Average people are not rich!, Pick the RIGHT career / business

MeruChan
post Aug 19 2011, 11:53 PM

225 posts

I get your drift now.
I'm a recent graduate. Majoring in professional accounting. Work myself thru out uni and now I'm in Australia workin part time as a waitress while studying for my CPA hoping to complete all 6 professional segments in a year then return to Msia to get a job either in banking or tax. With the money I save, I'll leave it in my Australia bank account to reap interest which I could get prolly around rm500 a month.

So am I on the right path?
kelvin_tan
post Aug 20 2011, 01:19 AM

Passion for Pipping!
3,141 posts

@Meruchan
Receiving interest of RM500 monthly which would mean AUD150+ a month.

AUD IR is currently at 4.75%.

AUD10k a year would get you AUD475 a year on interest which translates to RM1425 which is FAR from RM500 per month.

Based on that, you are probably having about AUD40k ++ to be able to achieve RM500 monthly on interest. You are damm rich for a student.. Waitresses get paid that well ? tongue.gif

Your interest cannot beat inflation btw, your value of money is getting less and less every year.
TSdreamer101
post Aug 20 2011, 03:04 AM

15,855 posts

QUOTE(MeruChan @ Aug 19 2011, 06:58 PM)
I am sorry to hear bout your circumstances. and as I say I know a lot of people out there are struggling,
I am not asking people not to aim for money or financial independence but I am saying dont be too obssess in making money that you forget bout everything else that is equally important. that's what i am trying to say.

honestly, I just read the first post of TS. and i am merely asking him what does he mean by rich. if he means being financial independent is rich then okay. but if he's implying that you have to be a millionaire or somebody like donald trump then no. I dont agree that everyone has to be like that to be happy.

I am trying to promote a moderate living. that is having a job that pay bills and enable you to save for your retirement and also having time to appreciate things and people around u.

and i am not saying this is about me either. i am sorry if i come across that way but i really do not like people who are obssess with making money and trying to be rich and when they are..they shove it in other people's face and look down on them and say they are just "average" people and i am the best kinda bullshit.

perhaps, dreamer is trying to motivate. but I just dont like how he is saying average people cannot be rich. my brother's pretty average. and he's financially independent. he's not the best in his job but he has his skills that are in demand. you know what i mean?
MeruChan,

<<my brother's pretty average. and he's financially independent. he's not the best in his job but he has his skills that are in demand. you know what i mean?>>

1) Your brother is NOT average. Average people do not have skill in demand.

2) Does your brother need to work to support his life style?? If yes, he is NOT financially independent..

<<I am trying to promote a moderate living. >>

3) Why do you ASSUME that rich people CANNOT live moderately??

Dreamer

QUOTE(B u B u @ Aug 19 2011, 10:28 PM)
In your opinion, do people actually do what they believe / think? Do you actually always do what you think you will do?

Seriously I'm interested to know, not just asking for fun.

TQTQ
B u B u,

Most of the time, people don't. I try to achieve that but sometimes I failed too.

Dreamer

Added on August 20, 2011, 4:44 am
QUOTE(PenangLaksa @ Aug 19 2011, 12:05 PM)
Dreamer,

Do you consider yourself successful?
Cheers.

BR
PenangLaksa.
QUOTE(PenangLaksa @ Aug 19 2011, 09:55 PM)
I've not met him, so I wouldn't know if he is rich and successful.
A lot of what he has said makes PERFECT sense but I am SURPRISED that he can be successful with the sort of " I KNOW IT ALL" attitude that he has.
Then again, the word successful is very SUBJECTIVE, one might think that himself/herself is successful, but other people might think otherwise.
PenangLaksa
PenangLaksa,

1) Yes, I think I am successful. I am living the life style that I want and doing the job that I love. In my book, I am successful.

2) I am RICH. I am saving 50+% of my gross income while I am living in the life style that I want. In my definition, I am RICH. This same definition probably applies to most people too.

<< I am SURPRISED that he can be successful with the sort of " I KNOW IT ALL" attitude that he has.>>

3) There is a BASIC PROBLEM here. Most people do not know what they are talking about. They do not spend the time and effort to study anything DEEPLY. So, sometimes, when you come across a person that ACTUALLY know their stuff, you DO NOT KNOW how to handle this.

For example, many people blah blah blah about rich people this and that. But, when you asked them how many rich persons that they actually know FIRST HAND, the answer is NONE. Meanwhile, somebody that actually know RICH PEOPLE first hand tell you things, you DO NOT KNOW whether you should trust the person.

You DO NOT KNOW how to separate the REAL from the PRETENDER.

The CORRECT QUESTION is how do you LEARN the skill to verify whether a person REALLY know what they are talking about. And, this is INDEPENDENT of whether you know that particular subject.

Dreamer

This post has been edited by dreamer101: Aug 20 2011, 04:44 AM
pUpUnOOb
post Aug 20 2011, 10:38 AM

564 posts

is this thread becoming a platform for the rich to diss the poor?
B u B u
post Aug 20 2011, 11:45 AM

chill
1,479 posts

QUOTE(dreamer101 @ Aug 20 2011, 03:04 AM)
B u B u,

Most of the time, people don't.  I try to achieve that but sometimes I failed too.

Dreamer
Then what causes you to not do the things you think you would do?

If most of the time people don't, we can say it is behavior that precedes attitude, not the other way around.

I'm trying to figure out for the successful people, whether their attitude precedes their behavior, or the other way round, and the reasons behind it.

This post has been edited by B u B u: Aug 20 2011, 11:46 AM
SUSMaterazzi
post Aug 20 2011, 12:45 PM

1,569 posts

QUOTE(MeruChan @ Aug 19 2011, 11:53 PM)
I get your drift now.
I'm a recent graduate. Majoring in professional accounting. Work myself thru out uni and now I'm in Australia workin part time as a waitress while studying for my CPA hoping to complete all  6 professional segments in a year then return to Msia to get a job either in banking or tax. With the money I save, I'll leave it in my Australia bank account to reap interest which I could get prolly around rm500 a month.

So am I on the right path?
meruchan, why don't you become waitress in your life since you can get 500rm/month passive income.

If you become auditor in big 4 malaysia, most likely you get 2.6k/month, put in the bank it is only 150 rm/month interest rate.
Rich people don't follow the herd.
tr|n|ty
post Aug 20 2011, 01:43 PM

kuukuukuu
787 posts

QUOTE(Materazzi @ Aug 20 2011, 12:45 PM)
meruchan, why don't you become waitress in your life since you can get 500rm/month passive income.

If you become auditor in big 4 malaysia, most likely you get 2.6k/month, put in the bank it is only 150 rm/month interest rate.
are you serious?
MeruChan
post Aug 20 2011, 03:24 PM

225 posts

QUOTE(kelvin_tan @ Aug 20 2011, 01:19 AM)
@Meruchan
Receiving interest of RM500 monthly which would mean AUD150+ a month.

AUD IR is currently at 4.75%.

AUD10k a year would get you AUD475 a year on interest which translates to RM1425 which is FAR from RM500 per month.

Based on that, you are probably having about AUD40k ++ to be able to achieve RM500 monthly on interest. You are damm rich for a student.. Waitresses get paid that well ? tongue.gif

Your interest cannot beat inflation btw, your value of money is getting less and less every year.
ermm i get paid 23$ an hour and i only work 25 hours a week.
i dont pay rent cos im living at my brother's ..i have fon bills, i own a car which i bought with cash so i pay 30$ petrol. and groceries..that';s bout it. i am just really frugal here and i dont have time to go out cos i have to study for CPA cry.gif

basically i get 0.006% interest on my goal savers account each month. so if i have 10k i get 60 bucks a month.
true that but i am not ready and educated enough to be investing in shares. I would like to do that in the future after i have completed all my studies.

QUOTE(pUpUnOOb @ Aug 20 2011, 10:38 AM)
is this thread becoming a platform for the rich to diss the poor?
that's what i first thought when i read the 1st post.

QUOTE(Materazzi @ Aug 20 2011, 12:45 PM)

but i dont want to be a waitress for the rest of my life. i want to do something more challenging and be able to grow and experience more in life.
but i really like my job at the restaurant..it's not as easy as just taking orders and running meals. we are a very busy restaurant and a few days a week i get rostered to be the head waitress where i have to take care of the floor and determine where customers seat. I have to make sure everything on the floor runs smoothly and every customer is happy.

Dreamer ~ 1) but a lot of people have different skills in deman. just like accounting. i have accounting skills that is in demand in australia but i am just an average accountant.

2) wait i have to go to work..i 'll reply when i am done with work.
kiterackk1
post Aug 20 2011, 04:14 PM

Being smart won't get u rich. Being at the right time and place will
realventis
post Aug 20 2011, 04:56 PM

204 posts

QUOTE(kiterackk1 @ Aug 20 2011, 04:14 PM)
That's what smart people do, they wait for the RIGHT TIME and RIGHT PLACE.

And they PREPARED for it.

Tigerr
post Aug 20 2011, 05:26 PM

3,033 posts

QUOTE(kiterackk1 @ Aug 20 2011, 04:14 PM)
Later when TOTO opened, i will know how rich i would be drool.gif ...haha..
waxppl
post Aug 20 2011, 07:46 PM

66 posts

QUOTE(Tigerr @ Aug 20 2011, 05:26 PM)
Later when TOTO opened, i will know how rich i would be  drool.gif ...haha..
people who play toto, magnum or watsoever never get rich lol biggrin.gif
TSdreamer101
post Aug 20 2011, 07:51 PM

15,855 posts

QUOTE(B u B u @ Aug 20 2011, 11:45 AM)
Then what causes you to not do the things you think you would do?

If most of the time people don't, we can say it is behavior that precedes attitude, not the other way around.

I'm trying to figure out for the successful people, whether their attitude precedes their behavior, or the other way round, and the reasons behind it.
B u B u,

Most successful people let THEIR ATTITUDE to guide their behavior,,,

Dreamer

QUOTE(MeruChan @ Aug 20 2011, 03:24 PM)
Dreamer ~ 1) but a lot of people have different skills in deman. just like accounting. i have accounting skills that is in demand in australia but i am just an average accountant.

MeruChan,

So, YOUR GOAL in life is to be AVERAGE ACCOUNTANT? Not putting in the EXTRA EFFORT to be THE BEST ACCOUNTANT that you could be? YOUR SKILL is in demand NOW. But, if you do not upgrade yourself and keep up with the competition, can you KEEP your job?? Now, if YOUR GOAL in life is to have no pay raise and promotion and so on, always earn the same amount of money, you MAY do that. But, even then, when you are older, people will prefer to hire YOUNGER people for this low level jobs.

However, if you DO NOT put in the EXTRA EFFORT now, when you are OLDER, you WILL NOT have the energy to push harder even if you want to.

Those are the QUESTIONS...

Make hay while the sun is shining. DO NOT ASSUME that sun will always shine...

Dreamer
TSdreamer101
post Aug 20 2011, 11:25 PM

15,855 posts

Folks,

Average people are not rich. Rich people are not average.

1) To be RICH, you cannot have the ATTITUDE or MENTALITY to be AVERAGE in your effort and goal. YOU need to be put in the EXTRA EFFORT.

2) It is getting HARDER to survive in Malaysia. So, if your goal is to stay average in your chose profession / business, you MAY NOT survive.

3) You could ONLY put in the EXTRA EFFORT / MILE when you are YOUNG. When you are older aka after 40 years old, you WILL NOT have the ability to push harder even if you want to. It is TOO LATE!!!

4) If your AIM is to be THE BEST, you may or may not get there. But, you DEFINITELY will be much better than AVERAGE people.

5) If your AIM is to be AVERAGE, in most cases, you will be BELOW AVERAGE. In the BEST CASE, you will be AVERAGE aka BARELY SURVIVE.

6) If your goal is to be ABOVE AVERAGE, you need to pick a business / profession where you have COMPETITIVE ADVANTAGE. Do not chase HOT AREAS.

7) Competition is a fact of life. If you want something, you will have to COMPETE for that.

8) Anything worth having is worth fighting for.

9) Rich and SUCCESSFUL people do not THINK like normal people. They can SPOT opportunity while other cannot.

10) Rich and Successful people go the extra mile and put in EXTRA EFFORT.

11) It is NOT my goal to force MY DEFINITION of Rich and Success on YOU. I am just showing A WAY to get where you want to be. Regardless of what your final goal is.

I had worked 10+ jobs across 20+ years over multiple countries. I had survived multiple recessions. In one cases, my employer laid off 80% of my co-workers over multiple years with quarterly laid off. I survived and I still achieve my goal in life.

No, this is NOT the ONLY way. It is ONE WAY to do it. If it works for you, take it. If not, do something else.

I had trained / coached many people throughout my career. They gone up one to two levels after I coached them. Many of them are director / GM/ VP now. So, it worked successfully for fair amount of people.

Dreamer
Tigerr
post Aug 20 2011, 11:42 PM

3,033 posts

QUOTE(dreamer101 @ Aug 20 2011, 11:25 PM)
Folks,

Average people are not rich.  Rich people are not average.

1) To be RICH, you cannot have the ATTITUDE or MENTALITY to be AVERAGE in your effort and goal.  YOU need to be put in the EXTRA EFFORT. Of course, you reap what you sow.

2) It is getting HARDER to survive in Malaysia.  So, if your goal is to stay average in your chose profession / business, you MAY NOT survive. Not only Malaysia, which country is easy to survive?

3) You could ONLY put in the EXTRA EFFORT / MILE when you are YOUNG.  When you are older aka after 40 years old, you WILL NOT have the ability to push harder even if you want to.  It is TOO LATE!!! Someone said that they never stop learning even they are old? Some successful people career may just blossom after 40 years old.

4) If your AIM is to be THE BEST, you may or may not get there.  But, you DEFINITELY will be much better than AVERAGE people. Aim is achieving nothing without action.

5) If your AIM is to be AVERAGE, in most cases, you will be BELOW AVERAGE.  In the BEST CASE, you will be AVERAGE aka BARELY SURVIVE. Even stay average doesnt mean that cannot survive.

6) If your goal is to be ABOVE AVERAGE, you need to pick a business / profession where you have COMPETITIVE ADVANTAGE.  Do not chase HOT AREAS. If no competitive advantage, how?

7) Competition is a fact of life.  If you want something, you will have to COMPETE for that. Sometimes, money can buy what we want.

8) Anything worth having is worth fighting for. Got to look whether it is beyond your reach or not. Not fight blindly.

9) Rich and SUCCESSFUL people do not THINK like normal people.  They can SPOT opportunity while other cannot. Yes, but they may fail as well. Only those who stay alive will have the opportunity to speak.

10) Rich and Successful people go the extra mile and put in EXTRA EFFORT. Definately.

11) It is NOT my goal to force MY DEFINITION of Rich and Success on YOU.  I am just showing A WAY to get where you want to be.  Regardless of what your final goal is. No doubt on this.

I had worked 10+ jobs across 20+ years over multiple countries.  I had survived multiple recessions.  In one cases, my employer laid off 80% of my co-workers over multiple years with quarterly laid off.  I survived and I still achieve my goal in life.

No, this is NOT the ONLY way.  It is ONE WAY to do it.  If it works for you, take it.  If not, do something else.

I had trained / coached many people throughout my career.  They gone up one to two levels after I coached them.  Many of them are director / GM/ VP now.  So, it worked successfully for fair amount of people.

Dreamer
TSdreamer101
post Aug 21 2011, 01:10 AM

15,855 posts

QUOTE(Tigerr @ Aug 20 2011, 11:42 PM)

Tigerr,

3) When I was in college, for 6 years, I slept on the average of 4 hours per day. I studied at 167% of full-time student course load plus work 2 part-time jobs at 40 hours per week.

So, are you saying that after 40 years old, a person could still work at the SAME PACE??

5) Complacency!!! You ASSUME that average people can survive.. Common disease in Malaysia.

6) Most people do not spend time figure this (Competitive Advantage ) out to begin. They ASSUME that they have NONE.

8) If you FIGHT for NOTHING, you get NOTHING. Most people ASSUME that it is BEYOND their reach and they NEVER try.

9) Successful people may die. But, they die fighting. They DO NOT HAVE to WHINE and ask "what if".

Dreamer

TSdreamer101
post Aug 21 2011, 03:27 AM

15,855 posts

Folks,

It is VERY SIMPLE. The CHOICE is YOURS...

You could LOSE either cases:

A) You FIGHT very hard but nothing work out for you.

B) You do NOTHING.

What would you CHOOSE??

We have plenty of people WHINING about not getting paid very well.

You could

A) Continue WHINING.

B) "CAN DO" attitude. Face the challenge. Find out WHY others make more money than you and how to close the gap.

Which approach, (A) or (B) give you a better chance of succeeding??

I am a VERY STRAIGHT FORWARD person. And, this is VERY CLEAR to me.

Problem 1:

Fresh Graduate without experience do not get paid very well. I seen and known this. So , I decide to do something about this. I worked part-time for 5 years while I gone through college to gain experience.

So, when I graduated from college, I have 5 years experience. I NEVER had to work as fresh grad without experience.

Problem 2:

How to get the most pay raise and bonuses??

Solution: Study all methods of salary negotiation and tactic to gain above average bonuses..

And, so on.....

Do you see the DIFFERENCE of how I approach things versus OTHERS aka average people??

I believe I can LEARN and BEAT the system. And, I done it again and again.

Dreamer
3dassets
post Aug 21 2011, 03:54 AM

Absolutely no nonsense
3,796 posts

QUOTE(dreamer101 @ Aug 21 2011, 01:10 AM)

9) Successful people may die.  But, they die fighting.  They DO NOT HAVE to WHINE and ask "what if".

Dreamer
I don't get this, if die fighting before achieving anything is not successful, just nobody and known as failure only successful and enjoying the luxury are somebody. If spent 30 years to achieve a goal at 100% effort also means no life because the so called life only begin at 50, I've lost 23 years and 7 years before 50, I live for today & tomorrow than to devote my last chance to live a young and healthy life while I can because money cannot buy what was lost.

So, the expected production time to achieve my goal is about 5 to 7 years because it is my niche and only people with my "talent" can do that fits the criteria of not being average, to become different and survive the odds took over 20 years simply due to the digital transition that wasted the first 10 years which is beyond anyone's control, also the economic recessions that hampers growth and opportunities which is "luck" and circumstantial.

Old methods created all the products today but future product & services come from hybrid adaptation of new technology, new words / terms for the modern era many yet to comprehend let alone think out side the box. "What" we are is just biological machine that recreates and has nothing to do with the obsession of becoming rich and a lifetime is only about emotion; feeling, taste and memories regardless whether rich or average.

You said you are not behaving "normal" and made a difference, when everyone follow the same route, there won't be enough and we are now in such a condition and too many chicken rice shop to be different, they hire foreign workers and open branches but won't become rich because the value is low and easily copied while once upon a time every business begin by one.

Traditional camera was a huge industry but cannot survive the new era, your idea of financial independence is continuous income from multiple source is average people work for you, so by telling people to excel beyond normal practice is shooting people like yourself but we know lah, rich people love to talk big because they make the rules, so average people praise loh.

TSdreamer101
post Aug 21 2011, 04:08 AM

15,855 posts

QUOTE(3dassets @ Aug 21 2011, 03:54 AM)

3dassets,

You wasted your life by staying in Malaysia. An environment that does not appreciate your talent. Hence, regardless of what you do, you cannot succeed.

One of 3 items in my list to be successful / rich is to work / find an environment where YOUR TALENT can be appreciated.

You DID all the hard work. But, you DID NOT find out whether there is a MARKET for your product in Malaysia.

But, you are an artist.. You DO NOT CARE whether you are rich anyhow. So, how could you say that you are NOT SUCCESSFUL?? You NEVER aim to be rich to begin with. It is NOT your goal in life.

Dreamer
3dassets
post Aug 21 2011, 05:28 AM

Absolutely no nonsense
3,796 posts

QUOTE(dreamer101 @ Aug 21 2011, 04:08 AM)
3dassets,

You wasted your life by staying in Malaysia.  An environment that does not appreciate your talent.  Hence, regardless of what you do, you cannot succeed.

One of 3 items in my list to be successful / rich is to work / find an environment where YOUR TALENT can be appreciated.

You DID all the hard work.  But, you DID NOT find out whether there is a MARKET for your product in Malaysia.

But, you are an artist.. You DO NOT CARE whether you are rich anyhow.  So, how could you say that you are NOT SUCCESSFUL?? You NEVER aim to be rich to begin with.  It is NOT your goal in life.

Dreamer
At the early stage of my struggle to earn a living and devoted the remaining time to learn and practice the skill already took so long and I did not realize it until I was 31, having achieve nothing only the self taught skill and had to start over in a completely different field is such a waste just like the film camera industry. At that time, people only praise me for what I can do and say I got future, how could they know Malaysia is stagnant while they too are in the box? Bosses are doing short term business just to reap my potential before I realize everyone just want to take advantage of young people.

A few years here and there wasted another 10 years on top of materialistic ex-wife whom I took personal loan to divorce, we can only know and understand by experience, reading about it won't have the same impact since losers don't share their bad experiences, books about past success story won't have the same effect anymore and wrote into stories as its last value.

I know now that I cannot proceed with the conventional method that rely on consumer's voluntary response and randomness but nurture the chain of effect, create the opportunity than wait for luck with alternate solution to current service which will happen sooner or later by someone else if not me. You too assume to know about artist's behavior, commercial artist does not rely on inspiration and don't bear the mentality of Fine art artist who live for the sake of art.

Hobby and interest got me into the art & design business and are merely a tool to fulfill visual aspect of a product, not for the love of creating art but money. I shall repeat your phrase by asking you back how many artists you know first hand? For what I know, I am the only kind in this forum, part of my job now is retail sales and it pays the same I used to earn so I have time to produce future product, this is going out of the box by detach from the industry that kept me at bay. I tried to break away in the past but those days available jobs don't pay enough, the salary caught up with my low expenditure, so much for waiting for the right time or opportunity.

Even so, it is not Malaysia's unique problem, artists around the world are in the same situation of limited jobs, they got cheated by international conman posing as client to piss off Asian competitor, waiting to be appreciated is dead end try to establish stable client is foolish. I could not have push myself this far if I knew and wasted so many years, so now I have better understanding but lack the funding, so I can only make use of a few hours a day if not too tired and build my retirement business, shit... my entire life is about retirement and tell my success story when I reach your age. laugh.gif

This post has been edited by 3dassets: Aug 21 2011, 05:31 AM

25 Pages « < 5 6 7 8 9 > » Top

0.0246sec    0.47    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 19th December 2025 - 08:27 PM