can we use easycard on taiwan rail and intercity buses?
Travel Taiwan V2, Refer to pg 1 for compiled guides
Jun 30 2011, 09:36 AM
1,528 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Always In Your Heart Status: Waiting |
can we use easycard on taiwan rail and intercity buses?
Jun 30 2011, 09:49 AM
3,542 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Puchong, Selangor |
Taiwan rail only can use up to Keelung only. Kenot use for train to hualian. Bus.Should be OK kua..I think I swipe b4..haha can't remember liao
Jun 30 2011, 09:56 AM
hmm ok...found this:
![]() the intercity buses list kinda confusing on the website. This post has been edited by aiyume: Jun 30 2011, 09:56 AM |
Jun 30 2011, 12:05 PM
565 posts Joined: Sep 2005 |
I am back
well, really fun and nice trip.. but tiring.. walking, walking and walking only.. Taiwanese are just so nice and friendly During my trip, there is typhoon coming in.. scare me out but lucky that it didnt directly "attack" the land.. just whole day raining and windy.. During my tour at Hualien, met a nice taxi uncle.. he treat us like his son/daughter.. even bring us to back to his "hometown" for a short visit and a lot of story sharing.. do let me know if you need this nice taxi uncle contact no. |
Jun 30 2011, 12:07 PM
Jun 30 2011, 12:14 PM
6,181 posts Joined: Oct 2004 |
QUOTE(@lice~~ @ Jun 30 2011, 12:05 PM) most of them not really understand English, or I should say they very seldom use it, so when you speak the English term they will like "what!!??" expression in their face.. aha, when i first went there last time, the cashier wanted to tell me something, after saying to the same like 10 times but still I couldn't get it, she just gave up. |
Jun 30 2011, 12:21 PM
QUOTE(@lice~~ @ Jun 30 2011, 12:05 PM) I am back well, really fun and nice trip.. but tiring.. walking, walking and walking only.. Taiwanese are just so nice and friendly During my trip, there is typhoon coming in.. scare me out but lucky that it didnt directly "attack" the land.. just whole day raining and windy.. During my tour at Hualien, met a nice taxi uncle.. he treat us like his son/daughter.. even bring us to back to his "hometown" for a short visit and a lot of story sharing.. do let me know if you need this nice taxi uncle contact no. so you went to taroko? pity it was raining....very troublesome to go around in the rain right? hopefully when i go that time the weather will be good. QUOTE(@lice~~ @ Jun 30 2011, 12:07 PM) aiyume, what's the name of the restaurant?MUST try the restaurant opposite the Fun Taipei Backpackers hostel.. it's delicious.. Our lunch QUOTE(kons @ Jun 30 2011, 12:14 PM) aha, when i first went there last time, the cashier wanted to tell me something, after saying to the same like 10 times but still I couldn't get it, she just gave up. Added on June 30, 2011, 12:23 pmoh btw, i think taipei backpackers hostel rooms have different building for different type of rooms. from jlgoh's blog his room is opposite the bakery shop right? mine the address is different and the building has 7-11 downstairs. This post has been edited by aiyume: Jun 30 2011, 12:23 PM |
Jun 30 2011, 12:28 PM
If kenot speak mandarin, Hokkien is the nxt option bcos almost all ppl in Taipei can speak hokkien. Otheriwse i think Hakka should be OK too bcos their MRT also got hakka announcement wan although I haven't see ppl speak hakka there
Jun 30 2011, 01:17 PM
6,181 posts Joined: Oct 2004 |
QUOTE(@lice~~ @ Jun 30 2011, 12:07 PM) aiyume, One meat and 3 or 4 vege/side dish is a very common combination for 便当 over there.MUST try the restaurant opposite the Fun Taipei Backpackers hostel.. it's delicious.. » Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « Our lunch I just like to sneak into the corporate canteen for lunch, can get 便当 for like 40 or 50 twd only. |
Jun 30 2011, 02:29 PM
QUOTE(kons @ Jun 30 2011, 12:14 PM) aha, when i first went there last time, the cashier wanted to tell me something, after saying to the same like 10 times but still I couldn't get it, she just gave up. QUOTE(aiyume @ Jun 30 2011, 12:21 PM) so you went to taroko? pity it was raining....very troublesome to go around in the rain right? hopefully when i go that time the weather will be good. what's the name of the restaurant? Added on June 30, 2011, 12:23 pmoh btw, i think taipei backpackers hostel rooms have different building for different type of rooms. from jlgoh's blog his room is opposite the bakery shop right? mine the address is different and the building has 7-11 downstairs. Eerr.. i forgot the restaurant name and didnt take photo of the shop.. |
Jun 30 2011, 02:36 PM
QUOTE(stimix @ Jun 30 2011, 12:28 PM) If kenot speak mandarin, Hokkien is the nxt option bcos almost all ppl in Taipei can speak hokkien. Otheriwse i think Hakka should be OK too bcos their MRT also got hakka announcement wan although I haven't see ppl speak hakka there Yup, but MRT called in hokkien? Other than that most of the restaurant's menu is in chinese so here comes another problem.. but again lucky that they are friendly enough, we just ask them to recommend.. so far all their foods are nice.. Here another MUST try food: Mei & Mei : pork burger and ham egg biscuit |
Jun 30 2011, 02:56 PM
QUOTE(@lice~~ @ Jun 30 2011, 02:29 PM) Lucky on the day we went to taroko only little bit of raining.. so it's just nice.. Eerr.. i forgot the restaurant name and didnt take photo of the shop.. |
Jun 30 2011, 02:59 PM
Yes Hokkien for sure..Normally the announcement will be in Mandarin, Hokkien & Hakka. Forgotten liao whether got English or not
Those restaurant although no english are very common food you can find in m'sia too..Even there is Roti Canai in taipei but super pricey lah haha. Anyway, Food in Taiwan, is rather over-rated to me..Can eat only lor QUOTE(@lice~~ @ Jun 30 2011, 02:36 PM) |
Jun 30 2011, 03:02 PM
QUOTE(kons @ Jun 30 2011, 01:17 PM) One meat and 3 or 4 vege/side dish is a very common combination for 便当 over there. That's cheap.. for the one in the picture cost about TWD 60 or 70 I just like to sneak into the corporate canteen for lunch, can get 便当 for like 40 or 50 twd only. QUOTE(aiyume @ Jun 30 2011, 02:56 PM) 6-11 is block number.. meaning yours 7-11 is next to mine.. like block A, B, C but theirs present in numberingsorry not sure for the road name.. turn left after the OK mart.. i think the bakery shop mentioned by jlgoh have changed to the restaurant.. This post has been edited by @lice~~: Jun 30 2011, 03:10 PM |
Jun 30 2011, 03:13 PM
the 7-11 i meant is the 7-11 convenient store
Jun 30 2011, 03:14 PM
Even a 4 dishes chapfan wth one big chicken, 1 tofu, 2 Vege + free winter melon drink only cost NT55 in downtown Taipei
Jun 30 2011, 03:24 PM
Jun 30 2011, 09:38 PM
539 posts Joined: Dec 2004 |
QUOTE(aiyume @ Jun 28 2011, 05:42 PM) i think you can use your own phone as long as it's a 3G phone? unless u are using iphone then cannot loh. Thanks Aiyume for the info...I will be going Taiwan this Sunday 8D7N, i will be visiting Taipei,Taizhong, kenting and KaoShiung, exciting but nervous because many things arranged too rush I have a few question with me, hope to get some advise: 1)I have prepared my USD with me, therefore i like to know that either taoyuan airport or money changer at taipei has better exchange rate? 2)I will be using THSR -高铁 to access most of the main city such as: a) taipei - taizhong (NT700/way) b) taipei - Zuoying (NT1490/way) c) ZuoYing - Tao Yuan (NT1330/way) The question is do i need to advance online booking for THSR ticket or just buy it on the spot will do? 3)Besides newyork2, Sogo, wufenpu, Shin Kong Mitsukoshi, is there any other shooping area at taipei? 4)Since July is hot summer, so i skip most of the hot spring places such as wulai,xin bei tou, alishan, but should i give up? or is a "must" to visit? 5) Is there any special about National Palace museum at dansui station there. 6) Any device can be bought to detect the luggage weight? Sorry for too many question |
Jun 30 2011, 10:48 PM
National Palace Museum is not at Danshui lo..It's closer to Shihlin station and from there take a connecting bus to National Palace museu.
For me, it is just a meseum showcasing the gift, & belongings of China past emperor since thousand years ago. Haha From Beijing Forbidden city now stucked in Taipei |
Jun 30 2011, 11:05 PM
539 posts Joined: Dec 2004 |
QUOTE(stimix @ Jun 30 2011, 10:48 PM) National Palace Museum is not at Danshui lo..It's closer to Shihlin station and from there take a connecting bus to National Palace museu. Thanks Stimix, yes should stop at Shilin station and i was wrong... How about The Sun yat sen memorial hall and also the Chiang Kai Shek memorial Hall.....which one is more worth to visit because time is not enough to visit all this memorial hall For me, it is just a meseum showcasing the gift, & belongings of China past emperor since thousand years ago. Haha From Beijing Forbidden city now stucked in Taipei |
| Change to: | 0.0169sec
Time is now: 13th December 2025 - 01:17 AM |