Travel Taiwan V2, Refer to pg 1 for compiled guides
SUSOptiplex330
Jul 3 2011, 02:00 PM
Hi. What's the weather like in Taiwan in August? From the Internet, it says it's around 28 deg C average. Correct? http://www.holiday-weather.com/taipei/averages/august/Don't have the time to do all the research so was thinking of just joining a holiday tour. Is it better to book it with a Malaysian tour company or just buy air ticket and join a Taiwan tour company instead? Any recommendation. Any comment on this particular tour and company? http://www.abcholiday.com.my/Itinerary%20P...TPE-G%20-en.pdfThis post has been edited by Optiplex330: Jul 3 2011, 02:04 PM
andrekua
Jul 3 2011, 02:13 PM
QUOTE(Optiplex330 @ Jul 3 2011, 02:00 PM) Hi. What's the weather like in Taiwan in August? From the Internet, it says it's around 28 deg C average. Correct? http://www.holiday-weather.com/taipei/averages/august/Don't have the time to do all the research so was thinking of just joining a holiday tour. Is it better to book it with a Malaysian tour company or just buy air ticket and join a Taiwan tour company instead? Any recommendation. Any comment on this particular tour and company? http://www.abcholiday.com.my/Itinerary%20P...TPE-G%20-en.pdf3k++? Im going on pretty similar trip round Taiwan on 30th August. Compared to my itenary, yours is a bit on the luxury side. I heard many friends telling me rounding Taiwan is like hell with long bus trip. Each day 3-5 hours in bus when traveling south and back to north. I wonder what kind of nightmare awaits me as my <2 years old son will tag along. Added on July 3, 2011, 2:16 pmQUOTE(XIELD @ Jul 3 2011, 09:00 AM) Morning all... now at LCCT waiting flight to Taipei, Just fyi, we cannot hand carry the camera tripod and need to check in,because they said that tripod is made of steel and might be a dangerous weapon  Added on July 3, 2011, 9:03 amThanks for your useful information, hoping tao yuan airport has good rate today I think you will reach at 3pm. Please update on the exchange rate. I'm thinking whether should exchange here or there. This post has been edited by andrekua: Jul 3 2011, 02:16 PM
dreamerer
Jul 3 2011, 06:18 PM
Nice threads, thumb up.
Hannibal
Jul 4 2011, 11:36 AM

Any idea about any promotional flight tickets to Taipei coming up? Last year I went with MAS was at RM900/pax, which is pretty much a steal. Was looking forward to visit again mid of next year but the ticket price is so expensive now.... sigh. Anyway, there's a AA-X promotion going on now and price was around RM650 (ticket+airport tax). Do u think this is a good price?
aiyume
Jul 4 2011, 12:20 PM
QUOTE(Hannibal @ Jul 4 2011, 11:36 AM) Any idea about any promotional flight tickets to Taipei coming up? Last year I went with MAS was at RM900/pax, which is pretty much a steal. Was looking forward to visit again mid of next year but the ticket price is so expensive now.... sigh. Anyway, there's a AA-X promotion going on now and price was around RM650 (ticket+airport tax). Do u think this is a good price? it can go lower. my fren managed to get 300+ return tix.
gzavincent
Jul 4 2011, 12:27 PM
Did you guys stayed in Minsu(so call homestay)?? If yes, how is it?
XIELD
Jul 4 2011, 06:25 PM
QUOTE(andrekua @ Jul 3 2011, 02:13 PM) 3k++? Im going on pretty similar trip round Taiwan on 30th August. Compared to my itenary, yours is a bit on the luxury side. I heard many friends telling me rounding Taiwan is like hell with long bus trip. Each day 3-5 hours in bus when traveling south and back to north. I wonder what kind of nightmare awaits me as my <2 years old son will tag along. Added on July 3, 2011, 2:16 pmI think you will reach at 3pm. Please update on the exchange rate. I'm thinking whether should exchange here or there. Exchange rate for yesterday was 28.37 and today is 28.73 I was surprise that the rate at airport and banks at Taipen is different..
kons
Jul 4 2011, 06:26 PM
Конс
QUOTE(Hannibal @ Jul 4 2011, 11:36 AM) Any idea about any promotional flight tickets to Taipei coming up? Last year I went with MAS was at RM900/pax, which is pretty much a steal. Was looking forward to visit again mid of next year but the ticket price is so expensive now.... sigh. Anyway, there's a AA-X promotion going on now and price was around RM650 (ticket+airport tax). Do u think this is a good price? i get aax premium at approx myr 1400 before. that's the cheapest for aax premium i can see so far.
XIELD
Jul 4 2011, 06:29 PM
Hi guys....
Tomorrow i will be going away from Taipei city to area such as ye liu,jiu fen,pin xi, jin gua shi,kee lung, etc...
Taxi quoted me whole day for NT3500, pls advice me is it reasonable?
TSstimix
Jul 4 2011, 06:41 PM
Dunno
If you hv more than 3 or 4 in the group, sharing the cost of taxi for sure OK. but if only 2, just DIY via train & buses will be much cheaper.
For sure wth taxi, you need not waiting taleast 1/2 hr for nxt bus or train & also walking 1km+ from Yehliu Village entrance till the Geopark
andrekua
Jul 4 2011, 11:44 PM
QUOTE(XIELD @ Jul 4 2011, 06:25 PM) Exchange rate for yesterday was 28.37 and today is 28.73 I was surprise that the rate at airport and banks at Taipen is different.. Eh... much lower than we exchange here @ 10.72 then... I thought many people said exchange USD go there better rates... only purchase through CC or ATM withdrawal is worth it then...
kiawin
Jul 5 2011, 12:01 AM
QUOTE(andrekua @ Jul 4 2011, 11:44 PM) Eh... much lower than we exchange here @ 10.72 then... I thought many people said exchange USD go there better rates... only purchase through CC or ATM withdrawal is worth it then... Erm... TWD28.73 = USD1? Today's USD selling was RM3.000, from Wawasan. This means, Direct RM to TWD RM10.72 = TWD100 RM10 = TWD93.28 RM to USD to TWD RM3 = USD1 = TWD28.73 RM10 = TWD95.77 If I got it right This post has been edited by kiawin: Jul 5 2011, 12:02 AM
andrekua
Jul 5 2011, 01:14 AM
I think you are correct. I was using 3.05 per USD and exchange at airport which end up being lesser. Not sure if I will have anytime visiting banks cos I'm joining tour package.
Thanks again... I can't wait for Hari Raya...
kiawin
Jul 5 2011, 09:46 AM
QUOTE(andrekua @ Jul 5 2011, 01:14 AM) I think you are correct. I was using 3.05 per USD and exchange at airport which end up being lesser. Not sure if I will have anytime visiting banks cos I'm joining tour package. Thanks again... I can't wait for Hari Raya... I guess it is the currency fluctuation to be blame  USD is going down again it seems
may_saw87
Jul 5 2011, 09:52 AM
QUOTE(Hannibal @ Jul 4 2011, 11:36 AM) Any idea about any promotional flight tickets to Taipei coming up? Last year I went with MAS was at RM900/pax, which is pretty much a steal. Was looking forward to visit again mid of next year but the ticket price is so expensive now.... sigh. Anyway, there's a AA-X promotion going on now and price was around RM650 (ticket+airport tax). Do u think this is a good price? OMG.. you manage to get RM650 with tax. Issit return??
aiyume
Jul 5 2011, 09:58 AM
QUOTE(may_saw87 @ Jul 5 2011, 09:52 AM) OMG.. you manage to get RM650 with tax. Issit return?? i believe 650 is without luggage, meals, insurance etc.
may_saw87
Jul 5 2011, 10:24 AM
QUOTE(aiyume @ Jul 5 2011, 09:58 AM) i believe 650 is without luggage, meals, insurance etc. Yeap, i just checked! Booking AA always need to add in luggage meals and insurance. Anyway all together RM780 return per person consider okay? Or should i wait for another promo? I am planning to travel next year March
aiyume
Jul 5 2011, 10:37 AM
QUOTE(may_saw87 @ Jul 5 2011, 10:24 AM) Yeap, i just checked! Booking AA always need to add in luggage meals and insurance. Anyway all together RM780 return per person consider okay? Or should i wait for another promo? I am planning to travel next year March  my friend managed to get 300++ return tix. she went taiwan earlier this year. not sure if there's another promo though.
may_saw87
Jul 5 2011, 10:52 AM
QUOTE(aiyume @ Jul 5 2011, 10:37 AM) my friend managed to get 300++ return tix. she went taiwan earlier this year. not sure if there's another promo though. WOW your friend is so lucky. I heard this year Taiwan tix all shoot up. Last year it was cheaper, i guess many people wanna visit taiwan now. I don't know if should wait. What you guys think of another promo? I scared i wait until i wont get any tix..
kiawin
Jul 5 2011, 11:13 AM
QUOTE(may_saw87 @ Jul 5 2011, 10:52 AM) WOW your friend is so lucky. I heard this year Taiwan tix all shoot up. Last year it was cheaper, i guess many people wanna visit taiwan now. I don't know if should wait. What you guys think of another promo? I scared i wait until i wont get any tix.. I guess you can wait for the annual zero fare promo. I got 12 tickets last year, and going this saturday  it's RM425/pax, didn't manage to get the zero fare tickets (i think about RM250++) but good enough for me