129 Pages « < 109 110 111 112 113 > » Bottom

New Toyota Camry 2012, is Really coming now!

stix
post Sep 3 2012, 05:50 PM

276 posts

QUOTE(zweimmk @ Sep 3 2012, 02:52 PM)
Tell me about it, I sent my wife's Honda Civic FB for 3M tinting over the weekend and I had the pleasure of looking at an actual S-line fully loaded Audi A4 and that freaking B&O sound system almost made me want to drive down to Singapore and retrofit my Passat Audio System with Dynaudio speakers instead.

Bang & Olfusen. Damn!
i have high demands for audio but again, im no master in the field. in fact i know nuts about car audio. so, i let my ears judge most of the time biggrin.gif . that's why i prefer manufacturers bundle these speakers/systems together with the car to make my life much easier. i sat on my friends A7 last weekend and its BOSE system is pretty much the same to my ears (compared to mine). no longer have a beemer at home but im not sure if the new ones come with good speakers. i remembered my mum's old 5' had terrible speakers. average bass with distorted treble, especially when you sync through ipod.

how's the audio in your passat? gti has a pretty decent system.

This post has been edited by stix: Sep 3 2012, 05:51 PM
Lehrry
post Sep 3 2012, 05:55 PM

316 posts

anyone interested to buy toyota cars? drop me a pm smile.gif
highly discount biggrin.gif
cybermaster98
post Sep 3 2012, 05:58 PM

4,440 posts

QUOTE(Lehrry @ Sep 3 2012, 05:55 PM)
anyone interested to buy toyota cars? drop me a pm smile.gif
highly discount biggrin.gif
Really? If trade in Optima K5 for Camry 2.5L How much can get?
zweimmk
post Sep 3 2012, 06:45 PM

512 posts

QUOTE(cybermaster98 @ Sep 3 2012, 05:22 PM)
How's Infiniti Harman?
I have no idea, never listen to it long enough to give any solid conclusion and I'm no audiophile either, but it should be pretty decent since the manufacturer is Harman which also supplies the Harmon Kardon logic seven 11 speaker system in my friend's previous gen SLK and that sounds pretty good. Most stock audio won't be good unless it's sold as an option and even if brand names are included in the OTR price, you can be sure that it will not be the top of the line model but it should definitely sound at least above average compare to standard OEM sound system.
cybermaster98
post Sep 3 2012, 07:30 PM

4,440 posts

QUOTE(zweimmk @ Sep 3 2012, 06:45 PM)
I have no idea, never listen to it long enough to give any solid conclusion and I'm no audiophile either, but it should be pretty decent since the manufacturer is Harman which also supplies the Harmon Kardon logic seven 11 speaker system in my friend's previous gen SLK and that sounds pretty good. Most stock audio won't be good unless it's sold as an option and even if brand names are included in the OTR price, you can be sure that it will not be the top of the line model but it should definitely sound at least above average compare to standard OEM sound system.
This will give you an idea although its slightly different since the Malaysian version is a 6 CD changer and doesnt come with Navigation:

http://blogs.insideline.com/roadtests/2011...dio-review.html

DaBestOne
post Sep 3 2012, 07:48 PM

-LYN- 6 ★STARS★ Trader
1,329 posts

QUOTE(herojack41 @ Sep 3 2012, 10:38 AM)
prius C this small hybrid oledi cost about rm90k+ at malaysia liao with included tax cut....

if bring in camry hybrid  sweat.gif  sweat.gif it might not hav sales at all

I think it have its market lar. I'm looking forward to Camry Hyrid establish in Malaysia, rclxms.gif rclxms.gif
zweimmk
post Sep 3 2012, 08:36 PM

512 posts

QUOTE(cybermaster98 @ Sep 3 2012, 07:30 PM)
This will give you an idea although its slightly different since the Malaysian version is a 6 CD changer and doesnt come with Navigation:

http://blogs.insideline.com/roadtests/2011...dio-review.html
Yes I've read. It's not the top of the line Infinity audio system but performance is definitely better than your average stock OEM sound system. It will easily outclass the audio system found in our current crop of Camry, Teana, Accord and maybe even better than some of the default sound system found in the latest crop of continental cars.

However, true audiophiles will still find the range lacking and want to upgrade to more expensive aftermarket audio systems though. You can check out some of the US Optima forums, there are some people who would still change the infinity system for other audio marques because the audio performance is not good enough for them.
cybermaster98
post Sep 3 2012, 08:44 PM

4,440 posts

QUOTE(zweimmk @ Sep 3 2012, 08:36 PM)
Yes I've read. It's not the top of the line Infinity audio system but performance is definitely better than your average stock OEM sound system. It will easily outclass the audio system found in our current crop of Camry, Teana, Accord and maybe even better than some of the default sound system found in the latest crop of continental cars. 

However, true audiophiles will still find the range lacking and want to upgrade to more expensive aftermarket audio systems though. You can check out some of the US Optima forums, there are some people who would still change the infinity system for other audio marques because the audio performance is not good enough for them.
Well its good enuf for me. Also much better than the ones in the Sonata for sure. I even found it marginally better than the JBL in the Peugeot 508 but i could be wrong.
zweimmk
post Sep 3 2012, 08:44 PM

512 posts

QUOTE(stix @ Sep 3 2012, 05:50 PM)
i have high demands for audio but again, im no master in the field. in fact i know nuts about car audio. so, i let my ears judge most of the time  biggrin.gif . that's why i prefer manufacturers bundle these speakers/systems together with the car to make my life much easier. i sat on my friends A7 last weekend and its BOSE system is pretty much the same to my ears (compared to mine). no longer have a beemer at home but im not sure if the new ones come with good speakers. i remembered my mum's old 5' had terrible speakers. average bass with distorted treble, especially when you sync through ipod.

how's the audio in your passat? gti has a pretty decent system.
The audio is decent, not fantastic. The OEM audio supplier for Volvo and Volkswagen is Dynaudio of Belgium so I guess at least it's of slightly better quality than your run of the mill stock Japanese car audio system but probably not by much though, LOL!
IluvProton
post Sep 3 2012, 09:00 PM

143 posts

QUOTE(DaBestOne @ Sep 3 2012, 02:48 PM)
I think it have its market lar. I'm looking forward to Camry Hyrid establish in Malaysia,  rclxms.gif  rclxms.gif
This just in. Prime Minister Datuk Seri Najib Tun Razak, who is also Finance Minister, is reading his Budget 2012 speech at the moment, and he has already touched on something that involves the auto sector, announcing that incentives given to hybrid cars have been extended till 31 December 2013!

Here’s some background: In Budget 2011, the government introduced FULL import duty and excise duty exemption for hybrid and electric cars and motorcycles.

Previously, it was 100% import duty exemption and 50% excise duty exemption, Budget 2011 made it 100% exemption for BOTH import duty and excise duty. The deal, for hybrid cars with 2.0 litre engines and below, was supposed to expire on Dec 31, 2011.

This has led to huge growth in sales for hybrid models such as the Honda Insight and Toyota Prius, while Lexus took advantage of this incentive to bring in the CT 200h hatchback at an attractive price. Honda Malaysia and UMW Toyota will be happy with today’s announcement and can plan ahead from now, bringing in more of the hybrids.

cross your finger the car is 2.0 and below engine
Icehart
post Sep 3 2012, 09:15 PM

14,899 posts

QUOTE(IluvProton @ Sep 3 2012, 09:00 PM)
If that is true, there will be demand for 2.0 Hybrid Camry hmm.gif
IluvProton
post Sep 3 2012, 09:24 PM

143 posts

QUOTE(Icehart @ Sep 3 2012, 04:15 PM)
If that is true, there will be demand for 2.0 Hybrid Camry  hmm.gif
m.. let me put this straight.

current toyota hybrid

prius - 145k
prius c - 97k

how much you guess the camry hybrid if is fall under 2.0 engine ? 170k? 12k diff only hmm.gif or more than 182k?
business strategy won't create a product that will effect their other catergory product.

btw,

The Camry Hybrid received improvements, including a revised version of the Hybrid Synergy Drive, paired with an Atkinson cycle version of the standard 2.5 2AR-FXE liter 4-cylinder that delivers net system power of 149 kW (200 bhp), up from 139 kW (187 bhp) in the previous model, and allows the new model to achieve a 39% increase in fuel economy rating, giving the Camry Hybrid best MPG ratings among mid-size sedans.[5][6] The U.S. Environmental Protection Agency rated the Camry Hybrid LE as:[7]

Toyota haven't create any 2.0 hybrid yet....... for current moment.

sonyman
post Sep 3 2012, 09:26 PM

1,043 posts

that is why the prius big and small is also expensive. so how to sell camry hybrid? RM 170K? like price of 2.5V
IluvProton
post Sep 3 2012, 09:32 PM

143 posts

QUOTE(sonyman @ Sep 3 2012, 04:26 PM)
that is why the prius big and small is also expensive. so how to sell camry hybrid? RM 170K? like price of 2.5V
thats 1 of the flaw that Toyota miss out. If any other car maker create D-segment hybrid 2.0. guess will dominate most.

as most value to buy fall into Kia K5 and also VW Passat.

some other making their way in like pug 508 (gotta admit the spec really tempting)

Toyota, Honda and nissan now not just competing among themselve.

At the end we got more choice to select smile.gif

Toyota still a good choice. can deny it. but just consumer got more option to select. Unlike 15 years ago.

most of the street full of wira / saga
keanutan
post Sep 3 2012, 09:32 PM

87 posts

QUOTE(sonyman @ Sep 3 2012, 09:26 PM)
if u really look into the hybrid technology it offer the price is consider cheap la bro.. prius 145k and prius c 97k only compare prius with camry 2.0 what did camry offer with the price ? the actual price for the camry 2.0 is below 100k without tax ..
cybermaster98
post Sep 3 2012, 09:33 PM

4,440 posts

QUOTE(IluvProton @ Sep 3 2012, 09:00 PM)
This just in. Prime Minister Datuk Seri Najib Tun Razak, who is also Finance Minister, is reading his Budget 2012 speech at the moment, and he has already touched on something that involves the auto sector, announcing that incentives given to hybrid cars have been extended till 31 December 2013!

Here’s some background: In Budget 2011, the government introduced FULL import duty and excise duty exemption for hybrid and electric cars and motorcycles.

Previously, it was 100% import duty exemption and 50% excise duty exemption, Budget 2011 made it 100% exemption for BOTH import duty and excise duty. The deal, for hybrid cars with 2.0 litre engines and below, was supposed to expire on Dec 31, 2011.

This has led to huge growth in sales for hybrid models such as the Honda Insight and Toyota Prius, while Lexus took advantage of this incentive to bring in the CT 200h hatchback at an attractive price. Honda Malaysia and UMW Toyota will be happy with today’s announcement and can plan ahead from now, bringing in more of the hybrids.
What Budget speech? Thats only due on 28 Sept
IluvProton
post Sep 3 2012, 09:36 PM

143 posts

QUOTE(keanutan @ Sep 3 2012, 04:32 PM)
if u really look into the hybrid technology it offer the price is consider cheap la bro.. prius 145k and prius c 97k only compare prius with camry 2.0 what did camry offer with the price ? the actual price for the camry 2.0 is below 100k without tax ..
thats the flaw, if the camry fall below let say 120k.

as yourself. which you will select? prius c? prius or camry?

I will close my eyes for camry. not just cause hybrid. D segment lowest price? hell yeah, with good FC !

This will spoil the entire car industrial of malaysia. not to mention toyota can't sell car above the hybrid camry 120k.

Above just example, please get it wrong.

If they could do it, they could do in other country as well. Thats the truth smile.gif

just my 2cents
Icehart
post Sep 3 2012, 09:54 PM

14,899 posts

QUOTE(sonyman @ Sep 3 2012, 09:26 PM)
Me guess MAA will not approve any selling price of Camry Hybrid below 200k. Most probably 250k toppish for top spec. If price below 200k, the 2.5 HV will be snapped up like hot cakes.
IluvProton
post Sep 3 2012, 09:57 PM

143 posts

QUOTE(Icehart @ Sep 3 2012, 04:54 PM)
Me guess MAA will not approve any selling price of Camry Hybrid below 200k. Most probably 250k toppish for top spec. If price below 200k, the 2.5 HV will be snapped up like hot cakes.
yea, this is more likely. but again. who will place 200k+ for a Toyota?
unless like harrier, vellfire hmm.gif

yes, I saw few hybrid alphard liao.
kadajawi
post Sep 3 2012, 11:02 PM

544 posts

QUOTE(stix @ Sep 3 2012, 12:25 PM)
ironically, it has the highest sales in malaysia. come on, are the majority of these buyers idiots? its like how korean cars' sales are practically none to existence in thailand.
Well, but in Europe the Koreans are doing pretty good. An Uncle even bought a Hyundai Tuscan. Though I don't really approve, according to my mother who was in that car she felt sick pretty fast (very bad ride), the door handle feels like she can't apply any force to it or it will break off, etc. etc. And for that kind of money he could have gotten a Nissan Qashqai for example, or any MPV (even if as a 1 year old car).

@kepalapening:
Agreed, it's not small. But personally I'd pick a station wagon over the saloon version any time of the day. More practical, better looking, ...
There are tons of service centers, and outside shops should be able to fix it. If you live in the middle of nowhere getting a Toyota is a bit of a no brainer, I agree. There is only 1 Renault service center in the state of Johor. Luckily I can easily walk there. But even if it were further away (within lets say 50-100 km) I would have bought a Renault. More than that and I would have started to think...
A 2.5... what's the point? There are 1.4s that can easily beat your car. And personally I think the 1.6 TDCi from Ford is a pretty nice engine, even in the 115 hp version. Frugal and powerful enough, even for a humongous MPV. And many modern diesel are like that... some being very powerful and fun to drive (unless you like to rev, but if you want a relaxed drive with tons of torque, nothing beats a diesel).

Sound system... well, it always depends on what you are used to, right? If all you have is a small surround system with subwoofer, it will be easy to satisfy you. If you are enjoying a nice amplifier hooked up to some good bookshelf or better yet floor standing speakers (B&W, Klipsch, Wharfedale, KEF or lesser known, more exclusive brands), then satisfying you will be pretty hard. I try not to listen to > RM 10000 hifi systems, so my ears won't get ruined. laugh.gif But yeah, tell me about it. A friend ordered his S5 with the B&O sound system. My Kangoo may have the worst sound system in the world, and the holes are just too small for proper speakers. And it was me who introduced him to proper HiFi, after years of Sony ****.

Btw., 500 km non stop? I did 1000 km non stop with a 1.4, driving an average of 130-150 km/h. No problem at all. The engine is at 150k now (or something like that), no problems. The previous diesel had 250+k on the clock, also no problems. That was a 1.9, regularly did 1300 km, fully loaded, with trailer at the back. No problems. Also a frugal car <5l/100 km, and so is the 1.4 (around 7-8l/100 km at those speeds, it is actually not possible to use a lot of petrol with that engine, I have tried). However a 6 speed will reduce the fuel consumption. But it would also reduce it in the 2.0.

Also Europeans are reducing the engine size to reduce fuel consumption. The latest Ford Focus is offered with a 1.0 3 cylinder with around 120 hp.

It is not UMW who is to blame about the cars they sell to us. It is Malaysians who are to blame. Those who buy these cars. UMW is just doing what every good business man would do. They are trying to maximize profits, and they are good at that.

Haven't been in a Japanese car so far that has solid sounding doors. Lexus CT200h, front door yes, rear like Myvi. No comparison to contis, even cheap ones.

Dynaudio is from Denmark. smile.gif They are btw. quite prestigious, also making recording studio equipment. I tend to prefer brands who also do studio monitors. Dreaming of a pair of ME Geithain laugh.gif

129 Pages « < 109 110 111 112 113 > » Top

0.0317sec    0.77    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 12:09 PM