4 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

Photography The Official Nikon Discussion thread V11, The Darth Vader troops !

hidden830726
post Aug 1 2011, 08:36 PM

Moko the Linaslayer
2,847 posts

howmuch D400 will cost?
hidden830726
post Aug 1 2011, 09:00 PM

Moko the Linaslayer
2,847 posts

QUOTE(MichaelJohn @ Aug 1 2011, 08:45 PM)
Wait , im re imagining D300 as D700 again , forgot price for D300 set around 6K....  rclxub.gif  doh.gif
Left my good old D90 in the dry box too long , until forgot price for D300 =_=
6k.. hmm.Below 6k i'll get one.
hidden830726
post Aug 2 2011, 10:12 AM

Moko the Linaslayer
2,847 posts

Surprise
July 30 (rumors)--Okay, I'm gonna take a few things back. Trying to read the tea leaves in Japan about what's coming and when is always difficult. All the disruption that's occurred due to the March 11th quake has just made it harder to make sense of some of the bits and pieces that do leak. Some suppliers have changed, some manufacturing has been moved around a bit (some mounts now made in Malaysia, for instance), so the knowledge of various sources has also changed a bit, too. I lost one source and gained a new one. Coupled with hectic and changing management decisions, I've gotten quite a bit of conflicting information in the past few months.

Basically, the crowd reading this site is interested in five cameras: the expected new Nikon mirrorless, and the replacements for the D300s, D700, D3s, and D3h. I believe I've called some of this wrong, so I'm now going to try to correct my predictions:

D700 replacement: August 24 announce, October delivery.
    D3s replacement (D4): August 24 announce, December delivery to NPS pros.
    Nikon mirrorless: January CES announce, February delivery.
    D300s replacement: February announce, delivery shortly thereafter.
    D3x replacement: not predictable at the moment, but late 2012 seems to be the earliest plausible possibility.

Yeah, I'm a bit surprised, too. Do I have 100% confidence in those five statements? No. But I have more confidence in them than I do my last prediction. I do have near 100% confidence that we've got two more DSLRs coming in 2011, though, and that one of them is the D4. It's been that other product that's been pesky to pin down. But one of my Japanese friends let something slip that has reversed my original thought (D300s replacement in August).

In many ways, that makes sense. The successful D7000 has taken pressure off producing a D400 (or is it D8000 now?), and announcing a pair of next generation FX bodies together has more punch than the FX/DX combo, plus it finally addresses the perceived 5DII gap (with Sony now about to open a DX gap, though; see below).

There's no real pressure on Nikon to launch the mirrorless product, and I believe they'll try to make a splash (as will Canon) at CES in January, where they have two booths and are rumored to be lobbying to change to a larger presence. It's a consumer product, after all, and that's a perfect launch forum for it, especially with the PMA trade show being right next door this year. A D300s successor in early 2012 and a D3x followup at the end of the year puts them back at about their yearly 3 serious cameras rate, which they fell dramatically off of in 2010 (2; maybe they were counting the P7000 ;~).

Okay, so my predictions have wobbled back and forth across the highway like a drunken driver. Let's hope I don't crash.

Meanwhile, the August 23/24 dates are starting to look like a freeway pileup of their own. Sony will be announcing two APS DSLRs (including their A77 competitor to the D300s, and rumored to be 24mp), two NEX models, three NEX lenses, at least two Alpha lenses, and a new fast focusing adapter for Alpha lenses on NEX cameras (incorporates phase detect).

As Nikon Rumors has suggested, Nikon will preceed their DSLR announcement with Coolpix announcements, including a GPS and tilt screen equipped P7100 followup to the P7000, kicking off a new line of rugged and waterproof Coolpix, and their third attempt to make a Coolpix with a projector stick in the market (not).

From Mr Thom Hogan

http://www.bythom.com/index.htm
hidden830726
post Aug 2 2011, 10:53 AM

Moko the Linaslayer
2,847 posts

waiting for D300s replacement, budget is one of my constraint too, FX too early for me i guess, 1st quarter next year just enough to give me some breathing space.

This post has been edited by hidden830726: Aug 2 2011, 11:01 AM
hidden830726
post Aug 2 2011, 11:06 AM

Moko the Linaslayer
2,847 posts

QUOTE(Agito666 @ Aug 2 2011, 10:58 AM)
i was bragging since last year end until now i manage save 2k  unsure.gif

Edit i mean d300s replacement

hahha. Same, i bought tons of figure, some still on the way due to Pre order. Hot Toys, Boa hancock etc,

Still, no excuse lah, this photography as a hobby is way better than collecting figure, more healthy and practical.

Earn more money and remain bth hobby

hidden830726
post Aug 2 2011, 11:16 AM

Moko the Linaslayer
2,847 posts

QUOTE(Agito666 @ Aug 2 2011, 11:11 AM)
figure = cheap model that wont bragging and will stay still in a fixed pose let you shoot until she melt.  tongue.gif
Boa Hancock in Wedding Gown = wedding photography

http://www.nekomagic.com/?p=21659

Added on August 2, 2011, 11:16 am
QUOTE(KIEN18 @ Aug 2 2011, 11:10 AM)
Pic spam...comment please.

Nice. But if the person at the left can be excluded, then could be better

Edit: Its a mirror lol

This post has been edited by hidden830726: Aug 2 2011, 11:20 AM
hidden830726
post Aug 2 2011, 07:23 PM

Moko the Linaslayer
2,847 posts

I owned d5100, as compare with D7000. I like 5100 due to its lightweight, its cheaper obviously and able to produce 7k alike photos. The video cap is just a plus.

D7k, I like the viewfinder better, seems bigger, not contradicting myself, 7k feel more heavy and more profesional feel. If budget no constraint, buy 7k I will. The control also seems more attentive.

Still I never regret getting D5100
hidden830726
post Aug 2 2011, 08:39 PM

Moko the Linaslayer
2,847 posts

QUOTE(eugene88 @ Aug 2 2011, 08:19 PM)
I hope I can get rid of my bad gaming habit once I buy this expensive DSLR  biggrin.gif
hahaha u wont be able to do that.

Added on August 2, 2011, 8:39 pm
QUOTE(kEazYc @ Aug 2 2011, 07:30 PM)
Got this quote from one of the former here.

Nikon D7000 body + 18-105mm VR + AF50mm f1.8D = RM4200

Both comes with 8GB SD card + DSLR Bag + Nikon Malaysia warranty

Why i go for D7000, Magnesium alloy, ergonomic, heavy (easier to control for me), 6 fps, these are the list why i wanted to get
As for alternate reason, my mom tell me, if wan buy straight away get a good one sweat.gif.
The last time i check around a month ago is around 4k for the same stuff

This post has been edited by hidden830726: Aug 2 2011, 08:39 PM
hidden830726
post Aug 2 2011, 09:26 PM

Moko the Linaslayer
2,847 posts

QUOTE(MichaelJohn @ Aug 2 2011, 08:40 PM)
Thrust me , if you can devote yourself for having fun shooting with it , you would eventually forgot how the computer even starts up...
Had experienced it myself when first night with ma D90 , though didn't sleep the night reading the manual  tongue.gif
But one thing, i spend less time gaming nowadays, i read guides and photography books instead of gaming
hidden830726
post Aug 2 2011, 10:18 PM

Moko the Linaslayer
2,847 posts

QUOTE(yanhui95 @ Aug 2 2011, 10:16 PM)
hi, 4k sounds extremely attractive, where did you get that price from?
Foto Selangor at Pertama, maybe now can cheaper
hidden830726
post Aug 2 2011, 10:22 PM

Moko the Linaslayer
2,847 posts

QUOTE(freddy manson @ Aug 2 2011, 10:19 PM)
Shashinki.com also offer 4k for the kitlens..

Nowadays its getting cheaper by the days u know..
Last time i check its D7k + kitlens + 50mm old + Bag + Memory

Definitely better deal than shashinki
hidden830726
post Aug 3 2011, 08:18 PM

Moko the Linaslayer
2,847 posts

Share with u this new review

http://mansurovs.com/nikon-50mm-f1-8g-review

Its definitely worth the money.
hidden830726
post Aug 3 2011, 09:57 PM

Moko the Linaslayer
2,847 posts

buy the old one la if use D7000, the quality diff not that obvious lah, unless u dont have budget constraint.

50mm in DX (75mm), seems good enough, 50mm, is a bit too short for my liking.

Added on August 3, 2011, 9:59 pm
QUOTE(Calvin Seak @ Aug 3 2011, 09:19 PM)
see the review shared by hidden, the G is way better than the D version..

the 50mm lens would be a 75mm lens due to the fact its an fx lens and you're having a dx body!
Thats a few more review, go check it out.

Digital rev also got one.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6my3DO00X28

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=MZiwizm4TuA

This post has been edited by hidden830726: Aug 3 2011, 10:53 PM
hidden830726
post Aug 4 2011, 11:53 AM

Moko the Linaslayer
2,847 posts

Guys / girls,

I need help, its August now, and I need to take my mandatory block leave (7 days in a row + weekends), don’t have much plan on where to go atm, worst, I need to submit the my block leave plan now.

Want to plan a trip for photography. Going alone. Only plan to bring body + 50mm lens, no tripod no additional lens.

• Limited budget, maybe 2k, all in, include stay and travel.
• Either September, October, or November 2011
• South East Asia, Malaysia, or its neighboring countries

Any ideas?
• Something in my mind, I have relative in Singapore, I go Singapore, stay with them, couch or something, take a Bus, so I can save on traveling cost, visit Marina Bay, good?

hidden830726
post Aug 4 2011, 01:10 PM

Moko the Linaslayer
2,847 posts

QUOTE(Calvin Seak @ Aug 4 2011, 11:54 AM)
Hey hidden! I'll be heading to Singapore as well, next week for 6 days wink.gif Just for photography purposes too and some fun wink.gif
Care to pm with me exact date of departure and plan?

How about LIMA 2011 somewhere Dec 2011, LIMA anything worth taking pic?
hidden830726
post Aug 4 2011, 10:14 PM

Moko the Linaslayer
2,847 posts

k, its not mirror.
hidden830726
post Aug 6 2011, 10:12 PM

Moko the Linaslayer
2,847 posts

guys,

im planing to buy wide angle lens, im using D5100 currently, what is the apparent options for me?

I read this coming August launch, Nikon will launch 3 new lens too, one of them is wide angle, any one have news to share?
hidden830726
post Aug 6 2011, 10:42 PM

Moko the Linaslayer
2,847 posts

QUOTE(smokey @ Aug 6 2011, 10:25 PM)
u have
nikon 12-24
nikon 10-24
sigma 10-20
tamron 10-24 (many review says that this lens is very soft)

u can take tokina 11-16 and use manual focus too as this lens do not have built in motor...
All so expensive... hehe

How about this lens?

AF-S DX NIKKOR 16-85mm f/3.5-5.6G ED VR, anyone using it?
hidden830726
post Aug 7 2011, 06:36 AM

Moko the Linaslayer
2,847 posts

QUOTE(NecroPhilia @ Aug 7 2011, 12:37 AM)
Is Nikon D3100 still worth the value to buy? with the lens together or buy other lens for it?

What's the difference between Nikon D3100 and D5100,is it really difference much? ON tight budget RM2k
The extra RM300 really worth it. D5100 technically gives u D7000 picture due to same sensor.

Added on August 7, 2011, 6:37 am
QUOTE(eugene88 @ Aug 7 2011, 12:43 AM)
D5100 have better video capabilities than D7000?
Yes. D5100 is Nikon best attempt at video capabilities atm

Added on August 7, 2011, 6:38 am
QUOTE(arsengal @ Aug 7 2011, 01:16 AM)
Guys, can I know what is the difference between the Nikon 50mm f/1.8G and Nikon 50mm f/1.8D ?
In short 50mm 1.8g is better than 50mm 1.8D

This post has been edited by hidden830726: Aug 7 2011, 06:38 AM
hidden830726
post Aug 7 2011, 09:35 PM

Moko the Linaslayer
2,847 posts

PHOTTIX BATTERY GRIP BG-D5100 FOR NIKON D5100

SKU: 33332

Availability: In stock
$ 50.00

Product Description

A battery grip for use with Nikon D5100 DSLR.  This grip takes one or two EN-EL14 batteries. Effectively double your shooting time and make a small camera body easier to hold. This grip comes with a shutter-release button to make vertical shooting easy and comfortable . A short cable connects the battery grip to the Nikon D5100's remote port to provide this functionality.

Give me some solid reason to buy this please. It looks cool tho...

4 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0243sec    0.62    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 10th December 2025 - 01:00 PM