126 Pages « < 53 54 55 56 57 > » Bottom

Nokia N9 V1, Experience Perfect Fluidity

HexPhoenix
post Sep 15 2011, 07:48 AM

537 posts

if i'm not mistaken in Fcam we can manually adjust shutter speed, aperture and ISO right?

if it's like that, its a heaven sent to N9. biggrin.gif

can't wait to test out music capability on N9. Dolby Digital Plus + my Beats earphone. N8 and X6/X7 were already stunning for me. Wonder what will I experience in N9 later. brows.gif
KennyKB
post Sep 15 2011, 08:07 AM

1,765 posts

QUOTE(aspire2oo6 @ Sep 15 2011, 12:02 AM)
What i look forward is the meego social integration like the Nokia N900. The speaker for the nokia N9 is just average only let down for me
For serious music listening you will be using headphones anyway. The speaker is just for streaming radio and other stuff where sound quality isn't important.

Added on September 15, 2011, 8:47 am
QUOTE(nicholasbeh @ Sep 15 2011, 02:51 AM)
porting from iOS??? shocking.gif
J2ME as well? biggrin.gif
Not sure about J2ME but Java apps are a poor substitute for native Meego apps. However there are some Java ebook readers like Albite and Foliant which are pretty good.

As N900 and Maemo5 apps need to be ported to N9 it means N9 doesn't have a ready pool of apps. It has to start from practically zero.

The quality and quantity of N900 and Maemo5 apps show that there is a robust developer community for Meego which will hopefully turn their attention to N9. It is interesting to note that these are all free apps so developers were driven by enthusiasm rather than financial. After they are ported they may not remain free because N9 being a mass market product is a chance for them to monetize their apps. This is okay as financial incentive is a strong driver. Also we will see more apps to cater for general users rather than specialized apps.

This post has been edited by KennyKB: Sep 15 2011, 08:47 AM
aspire2oo6
post Sep 15 2011, 08:48 AM

Banned
35,468 posts

What interesting about Fcam is the touch focus and shutter control lets hope it gets better on meego.
Alexdino
post Sep 15 2011, 08:54 AM

2,006 posts

it is interesting to see that they are arguing how cheap is N9 in Malaysia compare to Finland

Nokia N9 for RM 1799/2088 for 16/64GB (370/430GBP) in Malaysia?

and their SOS is from lowyatt.net tongue.gif

Apparently, Malaysian pricing for the Nokia N9 will be:

“RM 1799 for 16GB and RM 2088 for 64GB”

At current exchange rates, that makes the 16GB N9 only 370GBP!  That also makes the 64GB only £430. If true, that makes it even cheaper than the 16GB N9 in the early price rounds, and even Nokia Conversations’ own guide price for pre-order in finland of 599/699 EUR.

In other currencies that’s
584/678 USD
426/495 EUR

Now, pre-order prices are often much more expensive, and I’m not sure what taxes are in place in Malaysia.

This post has been edited by Alexdino: Sep 15 2011, 08:55 AM
singa89
post Sep 15 2011, 09:20 AM

long live play
1,204 posts

yea... 16gb will not exceed rm2k.. euro prices are always very high
SUSSimilan
post Sep 15 2011, 09:43 AM

344 posts

QUOTE(singa89 @ Sep 15 2011, 09:20 AM)
yea... 16gb will not exceed rm2k.. euro prices are always very high
not true. price of phones is heavily subsidized and some can even go for free with the right mobile plan.
have yet to seen a premium smartphone go for free in malaysia yet.

SUSOptiplex330
post Sep 15 2011, 10:00 AM

12,696 posts

QUOTE(Similan @ Sep 15 2011, 09:43 AM)
not true. price of phones is heavily subsidized and some can even go for free with the right mobile plan.
have yet to seen a premium smartphone go for free in malaysia yet.
What are you talking about? The unsubsidized prices are RM 1799 for 16GB and RM 2088 for 64GB.

SUSSimilan
post Sep 15 2011, 10:02 AM

344 posts

QUOTE(Optiplex330 @ Sep 15 2011, 10:00 AM)
What are you talking about? The unsubsidized prices are RM 1799 for 16GB and RM 2088 for 64GB.
...situation in europe
KennyKB
post Sep 15 2011, 10:36 AM

1,765 posts

In many countries you can get smartphones for 20%-30% of the RRP with a contract. In Malaysia you just get a small discount of maybe 10%. Hardly worth tying yourself to a contract.
Andy214
post Sep 15 2011, 10:38 AM

3,308 posts

QUOTE(nicholasbeh @ Sep 15 2011, 02:51 AM)
FCam is gooding?better than HDR?never try out Fcam.
FCam is basically the driver and the app, with the driver, developer can create apps for ti.

For N900, the is HDR app and LowLight app which uses the FCam driver.
The HDR app is very powerful and you can customize it.
LowLight is like what it explain, let you take better photo in lowlight, which work something similar like HDR app.

With the FCam app, one can control many things like shutter speed, ISO, exposure, etc. The ISO can go beyond the original max ISO available for the camera, and it have the ability to shoot raw, etc. Allow for touch focus, etc.
In short, the camera on N900 is not so good, but with FCam, it makes photography fun and give the "wow" factor; Previously in N900 forum, got few DSLR user there was amazed and having fun with FCam.

It's just too bad N900 hardware has limitation, if only there's a better hardware available...

FlameReaper
post Sep 15 2011, 12:20 PM

I lari portable on my dude
560 posts

QUOTE(HexPhoenix @ Sep 15 2011, 06:48 AM)
if i'm not mistaken in Fcam we can manually adjust shutter speed, aperture and ISO right?

if it's like that, its a heaven sent to N9. biggrin.gif

can't wait to test out music capability on N9. Dolby Digital Plus + my Beats earphone. N8 and X6/X7 were already stunning for me. Wonder what will I experience in N9 later.  brows.gif
Yes. Only downside for it at the moment is that it can't use the camera's flash, and it can't zoom in/out either. doh.gif

Otherwise its pretty good.

QUOTE(Andy214 @ Sep 15 2011, 09:38 AM)
FCam is basically the driver and the app, with the driver, developer can create apps for ti.

For N900, the is HDR app and LowLight app which uses the FCam driver.
The HDR app is very powerful and you can customize it.
LowLight is like what it explain, let you take better photo in lowlight, which work something similar like HDR app.

With the FCam app, one can control many things like shutter speed, ISO, exposure, etc. The ISO can go beyond the original max ISO available for the camera, and it have the ability to shoot raw, etc. Allow for touch focus, etc.
In short, the camera on N900 is not so good, but with FCam, it makes photography fun and give the "wow" factor; Previously in N900 forum, got few DSLR user there was amazed and having fun with FCam.

It's just too bad N900 hardware has limitation, if only there's a better hardware available...
nod.gif

While the N900 hardware is quite limited, I got to admit it takes some pretty high-res pretty pics and has an even better macro photo-taking capability than my 8.1MP digital camera. shocking.gif

That's from the community-improved camera after I got the CSSU update, though. Default camera remains to suck biggrin.gif

Plus the OS that comes with the N900 has a very powerful expansion potential; that's what I like about it and I hope Meego/N9/any later Nokia+Meego models can do the same. Difference only in package management lol, Maemo uses Debian's .DEB packaging format while Meego uses Redhat's .RPM AFAIK. biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by FlameReaper: Sep 15 2011, 12:24 PM
pikacu
post Sep 15 2011, 12:24 PM

male tag rosak
7,740 posts

Serious ah..Fcam will be for N9?

This post has been edited by pikacu: Sep 15 2011, 12:24 PM
FlameReaper
post Sep 15 2011, 12:25 PM

560 posts

QUOTE(pikacu @ Sep 15 2011, 11:24 AM)
Serious ah..Fcam will be for N9?
I hope there will be la. Good for you DSLR owner wannabes whistling.gif
pikacu
post Sep 15 2011, 12:32 PM

male tag rosak
7,740 posts

I dun wan get false hope sweat.gif
TSsuper_evil_alien
post Sep 15 2011, 12:35 PM

Slumber Mode
5,105 posts

QUOTE(FlameReaper @ Sep 15 2011, 12:20 PM)
Plus the OS that comes with the N900 has a very powerful expansion potential; that's what I like about it and I hope Meego/N9/any later Nokia+Meego models can do the same. Difference only in package management lol, Maemo uses Debian's .DEB packaging format while Meego uses Redhat's .RPM AFAIK. biggrin.gif
There's community OBS.
With community OBS programmer should be able to create .deb & .rpm with same codes.At least in theory.
So different packaging shouldn't be a huge issue.
FlameReaper
post Sep 15 2011, 12:45 PM

560 posts

QUOTE(super_evil_alien @ Sep 15 2011, 11:35 AM)
There's community OBS.
With community OBS programmer should be able to create .deb & .rpm with same codes.At least in theory.
So different packaging shouldn't be a huge issue.
Well, I guess I really need to try familiarize myself with RPMs soon. I've gotten too used to DEBs that it became one of my reasons to buy the N900 in the first place.
Andy214
post Sep 15 2011, 12:52 PM

3,308 posts

QUOTE(FlameReaper @ Sep 15 2011, 12:20 PM)
This MeeGo used on N9 is MeeGo Harmattan, which is actually Maemo 6, it's still using .DEB packaging.

KennyKB
post Sep 15 2011, 01:01 PM

1,765 posts

Some shots captured with Nokia N9

http://www.n9fanclub.com/2011/06/shots-cap...9-8mp-carl.html

Added on September 15, 2011, 1:06 pm
QUOTE(Andy214 @ Sep 15 2011, 12:52 PM)
This MeeGo used on N9 is MeeGo Harmattan, which is actually Maemo 6, it's still using .DEB packaging.
I notice the Opera mini 11 for N9 Meego has .RPM packaging.

This post has been edited by KennyKB: Sep 15 2011, 01:06 PM
aspire2oo6
post Sep 15 2011, 01:13 PM

Banned
35,468 posts

from the samples shot it can be better.
FlameReaper
post Sep 15 2011, 03:34 PM

560 posts

QUOTE(Andy214 @ Sep 15 2011, 11:52 AM)
Eh? Ah, you're right. I just took a look at Harmattan's repositories.

Since I'm sort of a .deb fanboy (come squash me lol) I'm now back to happiness about Harmattan.

126 Pages « < 53 54 55 56 57 > » Top

0.0263sec    0.51    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 02:39 AM