124 Pages « < 20 21 22 23 24 > » Bottom

Recommendation for Credit Cards V1, TQ to contributors ! (From MOD)

Jy One
post Jun 12 2011, 05:04 PM

Hi there, I would like to apply for a CC. But I am confused and can't decide which Bank to go as I have 0 knowledge in CC. Appreaciate if you could advise me on which bank should I apply?

1. Annual Income: RM27 600

2. Free Lifetime Annual Fee: A Must

3. Card required for: Petrol ( Priority) and probably shopping

4. Existing credit cards if any: Nil

5. Preferred Bank or Considering CC from banks: Open discussion

7. Estimated Spending per month with the card: Less than RM1K or RM1K

Many thanks for the advise in advance biggrin.gif

TSGen-X
post Jun 12 2011, 06:50 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(Jy One @ Jun 12 2011, 05:04 PM)
Hi there, I would like to apply for a CC. But I am confused and can't decide which Bank to go as I have 0 knowledge in CC. Appreaciate if you could advise me on which bank should I apply? 
1. Annual Income: RM27 600
3. Card required for: Petrol ( Priority) and probably shopping
4. Existing credit cards if any: Nil
5. Preferred Bank or Considering CC from banks: Open discussion
7. Estimated Spending per month with the card: Less than RM1K or RM1K
Many thanks for the advise in advance  biggrin.gif
Read the previous posts and you will note many are like you. Also click here to Petrol Thread to know more about cards that give you some kind of benefits when you pump petrol.

I would recommend that you "try" to apply for Maybankard 2 Cards. You got nothing to loose. Best place so far from feed back at MBB 2 Thread is apply at 1U MBB card Centre at New Wing. If your application is rejected (chances are high because you don't have credit history and income less then RM30K), go apply for other cards like UOB OneCard (if you pump at BHP) or CIMB Petronas (if you pump at Petronas). After 1 year, and if you have a good credit history, then apply for the Maybankard 2 Card and most likely yo will get it, by then too hopefully your income would also have increased.
outshot
post Jun 12 2011, 10:51 PM

Hi guys n gurls lyn.

i would like some advice b4 applied this cc.

1. Annual Income: 50k above
2. Free Lifetime Annual Fee: big yes
3. Card required for: Petrol, Paying for shoping if I dont bring enough money and paying hotel both oversea and malaysia.
4. Existing credit cards if any: None
5. Preferred Bank or Considering CC from banks: which can offer the best interest. biggrin.gif
6. Estimated Spending per month with the card: Less than RM1K

Hope you all can help give some suggestion about which kind of card would be the best and not much hassle. notworthy.gif
TSGen-X
post Jun 12 2011, 11:08 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(outshot @ Jun 12 2011, 10:51 PM)
Hi guys n gurls lyn.

i would like some advice b4 applied this cc.

1. Annual Income: 50k above
2. Free Lifetime Annual Fee: big yes
3. Card required for: Petrol, Paying for shoping if I dont bring enough money and paying hotel both oversea and malaysia.
4. Existing credit cards if any: None
5. Preferred Bank or Considering CC from banks: which can offer the best interest. biggrin.gif
6. Estimated Spending per month with the card: Less than RM1K

Hope you all can help give some suggestion about which kind of card would be the best and not much hassle. notworthy.gif
Since you have been doing fine with cash and now looking for a card with best interest rate, I think you should not get a credit card but get a Debit Card that is linked to your account.

This post has been edited by Gen-X: Jun 12 2011, 11:08 PM
laowai
post Jun 13 2011, 12:06 PM

490 posts

Question about cards that has no automatic annual fee waiver ... any that gives very good cash rebates and points benefits?

Saw a roadshow for RHB ... seems good ... any spending get rebates up to rm60+ max.

Also saw a lot of signs at shop entrance for HSBC promotion ... 30% rebates ... need to sms to register. Any info on this? Never mentioned max rebate amount tho.
paradis3lost
post Jun 13 2011, 01:10 PM

Too leet for avatars
1,007 posts

1. Annual Income: RM30K to RM36K

2. Free Lifetime Annual Fee: Must

3. Card required for: Petrol, 0% interest for large sum purchases and paid over 12 months(currently plan to get a system unit from LYN around RM3.5k to RM4k)

4. Existing credit cards if any: Nil.

5. Preferred Bank or Considering CC from banks: GSC Eonbank card, Petronas Maybankard

6. Others: Need 0% interest for large sum purchases like computer parts that is payable over 12 months.

7. Estimated Spending per month with the card: Less than RM1K. Usually for petrol.
TSGen-X
post Jun 13 2011, 02:30 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(laowai @ Jun 13 2011, 12:06 PM)
Question about cards that has no automatic annual fee waiver ... any that gives very good cash rebates and points benefits?

Saw a roadshow for RHB ... seems good ... any spending get rebates up to rm60+ max.

Also saw a lot of signs at shop entrance for HSBC promotion ... 30% rebates ... need to sms to register. Any info on this? Never mentioned max rebate amount tho.
The RHB and HSBC you mentioned are limited time promotion. And I can tell you the HSBC one not guaranteed you will get the rebate.

If there are other cards offering VERY good cash rebate and points besides MBB 2 and OCBC Titanium, there will be a thread on this card by now.

QUOTE(paradis3lost @ Jun 13 2011, 01:10 PM)
1. Annual Income:  RM30K to RM36K

2. Free Lifetime Annual Fee: Must

3. Card required for: Petrol, 0% interest for large sum purchases and paid over 12 months(currently plan to get a system unit from LYN around RM3.5k to RM4k)

5. Preferred Bank or Considering CC from banks: GSC Eonbank card, Petronas Maybankard

6. Others: Need 0% interest for large sum purchases like computer parts that is payable over 12 months.

7. Estimated Spending per month with the card: Less than RM1K. Usually for petrol.
For Petrol either Maybankard 2 Cards Gold Amex or OCBC Titanium. For 0% interest installment, go check with merchant what card they accept for the installment plan.
kel1506
post Jun 14 2011, 04:57 PM

51 posts

1. Annual Income: RM22.8K

2. Free Lifetime Annual Fee: Yes

3. Card required for: Petronas / bill payment / Air Ticket

5. Looking at CC from: Maybank / Public / Eon / Muamalat

6. Others: Want to use for paying installment such as Sen Q / Sen Heng / Digi Iphone Plan / Vehicle Installment (EON)

7. Estimated Spending per month with the card: Less than RM1K

This post has been edited by kel1506: Jun 14 2011, 04:59 PM
TSGen-X
post Jun 14 2011, 06:51 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(kel1506 @ Jun 14 2011, 04:57 PM)
1. Annual Income: RM22.8K

2. Free Lifetime Annual Fee: Yes

3. Card required for: Petronas / bill payment / Air Ticket

5. Looking at CC from: Maybank / Public / Eon / Muamalat

6. Others: Want to use for paying installment such as Sen Q / Sen Heng / Digi Iphone Plan / Vehicle Installment (EON)

Sorry to inform you, the minimum income to be eligible for credit card in accordance to BNM guideline is now RM24K per year.

http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/1796957

http://creditcardsmalaysia.blogspot.com/20...ual-income.html

This post has been edited by Gen-X: Jun 14 2011, 06:52 PM
der.msia
post Jun 14 2011, 10:34 PM

75 posts

OMG! AMBANK 20% weekend cashback is back !! 20% CASHBACK on Saturday & Sunday!
1 June 2011 - 31 March 2012Latest!
http://www.ambg.com.my/promotions.asp?sc=p..._creditcard_107. U guys may have a look on this. monthly CAP at RM80!!
chemistry
post Jun 14 2011, 10:45 PM

3,065 posts

QUOTE(der.msia @ Jun 14 2011, 10:34 PM)
OMG! AMBANK 20% weekend cashback is back !! 20% CASHBACK on Saturday & Sunday!
1 June 2011 - 31 March 2012Latest!
http://www.ambg.com.my/promotions.asp?sc=p..._creditcard_107. U guys may have a look on this. monthly CAP at RM80!!
The transaction is calculated based on every block of RM50 for Petrol & RM100 for Hypermarket/Supermarkets, Departmental Stores and Pharmacies purchases.

There is a maximum of RM2,000,000.00 Cash Back available for this entire Program with a capping of RM200,000.00 per month based on first-come first- served basis. An Eligible Cardmember is only entitled to a maximum  payout  of RM80 Cash Back  per month.

Awesome promo. Anyway, who in here own an Ambank card? sweat.gif
kiddoclown
post Jun 15 2011, 11:22 AM

13 posts

delete

This post has been edited by kiddoclown: Jun 15 2011, 11:22 AM
da1gal
post Jun 15 2011, 06:43 PM

52 posts

1. Annual Income: RM48 to RM60K (Govt servant)

3. Card required for: List all your needs. Example Petrol, Cash Back/Rebate , AirMiles, Overseas Transactions, Free LCCT Lounge Access , any others would be a plus

4. Existing credit cards if any: Maybank Visa Petronas Gold (pay goes into Maybank so decided it was convenient, now considering other CC cos I think it's not giving me enough value)

5. Preferred Bank or Considering CC from banks: Ambank, RHB, CIMB, SCB, Public Bank.

7. Estimated Spending per month with the card: RM1K to RM5K

Thank you so much!!

This post has been edited by da1gal: Jun 15 2011, 06:43 PM
WEE2000
post Jun 15 2011, 08:36 PM

217 posts

1. Annual Income: i resigned from my company on Feb2011, doing online trading since, so i dun have any salaries. i have a shop which was established 3mths ago.

3. Card required for: Petrol, Cash Back/Rebate. Loans

4. Existing credit cards if any :Maybank Visa used for 3yrs, CL is 12 or 14k. Prompt payment, never had overdues..

5. Preferred Bank or Considering CC from banks: CIMB, Public, HongLeong, any bank in Connaught

6. Others: i need to swipe fully my credit limit my current cc n do a balance transfer to other cc with 0% interest, so i'm getting a no interest loan.

May i know if i could apply for a cc with 0% balance transfer interest?
TSGen-X
post Jun 15 2011, 09:35 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(da1gal @ Jun 15 2011, 06:43 PM)
1. Annual Income: RM48 to RM60K (Govt servant)

3. Card required for: List all your needs. Example Petrol, Cash Back/Rebate , AirMiles, Overseas Transactions, Free LCCT Lounge Access , any others would be a plus

4. Existing credit cards if any: Maybank Visa Petronas Gold (pay goes into Maybank so decided it was convenient, now considering other CC cos I think it's not giving me enough value)

5. Preferred Bank or Considering CC from banks: Ambank, RHB, CIMB, SCB, Public Bank.

Thank you so much!!
well since you got MBB Petronas, go apply for Maybankard 2 Cards and get 5X TP for ALL Transactions and 5% cash rebate on Saturdays and Sundays. But this card don't give you AIRMILES not access to LCCT PPL. Goto Maybankard 2 Cards thread for more info.

BUT most Petronas don't accept AMEX. Goto Petrol Thread to read more on credit cards for Petrol. Check out the revamp UOB OneCard too.

For Airmiles, I guess you can consider Citibank PremierMiles and it comes with 2 Priority Pass to allow you to enter LCCT PPL. Click here to read my article on credit cards that gives you access to LCCT Plaza Premium Lounge. If you fly Air Asia. check out Citibank Air Asia where you get to book a day earlier for AA offers.

click here to read my article Malasia Top Ten CC.

You may also click below link to read my article on Maybankard 2 Cards and there is a link to download the application form. Just fill in details and fax to them

http://creditcardsmalaysia.blogspot.com/20...an-express.html

QUOTE(WEE2000 @ Jun 15 2011, 08:36 PM)
1. Annual Income: i resigned from my company on Feb2011, doing online trading since, so i dun have any salaries. i have a shop which was established 3mths ago.

3. Card required for:  Petrol, Cash Back/Rebate. Loans

4. Existing credit cards if any :Maybank Visa used for 3yrs, CL is 12 or 14k. Prompt payment, never had overdues..

5. Preferred Bank or Considering CC from banks: CIMB, Public, HongLeong, any bank in Connaught

6. Others: i need to swipe fully my credit limit my current cc n do a balance transfer to other cc with 0% interest, so i'm getting a no interest loan.

May i know if i could apply for a cc with 0% balance transfer interest?
Well, you can use last year Borang BE and EA form, moreover you got card with good record more than 1 year so that's good.

So for cash back and petrol, Maybankard 2 Amex and OCBC Titanium MasteCard. Goto to MBB 2 and OCBC TMC threads.

For Loans with interest, well I guess that would be either HLB or EON Bank. Click below link to read my article.
http://creditcardsmalaysia.blogspot.com/20...fer-2011-0.html

For BT 0%, CIMB offer ending soon. Maybank have extended 0% 12 months until end of the year. Public Bank also got 0% for 6 months (when ending no idea, you got to go check). FAst fast go apply for another card and then you can either transfer to the new card or into MBB.

This post has been edited by Gen-X: Jun 15 2011, 09:38 PM
da1gal
post Jun 15 2011, 11:03 PM

52 posts

QUOTE(Gen-X @ Jun 15 2011, 09:35 PM)
well since you got MBB Petronas, go apply for Maybankard 2 Cards and get 5X TP for ALL Transactions and 5% cash rebate on Saturdays and Sundays. But this card don't give you AIRMILES not access to LCCT PPL. Goto Maybankard 2 Cards thread for more info.

BUT most Petronas don't accept AMEX. Goto Petrol Thread to read more on credit cards for Petrol. Check out the revamp UOB OneCard too.

For Airmiles, I guess you can consider Citibank PremierMiles and it comes with 2 Priority Pass to allow you to enter LCCT PPL. Click here to read my article on credit cards that gives you access to LCCT Plaza Premium Lounge. If you fly Air Asia. check out Citibank Air Asia where you get to book a day earlier for AA offers.

click here to read my article Malasia Top Ten CC.

You may also click below link to read my article on Maybankard 2 Cards and there is a link to download the application form. Just fill in details and fax to them

http://creditcardsmalaysia.blogspot.com/20...an-express.html
Well, you can use last year Borang BE and EA form, moreover you got card with good record more than 1 year so that's good.

So for cash back and petrol, Maybankard 2 Amex and OCBC Titanium MasteCard. Goto to MBB 2 and OCBC TMC threads.

For Loans with interest, well I guess that would be either HLB or EON Bank. Click below link to read my article. 
http://creditcardsmalaysia.blogspot.com/20...fer-2011-0.html

For BT 0%, CIMB offer ending soon. Maybank have extended 0% 12 months until end of the year. Public Bank also got 0% for 6 months (when ending no idea, you got to go check). FAst fast go apply for another card and then you can either transfer to the new card or into MBB.
Thanks so much for the info, but just wondering ,in your post you state Maybankard 2 Amex Visa and Mastercard... I looked at MBB website, but no mention of any Visa card available, just Amex and Mastercard.. Can you confirm? It would be difficult to pump petrol here if they dont accept Amex, cos I live in a small town, only have Shell and Petronas.

Could I possibly have the link for the Petrol Thread? Didn't see it in your post.. Thanks a lot for your trouble..

Also, in your articles abt the credit card, maybe you can consider adding the eligibility (Min p.a income) for the cards, so that it's easier for the reader to know if they are eligible... Hehe thanks!!
TSGen-X
post Jun 16 2011, 06:58 AM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(da1gal @ Jun 15 2011, 11:03 PM)
Thanks so much for the info, but just wondering ,in your post you state Maybankard 2 Amex Visa and Mastercard... I looked at MBB website, but no mention of any Visa card available, just Amex and Mastercard.. Can you confirm? It would be difficult to pump petrol here if they dont accept Amex, cos I live in a small town, only have Shell and Petronas.

Could I possibly have the link for the Petrol Thread? Didn't see it in your post.. Thanks a lot for your trouble..

Also, in your articles abt the credit card, maybe you can consider adding the eligibility (Min p.a income) for the cards, so that it's easier for the reader to know if they are eligible... Hehe thanks!!
As for Maybankard 2 Cards, it comes with either Visa or MAsterCArd. The previous application form I posted at my blog did state that MC only available from April onwards (today I have revised the link to the latest form). And no wonder you are confused because the application form at MBB website don't mentioned or allow you you chose Visa or MC. But that's normal as Maybank info never complete or accurate.

And if most of the merchants in your town don't accept AMEX, then no point getting the MBB 2 Cards.

Click here to Petrol Thread. and Click here to MBB 2 Thread. And after clicking these links, you'll now know what I meant by threads.

As for income requirement, I cannot be spoon feeding when the info is easily available at banks websites AND I usually do post a link to the banks website too . But I did write a general post on it. Click here to read my article Malaysia CC Annual Income Requirement and Credit Limit.

This post has been edited by Gen-X: Jun 16 2011, 08:46 AM
milentechie
post Jun 16 2011, 07:40 AM

175 posts

The transaction is calculated based on every block of RM50 for Petrol & RM100 for Hypermarket/Supermarkets, Departmental Stores and Pharmacies purchases.

What does that mean? Need to pump min RM50 fuel to get 20% rebate?
Attractive promo. Might go and apply one. smile.gif

Plus RM50 reward with new application with minimum spend. http://www.ambg.com.my/promotions.asp?sc=p..._creditcard_074

There is a maximum of RM2,000,000.00 Cash Back available for this entire Program with a capping of RM200,000.00 per month based on first-come first- served basis. An Eligible Cardmember is only entitled to a maximum payout of RM80 Cash Back per month.

You will need to be the first 2,500 cardmembers to spend RM400 on the first Sat of every month at selected hypermarkets/supermarkets/departmental/pharmacies to reap the max rm80 cash back before the RM200K cap is used up. wink.gif

Competitive isn't it?

This post has been edited by milentechie: Jun 16 2011, 11:35 AM
shazzmania
post Jun 19 2011, 09:13 PM

RR3
675 posts

3. Card required for: Mainly to pump petrol at Petronas, celcom phone bill and Celeb Fitness membership. others if short of cash for emergency cases only.

5. Preferred Bank or Considering CC from banks: Maybank, CIMB, or recommend me other options.

6. Others: Please be specific : my income based on commission, working hard to get it to atleast RM60k/pa. I would prefer Islamic credit card

TSGen-X
post Jun 19 2011, 10:13 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(shazzmania @ Jun 19 2011, 09:13 PM)

3. Card required for: Mainly to pump petrol at Petronas, celcom phone bill and Celeb Fitness membership. others if short of cash for emergency cases only.

5. Preferred Bank or Considering CC from banks: Maybank, CIMB, or recommend me other options.

6. Others: Please be specific : my income based on commission, working hard to get it to atleast RM60k/pa. I would prefer Islamic credit card

For Islamic card and Petronas, get MBB Islamic Petronas Ikwan Visa or CIMB Islamic Petronas MasterCard. As for short of cash, get a debit card instead.

This post has been edited by Gen-X: Jun 19 2011, 10:15 PM

124 Pages « < 20 21 22 23 24 > » Top

0.0411sec    0.38    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 03:21 PM