124 Pages « < 46 47 48 49 50 > » Bottom

SAMSUNG GALAXY S II Official thread V12, NEW Users be SMARTuser - PLS read Page 1

waveweaver
post Aug 25 2011, 09:39 AM

★★Android & Apple★★
13,192 posts

QUOTE(mydragoon @ Aug 25 2011, 09:32 AM)
speaking of shutdown... i think my sgs2 on stock/ ori Sammy rom has also shutdown by itself before a few times. maybe like once every two weeks.

at first, i thought i had accidentally powered down my phone but the more i think about it, the more unlikely that i had accidentally shut down the phone... coz when we power down the phone, the phone will actually need us to tap yes to confirm or sth...

still, there's a possibility... can't really be sure.

all i know is... on a few occasions, when i pull out the phone from my pocket... its OFF.
Did your phone sitting in a casing while this thing happened?

This post has been edited by waveweaver: Aug 25 2011, 09:42 AM
Fallenangelz
post Aug 25 2011, 09:44 AM

24 Hours a day just isn't enough.
3,221 posts

QUOTE(mydragoon @ Aug 25 2011, 09:32 AM)
speaking of shutdown... i think my sgs2 on stock/ ori Sammy rom has also shutdown by itself before a few times. maybe like once every two weeks.

at first, i thought i had accidentally powered down my phone but the more i think about it, the more unlikely that i had accidentally shut down the phone... coz when we power down the phone, the phone will actually need us to tap yes to confirm or sth...

still, there's a possibility... can't really be sure.

all i know is... on a few occasions, when i pull out the phone from my pocket... its OFF.
agree. dat's wat i experienced during the first 24 hours getting my phone(get it around 10.45pm, too late to flash it cz 2moro still need work doh.gif), and i tot is my pocket too tight and accidentally press dao power button. the nite of 2nd day i flashed it to lite'ning rom directly laugh.gif
h11g
post Aug 25 2011, 09:44 AM

2,114 posts

QUOTE(strictly @ Aug 25 2011, 01:59 AM)
Phone losing 3G is signal? Firmware problem i guess. Update it to latest firmware.

I remember my XE7 losing WIFI signal non stop. need to go into airplane mode and exit it. Lol. Firmware problem. Using custom rom now. Happy as ever.
more specifically the modem fw. Please try a different radio.
yehlai
post Aug 25 2011, 09:51 AM

tree lover
4,539 posts

QUOTE(destEX @ Aug 25 2011, 06:20 AM)

as the signal strength fluctuates, the max and min represents the average signal strength, excluding the extreme values.

carrier: DiGi prepaid with 3g 15/week plan

cognition 1.31 xxkg3
max -95dbm
min -99dbm -sticks around

stock xxkh3 rev02
max -93dbm -sticks around
min -97dbm

thailand 19100TDCKF1
max -91dbm -once in a blue moon
max -93dbm
med -95dbm sticks around
min -97dbm

stock xxkf2
max -93dbm
med -95dbm sticks around
min -99dbm

stock xxke7 rev02
max -93dbm
med -95dbm - 30%
med -97dbm - 70%
min -101dbm -happened quite frequently

stock xxkg6 rev02
max -93dbm
med -95dbm -sticks around
min -99dbm

stock xxke4
first modem to got me an extreme value of -71dbm for ~10 secs when phone booted before it quickly went up to -95dbm, made me happy for 10 secs doh.gif
max -93dbm
med -95dbm -stick around alot
min -99dbm

stock xxkh1
max -91dbm
med -93dbm -sticks around
min -97dbm

i leave analyzing the data to you guys
again this signal data represents my current location, dont come telling me your dbm is higher or lower icon_rolleyes.gif
good night yawn.gif

http://obihoernchen.androidcodex.com/downl...=SGS2+Modems%2F
http://www.mediafire.com/?hi5exs9msg09yun
http://www.mediafire.com/?e9g67qbdd6z6er6
Good effort.
Seems like the signal difference is not huge.
Fallenangelz
post Aug 25 2011, 09:54 AM

3,221 posts

steve jobs resigned!!! serve ya right
maks_pain
post Aug 25 2011, 09:57 AM

380 posts

QUOTE(Slekerz @ Aug 24 2011, 10:13 PM)
i don' get why apple want to ban galaxy phones in europe because sammy copy apple patent unlock phones using slides, this is ridiculous because apple should sue google not samsung and this method to unlock phones using slides not only in android but other mobile os platform. mad.gif  doh.gif
bcoz
- SGS2 is the top & best selling Android phone right now..
- Samsung is the 2nd biggest smartphone manufacturer in the world..

I hope all Google partner & Google can sit together and compile all the patent and sue them back..then all iphone kena ban worldwide..padan muka..haha

Fallenangelz
post Aug 25 2011, 09:59 AM

3,221 posts

QUOTE(maks_pain @ Aug 25 2011, 09:57 AM)
bcoz

I hope all Google partner & Google can sit together and compile all the patent and sue them back..then all iphone kena ban worldwide..padan muka..haha
the culprit behind this had resigned. most probably due to the epic failure in their lawsuit. doh.gif
megadisc
post Aug 25 2011, 10:11 AM

4,349 posts

QUOTE(maks_pain @ Aug 25 2011, 10:57 AM)
bcoz

just hope the consumers dont suffer cause of thsi issue leh
but
ignorance is bliss..
mydragoon
post Aug 25 2011, 10:15 AM

7,044 posts

QUOTE(waveweaver @ Aug 25 2011, 09:39 AM)
Did your phone sitting in a casing while this thing happened?
ya... using sgp silke.

u suspect that's the cause? but i thought when press the power button, we still need to press OK to shut down or sth like that.

This post has been edited by mydragoon: Aug 25 2011, 10:22 AM
waveweaver
post Aug 25 2011, 10:22 AM

★★Android & Apple★★
13,192 posts

QUOTE(Fallenangelz @ Aug 25 2011, 09:59 AM)
the culprit behind this had resigned. most probably due to the epic failure in their lawsuit.  doh.gif
~~ ehh ~~
I thought apple win its lawsuit against samsung and manage to bar galaxy sale in europe?
BTW, any news whether samsung going to appeal against the verdict or not.?

P/S - A pity samsung lost after nokia manage to whack apple in their legal tussle and win a huge royalty from apple. If only samsung can give this fruity firm its second blow right after nokia :-(
mydragoon
post Aug 25 2011, 10:23 AM

7,044 posts

QUOTE(Fallenangelz @ Aug 25 2011, 09:59 AM)
the culprit behind this had resigned. most probably due to the epic failure in their lawsuit.  doh.gif
since we're on that subject...

From http://fosspatents.blogspot.com/2011/08/du...reliminary.html :
Apple would now have a much more impactful decision in its hands if it had pursued the European registration of that patent more thoroughly. Also, Samsung may be able to work around that particular patent without a huge degradation of the usability of its devices because it appears to relate to the way users flip through the pictures in a photo gallery. However, regardless of how Samsung may be able to work around this decision in Europe, it's a setback for Android, a platform that is at issue in more than 50 lawsuits worldwide. In all likelihood, the winning patent is infringed by Android itself -- not the operating system per se, but by one or more of the applications that ship with Android and without which the usefulness of Android would be impaired in one particular area (photo viewing). Apple has now obtained the first enforceable court decision (out of many lawsuits going on around the world) that finds Android to infringe an Apple patent -- and there will definitely be many more to come.

This post has been edited by mydragoon: Aug 25 2011, 10:24 AM
HEERO
post Aug 25 2011, 10:25 AM

265 posts

Hi, i put in a 16GB MicroSD in SGS2, but why the memory card is like unused by the phone whn i checked memory usage via computer?

2nd things is i put all my songs into the memory card, then i can't find it in default music player? It shown only in real player songs list.
madlocke
post Aug 25 2011, 10:26 AM

187 posts

QUOTE(masterpoloking @ Aug 25 2011, 01:58 AM)
bro, thanks for the reply.
for the 1st problem, the games i downloaded are definitely all from android market. not to say all games also gg, the most noted ones are NinJump - chance of happening about 50%
Fruit Slice - about 30% chance of happening
Alien invasion - happened once or twice
iRunner - finished the game, so far only happened once
and recently i downloaded this RPG game called Inotia 3. played for not even 3 mins then hanged already...then re-play it, play for like 10 mins then hanged again

my fren suggested me to uninstall and then download and install again..but i doubt that will work
any ideas...?

the 2nd problem, dun think its the 3g signal is weak at the particular time, because once i off and on back the phone, straight away can online with data network
i nvr knew there's ppl reporting this problem already...that means so far no solution for this yet ?  ohmy.gif
this one i suspect both issues probably due to same issue.. intermittent 3G/internet connection..

try put flight mode or connect to stable home wifi and play the games see ok or not..

just a suggestion... blush.gif
mozact89
post Aug 25 2011, 10:34 AM

~KAWASAKI NINJA~
1,137 posts

Hi everyone.. just want to share my 3rd day using sgs2.. Battery is worst than my previous galaxy s n galaxy tab.. i fully charge my phone at 7.30am.. Now 10.30am bat now 58% already.. I turn on my 3g n wifi evrytime for whatsapp... Is this normal

the gps very good.. using papago, 10sec locked sattelite already..
megadisc
post Aug 25 2011, 10:37 AM

4,349 posts

QUOTE(mozact89 @ Aug 25 2011, 11:34 AM)
Hi everyone.. just want to share my 3rd day using sgs2.. Battery is worst than my previous galaxy s n galaxy tab.. i fully charge my phone at 7.30am.. Now 10.30am bat now 58% already.. I turn on my 3g n wifi evrytime for whatsapp... Is this normal

so fast GPS locked ??
i nearly one minute also havent lock up leh
wtf ,,,,
help me !!! rclxub.gif
mydragoon
post Aug 25 2011, 10:38 AM

7,044 posts

QUOTE(mozact89 @ Aug 25 2011, 10:34 AM)

turning on 3g and wifi does not mean much coz if there are no wifi network (or you didn't join), then the phone will be using 3g. 3g will consume more battery.

it also depends... you can have whatsapp on but not using it to send anything. and if you are also not receiving anything... should not consume that much battery as well.

do you have lots of apps running in the background? like FB, tweetdeck, news reader, etc... these, if set to check every 5mins... can consume a lot of battery. still... 100% @ 730 and dropping to 60% @ 1030 is a bit shocking.

quoting myself:
for those who are into statistics... it is based on some numbers i collected over a few weeks.

on average...
* charging rate over USB is at 1% for every 3 mins. it works out to about 20% per hour.
* direct charging (power socket) is at 1% for every 2 mins. so, it's about 30% per hour.

note that the above stats is based on stock rom with some processes like rss reader and tweedeck updates at every 15mins.

for idle discharging with same background process as above -- rss reader and tweetdeck set to refresh every 15mins + some incoming sms, etc but NO calls... it is about 1% every 20-30mins. can safely say that it's 2% per hour. so, overnight (hrs of sleep time), for me... i can expect the battery to drop by 15% or so...

for the idle, forgot to mention... i also have like 3-5 gmails sync (emails only).

This post has been edited by mydragoon: Aug 25 2011, 10:42 AM
Fallenangelz
post Aug 25 2011, 10:40 AM

3,221 posts

QUOTE(waveweaver @ Aug 25 2011, 10:22 AM)
~~ ehh ~~
I thought apple win its lawsuit against samsung and manage to bar galaxy sale in europe?
BTW, any news whether samsung going to appeal against the verdict or not.?

P/S - A pity samsung lost after nokia manage to whack apple in their legal tussle and win a huge royalty from apple.  If only samsung can give this fruity firm its second blow right after nokia :-(
QUOTE(mydragoon @ Aug 25 2011, 10:23 AM)
well i think u're wrong. apple only succeeded in infringing the photobrowser apk, and lost another two. which means the lawsuit is totally failure considering the negative impact towards their public image. once samsung changed the photobrowser then the galaxy series can relaunch again (i believe) as long as there's no other shit come out from apple. the ban will only enforce starting 15 october, so there's still plenty of time for samsung to release an update for it
TSbenny888
post Aug 25 2011, 10:42 AM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(megadisc @ Aug 25 2011, 10:37 AM)
so fast GPS locked ??
i nearly one minute also havent lock up leh
wtf ,,,,
help me !!!  rclxub.gif
That is average performance
My gps always n consistently lockup 3-5 sec for Google maps n papago x5
For sygic aura immediately to max 2 secs
My 3g always on 24/7
mozact89
post Aug 25 2011, 10:44 AM

~KAWASAKI NINJA~
1,137 posts

QUOTE(mydragoon @ Aug 25 2011, 10:38 AM)
turning on 3g and wifi does not mean much coz if there are no wifi network (or you didn't join), then the phone will be using 3g. 3g will consume more battery.

it also depends... you can have whatsapp on but not using it to send anything. and if you are also not receiving anything... should not consume that much battery as well.

do you have lots of apps running in the background? like FB, tweetdeck, news reader, etc... these, if set to check every 5mins... can consume a lot of battery. still... 100% @ 730 and dropping to 60% @ 1030 is a bit shocking.
Yea.. i hv viber, facebook, whatsapp, yahoo email.. but everytime i want to lock my phone, i will always kill running apps using advanved task killer.. did my phone bat prob?if yes i want to sent to samsung..
mydragoon
post Aug 25 2011, 10:44 AM

7,044 posts

QUOTE(Fallenangelz @ Aug 25 2011, 10:40 AM)
well i think u're wrong. apple only succeeded in infringing the photobrowser apk, and lost another two. which means the lawsuit is totally failure considering the negative impact towards their public image. once samsung changed the photobrowser then the galaxy series can relaunch again (i believe) as long as there's no other shit come out from apple. the ban will only enforce starting 15 october, so there's still plenty of time for samsung to release an update for it
yup, based on the foss site... it says samsung does have ample time to modify the codes so it does not infringe the patents. and the judge was actually nice enuff to issue the decision earlier -- so more time for samsung to work on the changes.

however, the foss site also pointed out that its something that should have been shipped with android. so, theoretically speaking... apple can use the same thing and sue ALL android manufacturers.

124 Pages « < 46 47 48 49 50 > » Top

0.0278sec    0.19    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 07:28 PM