SAMSUNG GALAXY S II Official thread V12, NEW Users be SMARTuser - PLS read Page 1
waveweaver
Aug 30 2011, 12:40 AM
QUOTE(benny888 @ Aug 30 2011, 12:34 AM) YES ; png are basic graphic files. I have many png files in my phone . Many apps uses png files as their logos too. It will shows up in any picture/graphic viewer including gallery Just drop the files in any folder - there is no rule/restriction Most probably your file transfers are unsuccessful if you don't see it . Anyway I never used KIES as I have written it off as the worst file transfer/sync software I have ever use. I install KIES just for its phone drivers Ya..ya. Kies is totally crap K - Kies I - Is E - Extreme S - Shit ~~lol~~
PhantomThief
Aug 30 2011, 12:41 AM
I'm folding. Are you?
Apologies all around for the mistake. My bad On a side note, I have a question about charging as well. My Battery Monitor Widget and Android System Info tells me that my battery has been charged to 100%. But Android doesn't tell me that the charging is done, and when I go to settings -> about -> status, the Battery Level says 100% but the Battery Status still says "charging". Should I continue charging or stop? QUOTE(waveweaver @ Aug 30 2011, 12:29 AM) Our SGSII can read PNG. Mine shows in gallery based on what folder that i've name it. QUOTE(benny888 @ Aug 30 2011, 12:34 AM) YES ; png are basic graphic files. I have many png files in my phone . Many apps uses png files as their logos too. It will shows up in any picture/graphic viewer including gallery Just drop the files in any folder - there is no rule/restriction Most probably your file transfers are unsuccessful if you don't see it . Anyway I never used KIES as I have written it off as the worst file transfer/sync software I have ever use. I install KIES just for its phone drivers
TSbenny888
Aug 30 2011, 12:46 AM
Gadget Freak
QUOTE(PhantomThief @ Aug 30 2011, 12:41 AM) Apologies all around for the mistake. My bad On a side note, I have a question about charging as well. My Battery Monitor Widget and Android System Info tells me that my battery has been charged to 100%. But Android doesn't tell me that the charging is done, and when I go to settings -> about -> status, the Battery Level says 100% but the Battery Status still says "charging". Should I continue charging or stop? Is it so critical that you must see and have a 100.00 % charge but not 99.99% ?? If you read the FAQ I pointed to you, it even advise you not to have phone 100% fully charge
waveweaver
Aug 30 2011, 12:46 AM
QUOTE(PhantomThief @ Aug 30 2011, 12:41 AM) Apologies all around for the mistake. My bad On a side note, I have a question about charging as well. My Battery Monitor Widget and Android System Info tells me that my battery has been charged to 100%. But Android doesn't tell me that the charging is done, and when I go to settings -> about -> status, the Battery Level says 100% but the Battery Status still says "charging". Should I continue charging or stop? AFAIK as long as your charger still chuck inside your phone then at Battery Status will continue says 'charging'. It only sometimes when you take out your charger, your battery status went down a bit like 98%.
TSbenny888
Aug 30 2011, 12:48 AM
Gadget Freak
QUOTE(waveweaver @ Aug 30 2011, 12:46 AM) AFAIK as long as your charger still chuck inside your phone then at Battery Status will continue says 'charging'. It only sometimes when you take out your charger, your battery status went down a bit like 98%. Right and many users will still be asking why I see 100% , after I disconnect charge immediately drop down to 98-99 % ???
MusicForLife
Aug 30 2011, 12:50 AM
thanks for the clarification everybody! =D,does anyone know how to remove the CRT effect on batista rom, don't really like it. )=
waveweaver
Aug 30 2011, 12:54 AM
QUOTE(benny888 @ Aug 30 2011, 12:48 AM) Right and many users will still be asking why I see 100% , after I disconnect charge immediately drop down to 98-99 % ??? Yes. But i found 100% can be achieved if we take out the charger then we chuck in again and leave it for around 15-30 minutes. Though for me as long as it above 95% then it's good to go :-)
SUSdestEX
Aug 30 2011, 12:55 AM
QUOTE(waveweaver @ Aug 30 2011, 12:54 AM) Yes. But i found 100% can be achieved if we take out the charger then we chuck in again and leave it for around 15-30 minutes. Though for me as long as it above 95% then it's good to go :-) but this condition i only experience with the andida, never once i disconnect while using original has my batt drop
PhantomThief
Aug 30 2011, 12:58 AM
I'm folding. Are you?
Whoa, ease up a little. I'm just curious as to why Android no longer informs me when the battery is charged. The only time it ever gave me the tone to signify a full charge was the very first time I charged it. Ever since then, I've had to manually check to see if the charge is complete. That's why I'm asking. So no, it is not "so critical" for me to have 100% instead of 99.99%. And no, it does not say "charging" so long as the charger is inside, it should say "charged" when the charging is complete. QUOTE(benny888 @ Aug 30 2011, 12:46 AM) Is it so critical that you must see and have a 100.00 % charge but not 99.99% ?? If you read the FAQ I pointed to you, it even advise you not to have phone 100% fully charge QUOTE(waveweaver @ Aug 30 2011, 12:46 AM) AFAIK as long as your charger still chuck inside your phone then at Battery Status will continue says 'charging'. It only sometimes when you take out your charger, your battery status went down a bit like 98%. QUOTE(benny888 @ Aug 30 2011, 12:48 AM) Right and many users will still be asking why I see 100% , after I disconnect charge immediately drop down to 98-99 % ???
TSbenny888
Aug 30 2011, 12:59 AM
Gadget Freak
QUOTE(MusicForLife @ Aug 30 2011, 12:50 AM) thanks for the clarification everybody! =D,does anyone know how to remove the CRT effect on batista rom, don't really like it. )= You can try this : look for an app called Screen Off and Lock on the market, it has included the crt off effect, plus a bunch of other really cool ones, sounds included... no need to root
iori57
Aug 30 2011, 01:00 AM
QUOTE(MusicForLife @ Aug 29 2011, 11:24 PM) hey guys i have a simple question here,is it safe that i leave my phone charging before i sleep,i mean charging it until i wake up. Will it shorten the life of the battery,tired to wake up and plug it off. )= Try this... download Charger alarm for free https://market.android.com/details?id=com.a...ee.ChargerAlarmarm it and charge when you go to sleep... it will ring with the tone you selected when it is fully charge... so you can switch it off during midnight lol.. that's how i do it... but not recommended for those that cannot go back to sleep immediately after you've been woken up.. like me i can fall back to sleep within 5 seconds after i off the power this app also useful when you leave your phone unattended during charging, you can set another alarm to sound when someone unplug or switch off the power trying to steal it (in your office maybe)
Eiraku
Aug 30 2011, 01:02 AM
QUOTE(PhantomThief @ Aug 30 2011, 12:58 AM) Whoa, ease up a little. I'm just curious as to why Android no longer informs me when the battery is charged. The only time it ever gave me the tone to signify a full charge was the very first time I charged it. Ever since then, I've had to manually check to see if the charge is complete. That's why I'm asking. So no, it is not "so critical" for me to have 100% instead of 99.99%. And no, it does not say "charging" so long as the charger is inside, it should say "charged" when the charging is complete. You guys disabled the full charge notifications izzit? It goes to 100% fine, and gives me an obvious notification and tone here. Also, the batt is never REALLY fully charged unless you charge it when it's turned off. This post has been edited by Eiraku: Aug 30 2011, 01:03 AM
FallenOut
Aug 30 2011, 01:02 AM
QUOTE(MusicForLife @ Aug 30 2011, 12:50 AM) thanks for the clarification everybody! =D,does anyone know how to remove the CRT effect on batista rom, don't really like it. )= normally try settings - display - animation - no animations currently testin on oc to 1.4 n uv the battery
iori57
Aug 30 2011, 01:03 AM
QUOTE(Eiraku @ Aug 30 2011, 01:02 AM) You guys disabled the full charge notifications izzit? It goes to 100% fine here. Also, the batt never really goes to 100% unless you charge it when it's turned off. Hmm, mine always reach 100%, even when I'm watching movie with it and charging at the same time. when it reach 100% it will have a soft notification tone and then after i unplug it still show 100% for quite some time.. (100% drop till 99% is much longer compare to 99% drop to 98% which is like instant)
PhantomThief
Aug 30 2011, 01:09 AM
I'm folding. Are you?
QUOTE(Eiraku @ Aug 30 2011, 01:02 AM) You guys disabled the full charge notifications izzit? It goes to 100% fine, and gives me an obvious notification and tone here. Also, the batt is never REALLY fully charged unless you charge it when it's turned off. Only possibility I can think of right now is that Lite'ning ROM has the notification disabled. Either that or there's something wrong with the phone, hahaha.
SUSdestEX
Aug 30 2011, 01:12 AM
QUOTE(PhantomThief @ Aug 30 2011, 01:09 AM) Only possibility I can think of right now is that Lite'ning ROM has the notification disabled. Either that or there's something wrong with the phone, hahaha. bingo, most new custom roms lidat wan, coz those foreigners will wake up if the phone fin charging middle of night and got sound
PhantomThief
Aug 30 2011, 01:14 AM
I'm folding. Are you?
Yep, I just double checked. While there's nothing in the Lite'ning ROM changelogs, there is supposed to be the option to set it on or off under Sound in the Settings menu. That option is nowhere to be found now, so I suppose it has been removed altogether. QUOTE(destEX @ Aug 30 2011, 01:12 AM) bingo, most new custom roms lidat wan, coz those foreigners will wake up if the phone fin charging middle of night and got sound
iori57
Aug 30 2011, 01:14 AM
Guys if you haven't already, download https://market.android.com/details?id=fishn...le.koipond_freeset it as your live wallpaper and see your iphone friends jaw dropped  i like the ripple effect so much when you scroll between your home screen... also after experimenting it for a while it only used a bit more of battery if u let your display stay on with the wallpaper... after i lock my phone and screen off, the battery drain is the same as before (at least i feel).. going to use this as my wallpaper as i charge my phone everyday anyway and it is too cool to let go also best for sgs ii coz of our dual core  some other phones report slow animation... also our super amol really brings out this wallpaper.. u will feel that you're screen became a water surface! macam very soft and smooth!
SUSdestEX
Aug 30 2011, 01:16 AM
QUOTE(iori57 @ Aug 30 2011, 01:14 AM) Guys if you haven't already, download https://market.android.com/details?id=fishn...le.koipond_freeset it as your live wallpaper and see your iphone friends jaw dropped  i like the ripple effect so much when you scroll between your home screen... also after experimenting it for a while it only used a bit more of battery if u let your display stay on with the wallpaper... after i lock my phone and screen off, the battery drain is the same as before (at least i feel).. going to use this as my wallpaper as i charge my phone everyday anyway and it is too cool to let go also best for sgs ii coz of our dual core  some other phones report slow animation... also our super amol really brings out this wallpaper.. u will feel that you're screen became a water surface! macam very soft and smooth! AGREE!! live wallpapers drains battery but i still use it, why? coz its AWESOME!
waveweaver
Aug 30 2011, 01:21 AM
QUOTE(iori57 @ Aug 30 2011, 01:03 AM) Hmm, mine always reach 100%, even when I'm watching movie with it and charging at the same time. when it reach 100% it will have a soft notification tone and then after i unplug it still show 100% for quite some time.. (100% drop till 99% is much longer compare to 99% drop to 98% which is like instant) ehehe., i think the situation is like this. If we leave our phone charge overnight (more than 4 - 6 hours), we can achieve 100% batt. But if we wait our phone to touch 100% battery status then we immediately take out the charger, our battery will drop to 98%. I think our phone was built in such way as to discourage full 100%. So from 98 - 100% will take quite a long time as our phone only let in a trickle current inside. It's either you take out the charger, let the meter drop then charge it again OR leave your phone overnight. Same like ppl. Not good eating until our stomach really full one. Can sesak nafas you know. Battery also like that ~~ lol ~~ This post has been edited by waveweaver: Aug 30 2011, 01:24 AM