126 Pages « < 109 110 111 112 113 > » Bottom

Working in Singapore v7

deodorant
post Aug 16 2011, 10:03 AM

Surfing LYN instead of Working.
5,691 posts

I've been on LYN for YEARS and only now know how to use multi quote ... lol.

QUOTE(r1v3r @ Aug 15 2011, 10:10 PM)
hifi room?

nolah brother, where got so many free rooms to make a dedicated hifi room? i play my ps3 in the living room, which is right next to the corridor ... and also right next to my neighbour's living room.

QUOTE(seantang @ Aug 15 2011, 10:18 PM)
I've got a corner unit and my PS3 room is right next to the lift lobby and staircase, with no immediate neighbours next to that room. And my block faces a major intersection ie. farking noisy from the buses, cars and train. Play as loud as I want with the windows closed and curtains drawn, and you can't hear a damn thing over the traffic if you stand in the common corridor.

sad.gif ... my unit, towards the right is lift and staircase so it's fine ... but the left side neighbour's living room is super near. I suppose I should tell her to holler at me if I get too loud, then gradually increase the volume until she screams biggrin.gif ... then at least I'll know how loud is "too loud" biggrin.gif

on a side note, do you buy/sell second hand games? in KL i used to buy new then sell on LYN's garagesales, wonder what's the best way to do that here. hardwarezone forums?

QUOTE(suenz @ Aug 15 2011, 10:28 PM)
After a year of ACTIVE job searching, which you must show evidence of job applications and rejections then they will release you.

wah, so in that one year if cannot find job, you still need to stay here, pay rental, pay for your food, etc etc? well ... scholarship ... like that lor sad.gif
SUSkockroach
post Aug 16 2011, 10:11 AM

Certified Noob
3,256 posts

I need input from fellow forummers, just got my PR approved, but am working in Vietnam now. so I want to know what is the procedure needed and how many days I need to come back to Singapore for the application.

alvin227
post Aug 16 2011, 10:25 AM

299 posts

QUOTE(kockroach @ Aug 16 2011, 10:11 AM)
I need input from fellow forummers, just got my PR approved, but am working in Vietnam now. so I want to know what is the procedure needed and how many days I need to come back to Singapore for the application.

Only one day, make an appointment first, then come on the day to complete the procedure, your ic can be collect in next 2 weeks~2 month

Added on August 16, 2011, 10:28 amDo take note that you need to also prepare document as stated in your offer letter and a medical checkup is required if you have not done any in recent 2 years with records of MOM. Details enclosed in your offer letter as well.

This post has been edited by alvin227: Aug 16 2011, 10:28 AM
SUSkockroach
post Aug 16 2011, 10:29 AM

Certified Noob
3,256 posts

QUOTE(alvin227 @ Aug 16 2011, 09:25 AM)
Only one day, make an appointment first, then come on the day  to complete the procedure, your ic can be collect in next 2 weeks~2 month

Added on August 16, 2011, 10:28 amDo take note that you need to also prepare document as stated in your offer letter and a medical checkup is required if you have not done any in recent 2 years with records of MOM. Details enclosed in your offer letter as well.
Hmmm, thanks for the input. Once the letter send to my aunt house then I will get my aunt to check for me, as currently based in Vietnam.
Lester1987
post Aug 16 2011, 10:31 AM

2,017 posts

1 of the LYN big 3... sure can get PR la.... anyway, congratz...

for those who are new, let me introduce you to the LYN big 3.

1.Seantang
2.Mackiddo
3.kockroach

Any questions, you can ask them here..... smile.gif
r1v3r
post Aug 16 2011, 10:31 AM

1,305 posts

rclxms.gif congratulation!

Can't remember mine as it was long ago, maybe just go ICA and collect IC and REP at the counter.

For my kid, book appointment online to complete the formalities. On that day, wait for your turn at ICA level 5 and they call you to an interview room. sign on some doc, finger print then collect your IC and REP. 30min to 1 hr done.

you may want to setup your Singpass, CPF DPS nomination, medisave insurace, update IRAS tax rebate if any, ICA access card etc..
so one day for all these will be good.

ps: oh.. you just got the letter of approval ha... ok then want I said above is after you complate all the ICA paperworks.

This post has been edited by r1v3r: Aug 16 2011, 10:35 AM
deodorant
post Aug 16 2011, 10:49 AM

5,691 posts

QUOTE(Lester1987 @ Aug 16 2011, 10:31 AM)

1.Seantang
2.Mackiddo
3.kockroach

i thought we got a "big four?" 4th member alaskanbunny. 4 heavenly stars of LYN.
seantang
post Aug 16 2011, 10:52 AM

With Adult Supervision Only
6,624 posts

QUOTE(deodorant @ Aug 16 2011, 10:03 AM)
wah, so in that one year if cannot find job, you still need to stay here, pay rental, pay for your food, etc etc? well ... scholarship ... like that lor sad.gif
Actually no problem what. It's only a problem if the chap wants to be released from his bond. But he doesn't. He actually wants to work in SG. Ideally, if the bond holder (ie. govt?) can find him a job so that he can fulfil his bond, so much the better.
SUSkockroach
post Aug 16 2011, 11:07 AM

Certified Noob
3,256 posts

QUOTE(r1v3r @ Aug 16 2011, 09:31 AM)
rclxms.gif  congratulation!

Can't remember mine as it was long ago, maybe just go ICA and collect IC and REP at the counter.

For my kid, book appointment online to complete the formalities. On that day, wait for your turn at ICA level 5 and they call you to an interview room.  sign on some doc, finger print  then collect your IC and REP. 30min to 1 hr done.

you may want to setup your Singpass, CPF DPS nomination, medisave insurace, update IRAS tax rebate if any,  ICA access card  etc..
so one day for all these will be good.
ps: oh.. you just got the letter of approval ha... ok then want I said above is after you complate all the ICA paperworks.
Havent got the letter actually, just checked online this morning. Thanks though. I've had Singpass long ago when I first came here working. smile.gif

Added on August 16, 2011, 11:08 am
QUOTE(Lester1987 @ Aug 16 2011, 09:31 AM)
1 of the LYN big 3... sure can get PR la.... anyway, congratz...

1.Seantang
2.Mackiddo
3.kockroach

Well, my salary is only SGD 2.2k. How can it be part of the big 3.

This post has been edited by kockroach: Aug 16 2011, 11:08 AM
Lester1987
post Aug 16 2011, 11:22 AM

2,017 posts

QUOTE(kockroach @ Aug 16 2011, 11:07 AM)
Havent got the letter actually, just checked online this morning. Thanks though. I've had Singpass long ago when I first came here working. smile.gif

Added on August 16, 2011, 11:08 am
Well, my salary is only SGD 22k. How can it be part of the big 3.
omg, i din know u were earning SGD 22k a month shocking.gif

next outing the bill is on you then. brows.gif

by the way, i think its a good time to apply for PR for those who wants it. coz i feel that the gov is opening up the PR slots d.
Argiope
post Aug 16 2011, 11:28 AM

300 posts

kockroach, grats wor! How long was the wait?
suenz
post Aug 16 2011, 11:34 AM

QUOTE(seantang @ Aug 16 2011, 10:52 AM)
Actually no problem what. It's only a problem if the chap wants to be released from his bond. But he doesn't. He actually wants to work in SG. Ideally, if the bond holder (ie. govt?) can find him a job so that he can fulfil his bond, so much the better.
Haha the 'chap' you're referring to is actually a she biggrin.gif

You're right, in a way having the bond with Singapore sort of guarantees that my employment pass won't get rejected when I apply for a job but 3 years does tie me down because may not want to work in Singapore that long.

The Ministry of Education gave the tuition grant, is not a scholarship, we didn't even need to apply for it, it's granted, don't even get a chance to reject it!
They're good in tying ppl who they foresee may be potential 'talents' Sad to say, most of us are really just average sad.gif
yeahs4.1
post Aug 16 2011, 11:42 AM

Audio Freako
2,491 posts

QUOTE(suenz @ Aug 16 2011, 11:34 AM)

You're right, in a way having the bond with Singapore sort of guarantees that my employment pass won't get rejected when I apply for a job but 3 years does tie me down because may not want to work in Singapore that long.

The Ministry of Education gave the tuition grant, is not a scholarship, we didn't even need to apply for it, it's granted, don't even get a chance to reject it!
They're good in tying ppl who they foresee may be potential 'talents' Sad to say, most of us are really just average  sad.gif
Speaking of working, 3 years bond is actually relatively short if you're looking at 20 years of career. Anyway time flies and most of us here are like: Meh, I've been here for x years already. Didn't even realize it.
crazy25kid
post Aug 16 2011, 11:43 AM

Jack of all trades, master of none...in short, a NUB !!
1,424 posts

QUOTE(Lester1987 @ Aug 16 2011, 11:22 AM)
omg, i din know u were earning SGD 22k a month  shocking.gif

next outing the bill is on you then. brows.gif

by the way, i think its a good time to apply for PR for those who wants it. coz i feel that the gov is opening up the PR slots d.
Hehe...going to submit my form this friday.
Not sure why submitting a form needs an appointment too. rclxub.gif rclxub.gif
ivanswk
post Aug 16 2011, 11:49 AM

+J
2,110 posts

QUOTE(crazy25kid @ Aug 16 2011, 11:43 AM)
Hehe...going to submit my form this friday.
Not sure why submitting a form needs an appointment too.  rclxub.gif  rclxub.gif
need to
SUSkockroach
post Aug 16 2011, 12:09 PM

Certified Noob
3,256 posts

QUOTE(Argiope @ Aug 16 2011, 10:28 AM)
kockroach, grats wor! How long was the wait?
Applied on 1st of June. Do note that my appeal was rejected when I terminate my employment pass last year (change company).
deodorant
post Aug 16 2011, 12:11 PM

5,691 posts

QUOTE(suenz @ Aug 16 2011, 11:34 AM)

Yay, this greatly improves our female to male ratio (in this thread)! So what are the numbers now? Like uh .... 3 females and >9000 guys?

btw if any of you like to try new things and you've never tried Mad Jack Cafe ... don't try it. Food sucks and isn't cheap enough to appeal on the 'value for money' side.

[edit] engagement diamond! 3x excellent cut, G VS2, 0.61ct.

This post has been edited by deodorant: Aug 16 2011, 12:14 PM
Argiope
post Aug 16 2011, 12:42 PM

300 posts

QUOTE(kockroach @ Aug 16 2011, 12:09 PM)
Applied on 1st of June. Do note that my appeal was rejected when I terminate my employment pass last year (change company).
Meaning this is your 2nd application? And they took only 2 months plus to approve?
SUSkockroach
post Aug 16 2011, 01:01 PM

Certified Noob
3,256 posts

QUOTE(Argiope @ Aug 16 2011, 11:42 AM)
Meaning this is your 2nd application? And they took only 2 months plus to approve?
yes.
seantang
post Aug 16 2011, 01:39 PM

With Adult Supervision Only
6,624 posts

QUOTE(Lester1987 @ Aug 16 2011, 10:31 AM)

1.Seantang
2.Mackiddo
3.kockroach
Eh, I also don't earn $22K a month leh.

I'm also cee mah luk tou (sasame seed green bean) who spends more than he should and earns less than you'd think.

That new guy who came up with this Big3 thing... Rexona.., that's the real taiko. Genuine expatriate banker leh.

126 Pages « < 109 110 111 112 113 > » Top

0.0169sec    0.24    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 05:15 PM