124 Pages « < 48 49 50 51 52 > » Bottom

SAMSUNG GALAXY S II Official thread V12, NEW Users be SMARTuser - PLS read Page 1

mydragoon
post Aug 25 2011, 11:18 AM

7,044 posts

QUOTE(nicregi @ Aug 25 2011, 11:14 AM)

Added on August 25, 2011, 11:15 amGuys, rule number one. You DO NOT need to use task manager to kill apps. I think in many forums it ahd said it burn more battery than not using it. Just saying...never used them and never had an issue with battery life though.
agree. i recall a few weeks back, there was a video by this guy from BGR about why Android don't need Task Killers... everyone should watch it.

and remember:
* Android OS is smart enough to manage your phone RAM/ memory
* RAM is meant to be used... What is the point of having 1GB RAM when you are trying to only limit the phone to using 10% of it? the other 90% keep for what?!?
waveweaver
post Aug 25 2011, 11:21 AM

★★Android & Apple★★
13,192 posts

QUOTE(blackrobin @ Aug 25 2011, 11:11 AM)
I dunwana sound excessively demanding but how buggy is da current firmware/stock rom?

Flashing custom roms ( i choose to avoid this ) would the last thing in my list if i were to get this device.
Who ever said stock rom is buggy.?
TSbenny888
post Aug 25 2011, 11:22 AM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

I dunwana sound excessively demanding but how buggy is da current firmware/stock rom?

Flashing custom roms ( i choose to avoid this ) would the last thing in my list if i were to get this device.
Stock rom is NOT buggy as far as I can see. You start reading about bugs when users flash their rom to custom roms, which offers better performance, less bloatware, gets batter battery usage, etc. And in the process encounter some bugs here and there - depend on one needs, the bugs are either unimportant, non-critical. Guys who want to flash roms just want to get extra mileage. You can always stick to stock roms, and if you don't like some of Samsung's bloatware apps, root it and use Titanium Backup to freeze it ( hide it ) - it will not appear and it will not be auto launch
mydragoon
post Aug 25 2011, 11:22 AM

7,044 posts

QUOTE(benny888 @ Aug 25 2011, 11:18 AM)
Contacts: Menu/More - select/tick : show "Only contacts with phone numbers"
whoa... this is something new... i can see a whole lots of options.

but the thing is...
#1. the additional contacts are only appearing when i click on the head icon (contacts) inside MESSAGE. when i view my contacts via CONTACTS, i don't see the additional contacts

#2. my main account does have contacts without phone numbers. i want to also see them -- to send emails, etc...

but thanks benny888... will see what these options can do.
TSbenny888
post Aug 25 2011, 11:23 AM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(mydragoon @ Aug 25 2011, 11:18 AM)
agree. i recall a few weeks back, there was a video by this guy from BGR about why Android don't need Task Killers... everyone should watch it.

and remember:
* Android OS is smart enough to manage your phone RAM/ memory
* RAM is meant to be used... What is the point of having 1GB RAM when you are trying to only limit the phone to using 10% of it? the other 90% keep for what?!?
Yes, do also read page 1 FAQ where I have listed WHY WE DO NOT NEED TASK KILLERS
mozact89
post Aug 25 2011, 11:23 AM

~KAWASAKI NINJA~
1,137 posts

QUOTE(yjeen @ Aug 25 2011, 10:50 AM)

Go to your settings>Applications>battery usage and see which application is using the most percentage..maybe it can give u an idea.
display 38%, internet 21%, android os 15%, wifi sharing 11%, android system 3%, angry bird, cell standby, whatsapp,facebook,maps,racing moto all 2%..

It is weird why got angry birds n racing moto.. i hv close the apps n kill them on runing services..
mydragoon
post Aug 25 2011, 11:27 AM

7,044 posts

QUOTE(mozact89 @ Aug 25 2011, 11:23 AM)
display 38%, internet 21%, android os 15%, wifi sharing 11%, android system 3%, angry bird, cell standby, whatsapp,facebook,maps,racing moto all 2%..

It is weird why got angry birds n racing moto.. i hv close the apps n kill them on runing services..
not sure if my understanding is correct... but from what i understand...

the stats dun mean a thing coz it gets reset when you power down the phone. so if you phone's been running and not shut down for weeks, then its a summary of battery consumption over that period.

angry birds appearing means you play a lot of it compared to others.
madlocke
post Aug 25 2011, 11:27 AM

187 posts

i can say from my personal use that the stock rom was no problem at all..

been using stock KF1 for more than a month before i rooted last week..

i do not have crazy batt drain like some ppl.. my nite drain 7-8hrs is like 1%/hr only..

only reason i rooted is because sammy was so slow.. still KF1 while custom is already KH3.. drool.gif

also bonus is hope for better 3g... sweat.gif
waveweaver
post Aug 25 2011, 11:29 AM

★★Android & Apple★★
13,192 posts

QUOTE(mozact89 @ Aug 25 2011, 11:23 AM)

Screen display, browsing and gaming are three most biggest batt juice gobbler.!!

If you didn't use this three, you batt can tahan ATLEAST one full day.

This post has been edited by waveweaver: Aug 25 2011, 11:33 AM
blackrobin
post Aug 25 2011, 11:30 AM

semi-hardcore mobile enthusiast!!
998 posts

thanks for the clarification guys

@mydragoon - I've just read ur review. Is the GMAIL problem still there?
ksh9394
post Aug 25 2011, 11:31 AM

92 posts

any1 using batista 3.72.2? can giv som feedback? is it still buggy?
unemployed
post Aug 25 2011, 11:33 AM

28 posts

Hi dude,

im using xpax prepaid and planning to get Digi smartplan 68,

how long they will take to port in my xpax number and get the galaxy S2?

Must done in Digi Center? Online can?
TSbenny888
post Aug 25 2011, 11:36 AM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(unemployed @ Aug 25 2011, 11:33 AM)
Hi dude,

Within half a day, max 24 hours .
mydragoon
post Aug 25 2011, 11:37 AM

7,044 posts

QUOTE(unemployed @ Aug 25 2011, 11:33 AM)
Hi dude,

not sure about online.

for me... it was maxis to digi. done a few years back. need to go shop and sign papers. i get a new sim card and it gets activated in 24hrs.

as for the phone... not sure if there's a stock issue over at digi. if you have been following the news... seems maxis always got stocks issue for sgs2.

QUOTE(blackrobin @ Aug 25 2011, 11:30 AM)
thanks for the clarification guys

@mydragoon - I've just read ur review. Is the GMAIL problem still there?
gmail problem as in the attachment. yes... it is. it very much depends on whether Samsung wants to change that or not. i know that on the Asus Transformer tablet, i can attach pdf.

but unless you plan to really do a lot of attachments, otherwise... wait till get home and use pc.

one 'cheating' way... save the common attachments as draft. you can also forward those already in sent. this is onyl good if you are forwarding the same pdf (product brochures, forms, etc) to your contacts.

This post has been edited by mydragoon: Aug 25 2011, 11:42 AM
z3r0h
post Aug 25 2011, 11:37 AM

93 posts

MNP, 2 days for digi postpaid, yes, digi centre only from what i know
unemployed
post Aug 25 2011, 11:38 AM

28 posts

QUOTE(benny888 @ Aug 25 2011, 11:36 AM)
Within half a day, max 24 hours .
must get done in center ? thanks thanks!
TSbenny888
post Aug 25 2011, 11:40 AM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(unemployed @ Aug 25 2011, 11:38 AM)
must get done in center ? thanks thanks!
YES , faster at center. I did mine on Friday, morning 11 am , by nightime about 9 pm it was ported over. I was told if during weekdays, within few hours usually. I transfer over my Celcom postpaid - how fast also dependent on your present postpaid telco
blackrobin
post Aug 25 2011, 11:48 AM

semi-hardcore mobile enthusiast!!
998 posts

i read the review from mydragoon's blog and found that the gmail apps offer limited attachment options? only video,music and pictures. is this a permanent problem?

rain0520
post Aug 25 2011, 11:50 AM

140 posts

Hi, have u guys tried up calibrating the battery? Well my device is unrooted. So the procedure is from 1 up to 5 or all of them exclude step 6? Uncle Benny, can you tell me what to do? >.<
yehlai
post Aug 25 2011, 11:50 AM

tree lover
4,539 posts

Hi guys, can we all put their rom, kernel and to modem info at of their phone at siggy? Easier to shoot questions..

Or you guys want a Lynn sgs2 siggy?

124 Pages « < 48 49 50 51 52 > » Top

0.0281sec    0.59    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 11th December 2025 - 01:35 PM