TSdreamer101
post Aug 18 2011, 11:25 AM

15,855 posts

QUOTE(Tigerr @ Aug 18 2011, 10:46 AM)

In all words, work hard and work smart is the most fundalmental way to achieve success.
Tigerr,

To be more precise, work smart by UNDERSTANDING your own strength and weakness.

Dreamer

Added on August 18, 2011, 11:26 am
QUOTE(awh85 @ Aug 18 2011, 11:24 AM)
how "successful"? tongue.gif
awh85,

Just do a search on all her posts.. It is entertaining....

Dreamer

This post has been edited by dreamer101: Aug 18 2011, 11:26 AM
debbieyss
post Aug 18 2011, 11:27 AM

Look at all my stars! I want to be a SUPERSTAR!
4,458 posts

QUOTE(Tigerr @ Aug 18 2011, 11:19 AM)
See....that's what i say not friendly manner. It is like you are challenging him. Dreamer has lots more experience than you (although i dont know him personally) and you are young without concrete prove of success, so, why not lie low, and respect the seniors. Perhaps, they can put $$$ in your pocket which you may not know.  Cheers and Cool.. biggrin.gif

I had this manner in the first place but people don't appreciate. Chinese say "play the piano in front of a cow", which is useless, especially to Mr. Dreamer.

Any way, as said, those who know me well will know if what I'm succsesful or not.
QUOTE(dreamer101 @ Aug 18 2011, 11:20 AM)
debbieyss,

LOL.

We ALL KNOW how successful you are....  And, WE know your opinion of YOURSELF.

Dreamer
Yes, you are the king, you are genious, you are the smartest in Malaysia, you are the richest man in lowyat, in the world, you can beat Mr. Bill Gate, you are the best engineer in the world! smile.gif
awh85
post Aug 18 2011, 11:28 AM

2,156 posts

i cant claim to be successful but in my short career, i am moving towards what i want as i have a clear view of what i like to do and what i can perform in. following roughly along the guidelines of what mr dreamer has provided.

yet my goals themselves are pretty "normal". not everyone aspires to be rich, for myself, comfortable would be good enough.
TSdreamer101
post Aug 18 2011, 11:29 AM

15,855 posts

Folks,

So, the QUESTION is how can I efficiently and effectively achieve an understanding of myself??

I use Myers-Briggs Type Indicator and cross reference with my real life experience to verify my personality type. It is VERY EFFECTIVE...

There are FREE TESTS available over the Internet.

Dreamer
Tigerr
post Aug 18 2011, 11:33 AM

3,033 posts

QUOTE(dreamer101 @ Aug 18 2011, 11:25 AM)
Tigerr,

To be more precise, work smart by UNDERSTANDING your own strength and weakness.

Dreamer

If dont understand own strength and weakness, then, it is not smart liao....more like work buta buta and hope with soem luck, can "fu-look"..... tongue.gif

Xerone
post Aug 18 2011, 11:33 AM

244 posts

Debbie brings up an interesting point of discussion. She IS successful in getting to her goal. You may see her as being unsuccessful because you are measuring her relatively to someone else, not her goals. I should really research further on this Pak Dollah but I honestly can't say he is successful if he is just a wayang kulit player. Others would beg to differ. Just what kind of success are we talking about here?

Sorry it's awh who brought it up.

This post has been edited by Xerone: Aug 18 2011, 11:38 AM
Tigerr
post Aug 18 2011, 11:35 AM

3,033 posts

QUOTE(dreamer101 @ Aug 18 2011, 11:29 AM)
Folks,

So, the QUESTION is how can I efficiently and effectively achieve an understanding of myself??

I use Myers-Briggs Type Indicator and cross reference with my real life experience to verify my personality type.  It is VERY EFFECTIVE...

There are FREE TESTS available over the Internet.

Dreamer
Dreamer, take this challenge, try to find your best way to "educate" or "get debbie learn and change to be more positive" and see how innovative your are or how successful you are.... laugh.gif
pUpUnOOb
post Aug 18 2011, 11:36 AM

564 posts

average people are not rich?wat ur gonna say next?d earth is round not flat?
Tigerr
post Aug 18 2011, 11:37 AM

3,033 posts

QUOTE(Xerone @ Aug 18 2011, 11:33 AM)
Debbie brings up an interesting point of discussion. She IS successful in getting to her goal. You may see her as being unsuccessful because you are measuring her relatively to someone else, not her goals. I should really research further on this Pak Dollah but I honestly can't say he is successful if he is just a wayang kulit player. Others would beg to differ. Just what kind of success are we talking about here?
If a beggar begs all his life fo 54 years, and he can keep himself out of hunger, would you say he is successful? To the beggar, yes, he is successful, but to majority masses, he is a total failure. hmm.gif Anyone agrees?

Added on August 18, 2011, 11:38 am
QUOTE(pUpUnOOb @ Aug 18 2011, 11:36 AM)
average people are not rich?wat ur gonna say next?d earth is round not flat?
average people rich in cholestrol.... tongue.gif

This post has been edited by Tigerr: Aug 18 2011, 11:38 AM
Xerone
post Aug 18 2011, 11:42 AM

244 posts

Yeah. Even if we are talking about financial success, different people will have different financial goals. Maybe we should return to the original topic which is about being rich, not about being success because they can be exclusive or each other.
debbieyss
post Aug 18 2011, 11:45 AM

Look at all my stars! I want to be a SUPERSTAR!
4,458 posts

Dreamer may have lots of admirers in lowyat.net but I do not care; I value one person's teaching NOT by how successful he is in material or monetary.

Before I follow and absorb one's teaching, I value his personality and attitude, then only his material achievements in life.
awh85
post Aug 18 2011, 11:48 AM

2,156 posts

QUOTE(debbieyss @ Aug 18 2011, 11:45 AM)
Dreamer may have lots of admirers in lowyat.net but I do not care; I value one person's teaching NOT by how successful he is in material or monetary.

Before I follow and absorb one's teaching, I value his personality and attitude, then only his material achievements in life.
some ppl are used to being blunt, direct and cocky.. live with it.
Cloudeu
post Aug 18 2011, 12:20 PM

41 posts

It actually depends on how do you define "successful", rich, happy, heath etc. There is no one definition for that.

SUSWintersuN
post Aug 18 2011, 12:30 PM

3,173 posts

The thing that makes this world interesting is that every individual have their own style and thinking.

WHat works for a person does not necessarily work for another.

So trying to push your own teaching/idea into another person who is totally different from you will not work.

If a certain method doesnt work for you, another person might find it as a successful method. Its all about the type of person you are.
kelvin_tan
post Aug 18 2011, 12:59 PM

Passion for Pipping!
3,141 posts

@DebbieSys / Dreamer
The arguement that both of you have is with regards to a person's GOAL in life. While there may be people that are aiming to be RICH financially, others may be to secure a stable and comfortable life where the happyness to not necessarily link to materialism.

In this case, everyone has different goals in life. What's YOUR GOAL IN LIFE would be the question before judging / commenting about others? That would give us a baseline on how valid the arguements both of you have presented.
xuzen
post Aug 18 2011, 01:27 PM

4,436 posts

QUOTE(dreamer101 @ Aug 18 2011, 08:53 AM)
Folks,

Average people are not rich.  Rich people are not average.

In I-Ching aka book of change, there is no good or bad.  Every strength become weakness under certain environment.  Ditto on weakness.  World / environment are dynamic.  Changes are constant.

From "Art of War" by Sun Tzu, know your own strength and weakness, half of the battle is won.

The KEY to career planning is to know WHAT you are?? What are your own strength and weakness?? What kind of career and environment allow you to be ABOVE AVERAGE?? What can you do that is EASY for you but HARD for others?? Conversely, if you are in an environment that DOES NOT FIT your personality and temperament, you could work very hard but you will not go anywhere.  The best that you can be is AVERAGE in that career.

Most of times, people ask THE WRONG QUESTION!!!

If you ask the WRONG QUESTION, you will NEVER get the RIGHT ANSWER!!

You could be successful in ANY career / business as long as you can EXCEL and ABOVE AVERAGE in that career / business.

To do that, you need 3 things:

1) Motivation -> You LOVE that area.  Then, you could INVEST the extra 10,000 hours to be VERY GOOD in that area.

2) Talent / Temperament -> You are born to be better than average people in doing this kind of stuff.

3) Environment / Industry -> You are working in a country / environment / culture / industry that appreciate YOUR STRENGTH and would not mind your weakness so much.

Do not follow the herd of cows.. Cows get slaughtered.  They just go into any hot areas that pays well.  They do not ask and care whether they could be ABOVE AVERAGE in that area.  That is what AVERAGE people do.

Find out WHAT you are.  INVEST on yourself to be VERY GOOD in the area that YOUR STRENGTH will be appreciated.

Dreamer
I am INTJ (Mastermind) and I am a stickler for process and rules. Without that I am lost. That is why I work best with clear procedures and systems. If there is none, I will create one. I hate to interact with other human being simply because they are irrational and unpredictable.

Leave me alone to tinker with processess and procedures and to make it more efficient. This is what I like best, and think I am capable of excelling.

My question is my future job will be as a General Manager for a mid-size family owned DIY retailer. (# of worker approx 30 with a turnover of 20Mil p.a).

My cuurent job is the proprietor of my family Kedai Runcit and I have out-grown it. Can I be successful in this new job.

Dreamer, am I asking the correct question?

Xuzen

blanket84
post Aug 18 2011, 01:33 PM

1,521 posts

QUOTE(debbieyss @ Aug 18 2011, 11:45 AM)

If you need to value someone's personality and attitude before listening to what his teaching, then I guess it's very hard for you to learn something or anything..

Have you not seen sports theme movies where in the beginning of the story the person or the team is the worst in the field then come one coach with worst attitude you can imagine then transfrom the person or the team from the worst to the best? Do you think whoever comes up with that idea made up the concept..that is how real life learning is..
Tigerr
post Aug 18 2011, 01:40 PM

3,033 posts

QUOTE(blanket84 @ Aug 18 2011, 01:33 PM)
If you need to value someone's personality and attitude before listening to what his teaching, then I guess it's very hard for you to learn something or anything..

Have you not seen sports theme movies where in the beginning of the story the person or the team is the worst in the field then come one coach with worst attitude you can imagine then transfrom the person or the team from the worst to the best? Do you think whoever comes up with that idea made up the concept..that is how real life learning is..
That is movie lar. they can write the script as they like and may not truely reflect the actual. But, it does happen in real life and in fact, anything else also possible to happen.

In old days, a stern teacher is likely to produce a more disiplin student. But student nowadays dont follow this pattern anymore, so, in order to successful teaching the students, we need to change the way of teaching. If we dont change ourselves, we will never or hard to progress far.... tongue.gif
mercury8400
post Aug 18 2011, 01:54 PM

2,703 posts

QUOTE(dreamer101 @ Aug 18 2011, 08:53 AM)
1) Motivation -> You LOVE that area.  Then, you could INVEST the extra 10,000 hours to be VERY GOOD in that area.

2) Talent / Temperament -> You are born to be better than average people in doing this kind of stuff.

3) Environment / Industry -> You are working in a country / environment / culture / industry that appreciate YOUR STRENGTH and would not mind your weakness so much.

Dreamer
Thank You Mr. Obvious doh.gif

Added on August 18, 2011, 1:55 pm
QUOTE(mercury8400 @ Aug 18 2011, 01:54 PM)
Thank You Mr. Obvious  doh.gif
Or rather i should say tell that to Bijian Kroni....

This post has been edited by mercury8400: Aug 18 2011, 01:55 PM
blanket84
post Aug 18 2011, 01:56 PM

1,521 posts

QUOTE(Tigerr @ Aug 18 2011, 01:40 PM)
That is movie lar. they can write the script as they like and may not truely reflect the actual. But, it does happen in real life and in fact, anything else also possible to happen.

In old days, a stern teacher is likely to produce a more disiplin student. But student nowadays dont follow this pattern anymore, so, in order to successful teaching the students, we need to change the way of teaching. If we dont change ourselves, we will never or hard to progress far.... tongue.gif
Have you seen Coach Carter? That is based on real story..and also there are few other real story which I can't remember..

My real life story. I have two different Biology teacher during F4 & F5, one is very serious and barely smile even when he make jokes..and the other is a joker..I learn more from the serious one and I learned less from the other (he don't even finish the syllabus because he was too busy entertaining the students)..

25 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Top

0.2394sec    1.01    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 18th December 2025 - 11:05 PM