7 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

Nokia N9 V1, Experience Perfect Fluidity

Andy214
post Jun 23 2011, 10:46 AM

3,308 posts

QUOTE(hengguowei @ Jun 22 2011, 06:50 PM)
Huge improvement over Symbian? Is this guy just some random guy who doesn't know Symbian and Meego is totally different? O.O
Well, in a way, compared to Symbian it is. laugh.gif

Hard to compared with Maemo; It looks so different, this is like coming from a different OS. Although it is called Maemo6, but it like a totally different NEW OS, or based on ANOTHER different OS. So much is changed, that it has lost it's root.

I think they want to start fresh and all over; Those people from Maemo need to jump, those developers and their app, esepcially their desktop widgets, etc. All the impressive and hard work can go down the drain unless they stay back on Maemo5 which is still incomplete, and probabyl never will

QUOTE(nicholasbeh @ Jun 23 2011, 03:57 AM)
another question bout maemo6/meego again.the maemo5(N900) chinese language is not preinstalled and i did so steps/mod in order to enable the chinese input method in N900.i hope the N9 isn't like this.this is frustrating.
Well, Maemo5 was an incomplete OS; There's still so much feature missing and can be improve/add on. It has a lot of potential, but the Papa and Mama decided to let it go. The last of the Maemo Tablet OS, going down in history.

Andy214
post Jun 23 2011, 11:47 AM

3,308 posts

QUOTE(pikacu @ Jun 23 2011, 11:04 AM)
IF can handle .mkv natively okay already
As long as it can install codecs and so on; like the N900, can watch almost any types, even rmvb, just like PC. I think there shouldn't be much issue for this device anyway.

QUOTE(Leo the Lion @ Jun 23 2011, 11:05 AM)
Next year I mean.
Next MeeGo device from Nokia (if there is one), might/should be the ACTUAL MeeGo already.

QUOTE(super_evil_alien @ Jun 23 2011, 11:28 AM)
Those who have used N900 for a long time have real high patience with Nokia
thumbup.gif tongue.gif sweat.gif

Andy214
post Jun 23 2011, 12:10 PM

3,308 posts

QUOTE(Leo the Lion @ Jun 23 2011, 11:11 AM)
Some country will get N9 next month (probably Finland). Worldwide will be this September, so...  Malaysia will either get this phone October or November hmm.gif
Nokia Malaysia posted in X7 Post in FB, people asked about the N9, Nokia Malaysia replied: Nokia Global plans to start shipping the N9 in 2012 smile.gif

Andy214
post Jun 23 2011, 05:06 PM

3,308 posts

QUOTE(kenpachi @ Jun 23 2011, 04:09 PM)
Pray for luck..but specwise counting could be above 2k...look at the spec..omg...except for their processor..quite a let down.. sad.gif
Processor? It's last year.
If the phone starts shipping next year, then it'll become Last Year Technology For Next year

The surprising one is the Ram actually. I thought it would only be 512MB provided.

QUOTE(BuFung @ Jun 23 2011, 04:32 PM)
those who didn't go will never go....  those are die hard .. hardcore fans...  laugh.gif laugh.gif

"look @ my N8 largest sensor!!"

"look..  we dont need fast CPU.."

"look..  we don't play RMVB..."... 

sweat.gif sweat.gif
Yea.... It's not good to say we don't need fast or this or that; This give the feedback and impression to the company that the users don't need it. So, why bother giving the users something new or good? Just chunk it some old cheap hardware, make money out of it, the users are still happy about it and say they don't need it.

Hoenstly speaking, many OS also don't need fast CPU, who needs dual core? But, if have a choice, will the user say NO?
If user's paying the SAME money, I doubt the user will take the single core?
It's just like the trend in auto industry now with the japanese rivals offering lower striped down, cheap specs at crazy high price; The supporters remains loyal and say they don't need the extra airbags, etc. In other countries, the japanese rivals are offering far better specs at far lower price; Not to mention, the japanese rivals here are big companies, selling at large volumes, etc.

Anyway, just saying; If it's not good, then say it's not good; If not wrong or bad to say it's not good; There's something called positive feedback/criticism. The manufacturer/company need to know that they need to provide a better spec/hardware and so on.

Andy214
post Jun 23 2011, 05:10 PM

3,308 posts

QUOTE(nicholasbeh @ Jun 23 2011, 04:58 PM)
yes,totally copy fruit style.no micro sd card slot,micro sim bla bla.
in theory but practically cant.
That's what I said from the start, too many fruit style. No homescreen, any smartphone OS have no homescreen?
The "switch" is iOS style?
The background colour (grey-white), totally no relatation with it's parents or sibling or relatives (Symbian), it feels more iOS-ish.

Andy214
post Jun 23 2011, 10:40 PM

3,308 posts

QUOTE(BuFung @ Jun 23 2011, 09:04 PM)
The so call Nokia window phone seem like totally a Microsoft phone at all to me...  beside the logo,  where is Nokia?  the entire idea is like m$  wanna get their own hardware platform..  LOL..
Previous when Elop took over, I remember some post or blog post something about MS sending some in, attacking from the inside, took over, kill/remove of the threats, join with MS (WP7)....
What's next?

Andy214
post Jun 23 2011, 10:50 PM

3,308 posts

QUOTE(nicholasbeh @ Jun 23 2011, 10:47 PM)
in what Fu*king sense meego is not competitive???WP7 is doing better job?Elop.aiks.
There's one article posted, about Elop killing Maemo/MeeGo as it's a potential threat/competitor; It talks about how it kills off the entire project and not letting other company to buy/take over.
Andy214
post Jun 23 2011, 11:22 PM

3,308 posts

QUOTE(nicholasbeh @ Jun 23 2011, 10:53 PM)
source?kick elop arse out pls.honestly,windows phone 7 is smooth,great os but the ui is very ugly.who want the ugly ui on their phone?
i will only use wp7 as my main phone after they change the entire ui.too ugly.
It's an article, truth or not, no idea:
http://www.mobile-review.com/articles/2011...ki-124-en.shtml

"What happened was: Stephen Elop deliberately shut down Maemo/Meego to eliminate a potential competitor of Apple and Microsoft. All Elop's actions show that he has prohibited such developments inside Nokia and has done everything to prevent anyone from acquiring it outside Nokia. I hate conspiracy theories but the facts I have speak for themselves – it is a destruction of a potential competitor to the existing operating systems."

QUOTE(andrekua @ Jun 23 2011, 11:01 PM)
Meego is a threat? Hehehe... dont look too highly on Nokia la. If Meego is really as highly rated, they dont need to go and beg MS and Google lor.

If Maemo is highly successful, I will have my reservation. But for Meego, I think better put it to sleep la. Its way too late to the party.

As for Nokia WP7, lets wait and see what they could do with it. Its too early to tell.

Added on June 23, 2011, 11:02 pm

I shall wait outside your house next time you bought a WP7... I wanna try it DESPERATELY...
Successful is depends on the public; MeeGo may do better; Maemo is actually very good and has lots of potential, but its still incomplete, just workable. The phone functions is very basic, many features still lacking, they have many good concepts, they integrated social networking into contact book which others hasn't done it before (well, as I know of - Which MS later announce WP7 which emphasizes on Social Networks), and there is potential to grow as it can easily be added more to it, so much more in the OS, plus the first to have full Flash support, porting many desktop apps over, like actual MSN for Linux, mplayer, codecs support, myPaint (desktop paint applications), Chrome browser, etc.

But, this may not suit the general public; especially when most people are into simplicity and branding; Plus many are influence by the iFruit. It sort of created a mindset that only need simple functions, there's no need to learn more complicated/advance features, making people reluctant to use a more complicated device. So when they use a more advance/complicated device which offers much more, they can't handle it and say it is not nice to use. Some, that explore and wants more may eventually move out and move on.

Anyway, all I can say is, there're many category of users, the best is IF the OS can be design to be simple and easy to use, AT THE SAME TIME, provide OPTIONS/CHOICE to the users.
Example:
1. Don't want/like Homescreen? Turn it off. (Or Default, turn off)
2. Don't want/like Flash? Turn if off. (Or Default, Turn off)
In short, the OS can be in default mode, in simple mode, very fast and smooth; It's up to the user to decide and choose.

But sometimes, business/company may not think like this, such as, one company; It prefers to restrict and control it's users, ensuring they only do what he intend or want them to do; This way, you don't get idiot/dumb users to activate advance features and complains about the problems which actually due to user problem.

Added on June 23, 2011, 11:23 pm
QUOTE(super_evil_alien @ Jun 23 2011, 11:18 PM)
Bagero punya Nokia given chance to change UI but don't want to change doh.gif
Maybe later wanna "take over" time, quite troublesome. tongue.gif

This post has been edited by Andy214: Jun 23 2011, 11:23 PM
Andy214
post Jun 23 2011, 11:58 PM

3,308 posts

QUOTE(andrekua @ Jun 23 2011, 11:31 PM)
I wont comment on Maemo SUPERIORITY because I never really used it. Only circling nipple in the browser nia.

Superior does not mean its successful.
Agree, superior does not mean it's successful. That's what I also said in my previous post.

Superior or not, it depends on what a person is looking for. For me, or when smartphone started, I believe everyone was looking for a mobile computer, that works like a real computer, your laptop/notebook in the size of your palm; To date, none has come close; but the N900, it was something else; perhaps because it was actually a Tablet OS, adding in phone functionality. As with many Linux professionals/fans, they're into this device; I'm no Linux user or fan. I'm just an ordinary Windows users, but the potential and capability of the Maemo OS, is far different from other smartphone OS, especially during it's time; But it's very much incomplete, and it hardly progress or improve. Technology moves fast, now, it's already behind, too bad; but it's Desktop concept it's still something none can provide to date; probably never will as people seems to have "portrait" homescreen imprint to their mind; unless they make it flexible enough with options/choices.

Anyway, in short definition by many "pros", Maemo OS is a full-blown Linux on the mobile phone, while the rest are like scaled-down OS for mobile phones.
For me, I may look at it as a mobile running an actual Windows OS for Desktop, VS a mobile running Windows Mobile OS; which is a big difference, but may not matter to general public who just want a simple to use , low battery consumption, etc. "smartphone".
As another example: There can be "sports" version o "GTi" version or Sports car, but it's not a general choice for the general public, they want a simple to drive, low fuel consumption, comfortable car.
If someone looking for a comfortable car, fuel efficient, car, buys a sports version of the car because people say it's good; Will only end up with complains of high fuel consumption, not comfortable, etc.

QUOTE(super_evil_alien @ Jun 23 2011, 11:33 PM)
Nnoooo...Stephen Elop says everything comes with WP7 is the best.
There was potential with Maemo but it was kept as experiment for far too long because Nokia simply refused to kill Symbian.There was plan to release Maemo 6 which was planned to mass market & that's when sh*tstorm started.Maemo merged as MeeGo,management changed,people resign & someone from Microsoft chosen as CEO.Nokia is in mess now.At least Elop is trying to clear out things although with an unpopular plan.

I agree with your idea of letting people to turn off functions.
Perhaps it's possible to open another homescreen with a hack?But the major trouble is we don't know if it's remotely possible to run any kind of widget in N9.
Indeed.
Maemo6; They didn't even complete Maemo5; When it launch, it was more like "workable" version; USSD wasn't even implemented, no MMS, no contacts grouping, so many things that Nokia SHOULD'VE KNOWN and have experience with years of experience from Symbian and implemented well in Symbian. I'm surprised when I heard they were developing Maemo6 and later merging into MeeGo.
It's sad; If they can't do it, why not release it to someone who're keen to maintain in, there's so many potential people in tmo, and they done so much good job for the Maemo5.
And now MeeGo, which is so much different and many things removed, those softwares developed for Maemo5 can go down the drain as the so called Maemo6 doesn't have anymore support for it.

Well, it's just too bad; Hope Nokia will release Maemo source to those people who are keen to improve it; So many things can be done; Plus, if it can be install on a better hardware, things will again be different.

Andy214
post Jun 24 2011, 01:42 AM

3,308 posts

QUOTE(andrekua @ Jun 24 2011, 12:44 AM)
Putting desktop into tiny 4" screen won't goes well with most people. If it did, it's M$ who will benefit, not Nokia.

For most people, they want a phone with simplified pc functionalities such as web surfing, copying files, viewing document whereas people who like N900 want a desktop that can make calls.

The problem with Nokia is that they are lazy. You want pc functionalities, they simply shrink the whole desktop for you. They do not think of the limitation presented with the availability of the present hardware, which is why they abandon it. Google and Apple fared better because they rip out things that currently don't work, coupled with latest in technology which work like charm. Slowly adding back the stuffs as hardware limitation become fewer and able to deliver a better user experience.
True, actually MS can but there're many factors to consider, like processor, battery life, etc. For N900, it's Maemo5, it's not a new Tablet OS. But anyway, it's something not "refined" like you said.

I don't think Apple will add the feature as they could've done much more, it's more like they "want" to limit and restrict and control. It's easier to control and have less problems if you have control and restrictions.
For Google, the OS originally was not from Google anyway, and it didn't start out as a full-blown OS.
For MS, the Windows Mobile, since Pocket PC era, was never a real Windows OS, but a scaled-down OS; There's the Windows CE which is more powerful?

Anyway, as for Maemo, I think this team is not so much related to Nokia; Maybe it's part of Nokia, the phone functionality implemented, seems have no Nokia experience in it; If there's no Nokia branding, one might not know it's Nokia?
What I would say is, instead of ripping out things, they could TURN OFF the feature as default; It's up to the user to decide to unlock and use each feature.
When N900 first launch, the root was locked; To unlock this, users need to decide to take the "Red Pill" to enable Root Access.

So far, we have many SIMPLIFIED OS, they all look and does almost the same thing. Where're the sports/performance cars?
Maemo is gone. MeeGo gone simplified. The category is closed down. As I mention in N900 thread before, they're coming up with another OS that look like iOS and Android; Why should user choose it over the BIG and FAMOUS 2?

Even for Desktop OS, we have netbook OS of Windows 7 Starter; Those who knows the limitation, will want to upgrade. Unless the person really just need it for simple usage; But smartphone, netbook, laptop, will have many types of users; There will be users who demand more, or eventually will demand more as they advance themselves. Just like people who use a normal phone, then starts with smartphone, they slowly learn and use/utilize more, and then they will question how come it cannot do what my computer can do. (e.g. Why my phone cannot browse like my PC?... and slowly they will discover more and want more).
People will keep moving forward, technology too; Eventually one day, smartphones will become more and more powerful, BUT, is it cannot be made available now? It can, but it's not selling well since the general public hasn't reach that stage and the OS is not well implemented (e.g. made simple with advance features as options to be turn on).

As many VERY POWERFUL software, they made it EASY for beginner to pick up and use, at the same time, it is VERY POWERFUL for power users/profesionals. For smartphone OS, they need to apply the same concept; It doesn't have down-scale and make the OS a low end simple OS, but they can make it EASY and SIMPLE to use for any beginner, at the same time, at the hands of advance/power users or profesionals, they can utlize it. This way, it can fit an users, and beginner can slowly advance and move on.

Andy214
post Jun 24 2011, 02:49 AM

3,308 posts

QUOTE(super_evil_alien @ Jun 24 2011, 02:17 AM)
Nerds rejoice! There are still terminal fun in N9.
Root is enabled by enabling developers mode.

@Andy214
Looking at this video Nokia did sort of implement what you said earlier.There are advanced functions in N9 but it's turned off by default.Advanced users can turn it on.
Now if only widgets supported....

Suddenly N9 looks extra attractive to me
Let's hope so; Hopefully the OS is very flexible and customizable, and maybe they can implement a proper homescreen or Desktop; It'll be nice if the Desktop can be preference of Portrait or Landscape, which can prevent people who are not "accustomed" to Landscape mode.
Anyway, as long as it's open and flexible/customizable, I'm sure there will be many amazing developers provide many useful softwares and customization for it, just like Maemo5.

As this OS, the good point: it seems more properly implemented and more complete, seems stable compared to Maemo5, and the social networks integration supposedly is well implemented now.
Overall, it looks positive; but will see how things turn out when it's actually launch especially when the Mango looks good too. WebOS looks great too, but the device design is a real turn off sweat.gif

Andy214
post Jun 24 2011, 11:43 AM

3,308 posts

QUOTE(BuFung @ Jun 24 2011, 11:32 AM)
Open Source community... Nothing beat Android...  thumbup.gif thumbup.gif laugh.gif
It's backed by the big 'G' and the progress is fast unlike other OS.

Plus, after Nokia abandon ship on Maemo many have jump to Android, including those "professionals".

Andy214
post Jun 24 2011, 02:26 PM

3,308 posts

Wah, all N900/Maemo sifu sudah mali.

EDIT: Oops, still got a few missing.

This post has been edited by Andy214: Jun 24 2011, 02:27 PM
Andy214
post Jun 24 2011, 03:12 PM

3,308 posts

QUOTE(super_evil_alien @ Jun 24 2011, 02:33 PM)
RViN & one1002 still MIA

PS: RViN moved to SGS2
meLi

and those that cuztomize their Desktop to MGS!
Andy214
post Jun 24 2011, 06:27 PM

3,308 posts

QUOTE(BBXiong @ Jun 24 2011, 04:59 PM)
i want see Ghz Nokia phone running android... lol

Added on June 24, 2011, 5:01 pmjokes aside, i really think nokia shouldnt have abandoned meego, it manage to make 2 years old hardware looks cutting edge on that thing... everything is just so butterly smooth..

since it's running based on linux, i read somewhere that it's easy to just have a emulator running to enable android apps to run on meego itself.. then i say that's epic win for nokia already...

rangers, shall we all give feedback say we want meego?  tongue.gif
It comes with 1GB RAM, and no homescreen, pretty much simplified; N900 with only 256MB RAM, if turn off Desktop, it's smooth; with some customization, it's even more smooth. With such low spec, some people have stress test it running more than 20 apps, running in background, you can see the games rendering in the Task Manager, and so on.
If this doesn't work as good, something must be wrong with them.

Not sure Epic win/credit for Nokia, or the Maemo/MeeGo team. Even N900, which can dual/triple boot Maemo/Android/MeeGo 1.2 DE, it's not a credit to Nokia. In short, many things done for Maemo and MeeGo, mostly go for the team.
Andy214
post Jun 24 2011, 09:40 PM

3,308 posts

QUOTE(nicholasbeh @ Jun 24 2011, 06:47 PM)
since when elop is a term?meego is eloped.lol.laugh die me.

Added on June 24, 2011, 7:33 pmWhy Nokia need android market?qt5.0 already demo on ipad2

Added on June 24, 2011, 7:41 pm@Andy i heard n900 got 1gb ram?
256MB only
The additional 768 is the virtual/swap memory; pretty much useless. But can at least provide more memory, but once use up to certain amount e.g. 100MB++, the device usually lags more. Retrieving from swap/virtual memory is very slow, you might notice it if you use Windows a lot (not so sure about Windows 7), especially if you set your virtual memory high (even you have a lot of ram).

Andy214
post Jun 26 2011, 02:01 AM

3,308 posts

QUOTE(Andrew Lim @ Jun 25 2011, 02:07 PM)
Microsoft should really change WP7's homescreen which looks like it was designed by a lazy student. Put a WP7 device next to an iPhone, an Android and MeeGo and the homescreen looks really dull.
iPhone? Homescreen?

Andy214
post Jun 27 2011, 12:16 AM

3,308 posts

QUOTE(andrekua @ Jun 26 2011, 09:50 PM)
Not sure if home screen really matter much. iOS don't have home screen. Meego won't have one as well. Symbian has one and it was pretty much useless.
Depends, there're many types of users; The best is to provide than not to provide with options for users to choose.

This version of MeeGo Harmattan doesn't have one, but the original MeeGo I think it have.

QUOTE(super_evil_alien @ Jun 26 2011, 10:20 PM)
No matter what the fault with iOS I admit that it has probably the easiest to use UI.Perhaps people really do like simplified UI.Judging from N9's UI reception they certainly do.

I wonder how will the storage structure will be in N9.Is the 16GB or 64GB used for install OS,Application & to save any other users stuff?
Or there will be separate storage memory for the OS & application/users stuff in 16/64GB memory like N900...
Sure, simplified is good; It makes it easy for anyone to pick-up and use. But it won't satisfy every user, eventually some users are going to grow out and want more; If the OS has no options or room for more features, functionalities, customization, eventually people will move away and move on, just like how some people start to move away from iOS as they progress and want more.
iOS create a mindset for people that they "only" need a simple OS and keep them inside the box or "tempurung"; As many common people/user, they will be sticking to it and not willing to explore others, which seems more complicated; Whereas, those that pickups fast and explore and want something more, will eventually can't resist and move forward.
Some people may never want/need anything more than a simple OS, just like some people can make do with a simple netbook with Windows 7 Starter Edition, while there're those that eventually found out they need something more.

Back when iPhone is still new, not much smartphone users, and they really want to pickup something that is very easy to use and so on. Now, as many people already familiar with smartphones and know what is this or that, some start to explore more, wants more, starting to move forward, plus the advancement in technologies and internet or social network. People start to look for something more advance, hoping their smartphone can do something more.

Lastly, as I mentioned before; just like a software, a very powerful software like say "Photoshop" can be very easy to use and pickup by beginner, YET, it can be extremely powerful at the hands of a advance user. So, it's not about making/limiting the OS to 1 criteria (e.g. simple), it's about making the software flexible, powerful, yet simple for anyone to pickup and use, and not forgetting CHOICES/OPTIONS.

Andy214
post Jun 27 2011, 12:19 AM

3,308 posts

QUOTE(super_evil_alien @ Jun 27 2011, 12:17 AM)
^Later merge & renamed as Microkia?
Sounds so kiasu...
A new emergence from Sony and Ericson tongue.gif
Andy214
post Jun 29 2011, 09:39 AM

3,308 posts

QUOTE(hengguowei @ Jun 29 2011, 06:42 AM)
lol, Nicholas, apa cakap lu? N900 also got video call ady larh for Skype running in the system.
I think he meant 3G Video Call?

7 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0444sec    0.55    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 12:35 AM