Im using Dominations ES 4-ch amp; its relatively small and light (fit perfectly within the poly board), decent output and doesn't eat up too much power from source.

View when glove box was removed to allow cable connections. Take note of the dust & pollen filter (rectangular piece) next to the connectors.

4) The HU was partially removed as well to route cabling between amp. Be careful when try to remove the HU, as the metal frame of the HU will easily scratch the surrounding plastic dash that house the HU. So it is advisable to place a cloth below the HU during removal process

Fuse in between connections of amp and 12V battery.

Cable routing through the firewall on the metal chasis.

Overall the ICE setup cost me about 2k. The sound from CDs played is definitely much better than the stock speakers, glad that i got rid of them. The vocals are crisp and clear, and surprisingly mid bass is strong. Btw, Im using Dominations D'lite 6.5" mid bass for back speakers...they are good when tuned to woofer-like. Front mid bass are installed with Dominations D'lite pro and they are improved with kicker bass. I have no active sub installed as back mid bass has been tuned to take care of that.

I felt that placing the tweeters on the A-pillar could have better sound staging compared to being hidden within the front panels. Current setup still lack of low freq support, so in future I might look into shallow woofers and monos, at least they will not take up huge boot space. Due to the strong mid bass, all of 4 doors suffered from vibration, so might considered sound dampening as well to contain the bass. Haih, right now no more juice for poison & wife already complaining tongue.gif

For more info, those interested to upgrade their ICE can refer to watonk's ICE DIY guide & infinitium's ICE setup also. Will pinned them up if I have time.
wahhh you are one brave man notworthy.gif
lunchtime
post Aug 26 2011, 12:24 AM

487 posts

QUOTE(konholio @ Aug 25 2011, 09:41 PM)
Yo, Black Insight owner reporting in.
Still have to learn how to drive.... only 8.1KM/L tongue.gif
your so-called friends still calling you dumb for buying an insight? what did they suggest you to buy? Vios? City? if i were you, i tell them to Fxxk Off. cool2.gif
lunchtime
post Aug 27 2011, 12:45 AM

487 posts

QUOTE(DaBestOne @ Aug 26 2011, 10:59 PM)
One of my friends just got this car for his wife, complaining that the pick up is not that strong.... any comments?
you do know that it is a 1.3 litre car, don't you? how much pick up are you expecting? then again 0-100 in 10.6 seconds. hahahaha yawn.gif

Added on August 27, 2011, 12:51 am
QUOTE(amirudin920927 @ Aug 26 2011, 06:29 PM)
any owner got problem about this car? my mom want to buy insight instead city bcoz of the hybrid technology. seems its kind a new technology,i want to survey to some senior owners if this car got some major or minor problem.
new technology? hybrids been around for many years, however in our backwater developing nation Malaysia its new.

problems? the japanese are way smarter than malaysians. Answers your question wink.gif

This post has been edited by lunchtime: Aug 27 2011, 12:51 AM
lunchtime
post Aug 27 2011, 02:12 PM

487 posts

QUOTE(SteadyPana @ Aug 27 2011, 01:16 PM)
We've proudly about 3000+ Insighter OTR now !!  rclxms.gif  icon_rolleyes.gif  rclxms.gif

MAA Statistic
good for us, parts & service will get cheaper.

where is Shorty? what happened to the side step?
lunchtime
post Aug 27 2011, 03:33 PM

487 posts

QUOTE(SteadyPana @ Aug 27 2011, 02:24 PM)
lunchtime la bro  brows.gif
now teatime liao, anjua? blink.gif
lunchtime
post Aug 29 2011, 10:45 AM

487 posts

what i don't understand is why the need to service every 5k km? really troublesome.
lunchtime
post Aug 29 2011, 10:55 AM

487 posts

QUOTE(bafukie @ Aug 29 2011, 10:49 AM)
Then dun do it? Lol
would you? hahaha i don't think so whistling.gif
lunchtime
post Aug 29 2011, 05:35 PM

487 posts

what is your tyre pressure? i noticed that its close to 300 when the recommended is 230/220, adjusted it and found the car is better to drive and less tire noise. wink.gif
lunchtime
post Aug 30 2011, 08:28 AM

487 posts

why wanna buy a boot tray?
lunchtime
post Aug 30 2011, 10:13 PM

487 posts

QUOTE(ultramankaiser @ Aug 30 2011, 09:08 PM)
bafukie answered your question on my behalf.. =) regarding the oil marks, i used nail polish remover but there are too much stains so i lived with it and  it disappeared after few car washes...
oil stains?? where? near petrol inlet ka?
lunchtime
post Aug 31 2011, 09:46 AM

487 posts

QUOTE(ultramankaiser @ Aug 30 2011, 10:37 PM)
some small spots here and there on the windscreen and windows...not a thing to worry about as it will disappear after a few car washes.... icon_rolleyes.gif
haven't spot any yet sweat.gif

can anyone share about their tyre pressure? don't tell me you guys drive without checking your tyre pressure. hmm.gif

4 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.2466sec    0.71    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 16th December 2025 - 11:18 AM