Travel Taiwan V2, Refer to pg 1 for compiled guides
May 27 2011, 05:10 PM
1,528 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Always In Your Heart Status: Waiting |
stimix, the MRT route map is outdated. there's 1 extra line in the middle of red and brown.
May 31 2011, 11:54 AM
QUOTE(stimix @ May 27 2011, 06:17 PM) stimix, here you go, reuploaded to imageshack to prevent hotlinking.![]() enlarge version: http://img707.imageshack.us/img707/6185/metrotaibei.png This post has been edited by aiyume: May 31 2011, 12:01 PM |
Jun 1 2011, 02:08 PM
just checking, if i have 4 people travelling, izit cheaper to take a cab? or still MRT/bus is cheaper?
how much will it cost for 4 people with luggages to take a cab from taoyuan airport to shilin? say at around 11pm. |
Jun 1 2011, 02:23 PM
QUOTE(@lice~~ @ Jun 1 2011, 02:18 PM) My hostel charge NTD1,000 for 1 to 4 person per cab.. i think it is the standard price.. hmm...then it's cheaper to take bus to taipei then MRT. cost less than TWD600 for 4pax. thanks.during my research, i got see some charged for NTD900+ QUOTE(stimix @ Jun 1 2011, 02:21 PM) OK Tnx. I probably use other than imageshack bcos of their pathetic rules of requiring login & those using IE cab't really view it okie. just host whichever better. been ages since i last used imageshack. |
Jun 1 2011, 02:55 PM
thanks alice! 1500 2 ways sounds like a good deal. i'll keep this in mind.
Jun 1 2011, 03:44 PM
QUOTE(davidbilly87 @ Jun 1 2011, 03:41 PM) i use the direct debit by public bank , but i need update my details, and need to check the latest status for airasia ticket ... did u log in as member when you did the booking? if not, you might need to register as a member now using the same email address you used during booking. |
Jun 7 2011, 04:56 PM
@jlgoh9, the digital tour buddy, did u apply online in advanced or you only apply when you reach there? if online, how long did it take to get approved? when you collect from the airport, how long did it take for you to get it?
reason i need to know coz my flight arriving TPE at 22:25 (if flight on time), i'm not sure if i got enough time to get a bus to the hostel. by the way, i can arrange late check in time with fun taipei right? |
Jun 8 2011, 09:42 AM
QUOTE(MandyG @ Jun 7 2011, 05:10 PM) regarding the digital tour buddy, u need apply thru online.... when i approach the staff there, they said need apply at least 3days before ur arrival.... it very fast only as u just need show ur passport then they will copy and u fill in a form... it won take u longer than 15mins.... most likely i'll get those airport transfer car, saw 1 charging TWD750 per way.if u take bus then u need around 1hrs something to reach taipei city.... u need sometime to clear from the kastam.... QUOTE(smoochiesayn @ Jun 7 2011, 07:35 PM) aiyume~~ thanks smoochie digital buddy can apply starting one month before your departure... if they have the phone at their hand, they will reply u asap. when i was there, i just need to fill in ur details and they will explain a bit. quite fast actually. just right outside of the departure hall. QUOTE(jlgoh9 @ Jun 7 2011, 10:12 PM) yeah..most of them answered your questions. You can start apply the Digital Tour Buddy(DTB) a month before you are scheduled to reach there. If both you and your partner is aged 30 and below, you can apply for each of you. Better cos both of you actually have phone that you can call to each other in case one of you is lost. Anyway, make sure that you get a conformation email from them that your application is successful. You can remind them about a week before you reach and they will reply fast. i'm taking AA Print it out and hand to them when you collect your DTB alongside a copy of ur passport, and driver's license(if you're not driving). The process of collecting is not long...maybe 5-10mins ok already because they have already prepared for you in advance. You need to make sure that you stated in your application that you want to collect it at Taoyuan Terminal 2 (if there is where you land. Airasia land in T2. I'm not sure about MAS which i think is ur flight and other airlines). The collection is at customer service counter which is right at the entrance of the arrival gate. I think late at night, you'll get out faster unless your baggage is the last one to be thrown onto the conveyor belt I think most hostel/homestay allow late check in. You'll need to inform them in advance. then how about the youth travel card? anyone has applied? |
Jun 8 2011, 10:16 AM
QUOTE(jlgoh9 @ Jun 8 2011, 10:08 AM) AA have flights that reached at night? I thought they only have one going there everyday that reached about 2.30pm. ya there is. flight at 5.45pm reaching 10.25pm. that's why the time abit rush if i were to take a bus then change to MRT. need to collect the tour buddy somemore. tot since i'm applying for the tour buddy might as well apply the travel card together since it's free.I didnt apply the travel card. but it's no harm applying for it since it's free anyway. you'll get some discounts at selected places, so if you don't visit the places, there's no use of the travel card la. Added on June 8, 2011, 10:17 ambtw, when are u updating your next blog entry leh? This post has been edited by aiyume: Jun 8 2011, 10:17 AM |
Jun 8 2011, 11:17 AM
QUOTE(jlgoh9 @ Jun 8 2011, 11:03 AM) ic. you can ask your hostel about the option of the airport transfer whether he can get a better price for you or not. i'm booking the fun taipei backpackers 1 room 2 double beds. seems decent and few recommended (including you my blog ar? haha. working on it now actually..maybe a few more days..perhaps..i can't believe that it's 2months+ since i went there and i still haven't finish writing about it lol it always happen. most of my travel entries ended half way XD then it got too outdated i din even finish |
Jun 8 2011, 11:35 AM
QUOTE(jlgoh9 @ Jun 8 2011, 11:34 AM) Yes. After you paid the 10% booking fees, Kevin would require you to confirm the reservation with another 30% payment. The balance will be paid when you reached there. Once the 30% is paid (thru paypal) then you can actually ask him about the transfer. what if i don't have paypal? can i use cc instead?Added on June 8, 2011, 11:36 ami din know have to pay another 30%. coz it wasn't mentioned in the hostel page. This post has been edited by aiyume: Jun 8 2011, 11:36 AM |
Jun 8 2011, 12:07 PM
oh ok....think of bright side, at least i no need to bring so much cash with me XD thanks for your info.
Jun 8 2011, 04:14 PM
QUOTE(@lice~~ @ Jun 8 2011, 04:11 PM) it's correct as mentioned by jlgoh9.. u can pay by credit card via the paypal site, i done it.. between u may direct contact Kevin n do the booking.. it's the same process u go thru other booking website.. n a good point is Kevin can give a little bit of discount can do direct booking with Kevin? how? i only know hostelworld.com and hostel.comMake sure u inform Kevin in advance abt ur late arrival.. |
Jun 9 2011, 04:28 PM
QUOTE(smoochiesayn @ Jun 9 2011, 10:03 AM) if can hand carry the luggage better still. no need wait for luggage. don't think can hand carry a luggage with 7days of clothings XD i applied for the youth travel card but doesnt serve any much use. most prolly my sightseeing ticket is already paid for. but u get to keep the tag for souvenir. no harm applying, IMHO. might get discount on certain things my trip were almost 8 months ago. i'm still at my Day 3 for my 10 days trip.. lost my blogging mojo d.. ya, coz i'm going on my own. might need it somewhere. Kevin kinda fast in responding email |
Jun 10 2011, 04:00 PM
QUOTE(jlgoh9 @ Jun 9 2011, 10:05 PM) u don't need to bring 7 days clothes... bring 3-4 days can liao... either u buy new one there or u wash the clothes there. keep the luggage space for your shopping items lol....if cannot get nice ones there mar kantoi QUOTE(@lice~~ @ Jun 10 2011, 11:54 AM) no leh....how to tell him who recommended leh? unless he got super good memory? XD |
Jun 13 2011, 09:54 AM
QUOTE(MickyMouse @ Jun 13 2011, 12:47 AM) I need to store my medium size luggage. Is the luggage room able to fit it?? from the taipei train station website, there have自動存物箱----- 每日以收費新台幣大口100元小口50元 but not sure how big though. btw.. where can i get the luggage room? Is tis available at all train station? cant seems to find any info on this service though :S http://www.railway.gov.tw/Taipei/cp.aspx?sn=13299 |
Jun 13 2011, 02:53 PM
QUOTE(@lice~~ @ Jun 13 2011, 10:42 AM) Ah.. thanks.. noted in my list yaloh bad timing Ya, many of my relatives told us about that.. and ask us dont buy anything from taiwan What is sun cake? noted in my list to Jiufen.. A few of my family members too scare for taiwan food now.. so i think i wont buy much.. maybe a little bit for my own n colleagues only.. what a good timing so far only processed food reported right? those prepacked products. |
Jun 13 2011, 03:42 PM
QUOTE(@lice~~ @ Jun 13 2011, 03:33 PM) Whole morning trying to book my train to Hualien but no luck for my initial desired date (25th June).. book advance what if weather no good? btw, for trains to other places like pingxi, miaoli, etc, do i have to book in advance? |
Jun 14 2011, 09:47 AM
confirmed and paid deposit for fun taipei backpackers. super fast response from kevin.
Jun 15 2011, 12:20 AM
i'm thinking if wanna do yeliu and jiu fen on the same day as the journey is kinda long. 1 hour to yeliu, 1 hour from yeliu to keelung and another hour to jiufen. should i split them to 2 days and do yeliu+keelung in 1 day, jiu fen+shi fen(ping xi line) another day?
| Change to: | 0.0558sec
Time is now: 10th December 2025 - 10:35 PM |