25 Pages « < 14 15 16 17 18 > » Bottom

Average people are not rich!, Pick the RIGHT career / business

3dassets
post Sep 1 2011, 01:42 AM

Absolutely no nonsense
3,796 posts

QUOTE(Kasey Brown @ Aug 28 2011, 09:12 PM)
A storm is coming...
... this thread will be Kasey'd, tomorrow afternoon.  Partly cloudy with a 50% chance of PAIN!

◘ Well then DREAMER WAS WRONG! Goddam he's not infallible. Plus he may have been thinking of something different when he said that. I dont know, wasn't here during that discussion.
This is your grand entry, powerful loh! Justice League of LowYat thumbup.gif make this thread laughable.
If saying "over 40 is too late" is wrong, what about Malaysia is doomed in a few years because oil money will ran out and economy will collapse?
dreamer101 provided the nails and you hammer it to his head rclxms.gif justice is served. nod.gif

@kelvin_tan,
You have only a few years before the economy collapse, so are you prepare to go abroad?

This post has been edited by 3dassets: Sep 1 2011, 02:18 AM
Kasey Brown
post Sep 1 2011, 04:28 AM

537 posts

QUOTE(3dassets @ Sep 1 2011, 01:42 AM)
This is your grand entry, powerful loh!  Justice League of LowYat   thumbup.gif   make this thread laughable.
If saying "over 40 is too late" is wrong, what about Malaysia is doomed in a few years because oil money will ran out and economy will collapse?
dreamer101 provided the nails and you hammer it to his head rclxms.gif justice is served. nod.gif

@kelvin_tan,
You have only a few years before the economy collapse, so are you prepare to go abroad?
You're hoping I'll fight with Dreamer or something? icon_idea.gif

I'm coming from a science background. The last several years of my life were deeply intrenched in science. One of the things you learn in being a good scientist is that part of your theory may be wrong, without the entire theory being wrong. Also, in science the word "theory" does not mean "a guess" or "conjecture" like it does in laymans terms. A theory is a larger construct of study. For example, matter is attracted to matter = the law of gravity. But what is gravity, how it originates, how it works, what does it do, what's its influence on other things = THEORY! It's a framework of knowledge used to study a particular thing.

I agree with Dreamer in economic theory, that does not mean I agree with absolutely every single thing he ever said or thought about the subject. Steven Hawking and Einstein both made serious blunders in physics. I'm unsure of Dreamer's predictions about the Malaysian economy... I think there are probably economic professors and such who study this sort of thing very closely, who would know more about that than I would. The general rule, though, is that Free Society + Free Market = Continual Advancement.

As for saying over 40 is too late, I very well disagree.

From my book, Fitness Science, page 113 - 114

-----
Age is largely a state of mind. We are taught that as we grow older, we should expect to "slow down". The media shows us the stereotypical image of what an old person looks like. They sit for hours in rocking chairs, take dozens of naps, play bingo or majong before calling it a day and taking a dozen more naps. But growing old doesn't have to be like this. You are always in charge of your destiny no matter what age you are. This isn't just happy puppy cheerleader pep talk either, it’s a scientifically proven fact.

At Harvard University psychologist Ellen Langer performed an age-reversing experiment. Several men in their 70s and 80s were isolated in a New England hotel. The hotel had been carefully redesigned so that every detail appeared as it would in the men's younger years. For example, a group of 80 year old men would be put in a section of the hotel redesigned to look like the year was 1960, when he would have been 30 years old. The decorations and redesigns were extremely thorough, all the way down to the magazines they were given, and the big clunky low resolution TVs. The men were told not to sit around and reminisce about this time period, but instead to talk and interact with each other as if the year really was 1960. All access to the outside world was restricted: no cell phones, no computers, no internet, nothing.

Believe it or not, after just a week, the men in this group had reversed their age significantly! They each had:

A reduction in arthritis
More flexibility and ROM
Improved posture and energy
Improved hearing and eyesight
Sharper minds, quicker wits, greater problem solving skills
Improved moods and attitudes towards life
Improved their looks - yes they even LOOKED younger!

And all this in just a single week!!! Imagine if this went on for months or even years. Life is 10% what happens to you, and 90% how you treat it. You can be young at any age.
-----

http://www.thisblogrules.com/2009/10/grand...mpic-games.html - Ruth Frith, at age 100, set the world record for shot putting, while Ralph Howard won the Gold Medal at age 91.

^^^ This woman is 74 years old.

^^^ 91 years old.

^^^ 72 years old (doing 3 one arm push ups)

Added on September 1, 2011, 4:32 am>> dreamer101 provided the nails and you hammer it to his head justice is served.

◘ Sweet. I disagreed with him on 1 single thing, which technically wasn't even the topic, and you automatically win. Congratulations. I'm sure I'll calmly disagree with many more intelligent, rational adults in the future that you can claim more victories from.

This post has been edited by Kasey Brown: Sep 1 2011, 04:32 AM
3dassets
post Sep 1 2011, 12:50 PM

Absolutely no nonsense
3,796 posts

A topic like this encompasses matters of life, unfortunately, you circled yourself in the science of psychology over physique but the social status(RICH) that a 50 year old just cannot relive the life like 30 no matter how fit and mentally young or RICH. Such as cannot apply for house loan or sex is not as good as it feels like during the good young days, if impotent haven't catch up or you going to say stamina with fitness can prolong until 80...

You just want to showoff your area of expertise that boost your ego, you are not mature enough to debate within the context of the topic, talk science in a layman forum and claim we don't have the ability to understand, predict the economy from a non economist position, declare oneself as teacher without credible qualification, say I am rich but don't have to proof it bla bla bla... say other's are Bunch of BS like yours is any different.

There is a common phrase for this kind of BS; Know a bit want to act like representative.

Wait forgot to PS: Don't be fooled by the pity artist impression projected in the movie or in the street.

This post has been edited by 3dassets: Sep 1 2011, 03:34 PM
ivanswk
post Sep 1 2011, 01:13 PM

+J
2,110 posts

QUOTE(3dassets @ Sep 1 2011, 12:50 PM)
There is a common phrase for this kind of BS; Know a bit want to act like representative.

Kasey,feel the 3dassets "storm" sweat.gif

This post has been edited by ivanswk: Sep 1 2011, 01:15 PM
3dassets
post Sep 1 2011, 04:38 PM

Absolutely no nonsense
3,796 posts

Where got storm? False weather forecast only, don't believe everything you read or make believe, especially talking cock is fun. laugh.gif

"Average people are not rich",I say "dump people are not smart" Whose going to open the topic and discuss?

This post has been edited by 3dassets: Sep 1 2011, 04:48 PM
Tigerr
post Sep 1 2011, 04:40 PM

3,033 posts

QUOTE(ivanswk @ Sep 1 2011, 01:13 PM)
Kasey,feel the 3dassets "storm"  sweat.gif 
Better keep quiet and buy some pop corns with coke and enjoy watching the battle of 3 kingdoms. tongue.gif
3dassets
post Sep 1 2011, 05:22 PM

Absolutely no nonsense
3,796 posts

QUOTE(Tigerr @ Sep 1 2011, 04:40 PM)
Better keep quiet and buy some pop corns with coke and enjoy watching the battle of 3 kingdoms.  tongue.gif
If a debate must get personal and protecting ego is the drive? Some body will be embarrassed, How to be non average but did not expect the counter reaction? No one can grab you by your balls if you don't show them off in the first place (if you got balls). I am challenging the validity of the topic and its rational with real world experience and to the extend of my knowledge, proved it false with examples if not entirely wrong because nothing is definite like 1+1 = 2.

This post has been edited by 3dassets: Sep 1 2011, 05:24 PM
TSdreamer101
post Sep 1 2011, 07:44 PM

15,855 posts

QUOTE(dreamer101 @ Aug 18 2011, 08:53 AM)

3) Environment / Industry -> You are working in a country / environment / culture / industry that appreciate YOUR STRENGTH and would not mind your weakness so much.

Folks,

Common sense is HIGHLY uncommon. We are blinded by our own ego. We PREFER the world to change for us so that it is EASIER for us to live. But, that is NOT how the world is. We could ONLY change and control ourselves.

Let's take some SIMPLE example.

If you are an EXPERT in Bah Ku Teh and you happened to live in a place that all the people are Muslims. Do you

A) Complained that they are LOUSY customers and why don't they change??

B) Adapt your cooking to use Chicken instead.

C) If you CANNOT adapt your cooking, you move to somewhere else??

IMHO, a salary worker and a business is THE SAME. You are selling service and product and get money in return. Customer is NEVER wrong!! Most people will do (A). They will WHINE that the world in unfair and people are STUPID and so on.. But, in the end, nobody buy anything from you and your business is still going to hell.

So, if you have a skill and / or product that your current environment do not buy and / or appreciate, you either change or move away. Complaining about how the environment is UNFAIR will not make a different.

Now, let's take an EXTREME example, if you SPENT 10 years of your life to create a product and technology, then, in the end, you find out that NOBODY want to buy your product. Do you do (A), (B), or ©??

On the other hand, what is there to stop a person to TEST MARKET their product / skill / service before they FULLY COMMIT their life to something?? The answer is NOTHING.

The WORLD is unforgiven and brutal. YOU have to learn and sense the TREND. YOU have to adapt and go with the FLOW. It does not care if you mess up and focus on UNMARKETABLE skill and product. YOU have to find out what sells.

Ditto, in the IT world, people are changing for Oracle database to XYZ database and you are Oracle expert. YOU have to find out before it is too late. Nobody else will do it for you.

I had survived multiple recessions. I had 10+ jobs across 20+ years. My jobs range from help desk, software engineer, sales and marketing to network engineer. I transition from technical to sales / marketing and back. I had to sense the incoming recession and trend and adapt myself to survive.

Complaining about how the world is UNFAIR may make you feel good. But, it does not bring food to my dinner table for my family.

Dreamer
wodenus
post Sep 1 2011, 09:18 PM

Tree Octopus
14,990 posts

QUOTE(dreamer101 @ Aug 31 2011, 09:03 AM)
http://www.betterworldbooks.com/

Some people talked about poor and hungry people in Africa.  I buy books from this web site.  They donate their earning to help literacy in Africa.  I save money.  They help people.  It is a win-win situation.

Dreamer
Well I just made a few orders. I cancelled one order like five minutes after I made it, but nothing was done. Oh well that kind of sucked. Let's see if the books actually arrive or not.

This post has been edited by wodenus: Sep 1 2011, 09:26 PM
pUpUnOOb
post Sep 1 2011, 11:05 PM

564 posts

QUOTE(kelvin_tan @ Sep 1 2011, 01:00 AM)
@pupunoob
U have quite a narrow minded approach there. Generosity is not measured solely based on MONEY. It could be based on time and effort contributed as well.
yeah i know la...i din say only money right?but the comparison was made with warren buffet and bill gates giving away 90% of their money...call me whatever you want dude...i don't care
ivanswk
post Sep 1 2011, 11:35 PM

+J
2,110 posts

QUOTE(dreamer101 @ Sep 1 2011, 07:44 PM)

Common sense is HIGHLY uncommon.  We are blinded by our own ego.  We PREFER the world to change for us so that it is EASIER for us to live.  But, that is NOT how the world is.  We could ONLY change and control ourselves.

Complaining about how the world is UNFAIR may make you feel good.  But, it does not bring food to my dinner table for my family.

wise word notworthy.gif same as Ip Sifu say (Ip Man 2 quotes)

1. don't let your ego hurt you.

2. is winning more important than having dinner with your family?

3. although people have different status in life, everyone's dignity is the same. respect each other.

- Ip Sifu.
arthurlwf
post Sep 2 2011, 12:36 AM

2,546 posts

Complaining about how the world is UNFAIR may make you feel good.  But, it does not bring food to my dinner table for my family.

Dreamer
I like this quote by Dreamer !!!
3dassets
post Sep 2 2011, 02:02 AM

Absolutely no nonsense
3,796 posts

Dreamer
I like this quote too by Dreamer !!!
Anyone else?
Benjamin911
post Sep 2 2011, 05:52 AM

~`~artisan`~
777 posts

Complaining is fine; as long as you know what to do after that. (IMHO)

If one is not able to lay food on the dining table to feed one's own family; then it is one's own problem. (Really seriously need to figure out what to do...)

This topic/thread could well just be right here to save people entangled in this sort of situations...

Regards.

This post has been edited by Benjamin911: Sep 2 2011, 05:53 AM
Tigerr
post Sep 2 2011, 09:20 AM

3,033 posts

Folks,

Common sense is HIGHLY uncommon.  We are blinded by our own ego.  We PREFER the world to change for us so that it is EASIER for us to live.  But, that is NOT how the world is.  We could ONLY change and control ourselves.

Let's take some SIMPLE example.

If you are an EXPERT in Bah Ku Teh and you happened to live in a place that all the people are Muslims.  Do you

A) Complained that they are LOUSY customers and why don't they change??

B) Adapt your cooking to use Chicken instead.

C) If you CANNOT adapt your cooking, you move to somewhere else??

IMHO, a salary worker and a business is THE SAME.  You are selling service and product and get money in return.  Customer is NEVER wrong!! Most people will do (A).  They will WHINE that the world in unfair and people are STUPID and so on.. But, in the end, nobody buy anything from you and your business is still going to hell.

So, if you have a skill and / or product that your current environment do not buy and / or appreciate, you either change or move away.  Complaining about how the environment is UNFAIR will not make a different.

Now, let's take an EXTREME example, if you SPENT 10 years of your life to create a product and technology, then, in the end, you find out that NOBODY want to buy your product.  Do you do (A), (B), or ©??

On the other hand, what is there to stop a person to TEST MARKET their product / skill / service before they FULLY COMMIT their life to something?? The answer is NOTHING.

The WORLD is unforgiven and brutal.  YOU have to learn and sense the TREND.  YOU have to adapt and go with the FLOW.  It does not care if you mess up and focus on UNMARKETABLE skill and product.  YOU have to find out what sells.

Ditto, in the IT world, people are changing for Oracle database to XYZ database and you are Oracle expert.  YOU have to find out before it is too late.  Nobody else will do it for you.

I had survived multiple recessions.  I had 10+ jobs across 20+ years.  My jobs range from help desk, software engineer, sales and marketing to network engineer.  I transition from technical to sales / marketing and back.  I had to sense the incoming recession and trend and adapt myself to survive.

Dreamer
Dreamer, what you said is not totally right also, your example is just fit to your own created story and it may not fit to all. Why a bukuteh seller want to choose to open a shop at the muslim area? It is obvious that muslim cant consume pork and why using such examples? Definately no customers and start complaining? If the bakuteh seller did this, he has something wrong in his head actually. If you use chinese community, then, it is different, if the bakuteh expert opens his shop and no customers coming, instead of choosing (b) and ©, he still have (d) find out why the people there doesnt like his bakuteh and improve it, or (e) is it the people there dont know his shop, so he can do more advertisement or promotion to get people's attention or (f) is his shop is dirty, then, he can clean and reno his shop, or (g) many more.........my key point is he does not have to close his shop and move to other places or stop. Edison also has failed many times before he invention become a success. Why give up on the original bakuteh recipe since he is a bakuteh expert, sure someone will appreciate it. Even indians like bakuteh.

TSdreamer101
post Sep 2 2011, 10:02 AM

15,855 posts

QUOTE(Tigerr @ Sep 2 2011, 09:20 AM)
Dreamer, what you said is not totally right also, your example is just fit to your own created story and it may not fit to all. Why a bukuteh seller want to choose to open a shop at the muslim area? It is obvious that muslim cant consume pork and why using such examples? Definately no customers and start complaining? If the bakuteh seller did this, he has something wrong in his head actually. If you use chinese community, then, it is different, if the bakuteh expert opens his shop and no customers coming, instead of choosing (b) and ©, he still have (d) find out why the people there doesnt like his bakuteh and improve it, or (e) is it the people there dont know his shop, so he can do more advertisement or promotion to get people's attention or (f) is his shop is dirty, then, he can clean and reno his shop, or (g) many more.........my key point is he does not have to close his shop and move to other places or stop. Edison also has failed many times before he invention become a success. Why give up on the original bakuteh recipe since he is a bakuteh expert, sure someone will appreciate it. Even indians like bakuteh.
Tigerr,

You MEANT you have not seen this kind of STUPID behavior over and over again in this forum??

THINK and READ carefully!!!

<<my key point is he does not have to close his shop and move to other places or stop.>>

You MEANT if a person is in a MUSLIM area that NOBODY buy bakuteh, he should not close his shop and move. The person should continue to STARVE his own family and die instead.

30+ years ago, NEP started. Because of that, certain GLC stop promoting their non-BUMI IT folks. In this case, those people worked in Airline Reservation. And, this GLC is the ONLY one in this country that use their expertize.

So, those people had 3 options.

A) Move to other country that can use their expertize. Those people became VERY SUCCESSFUL and RICH.

B) Start over in other IT area / industry. They paid a high price because all their KNOWLEDGE and EXPERTIZE in Airline Reservation meant NOTHING in other industry.

C) Stay back and passed over for promotion, pay raise, bonuses and so on for 30+ years until they retired.

Would you choose ©?? Beside sacrificing your own FUTURE, your family will suffer along with you.

Ditto on (B). Or, (A) would seen to be a more logical choice.

Dreamer

This post has been edited by dreamer101: Sep 2 2011, 10:18 AM
TSdreamer101
post Sep 2 2011, 10:32 AM

15,855 posts

Folks,

The PROBLEM with an ABOVE AVERAGE person is after spending MANY MANY years perfecting your skill and capability, you NEED an environment where YOUR TALENT and CAPABILITY can be PAID.

The DIFFERENCE between a NORMAL environment versus OPTIMAL environment is MANY times over in pays and return. YOU can no longer play in a SMALL market and EXPECT a HUGE return.

So, if you CHOOSE to be ABOVE AVERAGE and NOT SETTLING to be normal, YOU need to find an environment where you can be rewarded.

Dreamer
Tigerr
post Sep 2 2011, 11:17 AM

3,033 posts

QUOTE(dreamer101 @ Sep 2 2011, 10:02 AM)
Tigerr,

You MEANT you have not seen this kind of STUPID behavior over and over again in this forum??

THINK and READ carefully!!!

<<my key point is he does not have to close his shop and move to other places or stop.>>

You MEANT if a person is in a  MUSLIM area that NOBODY buy bakuteh, he should not close his shop and move.  The person should continue to STARVE his own family and die instead.

30+ years ago, NEP started.  Because of that, certain GLC stop promoting their non-BUMI IT folks.  In this case, those people worked in Airline Reservation.  And, this GLC is the ONLY one in this country that use their expertize.

So, those people had 3 options.

A) Move to other country that can use their expertize.  Those people became VERY SUCCESSFUL and RICH.

B) Start over in other IT area / industry.  They paid a high price because all their KNOWLEDGE and EXPERTIZE in Airline Reservation meant NOTHING in other industry.

C) Stay back and passed over for promotion, pay raise, bonuses and so on for 30+ years until they retired.

Would you choose ©??  Beside sacrificing your own FUTURE, your family will suffer along with you.

Ditto on (B).  Or, (A) would seen to be a more logical choice.

Dreamer
Dreamer, again you have exercise your point of view will supercede any others. As i said which i believe you didnt even read carefully or attentatively, that (1) to use a bakuteh shop at a muslim area is not a logical example and (2) i have mentioned that if the shop is opened at a chinese community.

Again to answer your examples on airline....

There is no right or wrong answer here. Of course there are one answer seems more logical to be chosen.

A) move to other countries, how to guarantee that you will become very successful and rich by choosing this option? To enable you to become very successful and rich, it is not just choice of employment, dedication towards your job, performance, right opportunity, etc etc plays a big part in it.

B) Start over in other IT area? Means have to go down to basic again as previous experience is not relevant, how many people will choose this? Even those who choose this, how far can they go and time is limited as they may be too old in the industry. Even if some may become successful, but how many % can really achieve that?

C) Stay back, although not much chance of going further up, but this will provide you with a stable income and some assurance that you still can bring food home to feed your family. Isnt that you said complain worth nothing if you cannot bring food home? YOu dont feel suprise that many will stay on as they are reluctant to venture out and are too comfortable at their job. Try read the book "who move my cheese", it tells us to move on and do not sit back. why? because many people are sitting back.

Hope you treat this as friendly discussion and do not feel offended with the way i respond to u. tongue.gif

ivanswk
post Sep 2 2011, 11:33 AM

+J
2,110 posts

QUOTE(Tigerr @ Sep 2 2011, 11:17 AM)
Hope you treat this as friendly discussion and do not feel offended with the way i respond to u.  tongue.gif
dun worry, Dreamer is immune already
after 3D, kasey and now we have Tigerr

sheng88
post Sep 2 2011, 12:37 PM

33 posts

Your time is limited, so don't waste it by living someone else's life.

25 Pages « < 14 15 16 17 18 > » Top

0.0193sec    0.60    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 21st December 2025 - 01:15 AM