124 Pages « < 30 31 32 33 34 > » Bottom

Photography The Official Nikon Discussion thread V11, The Darth Vader troops !

Andy214
post Aug 4 2011, 01:24 AM

3,308 posts

QUOTE(celciuz @ Aug 3 2011, 06:14 PM)
Focusing smile.gif which is why accurate consistent focusing is important. Basically because when front or back focus the sensor unable to resolve the details thus being muddy (from what I understand and also my experience).
Thanks. I wonder what's causing the AF accuracy, possibly not enough contrast? It's on wide angle at f/5.6 shooting group, sometimes get these kind of "muddy" shot, not sure where it locks on, re-take again might be able to get it right. If happen at longer focal length on smaller subject, I suppose it's higher chance of back focusing? The main problem is it's not really visible in the viewfinder... what about FX viewfinder? tongue.gif

QUOTE(hidden830726 @ Aug 3 2011, 08:18 PM)
Share with u this new review

http://mansurovs.com/nikon-50mm-f1-8g-review

Its definitely worth the money.
Yet another detail review from him. Surprised to see the bokeh quality of the Sigma there, wooot~

freddy manson
post Aug 4 2011, 04:20 AM

ðñê hêll ð£ å gµ¥
4,858 posts

QUOTE(vearn27 @ Aug 3 2011, 07:56 PM)
For this, probably because the 50mm cheaper than 35mm kua...
Equivalently, the 50f18G and 35f18G is roughly the same price range
Only the 50f18D is cheaper

QUOTE(kEazYc @ Aug 3 2011, 08:26 PM)
What's BG again sweat.gif i remember i asked before lol, but forgotten what is it. :S

EDIT: oh nvm, remember'ed, it is battery grip.
Also known as vertical grip...
celciuz
post Aug 4 2011, 07:19 AM

14,037 posts

QUOTE(Andy214 @ Aug 4 2011, 01:24 AM)
Thanks. I wonder what's causing the AF accuracy, possibly not enough contrast? It's on wide angle at f/5.6 shooting group, sometimes get these kind of "muddy" shot, not sure where it locks on, re-take again might be able to get it right. If happen at longer focal length on smaller subject, I suppose it's higher chance of back focusing? The main problem is it's not really visible in the viewfinder... what about FX viewfinder?  tongue.gif
Yet another detail review from him. Surprised to see the bokeh quality of the Sigma there, wooot~
I would say both body + lens are the factor from my experience.

Body factors would be, cross sensor versus non-cross sensor. The cross sensor would be more accurate than the non-cross sensor (vertical / horizontal depending on position). Also, different type of module too, 11AF versus the 51AF.

Lens, SWM versus screw drive (AF-D). Both gives different focusing accuracy. Oh another thing, the aperture of your lens. Take for example, 18-105 at 105 min aperture is f/5.6 versus 50mm f/1.4 at f/1.4. Under low light condition, less light will be entering for the 105 f/5.6 as compared to 50mm f/1.4.

DX and FX view finder differences in terms of brightness? I would say more dependent on the type of prism used. Pentaprism or using pentamirror. D90 and above uses pentaprism where else below uses pentamirror, different amount of light going through.
Andy214
post Aug 4 2011, 09:31 AM

3,308 posts

QUOTE(celciuz @ Aug 4 2011, 07:19 AM)
I would say both body + lens are the factor from my experience.

Body factors would be, cross sensor versus non-cross sensor. The cross sensor would be more accurate than the non-cross sensor (vertical / horizontal depending on position). Also, different type of module too, 11AF versus the 51AF.

Lens, SWM versus screw drive (AF-D). Both gives different focusing accuracy. Oh another thing, the aperture of your lens. Take for example, 18-105 at 105 min aperture is f/5.6 versus 50mm f/1.4 at f/1.4. Under low light condition, less light will be entering for the 105 f/5.6 as compared to 50mm f/1.4.

DX and FX view finder differences in terms of brightness? I would say more dependent on the type of prism used. Pentaprism or using pentamirror. D90 and above uses pentaprism where else below uses pentamirror, different amount of light going through.
Thanks~
I suppose probably due to the smaller aperture which causes less light thus less contrast? I think the main issue, it's hard to be sure whether the focus is spot on from the small viewfinder, only after reviewing+zoom-in, then need to re-take.

jchue73
post Aug 4 2011, 09:44 AM

2,496 posts

QUOTE(kEazYc @ Aug 3 2011, 07:57 PM)
I would like to share mine, i decided to get d7000 + kit + 35mm f1.8g, reason why i get that prime is because i know i'm going to shoot a lot of portrait shot + the bokehness, and of course some family photos or friends, and i know most of the place i will be are low lights, the f1.8 will helps a lot.
Fair enough. Hopefully you realise that owning the 35mm f/1.8 (or any good lens for that matter) does not do magic and automatically get you better pictures. You will be faced with different problems which is mostly user related.

QUOTE(Calvin Seak @ Aug 3 2011, 09:19 PM)
see the review shared by hidden, the G is way better than the D version..

the 50mm lens would be a 75mm lens due to the fact its an fx lens and you're having a dx body!
On a side note, it does not matter if it's FX or DX lens. Once mounted on a DX body, the 50mm FX lens gets a 75mm FOV.

A 35mm f/1.8 DX lens gets an equivalent of 52.5mm for FOV.

QUOTE(zizheng @ Aug 3 2011, 10:24 PM)
hello boys and girls. i'm rather new to cameras. but somehow i've spotted the coolpix p300. read some reviews and saw some videos. looks rather good and the disadvantages which comes with the camera is acceptable to me. any suggestions/recommendations/thoughts on P300? please do share. would also like to know if anyone has got one and whats the best bargain in KL? thanks!
Thom Hogan just posted a mini review of it. Have a read.

http://bythom.com/nikon-p300-review.htm

QUOTE(chianping @ Aug 3 2011, 10:50 PM)
i have being using kit lens for the past year. wanna try to take some potrait with bigger aperture. Recently seen too many impressive bokeh pic so wanna try it out .Some might think it is a waste of money as it might be the photographer skill and not the lens or equip.
Yes, skill + equipment goes hand in hand.

QUOTE(Andy214 @ Aug 4 2011, 01:24 AM)
Thanks. I wonder what's causing the AF accuracy, possibly not enough contrast? It's on wide angle at f/5.6 shooting group, sometimes get these kind of "muddy" shot, not sure where it locks on, re-take again might be able to get it right. If happen at longer focal length on smaller subject, I suppose it's higher chance of back focusing? The main problem is it's not really visible in the viewfinder... what about FX viewfinder?  tongue.gif
Muddy? In the centre part or at the side of the image? If you look at other objects in the image, do you get them sharp or the whole image is muddy? What wide angle lens is this?

f/5.6 on wide angle should dispel most problems with misfocus as it gives quite a huge DoF.
celciuz
post Aug 4 2011, 10:13 AM

14,037 posts

QUOTE(Andy214 @ Aug 4 2011, 09:31 AM)
Thanks~
I suppose probably due to the smaller aperture which causes less light thus less contrast? I think the main issue, it's hard to be sure whether the focus is spot on from the small viewfinder, only after reviewing+zoom-in, then need to re-take.
Yeah, example if using 14-24 f/2.8 versus maybe 16-35 f/4. The 14-24 would be opening at f/2.8 thus gathering more light where else the 16-35 would be opening at f/4 during focusing.

But then again, usually when using wide angle no issue... issue only when using big aperture lens. Slight back or front focus --> blur sweat.gif
kEazYc
post Aug 4 2011, 11:35 AM

1,314 posts

QUOTE(jchue73 @ Aug 4 2011, 09:44 AM)
Fair enough. Hopefully you realise that owning the 35mm f/1.8 (or any good lens for that matter) does not do magic and automatically get you better pictures. You will be faced with different problems which is mostly user related.
On a side note, it does not matter if it's FX or DX lens. Once mounted on a DX body, the 50mm FX lens gets a 75mm FOV.
True, what matter is who is behind the camera biggrin.gif
freddy manson
post Aug 4 2011, 11:41 AM

ðñê hêll ð£ å gµ¥
4,858 posts

How about the DC lenses then?
hidden830726
post Aug 4 2011, 11:53 AM

Moko the Linaslayer
2,847 posts

Guys / girls,

I need help, its August now, and I need to take my mandatory block leave (7 days in a row + weekends), don’t have much plan on where to go atm, worst, I need to submit the my block leave plan now.

Want to plan a trip for photography. Going alone. Only plan to bring body + 50mm lens, no tripod no additional lens.

• Limited budget, maybe 2k, all in, include stay and travel.
• Either September, October, or November 2011
• South East Asia, Malaysia, or its neighboring countries

Any ideas?
• Something in my mind, I have relative in Singapore, I go Singapore, stay with them, couch or something, take a Bus, so I can save on traveling cost, visit Marina Bay, good?

Calvin Seak
post Aug 4 2011, 11:54 AM

Hiring, TTDI, KL only
2,448 posts

Hey hidden! I'll be heading to Singapore as well, next week for 6 days wink.gif Just for photography purposes too and some fun wink.gif
Andy214
post Aug 4 2011, 12:49 PM

3,308 posts

QUOTE(jchue73 @ Aug 4 2011, 09:44 AM)
Muddy? In the centre part or at the side of the image? If you look at other objects in the image, do you get them sharp or the whole image is muddy? What wide angle lens is this?

f/5.6 on wide angle should dispel most problems with misfocus as it gives quite a huge DoF.
Consider whole image I think, for those which cannot find where it actually lock focus on. For those I can find, then I know where it focus at; For wide angle, this should be less issue.

Yea, at f/5.6 on wide angle should dispel most problems, that's why I use smaller aperture; unless it gives inaccurate focus. What I notice is, sometimes it's able to lock accurately, sometimes it doesn't at same setting, same distance, etc. What I do is, I focus somewhere else, then focus back on the area; If I don't do that, somehow it's not able to re-focus correctly sometimes.

The viewfinder looks fine, focus indicator locks on, on small display, it looks like ok (but noticeable for experienced people), but once zoom in, you can see very clearly. Still trying to figure out how to "tackle" this while shooting.
hidden830726
post Aug 4 2011, 01:10 PM

Moko the Linaslayer
2,847 posts

QUOTE(Calvin Seak @ Aug 4 2011, 11:54 AM)
Hey hidden! I'll be heading to Singapore as well, next week for 6 days wink.gif Just for photography purposes too and some fun wink.gif
Care to pm with me exact date of departure and plan?

How about LIMA 2011 somewhere Dec 2011, LIMA anything worth taking pic?
chianping
post Aug 4 2011, 01:24 PM

246 posts

QUOTE(chiahau @ Aug 3 2011, 11:59 PM)
Want bokeh lens, go 70-200/85G straight..

Bokeh till die =,=

Choose the focal length you like/comfortable rather than getting a lens for its bokeh ability, unless of course, you used it before and like it.
Budget constrain fren. At first was thinking third party lens but think about it, try use nikkor lens first.From there i will explore.Photography is a life time learning experience =)
RobustRobot
post Aug 4 2011, 01:58 PM

164 posts

darn.. i hate myself coz cant make up my mind!
flashgun ( sb700 or 50mm 1.8g..) + dry box + proper camera bag + reflector

im using d90 with 18105 as kitset... help guys gimme some thought on this. do u guys often used a flashgun? outdoor maybe?
babyk
post Aug 4 2011, 02:00 PM

BANNED 101/100(tm) : Your avatar too sexy
10,052 posts

For those who are using D700, the MH-18a charger is Made in Malaysia or Made in Japan?

The screw is special type of screw at the bottom side or just normal + shape screw?

I mixed up with my other charger! LOL
Agito666
post Aug 4 2011, 02:04 PM

11,861 posts

QUOTE(babyk @ Aug 4 2011, 02:00 PM)
For those who are using D700, the MH-18a charger is Made in Malaysia or Made in Japan?

The screw is special type of screw at the bottom side or just normal + shape screw?

I mixed up with my other charger! LOL
why dont you just google it? whistling.gif
http://www.nikonusa.com/Nikon-Products/Pro...ck-Charger.html

now go back and check your D700 is use what battery.

okay i also googled for you, it use EN-EL3e battery. so answers is COMPATIBLE.
vearn27
post Aug 4 2011, 02:04 PM

Doink! Doink! Doink!
7,284 posts

I still have no idea what celciuz and Andy214 are discussing about sweat.gif

Inaccurate focus issue causing muddy (blur image as in taken via digital zoom by PnS or handphone look-like) ? unsure.gif
babyk
post Aug 4 2011, 02:10 PM

BANNED 101/100(tm) : Your avatar too sexy
10,052 posts

QUOTE(Agito666 @ Aug 4 2011, 02:04 PM)
why dont you just google it? whistling.gif
http://www.nikonusa.com/Nikon-Products/Pro...ck-Charger.html

now go back and check your D700 is use what battery.

okay i also googled for you, it use EN-EL3e battery. so answers is COMPATIBLE.
MH-18a of course is used for charging EN-EL3, EN-EL3a, EN-EL3e

I have been using Nikon systems since 2005

I am asking D700 MH-18a charger made in Malaysia or Made in Japan

I am not asking what battery can it charge doh.gif doh.gif doh.gif doh.gif
Agito666
post Aug 4 2011, 02:32 PM

11,861 posts

QUOTE(babyk @ Aug 4 2011, 02:10 PM)

I am not asking what battery can it charge  doh.gif  doh.gif  doh.gif  doh.gif
but then made in malaysia or japan will concern you that charge better or faster? unsure.gif
compatible then can charge liao lor XD. mixed up charger nothing big to afraid lor haha unless both voltage are not same like iphone and ipad wall charger. whistling.gif

unless you mixed up with third party charger? hmm.gif

This post has been edited by Agito666: Aug 4 2011, 02:34 PM
vearn27
post Aug 4 2011, 02:33 PM

Doink! Doink! Doink!
7,284 posts

QUOTE(babyk @ Aug 4 2011, 02:10 PM)

I am not asking what battery can it charge  doh.gif  doh.gif  doh.gif  doh.gif