What about Meego apps? If there is no future in the os how to attract developers for it? Will users be satisfied with an expensive smartphone which has no app market?
Nokia N9 V1, Experience Perfect Fluidity
Sep 8 2011, 09:51 AM
1,765 posts Joined: Dec 2010 |
What about Meego apps? If there is no future in the os how to attract developers for it? Will users be satisfied with an expensive smartphone which has no app market?
Sep 8 2011, 11:28 AM
QUOTE(Andy214 @ Sep 8 2011, 10:21 AM) How do you there will no none? Will Maemo apps work on Meego without any changes? If not will developers find it worth their while to do the porting even if it is an easy port? This goes for general apps as well.And, have you use it's predecessor OS, the "Maemo" before? There's apps repository, tons of useful apps available, and all FREE, many of those, you cannot find in ANY normal smartphone. For those general apps, it's "usually" easily portable between different "smartphone" class OS. So tell me, is this N9 suitable for general users or is it just for geeks and dreamers? |
Sep 8 2011, 02:29 PM
What about this Alien Dalvik thingy? It claims to be able to run Android apps on N9. If this is true there will no worries about apps and N9 may be a huge success.
http://www.slashgear.com/nokia-n9-android-...alvik-22160809/ |
Sep 8 2011, 07:54 PM
Here's a site for freee N9 apps. Not much but it's a start.
http://www.mobileheart.com/cell-phone-soft...9-Software.aspx http://www.mobileheart.com/cell-phone-game...a-N9-Games.aspx |
Sep 9 2011, 10:09 AM
Can the N9 can run java apps? If yes, the app situation isn't so bad as there are plenty of Java apps around like ebook readers and games. Opera mini has also released a version for N9.
Will those apps for N900 in the Ovi store work for N9? This post has been edited by KennyKB: Sep 9 2011, 10:23 AM |
Sep 10 2011, 09:42 AM
Talks of Meego's death are premature. Intel hasn't given up on Meego yet but they are looking for a hardware partner.
http://blog.gsmarena.com/intel-hasnt-given...eloping-the-os/ |
Sep 10 2011, 12:14 PM
Meego is open source so it doesn't die with Nokia. If N9 sales is a success and Elop insist on letting go then other hardware manufacturers will step in. LG may also make Meego phones
http://www.intomobile.com/2011/04/15/lg-co...e-meego-phones/ So cheer up. Elop doesn't have the final say. It's the consumers. Even in Nokia I doubt Elop has the practical power to kill off a successful product or he may be looking for another job. |
Sep 11 2011, 04:26 PM
No official support from Nokia (due to the depraved Elop having sold his body and soul to WP7) is not a killing blow. Look at the N900. It also has no support from Nokia but has survived for 2 years with strong community support and apps still coming out. I expect the same thing for N9. There are already more than 200 apps for N9 even before it started shipping.
Nokia not wanting to build any more Meego phones is not a problem at all. Users seldom look beyond their current phone. I expect other manufacturers to step in to fill the market if interest is strong. |
Sep 13 2011, 10:36 AM
Isn't the N9 supposed to be launched in Malaysia today (13/9)?
Sep 13 2011, 12:47 PM
QUOTE(PyOsE @ Sep 13 2011, 12:13 PM) Sharp pricing! The N9 16GB can be compared directly with 16GB Galaxy S2 at RM2099 but lack of micro-SD card make it less attractive. The N9 64GB is certainly a better buy than the N9 16GB as the value of the extra 48GB memory exceed the price difference. Wait a couple of months there should be some discount from the list price. I hope N9 apps grow robustly. This is the only impediment to its success. |
Sep 13 2011, 01:13 PM
QUOTE(soulseeker6187 @ Sep 13 2011, 12:55 PM) But if U compare spec wise( single processor and 4 inch amoled screen), i think they should price it 1599 which is the price of galaxy S+. The N9 16GB exceeds the Galaxy S+ in hardware. It has a much better camera, superior audio playback and NFC. 16GB built-in memory and 1GB RAM compared to 8GB memory and 512MB RAM for S+. N9 also comes with free maps and voice navigation which must be worth something. It also has an FM transmitter but no software yet.But right now the N9 will only appeal to those who do not need a lot of apps or are willing to take the chance that apps will grow. If only the Alien Dalvik thing is real...we'll be queuing up to buy it. |
Sep 13 2011, 09:13 PM
The N950 will never be released as a consumer product. It was meant for developers only.
Sep 13 2011, 11:07 PM
QUOTE(Holyboy27 @ Sep 13 2011, 10:34 PM) ah 2088 is quite pricey especially at these times, 16gb enough? Got an Incredible S currently, thinking of this. 16GB not enough if you have a lot of music. 10 albums about 1 GB for MP3. You probably can't use the full 16GB, maybe 1.5GB for system files. Oso you need some space for apps and video. But 64GB may be too much. I wonder why Nokia didn't produce 32GB or 48 GB. |
Sep 13 2011, 11:08 PM
QUOTE(super_evil_alien @ Sep 13 2011, 10:44 PM) Naturally Finland will be the 1st country to get N9. Limited stock? Then I better grab one as soon as it comes out. Take my money, Nokia! I want one...But good of finding any AP set from Finland in Malaysia.N9 already have limited stock & I doubt there'll be much AP sets around. |
Sep 14 2011, 09:47 AM
Anybody knows if the N9 will run Java apps? It's not mentioned in Nokia's official specs. If it can run Java apps the lack of native Meego apps is not so bad as there is a lot of Java apps out there.
Sep 14 2011, 02:09 PM
QUOTE(nicholasbeh @ Sep 14 2011, 01:50 PM) Audio playback should also be impressive. First smartphone with Dolby Digital Plus and Dolby Headphone. I hope Meego developers can support with apps. There are already about 200 N950 apps which should run on N9 but a lot of entertainment apps are missing.This post has been edited by KennyKB: Sep 14 2011, 02:13 PM |
Sep 14 2011, 02:59 PM
True, many app stores have a high number of useless 'fart' apps so having a high app count isn't really important. What's important are the number of genuinely useful apps.
For me the apps I consider important are ebook reader, internet streaming radio, unit converter, currency converter, news apps like BBC or CBS, offline dictionaries, entertainment apps like Daily Motion, Movie Trailers, Youtube, jokes, illusions, GPS utilities like Smart Runner and social media apps like Whatsapp, Foursquares, ebuddy and facebook chat. There should also be a good selection of games. Let's face it, we don't buy a smartphone just for calls, sms and email. For N9 to succeed as a mass market smartphone it need to have these general apps fast. The N900 is fine without them because it was never aimed at the mass market but the N9 will die standing. I foresee many users buying the N9 due to the seductive hardware but giving up after a few months due to lack of apps. This post has been edited by KennyKB: Sep 14 2011, 03:07 PM |
Sep 14 2011, 06:45 PM
QUOTE(Andy214 @ Sep 14 2011, 05:41 PM) Yea, many people are very concern of apps without going into the details or understanding (which I've mentioned in previous post). Andy, will those apps written for Maemo5 work for N9?Anyway, just trying to say that, apps can be develop later or anytime, but the hardware is different story, and the manufacturer support is also a different story. If the OS is stable and polished/properly "complete", then it's less of a problem, but if the OS is not complete (e.g. Maemo5), and the manufacturer stops supporting it and keep the source to itself, then the OS will be limited no matter how many good developers try to enhance it; just like N900, there's so many great customization and add ons, but due to no access to the full source, there's limited of how much they can do. So, let's hope the OS is done properly. Since it'll be limited units, there's no need to get every users; It's better to get quality or proper users who appreciates it than getting users who just want an app launcher device. No doubt apps can be added later but it can be a big problem if developers shy away. With Nokia producing limited units and not selling in major markets like U.S., U.K. and Germany will developers have the incentive to develop for Meego? Even if is a simple matter to port from Symbian Qt the crucial question is still, "Will they bother?" I've been bitten before buying into Samsung bada's platform. There were great hopes initially that the app store will grow robustly but it failed to attract serious developers and the app store is mostly filled with themes and useless fart apps. After more than a year there is still no decent e-book reader, Skype, Whatsapp or Foursquares. However N9 will be for those who look for quality apps rather than quantity. The pool of apps for N900 is quite encouraging. |
Sep 14 2011, 08:42 PM
QUOTE(wes c @ Sep 14 2011, 08:00 PM) If you take a look at forum.meego.com, you will notice that many developers have started porting their apps from N900 to MeeGo and from other platforms like Android and Ios too. Therefore, the answer for your question is: YES! it will be likely that apps for Maemo5 will be ported to N9 Thank you wes c. Actually I thought N900 apps can run on N9 without porting? |
Sep 14 2011, 08:49 PM
QUOTE(Andy214 @ Sep 14 2011, 10:28 AM) Not sure, but for Maemo, we can install some 3rd party Java library which can enable us to run desktop version Java apps. After some research I found that N9 can run Java apps (MIDP 2.1)Guess what, some people also install NetBeans IDE on it. There is already a source for N9 java apps here: http://www.mobileheart.com/cell-phone-soft...9-Software.aspx |
| Change to: | 0.0419sec
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 07:57 AM |