Average people are not rich!, Pick the RIGHT career / business

Tigerr
post Aug 18 2011, 08:56 AM

3,033 posts

QUOTE(dreamer101 @ Aug 18 2011, 08:53 AM)
Folks,

Average people are not rich.  Rich people are not average.

In I-Ching aka book of change, there is no good or bad.  Every strength become weakness under certain environment.  Ditto on weakness.  World / environment are dynamic.  Changes are constant.

From "Art of War" by Sun Tzu, know your own strength and weakness, half of the battle is won.

The KEY to career planning is to know WHAT you are?? What are your own strength and weakness?? What kind of career and environment allow you to be ABOVE AVERAGE?? What can you do that is EASY for you but HARD for others?? Conversely, if you are in an environment that DOES NOT FIT your personality and temperament, you could work very hard but you will not go anywhere.  The best that you can be is AVERAGE in that career.

Most of times, people ask THE WRONG QUESTION!!!

If you ask the WRONG QUESTION, you will NEVER get the RIGHT ANSWER!!

You could be successful in ANY career / business as long as you can EXCEL and ABOVE AVERAGE in that career / business.

To do that, you need 3 things:

1) Motivation -> You LOVE that area.  Then, you could INVEST the extra 10,000 hours to be VERY GOOD in that area.

2) Talent / Temperament -> You are born to be better than average people in doing this kind of stuff.

3) Environment / Industry -> You are working in a country / environment / culture / industry that appreciate YOUR STRENGTH and would not mind your weakness so much.

Do not follow the herd of cows.. Cows get slaughtered.  They just go into any hot areas that pays well.  They do not ask and care whether they could be ABOVE AVERAGE in that area.  That is what AVERAGE people do.

Find out WHAT you are.  INVEST on yourself to be VERY GOOD in the area that YOUR STRENGTH will be appreciated.

Dreamer
Those who knows, already successful and become boss or CEOs, now busy in the board meeting. Those who doesnt know, that's why they are asking.... laugh.gif
Tigerr
post Aug 18 2011, 09:46 AM

3,033 posts

QUOTE(dreamer101 @ Aug 18 2011, 09:36 AM)
Folks,

Time for me to tell another story.

Once upon a time, I was studying in Texas, USA.  Because I was foreign student, I paid international tuition fee and that is a few thousands per year.  And, I worked part-time at the university computing center.

I am NOT normal.  I actually read the university handbook completely a few times.  Then, I found something interesting.  Texas state law say that if you are a research or teaching assistant working part-time, you get tuition waiver.  Aka, you pay in-state fee and can save a few thousands per semester.  At the handbook, it claimed that you have to be graduate student studying master or Phd to qualify to be research assistant.

Now, if you are NORMAL people, you will stop there.  But, I am NOT.  So, I actually go to the LAW LIBRARY and FIND the EXACT LAW that define what RESEARCH ASSISTANT is.  The LAW stated that a RESEARCH ASSISTANT is a student working part-time on a job that related to their study.  I copied the law and went to admission office and ask for TUITION WAIVER.  They have NO FORM and NO IDEA what to do.  They had to create a form and ask me to ask my DEAN to certify my job is related to my degree (EE).  I won!!  Subsequently, every foreign students worked at university get waiver too.

So, tell me, will a person that always say

A) They have NO CHOICE.

B) They are undiscovered

C) They have NO OPPORTUNITY

do what I did??

This is MY ATTITUDE!!

I want HIGHER SALARY.  I read and research books on how to negotiate and get better salary.

I want to invest better.  I read and study how to be better in investing.

Now, for this kind of people, unless a rock fell from the sky and kill the person instantly, they will not fail.  They may be beaten down again and again.  But, they will keep standing up and keep trying..  They will get better and better.  They will get somewhere.

It is EASY to tell whether a person can succeed or not.  It is in THEIR ATTITUDE and MENTALITY.

Dreamer
Sigh, i should have gone to Texas instead of Oklahoma so that i can also reap the benefits left by the seniors. BTW, i worked in the cafetaria and cleaners for the dorm, now figuring how it relate to my studies, may be the job of serving food is related to food technology and cleaning job related to Environmental enginering...... hmm.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif
Tigerr
post Aug 18 2011, 09:49 AM

3,033 posts

QUOTE(ivanswk @ Aug 18 2011, 09:02 AM)
haha no some who know is surfing lowyatnet teaching us the stuff,
are u trying to imply dreamer not busy and not successful  icon_idea.gif
laugh.gif Not busy is not equivalent to not successful.

May be he so effective, his board meeting had finished already while some others is still having their breakfast. laugh.gif
Tigerr
post Aug 18 2011, 09:55 AM

3,033 posts

QUOTE(WintersuN @ Aug 18 2011, 09:51 AM)
unfortunately your idea is ideal dreammaster.

Sure everyone wants to be engineer, doktor, lawyer all those professional jobs to be rich and successful but the competition is so tough not everyone can make it.
When the day every one have become successful, may be Doktor also have to spend 8 hours a week to do toilet cleaning job in a public toilet as no more laborers. Every Tom, d***, Harry on the streets is Lawyer, Scientist or engineers. hmm.gif
Tigerr
post Aug 18 2011, 10:14 AM

3,033 posts

QUOTE(dreamer101 @ Aug 18 2011, 10:01 AM)
WintersuN,
<< Sure everyone wants to be engineer, doktor, lawyer all those professional jobs to be rich and successful but the competition is so tough not everyone can make it.>>

STOP THINKING like an average people!!!  Chasing HOT area instead of FINDING your own path.

Who says that YOU must be one of those to be successful??

We have a few EXCELLENT Chicken Rice Sellers in WHOLE Malaysia.  Do they have problem being rich??

OBVIOUSLY, you did not read "Millionaire Next Door".  The book based on actual research of millionaires in USA.  By the way, most of the doctors and lawyers in USA are NOT RICH.

Here we go again.  Average people THINKING like a herd..  Did not do any independent study to find out how many percents of doctors and lawyers are rich.

I did my own study.  I do not just BELIEVE in common myth.

<<unfortunately your idea is ideal dreammaster.>>

How many rich and successful persons that you know from first hand contacts?? Many of my family members and friends are millionaires.  They ranged from professional people with master degree to people NEVER enter high school like my cousins with ONLY SRJK© education...

Dreamer

Added on August 18, 2011, 10:04 am

Xerone,

WHAT and WHERE can you excel at??

Answer that question and the rest is easy...

Dreamer
Dreamer, for every successful man out there, there could be hundreds of unsuccessful men dead somewhere which is un-noticed. There are very successful chicken rice sellers, but many had failed before the few successful one emerged.

Talent + hard work + luck plays very important role to enable people to become successful. However, how many % of the majority mass are talented and hard working and have luck on their side? If not, Mr. Bill Gates is nobody or are there thousands and thousands of people which are far more successful than him. hmm.gif
Tigerr
post Aug 18 2011, 10:27 AM

3,033 posts

QUOTE(Xerone @ Aug 18 2011, 10:22 AM)
Thanks I think it's a matter or vertical growth or lateral expansion. People have been successful with both approaches. I'm not so certain one is better than the other. But yes, you are right about doing things other people won't. But that means going the extra step, not to be interpreted as doing the unnecessary.

BTW, I'm just hypothesizing so please take no offense  But I wonder if there are people out there similar to Dreamer in principle, effort, belief, etc but are not successful and thus go unnoticed. Sure Dreamer may be one out of many that follows the same model but that would mean following that model itself does not guarantee success.

Added on August 18, 2011, 10:23 amAh well tiger beat me to it
Even you have the best model which may lead you to successful, but you still have to constantly stay alert and do necessary adjustment or changes in your model over time. Else, it may lead you to the heaven and can bring you down to the hell as well. tongue.gif

Added on August 18, 2011, 10:30 am
QUOTE(k3nji @ Aug 18 2011, 10:26 AM)
im quite agree with u TS..and my thinking are just like u...

i will be grade soon..my job is already secure and currently im trap in the comfort zone..actually,,my aim is always to think above the AVERAGE people did..but,, now,,im afraid to take the risk..

what should i do?
For a normal people, they say you will remain in your comfort zone, for abnormal people, they say you should resign and look at better opportunity and take the risk. If successful, the newspapers and reporters will glorify what bold approaches you have taken in your successful life and we will notworthy.gif notworthy.gif you, if dead, may be only your family members remember you. rclxub.gif

This post has been edited by Tigerr: Aug 18 2011, 10:30 AM
Tigerr
post Aug 18 2011, 10:46 AM

3,033 posts

QUOTE(dreamer101 @ Aug 18 2011, 10:34 AM)
Folks,

It is VERY SIMPLE...

There is NO GUARANTEE in life.  YOU have a CHOICE.

A) Do whatever you can to be successful.

B) Do nothing.

You could FAIL either cases.  But, people with (A) has NO REGRET in their lives.  They can HONESTLY tell themselves that they had done their best.  They DO NOT have to ask "What If" when they are old.

My mother tell me that

"Even if gold fell from the sky, you still have to catch faster than everyone else to get it".

<<Dreamer, for every successful man out there, there could be hundreds of unsuccessful men dead somewhere which is un-noticed. >>

People KNOW how to fail on their own.  They do not need to learn from me.

<< If not, Mr. Bill Gates is nobody or are there thousands and thousands of people which are far more successful than him.    hmm.gif>>

You ASKED the WRONG QUESTION!! The CORRECT QUESTION is what is SUCCESS??

There are at least thousands or a lot more people that are at least as successful as Bill Gates or more.

Dreamer
The way you put it sounds more like a "think positively" way to encourage or motivate/inspire people. There are plenty of such books or talks out there in the market. Out of 10, may be 2 is all the time motivated themselves and hence they might be the successful one out there, out of 3 may be can be motivated by his peers, motivators, unspiration talks, opportunities falls on them and they could be part of the successful people out there as well and there are 5 out of there which will resist changes no matter what, even when you show them there are gold in front of them, they will tell you go and help them pick the gold and bring back to them. laugh.gif

Sometimes, when one advise people to change, be bold, be creative or take iniative to be different, when failed, it is not that they will say no regret in their live, more likely they will curse the MxxxxxFxxxxx who tell them the road to Holland. It backfires sometime.

In all words, work hard and work smart is the most fundalmental way to achieve success.
Tigerr
post Aug 18 2011, 10:54 AM

3,033 posts

QUOTE(dreamer101 @ Aug 18 2011, 10:44 AM)
http://www.highbeam.com/doc/1P2-10414451.html

<< Article: Pak Dollah, the last great tok dalang, dies

Article from:
The Malay Mail
Article date:
September 28, 2005
Author:
AMIR HAFIZI CopyrightCopyright 2001 The Malay Mail. Provided by ProQuest LLC. All inquiries regarding rights or concerns about this content should be directed to Customer Support. (Hide copyright information)
KUALA LUMPUR: He was a master of light and shadow - the last of the great

Tok Dalangs - and now he's gone.

At 3pm yesterday, Pak Dollah Baju Merah died at Kota Baru Hospital of

complications from asthma. The 67-year-old was admitted the night before

after an asthma attack. He suffered a stroke last year.

"He was a genius. There are no more people like him," said Eddin Khoo,

researcher and freelance writer who had been a student of Pak Dollah.

Pak Dollah Baju Merah was born in Kelantan on Dec 24, 1937, as Abdullah

Ibrahim. He started performing wayang kulit when he was 13.

The man became a famous Tok Dalang (shadow player) in … >>

To Pak Dollah Baju Merah, Wayang Kulit is his ONE. And, he live accordingly to his ONE... He spent 54 years aka his whole life on this...>>
Folks,

How can YOU say that this person is NOT a successful person??  He spent his WHOLE LIFE on doing things that he LOVES.  How many people can say this about their lives??

Dreamer
Dont know who is this Pak Dollah and dont really know what he had achieved by playing Wayang Kulit, thus, no comment on whether he is successful or not. Even Mahathir has been so glorified and respected notworthy.gif notworthy.gif once before he stepped down. But now, many of the people are so vmad.gif with him and dont know how you describe him as whether successful or not. To gather wealth for the family, yes, definately, he is successful.

Also, Taiwan Ex-President, he had gone though his political life to become a President and now had been put into a jailed. How would you describe he is whether a success or not and at certain stage of his life is success or what?

Tigerr
post Aug 18 2011, 11:00 AM

3,033 posts

QUOTE(ivanswk @ Aug 18 2011, 10:59 AM)
too summarise it, dun get caught and dun step down  laugh.gif
To me, as long as you dont get caught is successful already... laugh.gif laugh.gif
Tigerr
post Aug 18 2011, 11:07 AM

3,033 posts

QUOTE(debbieyss @ Aug 18 2011, 11:02 AM)
Ok, so when there are forumers post up they have tried their best etc but still fail, then you never tell them "at least you have done your best to pursue, it's ok", instead, you will be the first one to scold them "stupid", know only how to whine, lazy to work harder, aim for comfort zone, unlike 70s etc etc etc.

You are giving contradicting statements here.
So, you wanna continue the "Unteachable Gen-Y" session here? laugh.gif

But, even yes, please do it in a friendly way and constructive manner. biggrin.gif
Tigerr
post Aug 18 2011, 11:19 AM

3,033 posts

QUOTE(debbieyss @ Aug 18 2011, 11:10 AM)
I have always put it in a friendly way and constructive manner, at least i never scold people stupid.

It's just that to people like dreamer, constructive manner is not the way to convince him. One must have real life experience to prove him and, to let him know the real life experience of someone, dreamer must know them in person.

Added on August 18, 2011, 11:13 am
If you don't want to waste your time, then please don't reply my thread. smile.gif
You can choose:
1) Reply
2) Do not reply

No one force you to reply my posts. You have the CHOICE.

And, wheter i am teachable or not is not important to you, i know how successful i am now, my friends know how successful i am, my parents can retired with my monthly income, that's enough.  smile.gif
See....that's what i say not friendly manner. It is like you are challenging him. Dreamer has lots more experience than you (although i dont know him personally) and you are young without concrete prove of success, so, why not lie low, and respect the seniors. Perhaps, they can put $$$ in your pocket which you may not know. Cheers and Cool.. biggrin.gif
Tigerr
post Aug 18 2011, 11:33 AM

3,033 posts

QUOTE(dreamer101 @ Aug 18 2011, 11:25 AM)
Tigerr,

To be more precise, work smart by UNDERSTANDING your own strength and weakness.

Dreamer

If dont understand own strength and weakness, then, it is not smart liao....more like work buta buta and hope with soem luck, can "fu-look"..... tongue.gif

Tigerr
post Aug 18 2011, 11:35 AM

3,033 posts

QUOTE(dreamer101 @ Aug 18 2011, 11:29 AM)
Folks,

So, the QUESTION is how can I efficiently and effectively achieve an understanding of myself??

I use Myers-Briggs Type Indicator and cross reference with my real life experience to verify my personality type.  It is VERY EFFECTIVE...

There are FREE TESTS available over the Internet.

Dreamer
Dreamer, take this challenge, try to find your best way to "educate" or "get debbie learn and change to be more positive" and see how innovative your are or how successful you are.... laugh.gif
Tigerr
post Aug 18 2011, 11:37 AM

3,033 posts

QUOTE(Xerone @ Aug 18 2011, 11:33 AM)
Debbie brings up an interesting point of discussion. She IS successful in getting to her goal. You may see her as being unsuccessful because you are measuring her relatively to someone else, not her goals. I should really research further on this Pak Dollah but I honestly can't say he is successful if he is just a wayang kulit player. Others would beg to differ. Just what kind of success are we talking about here?
If a beggar begs all his life fo 54 years, and he can keep himself out of hunger, would you say he is successful? To the beggar, yes, he is successful, but to majority masses, he is a total failure. hmm.gif Anyone agrees?

Added on August 18, 2011, 11:38 am
QUOTE(pUpUnOOb @ Aug 18 2011, 11:36 AM)
average people are not rich?wat ur gonna say next?d earth is round not flat?
average people rich in cholestrol.... tongue.gif

This post has been edited by Tigerr: Aug 18 2011, 11:38 AM
Tigerr
post Aug 18 2011, 01:40 PM

3,033 posts

QUOTE(blanket84 @ Aug 18 2011, 01:33 PM)
If you need to value someone's personality and attitude before listening to what his teaching, then I guess it's very hard for you to learn something or anything..

Have you not seen sports theme movies where in the beginning of the story the person or the team is the worst in the field then come one coach with worst attitude you can imagine then transfrom the person or the team from the worst to the best? Do you think whoever comes up with that idea made up the concept..that is how real life learning is..
That is movie lar. they can write the script as they like and may not truely reflect the actual. But, it does happen in real life and in fact, anything else also possible to happen.

In old days, a stern teacher is likely to produce a more disiplin student. But student nowadays dont follow this pattern anymore, so, in order to successful teaching the students, we need to change the way of teaching. If we dont change ourselves, we will never or hard to progress far.... tongue.gif
Tigerr
post Aug 18 2011, 02:09 PM

3,033 posts

QUOTE(blanket84 @ Aug 18 2011, 01:56 PM)
Have you seen Coach Carter? That is based on real story..and also there are few other real story which I can't remember..

My real life story. I have two different Biology teacher during F4 & F5, one is very serious and barely smile even when he make jokes..and the other is a joker..I learn more from the serious one and I learned less from the other (he don't even finish the syllabus because he was too busy entertaining the students)..
Yes, i agree it does happen in real life, but in every lottery draw, there is always got one guy struke the first prize too. So, like i said, a seriuos and stern coach may chunk out good result but that is not always true. Especially nowadays, youngster is not raised up in the strict manner like the old days. So, if any stern and seriuos way is practise on them, you will get rebels. So, the old way which may be the effective way, but it wont work now. So, another or different approach may be needed.

There are lots of argument on Gen-X and Gen-Y, but who produce this Gen-Y?? It is Gen-X who produce all this Gen-Y. REally cannot understand .. doh.gif
Tigerr
post Aug 18 2011, 02:34 PM

3,033 posts

QUOTE(blanket84 @ Aug 18 2011, 02:20 PM)
Yeah..my point is if you have to be selective of who is teaching instead of what is being taught, then you might not learn anything..
Sometimes, you cannot judge someone by his apperance. You can choose a comedian instead of an authoritarian to teach you. It doesnt mean that the comedian will lose out in what he is going to teach. IF there is a person who is very famous and comes with high credential but he is not seriuos manner he treating people compare with someone who is very serious but may not know anything about his credentials, so, who you going to choose? Like in movie, those not famous but very seriuos coach is coaching a not famous school team and eventually win a champion. But how many in real life???
Tigerr
post Aug 20 2011, 05:26 PM

3,033 posts

QUOTE(kiterackk1 @ Aug 20 2011, 04:14 PM)
Being smart won't get u rich. Being at the right time and place will
Later when TOTO opened, i will know how rich i would be drool.gif ...haha..
Tigerr
post Aug 20 2011, 11:42 PM

3,033 posts

QUOTE(dreamer101 @ Aug 20 2011, 11:25 PM)
Folks,

Average people are not rich.  Rich people are not average.

1) To be RICH, you cannot have the ATTITUDE or MENTALITY to be AVERAGE in your effort and goal.  YOU need to be put in the EXTRA EFFORT. Of course, you reap what you sow.

2) It is getting HARDER to survive in Malaysia.  So, if your goal is to stay average in your chose profession / business, you MAY NOT survive. Not only Malaysia, which country is easy to survive?

3) You could ONLY put in the EXTRA EFFORT / MILE when you are YOUNG.  When you are older aka after 40 years old, you WILL NOT have the ability to push harder even if you want to.  It is TOO LATE!!! Someone said that they never stop learning even they are old? Some successful people career may just blossom after 40 years old.

4) If your AIM is to be THE BEST, you may or may not get there.  But, you DEFINITELY will be much better than AVERAGE people. Aim is achieving nothing without action.

5) If your AIM is to be AVERAGE, in most cases, you will be BELOW AVERAGE.  In the BEST CASE, you will be AVERAGE aka BARELY SURVIVE. Even stay average doesnt mean that cannot survive.

6) If your goal is to be ABOVE AVERAGE, you need to pick a business / profession where you have COMPETITIVE ADVANTAGE.  Do not chase HOT AREAS. If no competitive advantage, how?

7) Competition is a fact of life.  If you want something, you will have to COMPETE for that. Sometimes, money can buy what we want.

8) Anything worth having is worth fighting for. Got to look whether it is beyond your reach or not. Not fight blindly.

9) Rich and SUCCESSFUL people do not THINK like normal people.  They can SPOT opportunity while other cannot. Yes, but they may fail as well. Only those who stay alive will have the opportunity to speak.

10) Rich and Successful people go the extra mile and put in EXTRA EFFORT. Definately.

11) It is NOT my goal to force MY DEFINITION of Rich and Success on YOU.  I am just showing A WAY to get where you want to be.  Regardless of what your final goal is. No doubt on this.

I had worked 10+ jobs across 20+ years over multiple countries.  I had survived multiple recessions.  In one cases, my employer laid off 80% of my co-workers over multiple years with quarterly laid off.  I survived and I still achieve my goal in life.

No, this is NOT the ONLY way.  It is ONE WAY to do it.  If it works for you, take it.  If not, do something else.

I had trained / coached many people throughout my career.  They gone up one to two levels after I coached them.  Many of them are director / GM/ VP now.  So, it worked successfully for fair amount of people.

Dreamer
Tigerr
post Aug 22 2011, 12:03 PM

3,033 posts

QUOTE(3dassets @ Aug 22 2011, 11:47 AM)
I am not here to hijack dreamer101's topic and in art & design field but due to the difficult condition, I had to detach from it and build my own business never to bow to the market standard.

I have school mate in the negative film processing industry and know of an artist committed suicide along with his two children, what caused such condition is over supply of graphic students and the practice of suppression by the advertising owner to all selfish business people, hard working is STUPID just to impress the boss.

If the job does not have career advancement, don't waste your time if you can't break the norm, in other words, you create your own career because a job has its limit and ceiling value, you can't become rich under employment. A country will only progress if people take on development than wait for it to come.
Dear 3DASSETS.....by working, we will not get rich even how hard working or how above average dreamer is talking about......You may be able to get a comfortable savings at the end of the day that may allowed you to retire early, but that is not rich. Even you have saved millions but you still will not live like a rich.

Only when you go into the business world, then, you will be able to get rich and with opportunities coming you way, even you are just an average businessman, you will get richer than those above average & hard working working class men.

If rich, you will not blink an eye when you shop for your 3rd or 4th BMW. When rich, you will ask the real estate agent to show you an entire row of houses or shops instead of one unit. Being rich, you travel and stay in all 6 stars hotel and order a rolls royce to bring you around shopping for branded goods.

That is called RICH. biggrin.gif

0.0166sec    1.14    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 20th December 2025 - 02:16 AM