TSdreamer101
post Aug 21 2011, 06:31 AM

15,855 posts

QUOTE(3dassets @ Aug 21 2011, 05:28 AM)

my entire life is about retirement and tell my success story when I reach your age. laugh.gif

3dassets,

How could you?? We are about the same age. You had reached my age NOW.

Dreamer
mercury8400
post Aug 21 2011, 10:51 AM

2,703 posts

QUOTE(dreamer101 @ Aug 20 2011, 03:04 AM)
MeruChan,

<<my brother's pretty average. and he's financially independent. he's not the best in his job but he has his skills that are in demand. you know what i mean?>>

1) Your brother is NOT average. Average people do not have skill in demand.

2) Does your brother need to work to support his life style?? If yes, he is NOT financially independent..

<<I am trying to promote a moderate living. >>

3) Why do you ASSUME that rich people CANNOT live moderately??

Dreamer
B u B u,

Most of the time, people don't.  I try to achieve that but sometimes I failed too.

Dreamer

Added on August 20, 2011, 4:44 am
PenangLaksa,

1) Yes, I think I am successful.  I am living the life style that I want and doing the job that I love.  In my book, I am successful.

2) I am RICH.  I am saving 50+% of my gross income while I am living in the life style that I want.  In my definition, I am RICH.  This same definition probably applies to most people too.

<< I am SURPRISED that he can be successful with the sort of " I KNOW IT ALL" attitude that he has.>>

3) There is a BASIC PROBLEM here.  Most people do not know what they are talking about.  They do not spend the time and effort to study anything DEEPLY.  So, sometimes, when you come across a person that ACTUALLY know their stuff, you DO NOT KNOW how to handle this. 

For example, many people blah blah blah about rich people this and that.  But, when you asked them how many rich persons that they actually know FIRST HAND, the answer is NONE.  Meanwhile, somebody that actually know RICH PEOPLE first hand tell you things, you DO NOT KNOW whether you should trust the person.

You DO NOT KNOW how to separate the REAL from the PRETENDER.

The CORRECT QUESTION is how do you LEARN the skill to verify whether a person REALLY know what they are talking about.  And, this is INDEPENDENT of whether you know that particular subject.

Dreamer
Dreamer,

Seriously, yr arguments are becoming more and more ridiculous. You do not define what's rich and what's average and just come up with a general, totally irrelavant topic which one can argue anyway one's heart desires. You might as well say the "sky is high" or something like dat; completely random and start an argument about it.

MOD pls close this stupid and irrelevant thread.
morgana_jara
post Aug 21 2011, 12:02 PM

186 posts

QUOTE(mercury8400 @ Aug 21 2011, 10:51 AM)
Dreamer,

Seriously, yr arguments are becoming more and more ridiculous. You do not define what's rich and what's average and just come up with a general, totally irrelavant topic which one can argue anyway one's heart desires. You might as well say the "sky is high" or something like dat; completely random and start an argument about it.
The point Dreamer is trying to get across is how to succeed in achieving one's goals. Whether your goal is to have a fulfilling family life, or to be rich, or to be good at what you do, that's up to you. He's just trying to show ways to achieve your goals, esp if your goal is to be better than others.

This post has been edited by morgana_jara: Aug 21 2011, 12:03 PM
mercury8400
post Aug 21 2011, 01:37 PM

2,703 posts

QUOTE(morgana_jara @ Aug 21 2011, 12:02 PM)
The point Dreamer is trying to get across is how to succeed in achieving one's goals. Whether your goal is to have a fulfilling family life, or to be rich, or to be good at what you do, that's up to you. He's just trying to show ways to achieve your goals, esp if your goal is to be better than others.
Then MOD please move this to Kopitiam...this is a forum for jobs and career not to discuss yr life's goal's....
vandoren
post Aug 21 2011, 02:41 PM

488 posts

this thread suppose to be acting like a coffee, to waken up those who are now confusing in their career path or being aimless in work life.

it's nice to have those experience and successful person to share their thoughts. but more and more people diverting to another topic.

it's nice to have different view and opinion from different people, but what i can see is, some posts are baseless and to look for a fault on purpose.

i'm sorry if my post offends anyone, but this is what i felt after reading 8 pages of this thread.
PenangLaksa
post Aug 21 2011, 04:14 PM

789 posts

Rich dad and poor dad thinks completely the opposite of what dreamer thinks. unsure.gif
http://www.wikisummaries.org/Rich_Dad,_Poor_Dad

Added on August 21, 2011, 4:18 pm<< I had trained / coached many people throughout my career. They gone up one to two levels after I coached them. Many of them are director / GM/ VP now. So, it worked successfully for fair amount of people.>>

If that's the case, you must be worth a fortune now.
I wonder if you have ever considered of giving talks teaching people how to be successful or writing a book for that matter?

This post has been edited by PenangLaksa: Aug 21 2011, 04:18 PM
3dassets
post Aug 21 2011, 04:24 PM

Absolutely no nonsense
3,796 posts

QUOTE(dreamer101 @ Aug 21 2011, 06:31 AM)
3dassets,

How could you?? We are about the same age.  You had reached my age NOW.

Dreamer
No lah, I am 43 and you are 50, still got difference. I did all the things you mention except go abroad at early age which I have no money or know how. By the time I realized, its too late and still no money, we all begin as average and do the ordinary things because we are restricted one way or another.

Even if I do go abroad, things may not be any better and the element of luck / circumstances can still ruin everything, despite all efforts, 1 bad turn is all it takes to send you back to where you started, I've been through this cycle twice much like recession repeats every 10 years to see the patterns and the only way to avoid is manage everything except luck because you did say do the things that I can do best and very difficult for others.

I did not choose to be multi disciplined and that is why I can still find jobs under any circumstances, be financial independence is so near yet so far under the same system meant to suppress growth to preserve old established businesses or family fortune. This is what you have been complaining because policies / propaganda are made to achieve the same thing, an adult don't automatically become mature nor by age, knowing is not understanding, for example; the word "idiotic" don't mean a thing to an idiot. Hence, average people are not rich.
TSdreamer101
post Aug 21 2011, 08:09 PM

15,855 posts

QUOTE(PenangLaksa @ Aug 21 2011, 04:14 PM)
Rich dad and poor dad thinks completely the opposite of what dreamer thinks.  unsure.gif
http://www.wikisummaries.org/Rich_Dad,_Poor_Dad

Added on August 21, 2011, 4:18 pm<< I had trained / coached many people throughout my career.  They gone up one to two levels after I coached them.  Many of them are director / GM/ VP now.  So, it worked successfully for fair amount of people.>>

If that's the case, you must be worth a fortune now.
I wonder if you have ever considered of giving talks teaching people how to be successful or writing a book for that matter?

<< The rich don’t work for money
The importance of financial literacy
Minding Your own business
Taxes and corporations
The rich invent money
The need to work to learn and not to work for money>>

PenangLaksa,

OBVIOUSLY, you do not understand RDPD. BTW, I read almost all his books. From the URL that you posted.

<< The rich don’t work for money
The need to work to learn and not to work for money>>

It is THE SAME as AIM to be ABOVE AVERAGE in your chosen field / business. Do not AIM for money.

<<Minding Your own business>>

Focused on your goal.

<< The importance of financial literacy
Taxes and corporations
The rich invent money >>

Those are TOOLS if you are willing to THINK outside the box.

<<I wonder if you have ever considered of giving talks teaching people how to be successful or writing a book for that matter?>>

I am compiling material for a book. Giving talks?? I do not think so... I am aiming to RETIRE and LOW PROFILE. I do not want that many people to know me. After years in Tier 1 / 2/ 3/ 4 support, TOO MANY people know me.

Dreamer

Added on August 21, 2011, 8:10 pm
QUOTE(3dassets @ Aug 21 2011, 04:24 PM)
No lah, I am 43 and you are 50,
3dassets,

I am NOT 50. We are closer than you think.

Dreamer

Added on August 21, 2011, 8:19 pm
QUOTE(mercury8400 @ Aug 21 2011, 10:51 AM)
Dreamer,

QUOTE(mercury8400 @ Aug 21 2011, 01:37 PM)
Then MOD please move this to Kopitiam...this is a forum for jobs and career not to discuss yr life's goal's....
mercury8400,

You DO NOT UNDERSTAND what I am trying to communicate. Then, you ASSUME that there is NO MESSAGE in there. WHY are you SO ARROGANT?? Are you a GENIUS aka SMARTEST PERSON in the world?? If not, there will be THINGS that you DO NOT UNDERSTAND.

Given that some other people got IT, isn't this mean you had missed SOMETHING??

People are AVERAGE or NOT AVERAGE is based on THEIR ATTITUDE. And, in order to be RICH, they have to THINK and ACT on a DIFFERENT ATTITUDE than AVERAGE people.

What is RICH to YOU?? What is YOUR DEFINITION??

Do you BELIEVE that you can achieve YOUR DEFINITION of Richness by THINKING and BEHAVING like AVERAGE PEOPLE??

Yes or no.

If YOU need to THINK DIFFERENTLY, the question is HOW to THINK DIFFERENTLY?? What are THE DIFFERENCE??

Dreamer

This post has been edited by dreamer101: Aug 21 2011, 08:19 PM
SUSMaterazzi
post Aug 21 2011, 08:54 PM

1,569 posts

U want to be rich or financially independent? FI is easier.

Added on August 21, 2011, 9:02 pmWant to be financially independence? Retire at china. 1Rm you can get big bowl of mix rice and meat. Very cheapo coz of that their labors very cheap. Don't retire atmalaysia

This post has been edited by Materazzi: Aug 21 2011, 09:02 PM
3dassets
post Aug 21 2011, 09:18 PM

Absolutely no nonsense
3,796 posts

Dreamer101, have you forgotten you told someone that you are retiring in a few years? That means in the scope of 50 unless it was a lie, also you did mention about your children and family members when someone challenged you and it sums up that you are near 55 and actively looking for investment opportunity, that is how we got acquainted in a dispute about gov policy and private practices.

I caught a few liars in lyn.net in the past that make me think a bunch of staff cocking to themselves to generate traffic.
TSdreamer101
post Aug 21 2011, 09:23 PM

15,855 posts

QUOTE(Materazzi @ Aug 21 2011, 08:54 PM)
U want to be rich or financially independent? FI is easier.

Added on August 21, 2011, 9:02 pmWant to be financially independence? Retire at china. 1Rm you can get big bowl of mix rice and meat. Very cheapo coz of that their labors very cheap. Don't retire atmalaysia
Materazzi,

In my book and as per RDPD definition, FIRE means that you can MAINTAIN your EXISTING life style indefinitely without working.

Rich?? What is YOUR DEFINITION??

As per my definition, I am RICH now.

A) I am living in the life style that I want.

B) I am doing the job that I LOVE.

C) I am saving 50+% of my gross income.

It is EASIER to be RICH.

FIRE means that you can STAY RICH indefinitely without working.

Dreamer

This post has been edited by dreamer101: Aug 21 2011, 09:24 PM
seantang
post Aug 21 2011, 09:25 PM

With Adult Supervision Only
6,624 posts

QUOTE(3dassets @ Aug 21 2011, 09:18 PM)
Dreamer101, have you forgotten you told someone that you are retiring in a few years? That means in the scope of 50 unless it was a lie, also you did mention about your children and family members when someone challenged you and it sums up that you are near 55 and actively looking for investment opportunity, that is how we got acquainted in a dispute about gov policy and private practices.

I caught a few liars in lyn.net in the past that make me think a bunch of staff cocking to themselves to generate traffic.
Must all retirements be at 55? Cannot retire earlier?

SUSMaterazzi
post Aug 21 2011, 09:32 PM

1,569 posts

QUOTE(dreamer101 @ Aug 21 2011, 09:23 PM)
Materazzi,

In my book and as per RDPD definition, FIRE means that you can MAINTAIN your EXISTING life style indefinitely without working.

Rich?? What is YOUR DEFINITION??

As per my definition, I am RICH now.

A) I am living in the life style that I want.

B) I am doing the job that I LOVE.

C) I am saving 50+% of my gross income.

It is EASIER to be RICH.

FIRE means that you can STAY RICH indefinitely without working.

Dreamer
Rich in my mind, at least 30 millions ringgit. FIRE in my mind can maintain existing lifestyle without working. My 1 yr salary can sustain 5 yrs without working with existing lifestyle. My goal is I can be healthy person don't go doctors. For now I am in my record 5yrs running never go doctor although coy provides me medical benefits. If we are sick we cannot enjoy life.
TSdreamer101
post Aug 21 2011, 09:34 PM

15,855 posts

QUOTE(3dassets @ Aug 21 2011, 09:18 PM)

QUOTE(seantang @ Aug 21 2011, 09:25 PM)
3dassets,

Seantang had answered the question for me..

Please note that both my elder brother and sister retired at 49. And, I had mentioned it a few times...

seantang,

Thank you.

Dreamer
SUSMaterazzi
post Aug 21 2011, 09:36 PM

1,569 posts

U are 35 and don't have family, if u retire means failure? Can u give up 10k sgd/ month salary? I doubt so. Economic ppl will think opportunity cost
arielyek
post Aug 21 2011, 09:42 PM

50 posts

dreamer101,
why do you study engineering at the very first place?
you have already know what you good at before you choose engineering or after you choose?

sorry for my grammar if i wrote anything wrong.
thank you.
3dassets
post Aug 21 2011, 09:43 PM

Absolutely no nonsense
3,796 posts

No, the manner of words imply that he is waiting for the EPF money and ready to invest by then. All profession that are forced to retire means all working experience becomes worthless, so he did plan to write a book to commemorate his achievement as a mean to document his knowledge, otherwise worthless and must continue to generate income to be financially independent.

All I see are behavioral patterns in cyberspace since we don't look at the person when they speak to detect flaws, words represent manners and way of thinking, if there is anything to learn in a forum is to recognize what we are up against and challenge ourselves to see what we are made of. I discover myself even though no one talk to me in the forum just continue to post opinion, not here to make friends and learning don't even need interaction because it provoke my thoughts.

This is what dreamer meant by not being average, you see things too short because you think shallow, don't feel offended, just to clarify.

This post has been edited by 3dassets: Aug 21 2011, 09:45 PM
TSdreamer101
post Aug 21 2011, 09:48 PM

15,855 posts

QUOTE(Materazzi @ Aug 21 2011, 09:32 PM)
Rich in my mind, at least 30 millions ringgit. FIRE in my mind can maintain existing lifestyle without working.  My 1 yr salary can sustain 5 yrs without working with existing lifestyle. My goal is I can be healthy person don't go doctors. For now I am in my record 5yrs running never go doctor although coy provides me medical benefits. If we are sick we cannot enjoy life.
Materazzi,

1) Let's get to the bottom line, what is your FIRE number??

A) What is the AMOUNT of money that you can sustain your EXISTING life style INDEFINITELY?? Let's call this Basic FIRE

B) What is the AMOUNT of money that you can sustain your DESIRE life style INDEFINITELY?? Let's call this Desire FIRE.

Which FIRE do you aim for??

Basic FIRE or Desire FIRE. And, what are the numbers?? Do you know??

In my case, Basic FIRE = Desire FIRE.

<<My 1 yr salary can sustain 5 yrs without working with existing lifestyle.>>

Do you mean that in one year, you can SAVE enough money for 5 years of expenses??

I save 50+% of my gross income. In one year, I can ONLY save for 2 years of expenses.

2) If you know and reach your FIRE number, will you AIM to be RICH?? At that time, you may REALIZE a simple fact. You cannot buy TIME. Life is TOO SHORT to spend on making money. Let's say it takes 5 more years to go from FIRE to RICH, will you do it?? You are YOUNG. You believe that you live FOREVER now. When you are OLDER, your POV might change...

3) One of my family member passed full physical health check without problem. 2 weeks later, he fainted in the bathroom and rushed to emergency room. They found 2 brain tumors in his brain. He died 8 months later.

Dreamer

Added on August 21, 2011, 9:55 pm
QUOTE(arielyek @ Aug 21 2011, 09:42 PM)
dreamer101,
why do you study engineering at the very first place?
you have already know what you good at before you choose engineering or after you choose?

sorry for my grammar if i wrote anything wrong.
thank you.
arielyek,

It is VERY SIMPLE.

I LOVE ENGINEERING!!

I like solving technical problem. I do not like dealing with people. This is ever since from childhood.

QUOTE(3dassets @ Aug 21 2011, 09:43 PM)
No, the manner of words imply that he is waiting for the EPF money and ready to invest by then.
3dassets,

I thought that I had made it VERY CLEAR. I BELIEVE my EPF money will be gone soon enough.

A) I had been investing for 20+ years.

B) My EPF money is TOO INSIGNIFICANT from my standpoint. Whether it exists or not when I am 55 will not matter to me.

Dreamer

Added on August 21, 2011, 10:02 pm
QUOTE(Materazzi @ Aug 21 2011, 09:36 PM)
U are 35 and don't have family, if u retire means failure? Can u give up 10k sgd/ month salary? I doubt so. Economic ppl will think opportunity cost
Materazzi,

<<U are 35 and don't have family, if u retire means failure?>>

Failure from YOUR POV aka a stranger.

Why should a person lives his / her life based on POV of some strangers??

You live YOUR LIFE and he live his life.

Your POV of success or failure is ONLY RELEVANT to YOU and no one else.

I stopped my career advancement by working from home for a few years. To most people, I am a FAILURE. But, for me, spending more time with my family is MORE IMPORTANT than career advancement. Furthermore, I had made ENOUGH MONEY to reach my financial goal at the pace that I want. I can stop my career advancement without impacting my financial future. This is the kind of FINANCIAL FREEDOM that most people do not have.

Ditto, I move from management position to senior engineering post. I have the FREEDOM to do this.

Dreamer

This post has been edited by dreamer101: Aug 21 2011, 10:02 PM
mercury8400
post Aug 21 2011, 10:08 PM

2,703 posts

QUOTE(dreamer101 @ Aug 21 2011, 08:09 PM)

What is RICH to YOU??  What is YOUR DEFINITION??

Do you BELIEVE that you can achieve YOUR DEFINITION of Richness by THINKING and BEHAVING like AVERAGE PEOPLE??

Yes or no.

If YOU need to THINK DIFFERENTLY, the question is HOW to THINK DIFFERENTLY??  What are THE DIFFERENCE??

Dreamer
Why NOT? My definition of RICH and AVERAGE is DIFFERENT from yr definition of rich and average. What makes you think that I cannot achieve "rich" by being "average"? How arrogant of YOU!

Bottom line is different people have different definition of what is rich and what is average. But i know you are goin to argue that if you can achieve "rich" then your are obviously NOT Average. Which comes to my question. What is the point of that statement? An argument for agument's sake?
arielyek
post Aug 21 2011, 10:23 PM

50 posts

dreamer101,
if I say I want to be someone like you,
is that a wrong ( question )?

I found myself very hard to have the level of discipline that you have. ( especially during your college's time )
Is it because I lack of motivation?
how to discipline myself to be very focus on what am I doing? ( especially in my studies )
and also how to trained myself to be less emotional?

thank you.

25 Pages « < 6 7 8 9 10 > » Top

0.0277sec    0.77    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 20th December 2025 - 08:11 AM