129 Pages « < 107 108 109 110 111 > » Bottom

New Toyota Camry 2012, is Really coming now!

SUSjaymansion
post Aug 29 2012, 12:28 AM

27 posts

Noted sleepwalker....thanks for the reminder....cheers....
cybermaster98
post Sep 3 2012, 08:00 AM

4,440 posts

Eh gone quiet now?
Kentthye
post Sep 3 2012, 10:32 AM

89 posts

QUOTE(Icehart @ Aug 24 2012, 08:28 PM)
You are quite correct. I would not spend 180k on such specification for a car. If I have that much I would have look into continentals. As for the age, it doesn't matter. Makes me looks like I am driving my parent's car  tongue.gif
rclxms.gif
Icehart
post Sep 3 2012, 10:36 AM

14,899 posts

Hmm I wonder why UMW do not want to bring in the Camry Hybrid? It is being sold in Thailand, just across our border only.

http://www.toyota.co.th/en/product-detail....amry&opt=grades
cybermaster98
post Sep 3 2012, 10:38 AM

4,440 posts

QUOTE(Icehart @ Sep 3 2012, 10:36 AM)
Hmm I wonder why UMW do not want to bring in the Camry Hybrid? It is being sold in Thailand, just across our border only.

Maybe pricing issue? I dont think the Camry Hybrid is entitled for the tax reduction right?
herojack41
post Sep 3 2012, 10:38 AM

Master Of Trouble Maker
5,697 posts

QUOTE(Icehart @ Sep 3 2012, 10:36 AM)

prius C this small hybrid oledi cost about rm90k+ at malaysia liao with included tax cut....

if bring in camry hybrid sweat.gif sweat.gif it might not hav sales at all
IluvProton
post Sep 3 2012, 11:00 AM

143 posts

QUOTE(herojack41 @ Sep 3 2012, 05:38 AM)
prius C this small hybrid oledi cost about rm90k+ at malaysia liao with included tax cut....

if bring in camry hybrid  sweat.gif  sweat.gif it might not hav sales at all
no, hybrid in which CC above 2000 will not have duties exampted.
zweimmk
post Sep 3 2012, 11:12 AM

512 posts

QUOTE(cybermaster98 @ Sep 3 2012, 08:00 AM)
Eh gone quiet now?
It's quite hard to talk about a car that's underwhelming in many aspects.

Warranty - Not as good as their rivals
Specs - Not as good as their rivals
Safety - Not as good as their rivals

Won't comment about look or performance because these are quite subjective to different individual based on their preference. It is reliable, comfortable, very spacious and very easy to sell off though but those points aren't anything new to begin with.

Perhaps if it did come with class leading specs such as blind spot vehicle assist system or lane departure warning system or adaptive cruise control then there'll be more buzz. Otherwise, aside from FC... is there anything to discuss?

Even if you talk about aftermarket mods, what else is there to do in the 2.5V?

Soundproofing? Dynamat? 3M? Wurth?
Tinting? 3M, Vkool, Llumar, Huper Optik - choose your poison
Body kit? Dunno if there's even anything good out right now
Audio System?

ACIS system - ?
Dual VVTI engine - ?
High tensile steel GOA body construction - ?
kepalapening
post Sep 3 2012, 11:48 AM

62 posts

QUOTE(zweimmk @ Sep 3 2012, 11:12 AM)

Audio System?

ACIS system - ?
Dual VVTI engine - ?
Soundproofing? Some of my passenger ask me if the car is running using battery.
Tinting? Already included with the premium quality tint.
Body kit? Is it necessary?
Audio System? Silence is golden.

IMHO, you need to own this car in order to appreciate it.

This post has been edited by kepalapening: Sep 3 2012, 11:50 AM
cybermaster98
post Sep 3 2012, 11:54 AM

4,440 posts

QUOTE(kepalapening @ Sep 3 2012, 11:48 AM)

In my opinion, you need to own other D segment cars like the Optima, Passat, Sonata and Teana to know what ure missing out on. biggrin.gif

I was at the TTDI Pit Stop car wash last weekend and behind my car was this middle aged Malay guy (rich fellow who lives near Zaaba )who came in with his new Camry. He spent some time going around my car and then approached me. The usual compliments bout design, specs, etc. He then says he regrets getting the Camry as he placed his booking before the launch. He also regrets not checking out other models. But i told him that the Camry should be problem free (based on my earlier experience) and its still quite comfortable and a bit more economical than the K5. But i was kinda surprised when he said Bro, im already bored driving this car. Seems that his brother has been driving the Sonata for almost 1.5 years now and he said he's had zero problems plus he's quite happy with the after sales service. I found out this guy also owned a Naza Ria before which gave him alot of problems so it was surprising that he actually had good things to say about Koreans.

But i guess both cars have their pro's and con's.

This post has been edited by cybermaster98: Sep 3 2012, 12:05 PM
kepalapening
post Sep 3 2012, 11:57 AM

62 posts

QUOTE(cybermaster98 @ Sep 3 2012, 11:54 AM)
In my opinion, you need to own other D segment cars like the Optima, Passat, Sonata and Teana to know what ure missing out on.  biggrin.gif
I have test drive a Teana recently, and my stands does not change.
cybermaster98
post Sep 3 2012, 12:03 PM

4,440 posts

QUOTE(kepalapening @ Sep 3 2012, 11:57 AM)
I have test drive a Teana recently, and my stands does not change.
Yes im sure u have. Sometimes test drives dont tell us enough especially when we dont know how to test and what to look for. I tested the Teana too and i was quite impressed with its power despite being a 2.0L. Interior comfort was also far better than the Camry and also the Optima. But i didnt like the design although i think its better than the Camry.

P/s: Not saying ure one of them

This post has been edited by cybermaster98: Sep 3 2012, 12:06 PM
stix
post Sep 3 2012, 12:25 PM

276 posts

QUOTE(zweimmk @ Sep 3 2012, 11:12 AM)
It's quite hard to talk about a car that's underwhelming in many aspects.

Warranty - Not as good as their rivals
Specs - Not as good as their rivals
Safety - Not as good as their rivals

Won't comment about look or performance because these are quite subjective to different individual based on their preference. It is reliable, comfortable, very spacious and very easy to sell off though but those points aren't anything new to begin with.

Perhaps if it did come with class leading specs such as blind spot vehicle assist system or lane departure warning system or adaptive cruise control then there'll be more buzz. Otherwise, aside from FC... is there anything to discuss?

Audio System?

ACIS system - ?
Dual VVTI engine - ?
ironically, it has the highest sales in malaysia. come on, are the majority of these buyers idiots? its like how korean cars' sales are practically none to existence in thailand.

This post has been edited by stix: Sep 3 2012, 12:26 PM
cybermaster98
post Sep 3 2012, 12:31 PM

4,440 posts

QUOTE(stix @ Sep 3 2012, 12:25 PM)
ironically, it has the highest sales in malaysia. come on, are the majority of these buyers idiots? its like how korean cars' sales are practically none to existence in thailand.
Well i wouldnt say a majority of them are idiots but i would say that a fair amount of them purchased the Camry based on brand perception and limited knowledge about other D segment makes out there which are on par or almost on par with the Camry as compared to the past. Plus many of them would have placed too much of emphasis on resale value while still assuming that Toyota's after sales service is still oceans apart from other manufacturers.

kepalapening
post Sep 3 2012, 01:09 PM

62 posts

QUOTE(cybermaster98 @ Sep 3 2012, 12:31 PM)
Well i wouldnt say a majority of them are idiots but i would say that a fair amount of them purchased the Camry based on brand perception and limited knowledge about other D segment makes out there which are on par or almost on par with the Camry as compared to the past. Plus many of them would have placed too much of emphasis on resale value while still assuming that Toyota's after sales service is still oceans apart from other manufacturers.
I am not a fan of Toyota.
I don't buy Camry because it is a Toyota.
I know nothing about resale value.

What I know is that it has large space, easier to maintain because of the service center availability, and it is the cheapest 2.5L engine that I can afford.
cybermaster98
post Sep 3 2012, 01:15 PM

4,440 posts

QUOTE(kepalapening @ Sep 3 2012, 01:09 PM)
I am not a fan of Toyota.
I don't buy Camry because it is a Toyota.
I know nothing about resale value.

What I know is that it has large space, easier to maintain because of the service center availability, and it is the cheapest 2.5L engine that I can afford.
Yes for you the availability of service centres was an important criteria. Valid reason.

Btw, you did mention this before and ure saying it again which makes me curious but why is the 2.5L engine so important to u? Many of the 2.0L have more than sufficient power and are able to maintain high speeds effortlessly. Plus its not like you drive at super high speeds >200kmph often so why the focus on the 2.5L engine? hmm.gif

This post has been edited by cybermaster98: Sep 3 2012, 01:19 PM
zweimmk
post Sep 3 2012, 01:57 PM

512 posts

QUOTE(kepalapening @ Sep 3 2012, 11:48 AM)

Soundproofing is subjective - Some people drive E class also can say they want the cabin to be even more quiet. My Passat is plenty quiet and I still also wouldn't mind it being even more quiet. This goes in line with Audio, a quieter cabin means you can enjoy better quality music. If you already think the Camry is good enough, then that's good enough.

Tinting - I had the the premium solar and security film on my old Altis and truthfully, the heat rejection plain sucks. If it's good enough for you then great. Otherwise, I'm telling you now, you can do better tints outside.

Body Kit - Subjective, I think the car looks better without but if it looks anything like the Sports version for the Australian Aurion, it will be even better. Most people won't bother with this I know.

Audio System - I always enjoy good music while on the road, it's annoying when you hear the sound crack because of the lame speaker system. If you don't care for it then it don't matter.

I already had the pleasure of driving the 2.4V of last generation and it was a good car. I have no doubt the 2.5V will probably surpass the 2.4V in terms of comfort and power but is the car good enough? Sales will indicate that it is good enough for a lot of people but certainly not for me and I think I'm in the really small group of people who think that way.
kepalapening
post Sep 3 2012, 01:58 PM

62 posts

QUOTE(cybermaster98 @ Sep 3 2012, 01:15 PM)
Yes for you the availability of service centres was an important criteria. Valid reason.

Btw, you did mention this before and ure saying it again which makes me curious but why is the 2.5L engine so important to u? Many of the 2.0L have more than sufficient power and are able to maintain high speeds effortlessly. Plus its not like you drive at super high speeds >200kmph often so why the focus on the 2.5L engine? hmm.gif
What is wrong if I put service centers as a criteria. I don't want to travel 500km in order to re-lube only.

I have mentioned from the very beginning that I need a larger space.

A larger engine will give better fuel efficiency.

A larger engine can last longer in high speed.
For example, I manage to drive 500km non stop while fasting last month.

larger engine <> high performance engine.

This post has been edited by kepalapening: Sep 3 2012, 01:59 PM
jchong
post Sep 3 2012, 01:59 PM

5,989 posts

QUOTE(cybermaster98 @ Sep 3 2012, 01:15 PM)

One key difference is the 2.5L comes with 6-spd gearbox. Makes long distance driving much more economical even if you're only going at 110km/h.

Besides, is it necessary to drive at > 200kph to justify a 2.5L engine? The greater torque of a bigger engine also comes into play for city driving or overtaking.

Lastly, the 2.5L probably comes with better features and accessories compared to 2.0L.

For a seasoned car person like you these points should be apparent right?
jchong
post Sep 3 2012, 02:05 PM

5,989 posts

QUOTE(kepalapening @ Sep 3 2012, 01:58 PM)
What is wrong if I put service centers as a criteria. I don't want to travel 500km in order to re-lube only.

I have mentioned from the very beginning that I need a larger space.

A larger engine will give better fuel efficiency.

A larger engine can last longer in high speed.
For example, I manage to drive 500km non stop while fasting last month.

larger engine <> high performance engine.
Umm.... he already agreed with you that the service center is a valid reason.

In terms of larger space, it's the same between the 2.0 and 2.5 model. He was asking why you emphasize on the 2.5 rather than 2.0, which you have explained above.

Actually all things being equal a larger engine won't necessarily give better fuel efficiency. A larger engine consumes more fuel during combustion, it is also heavier making the car heavier overall. On the plus side, it might be mated to a good gearbox and this is where the combination might give some better fuel efficiency.

129 Pages « < 107 108 109 110 111 > » Top

0.0341sec    0.25    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 08:31 AM