Finally got it running, put it off for so long.
This post has been edited by Eiraku: Aug 21 2011, 04:15 AM
SAMSUNG GALAXY S II Official thread V12, NEW Users be SMARTuser - PLS read Page 1
Aug 21 2011, 04:12 AM
7,037 posts Joined: Apr 2006 |
Finally got it running, put it off for so long. This post has been edited by Eiraku: Aug 21 2011, 04:15 AM |
Aug 22 2011, 02:44 AM
QUOTE(xsaintzx @ Aug 22 2011, 12:06 AM) Try Jeffrey-SpeedFrey 3.0, just released today. Battery life at the cost of:http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=1213339 The kernel that aimed to have the best battery life, you do the judge. a) No logcat/debug functions IINM ("useless developer features") b) No user definable UV values Sticking with Nymph thank you (for now at least), I NEED the debug functions so that Smart App Locker would actually work. I also need logcat for sending logs to app devs when they want me to (yeah I know you can "enable" it if you want). But all the extra RAM does seem nice, plus Taksin one ups Hardcore in my book by adjusting values that make AOS appear again in battery stats. So I MIGHT just test speedfrey one day. Creating a kernel that HIDES AOS percentage values AND THEN claiming that the AOS bug is solved IS NOT good practice IMHO (ehm, Hardcore). It's just plain dishonesty. This post has been edited by Eiraku: Aug 22 2011, 03:08 AM |
Aug 22 2011, 10:25 AM
Weh, anyone here managed to set up an Ubuntu chroot and local vnc connection yet? Kinda wondering if it'll work with MHL-out and bluetooth keyboard/mouse.
Aug 23 2011, 03:25 AM
Mmmm, new nympho based on REAL 2.3.4 kernel sources.
*flashes* |
Aug 24 2011, 12:55 AM
QUOTE(xakarix84 @ Aug 23 2011, 04:39 PM) anyone tried this? Or, if you're already running CF3DPro (which I assume most people have edi), you can use "nightmode" set to custom colour.https://market.android.com/details?id=com.k...erurscreen.lite just installed, dunno got what side effect or battery drain, but i manage to make my white less yellowish by setting alpha = 5, blue = 255, depends how ur screen tint is Less crap running in the BG that way. QUOTE(destEX @ Aug 23 2011, 01:13 PM) btw guys anyone tried the Wave Launcher? I'm using swipepad. Works well enough (launcher + tasking plugin).https://market.android.com/details?id=com.m...elauncher&hl=en really good stuff, combine wave launcher + multitasking app = perfect https://market.android.com/details?id=com.t...e=search_result really fully utilize your phone, play game half way, then go reply msg/ebuddy/play music/twitter/then resume! works even in full screen game/app. recommended that you modify your memory settings as android will close your app when u switch it to background if your app consumes alot alot of memory |
Aug 25 2011, 06:41 AM
QUOTE(mydendenmushi @ Aug 25 2011, 06:03 AM) bro, since when samsung released and sell 2000 mAh battery compatible with gs2? http://is.gd/Y7QXBW andida is not the one.. mugen one is way too bulky although 3500 mAh sounds tasty.. Due in sept. I can't wait so ordered some 3500mah ones from Spider Foot (true cap 2400mah, but for $10 I'm not complaining). And no. The adinda batt is NOT 2000mah. |
Aug 25 2011, 08:50 PM
QUOTE(ohmlawx @ Aug 25 2011, 08:31 PM) https://market.android.com/details?id=com.a...e=search_result I'm using Tasker to do the same thing: data off when screen off, data on and autosync every 20 minutes. It's faster and lighter, and unlike JD it doesn't drain as much as it saves lol. Only drawback is, tasker can't suspend data off if you have streaming apps using data in the bg (they get cut off too).this is the app that i said this afternoon. really improve my battery consumption.. Only app I'm using for streaming is DI Radio anyway, so I get by with an ugly, ugly hack involving the headphone jack (data off is suspended if the hp jack is used, with other ugly hacks for internal music apps). But ultimately, this isn't optimal. Also, tasker is a PITA to set up lol. But, no matter what I try, I'm always drawn back to my tasker configs for data management purposes. Prolly because I'm also using it for other things (set diff screen timeout when on charger, WIFI on by my home cell ID, wierd stuff like that). This post has been edited by Eiraku: Aug 25 2011, 09:10 PM |
Aug 25 2011, 09:13 PM
QUOTE(tenchi0205 @ Aug 25 2011, 09:09 PM) On the flipside, it's one of the most powerful apps ever. Shame the dev doesn't want to make a special rooted version, which can undoubtedly do even more.Dev is adamant he wants it usable by all. Which is fine and dandy if not for the fact that most people who use it are rooted to begin with. |
Aug 25 2011, 11:11 PM
As soon as they sort out the main issues, I might just try MIUI.
But for now, I'm still stuck fast with my oldie but crap stable VR2.0 + Nymph 2.1.2 + KH3 modem combo. Best battery life/feature balance. I WOULD try ragemod but they don't have the touchscreen fixes for Glas users yet. Or Nymph's fast charging. I could do W/O BLN though, I never use it anyway. |
Aug 26 2011, 03:08 AM
QUOTE(AhBoy~~ @ Aug 26 2011, 01:51 AM) is the phone will go lag when charging with 1000mA charger? mine go lag(touch not responsive) when using other charger to charge Cap ayam chargers will do this to most capacitive touch phones, as they are not properly grounded.Either that or your charger's broken. I use my SGS2 with Nokia Ac-10x 1200mA chargers (I have two) and BB 700mA charger WITH SGP GLAS SUMMORE no problems. Oh, and I've been using the HyperX modded camera with volume button controls (hold to focus, tap to capture) and modded video with high bitrate sound since VR1.4, no issues and with full res pictures. But yeah, power button as camera capture would be swell. This post has been edited by Eiraku: Aug 26 2011, 03:26 AM |
Aug 26 2011, 08:38 AM
QUOTE(Dark_Angel85 @ Aug 26 2011, 08:07 AM) I also have that same issue where I have to toggle the Wi-Fi and 3g sometimes. I don't like it as well but Widgets and shortcuts make it better WIFI issues = reflash modem (try the new KH3) and check your router config.3G issues = turn off HSUPA (NOT HSDPA) and Fast Dormancy. Still has issues SOMETIMES in Market or Tapatalk, but I just have to nudge it by opening any webpage, no need to on off 3G. But yeah, phone has issues with SOME WIFI routers. Works fine for extended periods of time with my Belkin G + UNIFI combo back home though. This post has been edited by Eiraku: Aug 26 2011, 08:41 AM |
Aug 26 2011, 09:12 AM
QUOTE(mydragoon @ Aug 26 2011, 09:02 AM) for me... Trust me, your blue OLEDs will burn out within 3-4 years. If you're lucky. no regrets. yes, actively recommending it to the point ppl think samsung is paying me. next replacement? nolar... hoping to change only in 5yrs time. As for me, already Nexus Prime VS iPhone 5 in my mind (wallet can support or not lain cerita). And if Nexus Prime really come with HD reso screen, then no contest lar - retina can go die lol. @maks_pain: Fairly simple really. I'll post a screenshot tut later. |
Aug 26 2011, 09:32 AM
@dragoon: No idea. Also, correction, it's only been a few years since AMOLED SCREENS came into active use. I mean, the first Samsung phone (yeah Sammie owns the tech) with an AMOLED screen came out 2008/09. So, it's been what, 2-3 years?
Even the Nokia N85, the first AMOLED Nokia, came out 2009/10. So no idea if it can last 5 years, because even the tech is not that old yet. @maks_pain: 1) Make a new profile: ![]() 2) For the context, select event -> display -> display off ![]() 3) Create a new task. Name it if you want. ![]() 4) Set up as below: ![]() Wait is under "Tasker" and wifi control is under "Net". To make it auto on IF you've used it before turning off the screen is gonna be more complex though. |
Aug 27 2011, 03:38 AM
QUOTE(Angelpoli @ Aug 27 2011, 02:02 AM) Possible, yes. Legal? Depends on where you get the apk from, as there are SOME devs that provide sideloading apks from their websites.Like Gameloft, I got some of their games from the Gameloft website. But if you're talking piracy, better go join the "Android |
Aug 27 2011, 04:48 AM
For tasker junkies like me:
![]() Amongst other things, it CAN GIVE TASKER THE POWER TO TURN GPS ON AND OFF. It can also run linux commands and parse the output as variables (oooohh). And a whole bunch of other stuff. In laymans terms, it now makes possible auto GPS-ON when using GMaps/Sygic/Papago/YourFavouriteCamAppWithGeotagging/Facebook/Blablabla, and auto OFF when exiting. At the very least anyway, the fact that I can run PGREP/PS and use the output (PIDs) as a variable is more interesting. With a little luck (okay, a lot of luck) and some hardcore shell scripting (plus some adruino boards) I can probably make it toast bread and cook eggs when I enter the kitchen every morning lol. This post has been edited by Eiraku: Aug 27 2011, 06:11 AM |
Aug 27 2011, 07:40 AM
QUOTE(destEX @ Aug 27 2011, 04:36 AM) ter-kick my charger's wire which is charging mai phone, and my phone went flying at high speed from desk height to the wall then to the floor~ fast fast go see, oh screen still intact, the phone no problem, now i grateful bought the zenus case =D Has happened to me more than once. It was worse with the my old iP4 coz:1) It was so freaking heavy 2) It's glass all over Yet the i4 survived long enough to be stolen after 4 months lol. I'd expect at least similar levels of performance from mai new slim and trim waifu. And after the door top to wet floor face first incident (with SGP UltCap - pun battery cover got loose), I guess mai new plastic waifu was MEANT to be a tough one. Although the "splak" sound of the phone dropping onto a wet, tile floor is something I'd rather not hear again, ever. But really people. Get a case of some sort. This post has been edited by Eiraku: Aug 27 2011, 07:48 AM |
Aug 28 2011, 05:00 PM
Momax 2700mah Expower batteries out:
![]() Branded, good capacity extebded batts at about half the price of Mugen? Sure! I've ordered a couple to compare to the cheaper spider-foot batteries. Comes with a fitting faux-leather case too. This post has been edited by Eiraku: Aug 28 2011, 05:01 PM |
Aug 29 2011, 12:47 AM
QUOTE(PhantomThief @ Aug 29 2011, 12:41 AM) I have found that my battery life is absolute shite no matter what I do unless I use Juice Defender and switch to EDGE over 3G/HSDPA. I lost 12% batt in about 1hr 30mins, with Android OS being the highest user, despite the fact that the screen was off the whole time and there was basically no waketime either. It's just dreadful. Looks like I'm only going to be using 3G when watching youtube or for any heavy surfing sessions/tethering. Can't afford the battery drain otherwise. You can only go so far with optimzations, looks like a bigger physical battery is the only real way to go for much improved battery life.As for all the new shite coming out, I'll wait 1-2 more years before upgrading, unless something REALLY revolutionary comes out. |
Aug 29 2011, 03:15 AM
QUOTE(wayfeel @ Aug 29 2011, 02:00 AM) samsung already made one of the thinnest & lightest superphone around. best spec (at the moment) , best screen which even apple is wanting so badly of . Well like it or not Apple had it right when they prioritized user experience (and in a way, balance) over anything else, at least on the i4 upwards. Everybody else, at least in the Android camp, seems hell bent on winning this new war they came up with, the spec war.myb it's time to crack into a new undertaking. smack a 3000mah power into a batt of smaller size....i think that will sapu the ultra superphone market of quad cores, 3D HD Nova display, ddr3 RAM , n even superphones that help you wash your car... charging the phone everyday like that is actually quite dreadful to me...my phone end of day remain about 20-50% dpding biz good or not lol if a superphone can last 3 days like that guarantee have all the market cake lol Its putting the megapixel war to shame man. And android can't even take full advantage of 2 cores yet lol, let alone live on for over a day lol. Only other camp that stands a chance is WP7. Shame it's just not taking off that well yet. Not to say I don't love my SGS2, I do, yellowing display and all (yes, I think my blue subpixels are dying really fast). But yes I agree, rather than going full blown on a war nobody can win, Android manufacturers should start looking at new battery technologies and fast. This post has been edited by Eiraku: Aug 29 2011, 03:16 AM |
Aug 29 2011, 05:51 AM
Some interesting research findings - Underclocking and undervolting does not really save THAT much power lol:
http://is.gd/v26U4F While screen on anyway. Going back to my old 1000/200 settings then lol. No wonder going to 800/200 didn't feel like much diff anyway lol. This post has been edited by Eiraku: Aug 29 2011, 06:00 AM |
| Change to: | 0.0589sec
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 03:27 AM |