get back to getting rich pls ..
Average people are not rich!, Pick the RIGHT career / business
Aug 18 2011, 10:11 PM
2,110 posts Joined: Jan 2007 |
RICH ..
get back to getting rich pls .. |
Aug 18 2011, 10:42 PM
4,458 posts Joined: Nov 2008 From: Kuala Lumpur |
1. If you have been giving tuition, if you have been teaching all these years, you will find out that there are teachers holding forged certificates, teaching piano, giving tuitions. If you happen to meet a person who teach without proper qualification, that is COMMON. There are many people buy degree cert and apply jobs nowadays! But I don't share my views without prior real life experiences.
2. If you see my posts showing hatred emotion that can also mean I am telling the fact in this world. Why must you think it's happening to me? Even if I am complaining now doesn't mean that I will sit there and do nothing to breakthrough. 3. My boss has lousy and nasty temper though she is in her 50s now, Senior Manager position, she's trying to teach me the way she handles things but NONE of her teachings work on me. There are many different ways to get things done, everyone has his own way, I believe; with her way of doing things (yell at people to convince others; interrupt people's conversations whenever people sharing opinions so no one can go against her will; fast to judge and slow to listen etc), it makes someone looks "ugly" and unprofessional. I have the choice to choose and I will choose to be the best - be a nice person and able to get things done. I'm clarifying these not because for my own glory. I just want to share that people with good personality and has great achievements worth our attention much more than those with brilliant life but poor personality. |
Aug 18 2011, 10:52 PM
QUOTE(blanket84 @ Aug 18 2011, 02:20 PM) Yeah..my point is if you have to be selective of who is teaching instead of what is being taught, then you might not learn anything.. Whatever Dreamer is sharing here, to be honest, I only adopt 30% to 40% of his teaching. No one's teaching is suitable to every one; none of us have the same career path in order to become success. But giving 2 persons to learn from, of course I will go for the person who has personality and achievement equally good. You can yell at people to get things done but what's the meaning if you get people to obey you physically but in their hearts they hate you? Furthermore, even things go well it would only go for temporary.I would say both of your biology teachers are fine to me according to what you elaborated here. But I would value further as how would they respond if I bring up my questions and ask them in person, would they show annoyance or being patient. Last but not least, if you follow one's teaching blindly, be it he is top successful person, you are plain silly. |
Aug 18 2011, 10:55 PM
QUOTE(xuzen @ Aug 18 2011, 01:27 PM) If you are talking to someone with good communications skill, he/she doesn't bother how do you phrase your question. These persons will instead put themselves in your shoes and think how you think, they are able to get what you are trying to ask, and answer your question directly. |
Aug 18 2011, 11:05 PM
809 posts Joined: Jan 2006 |
QUOTE(dreamer101 @ Aug 18 2011, 09:36 AM) Folks, Time for me to tell another story. Once upon a time, I was studying in Texas, USA. Because I was foreign student, I paid international tuition fee and that is a few thousands per year. And, I worked part-time at the university computing center. I am NOT normal. I actually read the university handbook completely a few times. Then, I found something interesting. Texas state law say that if you are a research or teaching assistant working part-time, you get tuition waiver. Aka, you pay in-state fee and can save a few thousands per semester. At the handbook, it claimed that you have to be graduate student studying master or Phd to qualify to be research assistant. Now, if you are NORMAL people, you will stop there. But, I am NOT. So, I actually go to the LAW LIBRARY and FIND the EXACT LAW that define what RESEARCH ASSISTANT is. The LAW stated that a RESEARCH ASSISTANT is a student working part-time on a job that related to their study. I copied the law and went to admission office and ask for TUITION WAIVER. They have NO FORM and NO IDEA what to do. They had to create a form and ask me to ask my DEAN to certify my job is related to my degree (EE). I won!! Subsequently, every foreign students worked at university get waiver too. So, tell me, will a person that always say A) They have NO CHOICE. B) They are undiscovered C) They have NO OPPORTUNITY do what I did?? This is MY ATTITUDE!! I want HIGHER SALARY. I read and research books on how to negotiate and get better salary. I want to invest better. I read and study how to be better in investing. Now, for this kind of people, unless a rock fell from the sky and kill the person instantly, they will not fail. They may be beaten down again and again. But, they will keep standing up and keep trying.. They will get better and better. They will get somewhere. It is EASY to tell whether a person can succeed or not. It is in THEIR ATTITUDE and MENTALITY. Dreamer Added on August 18, 2011, 11:06 pm QUOTE(debbieyss @ Aug 18 2011, 10:42 PM) 3. My boss has lousy and nasty temper though she is in her 50s now, Senior Manager position, she's trying to teach me the way she handles things but NONE of her teachings work on me. There are many different ways to get things done, everyone has his own way, I believe; with her way of doing things (yell at people to convince others; interrupt people's conversations whenever people sharing opinions so no one can go against her will; fast to judge and slow to listen etc), it makes someone looks "ugly" and unprofessional. I have the choice to choose and I will choose to be the best - be a nice person and able to get things done. if she is single, even I'm clarifying these not because for my own glory. I just want to share that people with good personality and has great achievements worth our attention much more than those with brilliant life but poor personality. This post has been edited by ch_teo: Aug 18 2011, 11:06 PM |
Aug 18 2011, 11:20 PM
315 posts Joined: May 2005 |
This thread created this morning 8AM..
Now already 5 pages long, Dreamer really powerful and influential.. Do you have any business relationship with Lowyat.net? Dreamer, your thinking really different from others... Very critical and sharp.. I just felt that if i am continuing to do my job at corrent company, my dream will be getting far away each day... |
Aug 19 2011, 01:14 AM
111 posts Joined: Mar 2011 |
QUOTE(Tigerr @ Aug 18 2011, 10:14 AM) for every successful man out there, there could be hundreds of unsuccessful men dead somewhere which is un-noticed. There are very successful chicken rice sellers, but many had failed before the few successful one emerged. Good point.However, can you convince me that "Those unsuccessful chicken rice seller won't do the same thing like the successful one does?" I will put an extreme example here: Let's say that the business of SuperGreatCompany Sdn Bhd grows on UnluckyPoorCompany Sdn Bhd loss. Will you still say the same thing? As SuperGreatCompany employee, will you slow down your business on behalf of helping UnluckyPoorCompany? I bet you won't. A communist will do so, will you? As an Asian, I know exactly that this is cruel. But that's business. Furthermore, that's competition and even further, that's Evolution. Natural selection. The fittest and the one most responsive to change wins. Don't say to me that you will prefer an ugly boyfriend/girlfriend to a handsome/beautiful boyfriend/girlfriend just because you pity him/her. To all: Sometimes, I really hope that dreamer will use a better way to communicate his idea. But I don't care how he does it. What I care is "the content" of his thoughts. Dreamer's communication technique is irrelevant to his message. Go dreamer, I am waiting for more. |
Aug 19 2011, 01:27 AM
4,283 posts Joined: Nov 2009 From: Vietnam |
QUOTE(dreamer101 @ Aug 18 2011, 07:16 PM) alaskanbunny, your the father i sorry << i always the fail cause from the poor families>> My father passed away when I was 8 years old. My mother had to raise 6 children on her own. 1/3 of my classmates lost their father before standard 6. Average life expectancy of Urban Chinese Males was 55 years old. Most people in my community were poor and starving. Now, they are doing very well. i thinks the poor ppl got the no good advantage, but also can other ways to fix the no good. just have to search the repair. care to sharing some repair. |
Aug 19 2011, 05:42 AM
225 posts Joined: Aug 2008 |
I dont believe in putting all your thoughts and energy to become rich. I pity those who chase money and fortune blindly. I think I'm pretty successful in my own way. I'm not rich, not poor either. Yeah I'm average. Have always been an average student. What I value more in life is my family and relationships with people. I'm grateful for having them and I'll still like the extra time to relax and enjoy life while I'm young rather than constantly be possessed by this drive to become rich and abnormal.
A job is a blessing but if it refrains you from taking a step back and reflect on and enjoy life, then it becomes a curse. |
Aug 19 2011, 05:45 AM
15,855 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
QUOTE(howszat @ Aug 18 2011, 08:32 PM) So that makes your thread topic contradictory, and actually out of topic. howszat,If the way you want to live your life is to be average, why worry about whether you are rich or not, and what other people think? <<If the way you want to live your life is to be average, >> If that is a person's goal, WHY even bother reading this thread?? Dreamer Added on August 19, 2011, 5:48 am QUOTE(waxppl @ Aug 18 2011, 09:32 PM) Dreamer, waxppl,1 question: what if i am not sure where my interests is? I dont know what am i excellent at. Am i born to be average? since secondary school, i found out i can be good at anything as long as i put effort. so actually after that i believe that interest can be build. "as long as u are good at something, u will have interest in it" this is what i believe. but i do agree with you that passionate in ur career will bring you to above average in that career. what if a person like me, i dont really have passionate in anything. I just learn, when i am good at it, i will build my interest, am i born to be average in that case? Is your goal is ONLY just to be good?? Aka, not the BEST in the world?? In Malaysia?? <<i found out i can be good at anything as long as i put effort. so actually after that i believe that interest can be build.>> But, will you be THE BEST?? Is good = good enough for you?? Dreamer Added on August 19, 2011, 5:53 am QUOTE(alaskanbunny @ Aug 19 2011, 01:27 AM) your the father i sorry alaskanbunny,i thinks the poor ppl got the no good advantage, but also can other ways to fix the no good. just have to search the repair. care to sharing some repair. He died at 49 years old. <<are you the refugee/asylum people from other country? how come all the fathered dieded so early?>> My family had been in Klang for 150+ years. That was common age for many of our fathers to die for that generation. Their life expectancy was only 55. But, they had a better life. 50% of my grandparents generation and including sibling of my parents were massacred by Japanese during WWII. Dreamer Added on August 19, 2011, 6:00 am QUOTE(xuzen @ Aug 18 2011, 01:27 PM) I am INTJ (Mastermind) and I am a stickler for process and rules. Without that I am lost. That is why I work best with clear procedures and systems. If there is none, I will create one. I hate to interact with other human being simply because they are irrational and unpredictable. xuzen,Leave me alone to tinker with processess and procedures and to make it more efficient. This is what I like best, and think I am capable of excelling. My question is my future job will be as a General Manager for a mid-size family owned DIY retailer. (# of worker approx 30 with a turnover of 20Mil p.a). My cuurent job is the proprietor of my family Kedai Runcit and I have out-grown it. Can I be successful in this new job. Dreamer, am I asking the correct question? Xuzen What is SUCCESS for YOU?? What motivates YOU?? What do you ENJOY doing?? What can you DO better than average people?? <<My cuurent job is the proprietor of my family Kedai Runcit and I have out-grown it. >> What do you mean by out-grown it?? It is boring for you?? A problem is the DIFFERENCE between what you EXPECT and what it is. What do you EXPECT that does not exist in current job?? If you could have ANYTHING, why would you rather have in your new job?? If you could change ONLY one thing in current job, what would you change?? Then, what is STOPPING you from doing this now?? Dreamer Added on August 19, 2011, 6:39 am QUOTE(debbieyss @ Aug 18 2011, 10:52 PM) debbieyss,So, where is a SINGLE "Thank You" from you to me?? Where are your manner?? So, what does this make YOU?? I am NOT PAID to teach you. A basic COMMON COURTESY is say "Thank You" to someone that help you in some fashion. But, what do I get from you instead?? And, what does this SAY about YOU?? And, what kind of person that you are?? Look at the mirror and ask is this the kind of person that YOU are?? If not, time to change before it is TOO COSTLY for you. Dreamer Added on August 19, 2011, 6:50 am QUOTE(MeruChan @ Aug 19 2011, 05:42 AM) MeruChan,What makes you THINK that people that putting all their thoughts and energy to become rich are the people that are actually RICH?? The TRUTH is rich people do not become rich by aiming to be rich. That is the SIDE BENEFIT. Their AIM is to be ABOVE AVERAGE aka THE BEST in their chosen career / business. Becoming rich is the unintended benefits. They are having so much fun in their job / business that money is IRRELEVANT. In fact, in general, people AIMING to be rich normally do not become rich. They do not have the DRIVE and PASSION to survive the dry spell in order to be successful. They will jump around dependent on what makes the most money. YOU cannot be successful in life if your ONLY goal is MONEY. In fact, it is counter productive. YOU are thinking like an average person. And, I believe probably you have very little to no FIRST HAND exposure to REAL rich people. Dreamer This post has been edited by dreamer101: Aug 19 2011, 06:50 AM |
Aug 19 2011, 09:41 AM
Aug 19 2011, 12:05 PM
789 posts Joined: Oct 2006 |
Dreamer,
Do you consider yourself successful? Cheers. BR PenangLaksa. |
Aug 19 2011, 12:34 PM
564 posts Joined: Jul 2009 |
being happy does not mean you have to be rich...diff ppl have diff financial goals
Aug 19 2011, 01:17 PM
QUOTE(pUpUnOOb @ Aug 19 2011, 12:34 PM) another fella this is about being above average and getting rich and happy indirectly Added on August 19, 2011, 1:21 pm QUOTE(PenangLaksa @ Aug 19 2011, 12:05 PM) can u be more specific, i can read your mind, u want to ask how Dreamer is above average and is he RICH aka alot of money, tio boh? This post has been edited by ivanswk: Aug 19 2011, 01:21 PM |
Aug 19 2011, 01:51 PM
488 posts Joined: Oct 2009 |
i'm an average person, i also wish to start a business, i aim to retire at age 40+
however, i didn't take action to make a change as i scare to leave the comfort zone, with fix income every month and burden with many commitment. i salute those dare to take the risk an try. i have seen friends who started their business 2-3 years ago, for these 2 years, they have zero income, but good news is their business is growing, start earning |
Aug 19 2011, 02:20 PM
946 posts Joined: May 2010 |
just graduated and working now.. its nice to look at these post.. cause at least i get some infos from those experienced person... my thinking is the same as dreamer... average person cannot be someone like buffet or gates or even tan sri fernandes. so, must work hard, get info, knows ur direction and little bit of luck.... i myself is alwiz playing safe..... dunno will be successful or not.. but of course i will work hard towards it... =))
Aug 19 2011, 02:25 PM
225 posts Joined: Aug 2008 |
Added on August 19, 2011, 6:50 am MeruChan, What makes you THINK that people that putting all their thoughts and energy to become rich are the people that are actually RICH?? The TRUTH is rich people do not become rich by aiming to be rich. That is the SIDE BENEFIT. Their AIM is to be ABOVE AVERAGE aka THE BEST in their chosen career / business. Becoming rich is the unintended benefits. They are having so much fun in their job / business that money is IRRELEVANT. In fact, in general, people AIMING to be rich normally do not become rich. They do not have the DRIVE and PASSION to survive the dry spell in order to be successful. They will jump around dependent on what makes the most money. YOU cannot be successful in life if your ONLY goal is MONEY. In fact, it is counter productive. YOU are thinking like an average person. And, I believe probably you have very little to no FIRST HAND exposure to REAL rich people. Dreamer [/quote] Dreamer, what's rich to you? Different people have different views to what actually constitutes a person to be rich. Why are you forcing your ideas on others like that? What you're trying to say is to tell people to take thigs for granted and always seek and strive to be the best. In this world, you can never be the best. You will always find someone better than you. Then yes, it's good to learn from people who are better than you and always be humble no matter how smart people say you are. Even if you're the best badminton player for this year , you can't be the best forever. I agree. People who work with passion and interest will gradually develop the knack of it and become skilled and could then demand a higher pay for it. Yes I agree with this but theres nothing wrong to people who are average. If there's no average people, you can't be the best. If everyone is good at what they dO, this will result in stiff competition. Just like in Korea, I have so many Korean friends. They work so hard. I never really see them having fun. Why do you want to migrate to australia I ask? There's too much people in Korea. Competition is too high. I can't be the best in Korea but I am at least good in Australia. Take it easy, mate. Enjoy life as it comes. Never give up and grab golden opportunities when you sense them. Live life moderately and be grateful of what you have then saying to yourself "this is not enough, I need more. I need to try harder" You know there's always opportunity cost in every choice u make. U learn this in economics. If you value in being the best and being rich then u need to forego something in return. If ure willing to sacrifice for example time with your kids, going out with ur mates, getting enough sleep. Then yeah sure. I dont know dreamer but the way you're presenting this whole thing is kinda focus on how to get rich. And how average people are just losers. I just find that a bit offensive. Eg. A stay at home mom decides to sacrifice get career to bring up her 2 lovely kids. That's normal. It's parental love. It's unconditional. She's willing to sacrifice a career and bring up her kids. So would u then say she's not successful? Not the best? Just average person who will never get rich? Different people have different thing that gives them satisfactiOn in life. Who are you to say what people should be aiming for? To be te best and be rich? I think that's a load of crap. Well I do have rich friends but most of them are dealing with illegal biz and I don't want to be a part of that. I don't want to say that I'm rich but I'm a lot more well off than a lot of people I've met. I'm grateful for that every single day. I'm grateful that I can spend more time with my mom who was diagnosed with cancer than chasing something materialistic. |
Aug 19 2011, 02:52 PM
797 posts Joined: Jan 2007 |
QUOTE(dreamer101 @ Aug 19 2011, 05:45 AM) waxppl, Dreamer oh dreamer. Always talking like the almighty one. No offence anyway.Is your goal is ONLY just to be good?? Aka, not the BEST in the world?? In Malaysia?? <<i found out i can be good at anything as long as i put effort. so actually after that i believe that interest can be build.>> But, will you be THE BEST?? Is good = good enough for you?? Dreamer Added on August 19, 2011, 6:39 am debbieyss, So, where is a SINGLE "Thank You" from you to me?? Where are your manner?? So, what does this make YOU?? I am NOT PAID to teach you. A basic COMMON COURTESY is say "Thank You" to someone that help you in some fashion. But, what do I get from you instead?? And, what does this SAY about YOU?? And, what kind of person that you are?? Look at the mirror and ask is this the kind of person that YOU are?? If not, time to change before it is TOO COSTLY for you. Dreamer 1) You're not answering waxppl's question. What does one do when they doesn't really know what their interests is? 2) You can't force manners from people. In this case, debbieyss. |
Aug 19 2011, 04:58 PM
1,479 posts Joined: Nov 2008 |
What is the difference between attitude and behavior?
Aug 19 2011, 05:24 PM
488 posts Joined: Oct 2009 |
i can see many people getting out of topic or playing with words
| Change to: | 0.0282sec
5 queries