125 Pages « < 69 70 71 72 73 > » Bottom

Credit Card v16, Ask general questions here, Please read the 1st post before posting!

Gen-X
post Nov 4 2011, 07:02 AM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(cakarsakti @ Nov 3 2011, 10:19 PM)
i understand the calculation.. thanks
but, how do we determine which rate we will be charged, 17.5% 16% or 13.5% p.a? 12months, 10months?  rclxub.gif
Since you do not have a credit card yet, all you need to know is that the interest rate imposed on outstanding balance (if you don't pay in full before Due Date) for new cardholders is 17.5%.

Since you have yet to get your card, I will share with you this, from the very start, never ever let the bank imposed interest on your outstanding balance no matter how small or little the amount is, i.e. always pay in full before Due Date. Once you break this principal, you have entered into the hell zone.

If you pay in full every month, it does not matter if the banks imposed 88% or 4% interest on outstanding balance.

But is you really must know how the 13.5% -17.55 is charged, go to any bank website and read the Terms and Conditions for credit cards and you'll get the answer.

QUOTE(ronnie @ Nov 3 2011, 11:06 PM)
Does RHB CC offers 5% on Petrol except the TravelMoney CC ?
Not that I know. The 5% for petrol is for 1st weekend of the month and other days 2%. But, there are terms and conditions and the the cash back is based on 20% of total retail transactions. What I interpret from this is - if you only use the card purely for petrol it means you won't get any cash back.

Having said that, there was a promo for debit card recently for petrol (I think) and groceries (i am sure), can't recall the details.

This post has been edited by Gen-X: Nov 4 2011, 07:06 AM
cakarsakti
post Nov 4 2011, 08:12 AM

37 posts

QUOTE(Gen-X @ Nov 4 2011, 07:02 AM)
Since you do not have a credit card yet, all you need to know is that the interest rate imposed on outstanding balance (if you don't pay in full before Due Date) for new cardholders is 17.5%.

Since you have yet to get your card, I will share with you this, from the very start, never ever let the bank imposed interest on your outstanding balance no matter how small or little the amount is, i.e. always pay in full before Due Date. Once you break this principal, you have entered into the hell zone.

If you pay in full every month, it does not matter if the banks imposed 88% or 4% interest on outstanding balance.

But is you really must know how the 13.5% -17.55 is charged, go to any bank website and read the Terms and Conditions for credit cards and you'll get the answer.
Not that I know. The 5% for petrol is for 1st weekend of the month and other days 2%. But, there are terms and conditions and the the cash back is based on 20% of total retail transactions. What I interpret from this is - if you only use the card purely for petrol it means you won't get any cash back.

thank you.. i already read the terms, but still didnt understand... thats why i ask here.. hehe.. my bad, sorry~ sweat.gif
from my understanding, the charges are as following

x<10months ... 17.5% p.s
10<x<12 months ... 16% p.a
x>10 months... 13.5% p.a

zenquix
post Nov 4 2011, 08:22 AM

Life is short!
2,552 posts

QUOTE(cakarsakti @ Nov 4 2011, 08:12 AM)
thank you.. i already read the terms, but still didnt understand... thats why i ask here.. hehe.. my bad, sorry~  sweat.gif
from my understanding, the charges are as following

x<10months ... 17.5% p.s
10<x<12 months ... 16% p.a
x>10 months... 13.5% p.a
When you first get the card the interest rate is 17.5% per annum

as long as you pay ontime for 10 months continuously the interest rate goes down to 16% per annum

pay on time for 12 months and more continuously the interest rate goes down to 13.5% per annum.

Miss one payment or make 1 late payment and interest rate resets to 17.5% per annum and you start from scratch again
cakarsakti
post Nov 4 2011, 11:32 AM

37 posts

QUOTE(zenquix @ Nov 4 2011, 08:22 AM)
When you first get the card the interest rate is 17.5% per annum

as long as you pay ontime for 10 months continuously the interest rate goes down to 16% per annum

pay on time for 12 months and more continuously the interest rate goes down to 13.5% per annum.

Miss one payment or make 1 late payment and interest rate resets to 17.5% per annum and you start from scratch again
oo like that.. itu macam ka~ ic~ thank you2~

This post has been edited by cakarsakti: Nov 4 2011, 11:36 AM
axis_lua
post Nov 4 2011, 05:29 PM

929 posts

QUOTE(ronnie @ Jul 13 2011, 02:28 PM)
If you want to buy iPad, MBP, MBA, iMac or other Mac stuffs, now can start to use your Maybankard2 Visa/Mastercard to earn 6X TreatsPoints

EpiCentre: Everything Mac and More
Exclusive to Maybankard Cardmembers

Get 6x TreatsPoint with Maybankard EzyPay 0% Installment Plan
Purchase above RM500 and receive a Complimentary RM10 accessory voucher + EpiCentre membership & Training (worth RM116).
Promotion is valid until 31 October 2011

http://www.maybank2u.com.my/mbb_info/m2u/p.../PRO-Promotions

On October 1st i saw this promotion and head down to epicenter to purchase my MBA with mastercard. I called them when i saw that my card wasn't credited with the correct x6 points. They told me the points will be credited at the end of month. However, at the end of months i was credited with my installment bill but no points and called them up again and they told me the promotion stated that its only for AMEX? blink.gif

We went there with 3 people using Mastercard, all 3 of us saw the promotion was for Visa/Mastercard and i even called the helpdesk to confirm. After 1 month, the T&C suddenly change instead of 6x we get 1x points.

IS THIS A SCAM? D:

WHAT DO I DO? D:
b00n
post Nov 4 2011, 05:55 PM

delusional
9,137 posts

Do you have the printout of the promotion?
If you have you can definitely go to tribunal or complain to them about that.

Else you would just need to push your luck by complaining that the helpdesk informed that you guys qualified and you're goign to create a big hoohah out of this by complaining to the relevant parties.
Clareen
post Nov 5 2011, 12:50 AM

Workaholic~*
2,603 posts

Just got first cc approve by standard chartered bank, dono they offer gold or platinum to me yet. I would like to double confirm is it when swipe and pay within 21 days there will be no additional charge from the bank!
erry-
post Nov 5 2011, 02:00 AM

Custom Member Title
2,323 posts

QUOTE(Clareen @ Nov 5 2011, 12:50 AM)
I would like to double confirm is it when swipe and pay within 21 days there will be no additional charge from the bank!
yes. wait for ur statement, then pay full balance before or on due date, so there will no charge at all ~ thumbup.gif

Added on November 5, 2011, 2:01 amexcept - gst and annual fee (if applicable) - once a year laugh.gif

This post has been edited by erry-: Nov 5 2011, 02:01 AM
tifosi
post Nov 5 2011, 10:29 AM

Friend is someone to share last Cookie with!
5,156 posts

QUOTE(axis_lua @ Nov 4 2011, 05:29 PM)
On October 1st i saw this promotion and head down to epicenter to purchase my MBA with mastercard. I called them when i saw that my card wasn't credited with the correct x6 points. They told me the points will be credited at the end of month. However, at the end of months i was credited with my installment bill but no points and called them up again and they told me the promotion stated that its only for AMEX?  blink.gif

We went there with 3 people using Mastercard, all 3 of us saw the promotion was for Visa/Mastercard and i even called the helpdesk to confirm. After 1 month, the T&C suddenly change instead of 6x we get 1x points.

IS THIS A SCAM? D:

WHAT DO I DO? D:
QUOTE(b00n @ Nov 4 2011, 05:55 PM)
Do you have the printout of the promotion?
If you have you can definitely go to tribunal or complain to them about that.

Else you would just need to push your luck by complaining that the helpdesk informed that you guys qualified and you're goign to create a big hoohah out of this by complaining to the relevant parties.
I can't find the promo on their website but confirmed is Visa/Mastercard. I was there on Oct 1st purchasing the iPad and saw the deal. Then when I wanted to pay, I only realised that the promo was not applicable for iPad purchases. So, I took back my Master and paid with my Amex instead since it is 5X the points.
ronnie
post Nov 5 2011, 12:04 PM

Not enough stars
21,311 posts

On October 1st i saw this promotion and head down to epicenter to purchase my MBA with mastercard. I called them when i saw that my card wasn't credited with the correct x6 points. They told me the points will be credited at the end of month. However, at the end of months i was credited with my installment bill but no points and called them up again and they told me the promotion stated that its only for AMEX?  blink.gif

IS THIS A SCAM? D:

WHAT DO I DO? D:
Better call them again.
My friend kena the same thing using his Maybankard 2 Visa... initially gave him 3X TP only (instead of 6X).
After afew rounds with CS, they gave him another 3X TP as per promotion.

Not scam... but lousy Maybank system.
Clareen
post Nov 5 2011, 02:03 PM

Workaholic~*
2,603 posts

QUOTE(erry- @ Nov 5 2011, 02:00 AM)
yes. wait for ur statement, then pay full balance before or on due date, so there will no charge at all ~ thumbup.gif

Added on November 5, 2011, 2:01 amexcept - gst and annual fee (if applicable) - once a year laugh.gif
Thanks for advice, I just check with them they actually offer me scb platinum cc with 36k CL. But I wonder will they offer anything to waive my cc gst and annual fee for this card?
charymsylyn
post Nov 5 2011, 03:30 PM

500 posts

IS THIS A SCAM? D:

WHAT DO I DO? D:
Did you do Ezypay for your MBA? If yes, you got a good change to get the extra 5x TP.
celaw
post Nov 5 2011, 06:45 PM

1,263 posts

hi, if a bank call u 2 times, 1st time to verify u had submitted the application form and 2nd time call to your company to verify.. does it meant sure can get the cc d? anyone have the experience being rejected from this scenario?
erry-
post Nov 5 2011, 08:30 PM

Custom Member Title
2,323 posts

QUOTE(Clareen @ Nov 5 2011, 02:03 PM)
Thanks for advice, I just check with them they actually offer me scb platinum cc with 36k CL. But I wonder will they offer anything to waive my cc gst and annual fee for this card?
for 1st year, usually got promo to waived gst and annual fee.

but if refer to their website, no info or promo regarding cashback anymore. probably ended 31/10.
go call and ask them la.
annual fee for std chart plat is rm250 shocking.gif

monara
post Nov 7 2011, 07:34 PM

Enthusiast?
1,008 posts

guys, would like to ask about GST fee.
it is charged once a year from what i knew. want to ask, when is the time to pay it? is it counted according to our starting date of usage, or based on calendar year?
Gen-X
post Nov 7 2011, 08:02 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(monara @ Nov 7 2011, 07:34 PM)
it is charged once a year from what i knew. want to ask, when is the time to pay it? is it counted according to our starting date of usage, or based on calendar year?
1. Most banks charged the GST upon approval.
2. It will be imposed again 12 months later i.e. card anniversary date
celaw
post Nov 7 2011, 09:29 PM

1,263 posts

QUOTE(monara @ Nov 7 2011, 08:34 PM)
Pay it according to Ur monthly statement.. it appear in which month statement, then paid together with Ur statement amount on due date (normally gst will be included in Ur Statement amount due)...
Wan
post Nov 7 2011, 11:49 PM

Glory Hunter
4,174 posts

I got a savings account with Public Bank. And got myself a Public Bank Esso Mobil Gold Visa(or something along those line). How do I link that CC to my savings account so I can pay online? Or I should make payment to 3rd party account and enter the card number there?
barra
post Nov 7 2011, 11:55 PM

49 posts

Anyone going to this event?

Maybankard Manchester United Card Launch

Gary Pallister will be attending as well as the Premier League trophy.

Anyone holding Public Bank Manchester United card? Will you be switching to Maybank Manchester United Card?

This post has been edited by barra: Nov 7 2011, 11:56 PM
erry-
post Nov 8 2011, 12:31 AM

Custom Member Title
2,323 posts

QUOTE(monara @ Nov 7 2011, 07:34 PM)
pay when its appear on ur statement smile.gif
QUOTE(celaw @ Nov 7 2011, 09:29 PM)
Pay it according to Ur monthly statement.. it appear in which month statement, then paid together with Ur statement amount on due date (normally gst will be included in Ur Statement amount due)...

125 Pages « < 69 70 71 72 73 > » Top

0.0927sec    0.50    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 11th December 2025 - 12:24 AM