Travel Taiwan V2, Refer to pg 1 for compiled guides

TSstimix
post Jun 30 2011, 11:09 PM

Dunno
3,542 posts

For me, I rather skip National Museum.. Abit boring actually bcos not really a history museum but showcasing of Forbidden city collections.

Chiang Kai Shek memorial is a MUST lah..so scenic and Sun yat Sen memorial is actually not far. From Sun Yat sen can walk to Taipei 101
aiyume
post Jul 1 2011, 01:31 AM

听见你的声音
1,528 posts

QUOTE(XIELD @ Jun 30 2011, 09:38 PM)
Thanks Aiyume for the info...

I will be going Taiwan this Sunday 8D7N, i will be visiting Taipei,Taizhong, kenting and KaoShiung, exciting but nervous because many things arranged too rush  blush.gif
I have a few question with me, hope to get some advise:

1)I have prepared my USD with me, therefore i like to know that either taoyuan airport or money changer at taipei has better exchange rate?

2)I will be using THSR -高铁 to access most of the main city such as:
a) taipei - taizhong  (NT700/way)
b) taipei - Zuoying  (NT1490/way)
c) ZuoYing - Tao Yuan (NT1330/way)
The question is do i need to advance online booking for THSR ticket or just buy it on the spot will do? sweat.gif

3)Besides newyork2, Sogo, wufenpu, Shin Kong Mitsukoshi, is there any other shooping area at taipei?

4)Since July is hot summer, so i skip most of the hot spring places such as wulai,xin bei tou, alishan, but should i give up? or is a "must" to visit?

5) Is there any special about National Palace museum at dansui station there.

6) Any device can be bought to detect the luggage weight?

Sorry for too many question  doh.gif
i'm writing based on my research. yet to go in sept.

2. THSR better buy in advanced. not sure if u buy now got discount or not but i know if u buy like 2 months in advanced u get 30% (abit too late for now since u are going in 2 days time sweat.gif) but since u already know your itinerary, better buy first in case on the spot sold out loh.

3. my friend told me the underground shopping near taipei station has cheap clothes.

4. alishan is more than hot spring places. the forest train looks awesome and the sun rise too. but u'll have to stay a nite because travelling takes alot of time.

6. airport they let u weigh for free. but better be careful dun overweight especially if u are taking air asia because they are very strict in luggage weight.
andrekua
post Jul 1 2011, 01:37 AM

NO!!! IT'S HIM!!!
3,887 posts

QUOTE(stimix @ Jun 29 2011, 07:15 AM)
Use Skype-lah. I dunno why ppl like to buy foreign SIM card but I feel it's a waste. unless you realy wanna call each other very often. Imagine you buy RM50 worth of SIM there..but ended up only use RM2..such a waste.

By using Skype wth US$10 initial top-up, your balance will remain like no ending..Mine still having US$6 from the 1st time since I bought in 2007. To contact each other in oversea, follow some Singaporean style. Buy walkie Talkie haha
I wanna buy to online nia, hahahaha...
Cos my tour is Round Taiwan with a lot of long journey... Thought of spending time surfing Internet lor. Plus from what I heard from my friend who sent his daughter there for studying, their network speed damn fast wor.
TSstimix
post Jul 1 2011, 07:17 AM

Dunno
3,542 posts

Cher..meaning wanna try their 3G? 3g speed limited to max 3.5mbps wor.. for what leh? If your hotel having wifi, than diff story-lah. The last I tested at the hostel I stayed managed to get ~ 8mbps..but mostly ~ 3mbps bcos line shared by so many Kwai lou there haha

Not really fast..I can get even avg fast from a hotel in Hanoi..wth avg speed of 4mbps constant and using skype bck to M'sia so superb
XIELD
post Jul 1 2011, 10:08 AM

539 posts

QUOTE(stimix @ Jun 30 2011, 11:09 PM)
For me, I rather skip National Museum.. Abit boring actually bcos not really a history museum but showcasing of Forbidden city collections.

Chiang Kai Shek memorial is a MUST lah..so scenic and Sun yat Sen memorial is actually not far. From Sun Yat sen can walk to Taipei 101
Thanks Stimix for your kind information, i saw there is a place is called Bopi Liao, good place for photo shooting, may i know where is it actually?
aiyume
post Jul 1 2011, 10:25 AM

听见你的声音
1,528 posts

QUOTE(XIELD @ Jul 1 2011, 10:08 AM)
Thanks Stimix for your kind information, i saw there is a place is called Bopi Liao, good place for photo shooting, may i know where is it actually?
bopiliao old street? it's in wanhua district, address No. 101, Guangzhou St., Wanhua District, Taipei City. opens on sun-thu 10am-5pm, fri/sat opens until 7pm. take MRT to longshan temple station.

http://guidepal.com/taipei/see--do/bopiliao-historic-distric
XIELD
post Jul 1 2011, 10:36 AM

539 posts

QUOTE(aiyume @ Jul 1 2011, 10:25 AM)
bopiliao old street? it's in wanhua district, address No. 101, Guangzhou St., Wanhua District, Taipei City. opens on sun-thu 10am-5pm, fri/sat opens until 7pm. take MRT to longshan temple station.

http://guidepal.com/taipei/see--do/bopiliao-historic-distric
Thanks Aiyume and ur previous advise as well... bopiliao seen interesting laugh.gif
TSstimix
post Jul 1 2011, 11:48 AM

Dunno
3,542 posts

Haha..Bopiliao area..I stubled on that area after visiting Longsha temple. And it's actually not far from Ximending area. Even the MRT is only 1 station after Ximending

That area surrouding Longshan temple really very old & look more like the 50's era buildings - There is one wet market, one street where selling chinese herbs and the Bopiliao..

Some photos I hv taken ~ Longshan temple /Bopilao:
MandyG
post Jul 1 2011, 12:17 PM

181 posts

I went to longshan temple.... Just missed this street.....
TSstimix
post Jul 1 2011, 12:22 PM

Dunno
3,542 posts

I stumbled the street while trying to walk to Ximending lor..It's on the left hand side of Longshan temple and 2nd street after the Chinese Herbs street. smile.gif When I was there, that oplace just newly renovated and newly opened & thus you can the picture I took so quiet haha.

Ximending b4 restoration also something like Longshan area..all the 1930s & 1940's style buildings wth red bricks.. smile.gif
QUOTE(MandyG @ Jul 1 2011, 12:17 PM)
I went to longshan temple.... Just missed this street.....
@lice~~
post Jul 1 2011, 02:03 PM

565 posts

For those taking AA back from Taipei to KL, make sure you reach airport early.. there is a long queue for check-in/baggage drop.. it took me about 1 hour for check in and baggages drop in.. the queue start before the counter open sweat.gif

Lucky we reach there around 12pm (3.55pm flight) and the counter not yet open, so we go jalan2 around the airport and went for our brunch. When the time back to counter (1pm++), already a long queue..

Added on July 1, 2011, 2:12 pm

I will be going Taiwan this Sunday 8D7N, i will be visiting Taipei,Taizhong, kenting and KaoShiung, exciting but nervous because many things arranged too rush  blush.gif

1)I have prepared my USD with me, therefore i like to know that either taoyuan airport or money changer at taipei has better exchange rate?

The question is do i need to advance online booking for THSR ticket or just buy it on the spot will do? sweat.gif

3)Besides newyork2, Sogo, wufenpu, Shin Kong Mitsukoshi, is there any other shooping area at taipei?

4)Since July is hot summer, so i skip most of the hot spring places such as wulai,xin bei tou, alishan, but should i give up? or is a "must" to visit?

For shopping, how about Ximending?

For Xin bei tou, besides hot spring u can visit the Thermal Valley, muzeum, library and etc.. well, we still go for hot spring even it's hot out there.. feel like the trip is not completed without hot spring tongue.gif

This post has been edited by @lice~~: Jul 1 2011, 02:12 PM
aiyume
post Jul 1 2011, 02:18 PM

听见你的声音
1,528 posts

QUOTE(@lice~~ @ Jul 1 2011, 02:03 PM)
For those taking AA back from Taipei to KL, make sure you reach airport early.. there is a long queue for check-in/baggage drop.. it took me about 1 hour for check in and baggages drop in.. the queue start before the counter open  sweat.gif

Lucky we reach there around 12pm (3.55pm flight) and the counter not yet open, so we go jalan2 around the airport and went for our brunch. When the time back to counter (1pm++), already a long queue..

Added on July 1, 2011, 2:12 pm

For shopping, how about Ximending?

For Xin bei tou, besides hot spring u can visit the Thermal Valley, muzeum, library and etc.. well, we still go for hot spring even it's hot out there.. feel like the trip is not completed without hot spring  tongue.gif
ximending shopping kinda expensive.

my flight coming back at 11+pm. but we'll leave for airport by 8pm because the luggage room in taipei closing at 8. should be enough gua.

u went for the public hot spring or private owned by the hotels there? need to wear swimsuit?
TSstimix
post Jul 1 2011, 03:04 PM

Dunno
3,542 posts

For me Ximending not really for shopping.as u said, expensive. Ximending normally like a version of open air Sg Wang..lotsa eateries, Tong Sui, Street vendors & those cute litte ladies accesories, bags & etc..

For real shoppings for clothes & etc goto Wufenpu. BTW, nothing much in the 3 underground shopping malls in Taipei main stations (Yeah there are 3 undeground malls there wth one new one attached to the ground level mall behind the station.
andrekua
post Jul 1 2011, 06:45 PM

NO!!! IT'S HIM!!!
3,887 posts

QUOTE(stimix @ Jul 1 2011, 03:04 PM)
For me Ximending not really for shopping.as u said, expensive. Ximending normally like a version of open air Sg Wang..lotsa eateries, Tong Sui, Street vendors & those cute litte ladies accesories, bags & etc..

For real shoppings for clothes & etc goto Wufenpu. BTW, nothing much in the 3 underground shopping malls in Taipei main stations (Yeah there are 3 undeground malls there wth one new one attached to the ground level mall behind the station.
Bro,

Which are recommended for electronic shopping? I heard from friend that GuangHwa houses all kinds of electronics but not the cheapest. You got any clue regarding bargain for electronic stuffs?
TSstimix
post Jul 1 2011, 06:53 PM

Dunno
3,542 posts

Sorry, I dun really shop for IT related thingies..It's not cheap from what I was told..Eventhough the Guanhwa IT ctr so near to my hostel & also passing by another at Shilin station, I dun even pay them a visit haha
XIELD
post Jul 1 2011, 11:51 PM

539 posts

May i know that can i hand carry my tripod? i heard is unable?

smoochiesayn
post Jul 2 2011, 01:45 PM

787 posts

I'll answer based on my experience..

1) If wan say better exchange rate, not so sure coz dun have time to compare there.. but one thing for sure, hard to find money changer in taipei unless u go to their malls.. in my case, i change in the airport..

2) i also took HSR from Taoyuan - Zuoying, Zuoying - Taichung then Taichung to Taipei. all also buy on the spot.. and there are 2 type of seats, reserved or non reserved. non reserved is cheaper. based on my experience, during my HSR trips, the train were quite vacant.. not full house or hard to find place to seat...

3) is newyork2 still around? i heard it's closing down d.. u can shop at 台北地下街 (Taiwan Underground Mall) also. but IMHO, i still feel their night market is the best to shop tongue.gif

4) up to ur own preference. even when i was there during fall, i also skip the hot spring eventhough i have reach xin bei tou. jz walked around only.

5) If u like historical museum kinda thing can go lo.. CKS must go, Taiwan landmark so must go take picture.. SYS nothing much, quite like CKS also have guard changing ceremony

6) u stay in min shu or hotel? maybe can ask them if they have any weighing scale or not.
aiyume
post Jul 2 2011, 02:24 PM

听见你的声音
1,528 posts

anyone been to miaoli before can advise on the public transport? i know it's not a common tourist location.
XIELD
post Jul 3 2011, 09:00 AM

539 posts

QUOTE(XIELD @ Jul 1 2011, 11:51 PM)
May i know that can i hand carry my tripod? i heard is unable?
Morning all...
now at LCCT waiting flight to Taipei,
Just fyi, we cannot hand carry the camera tripod and need to check in,because they said that tripod is made of steel and might be a dangerous weapon icon_idea.gif

Added on July 3, 2011, 9:03 am
QUOTE(smoochiesayn @ Jul 2 2011, 01:45 PM)
I'll answer based on my experience..

1) If wan say better exchange rate, not so sure coz dun have time to compare there.. but one thing for sure, hard to find money changer in taipei unless u go to their malls.. in my case, i change in the airport..

2) i also took HSR from Taoyuan - Zuoying, Zuoying - Taichung then Taichung to Taipei. all also buy on the spot.. and there are 2 type of seats, reserved or non reserved. non reserved is cheaper. based on my experience, during my HSR trips, the train were quite vacant.. not full house or hard to find place to seat...

3) is newyork2 still around? i heard it's closing down d.. u can shop at 台北地下街 (Taiwan Underground Mall) also. but IMHO, i still feel their night market is the best to shop tongue.gif

4) up to ur own preference. even when i was there during fall, i also skip the hot spring eventhough i have reach xin bei tou. jz walked around only.

5) If u like historical museum kinda thing can go lo.. CKS must go, Taiwan landmark so must go take picture.. SYS nothing much, quite like CKS also have guard changing ceremony

6) u stay in min shu or hotel? maybe can ask them if they have any weighing scale or not.
Thanks for your useful information, hoping tao yuan airport has good rate today

This post has been edited by XIELD: Jul 3 2011, 09:03 AM
kons
post Jul 3 2011, 09:31 AM

Конс
6,181 posts

QUOTE(XIELD @ Jul 3 2011, 09:00 AM)
Morning all...
now at LCCT waiting flight to Taipei,
Just fyi, we cannot hand carry the camera tripod and need to check in,because they said that tripod is made of steel and might be a dangerous weapon  icon_idea.gif
I was at LCCT too! But was sending someone off.

146 Pages « < 10 11 12 13 14 > » Top

0.0282sec    0.75    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 13th December 2025 - 07:27 PM