Travel Taiwan V2, Refer to pg 1 for compiled guides

andrekua
post Jun 29 2011, 01:19 AM

NO!!! IT'S HIM!!!
3,887 posts

BTW, if too old to apply for DTB, go there buy 3G simcard cost how much? Heard their network is quite speedy...
andrekua
post Jul 1 2011, 01:37 AM

NO!!! IT'S HIM!!!
3,887 posts

QUOTE(stimix @ Jun 29 2011, 07:15 AM)
Use Skype-lah. I dunno why ppl like to buy foreign SIM card but I feel it's a waste. unless you realy wanna call each other very often. Imagine you buy RM50 worth of SIM there..but ended up only use RM2..such a waste.

By using Skype wth US$10 initial top-up, your balance will remain like no ending..Mine still having US$6 from the 1st time since I bought in 2007. To contact each other in oversea, follow some Singaporean style. Buy walkie Talkie haha
I wanna buy to online nia, hahahaha...
Cos my tour is Round Taiwan with a lot of long journey... Thought of spending time surfing Internet lor. Plus from what I heard from my friend who sent his daughter there for studying, their network speed damn fast wor.
andrekua
post Jul 1 2011, 06:45 PM

NO!!! IT'S HIM!!!
3,887 posts

QUOTE(stimix @ Jul 1 2011, 03:04 PM)
For me Ximending not really for shopping.as u said, expensive. Ximending normally like a version of open air Sg Wang..lotsa eateries, Tong Sui, Street vendors & those cute litte ladies accesories, bags & etc..

For real shoppings for clothes & etc goto Wufenpu. BTW, nothing much in the 3 underground shopping malls in Taipei main stations (Yeah there are 3 undeground malls there wth one new one attached to the ground level mall behind the station.
Bro,

Which are recommended for electronic shopping? I heard from friend that GuangHwa houses all kinds of electronics but not the cheapest. You got any clue regarding bargain for electronic stuffs?
andrekua
post Jul 3 2011, 02:13 PM

NO!!! IT'S HIM!!!
3,887 posts

QUOTE(Optiplex330 @ Jul 3 2011, 02:00 PM)
Hi. What's the weather like in Taiwan in August? From the Internet, it says it's around 28 deg C average. Correct?

http://www.holiday-weather.com/taipei/averages/august/
Don't have the time to do all the research so was thinking of just joining a holiday tour. Is it better to book it with a Malaysian tour company or just buy air ticket and join a Taiwan tour company instead? Any recommendation.

Any comment on this particular tour and company?
http://www.abcholiday.com.my/Itinerary%20P...TPE-G%20-en.pdf
3k++?

Im going on pretty similar trip round Taiwan on 30th August. Compared to my itenary, yours is a bit on the luxury side. I heard many friends telling me rounding Taiwan is like hell with long bus trip. Each day 3-5 hours in bus when traveling south and back to north. I wonder what kind of nightmare awaits me as my <2 years old son will tag along.

Added on July 3, 2011, 2:16 pm
QUOTE(XIELD @ Jul 3 2011, 09:00 AM)
Morning all...
now at LCCT waiting flight to Taipei,
Just fyi, we cannot hand carry the camera tripod and need to check in,because they said that tripod is made of steel and might be a dangerous weapon  icon_idea.gif

Added on July 3, 2011, 9:03 am
Thanks for your useful information, hoping tao yuan airport has good rate today
I think you will reach at 3pm. Please update on the exchange rate. I'm thinking whether should exchange here or there.

This post has been edited by andrekua: Jul 3 2011, 02:16 PM
andrekua
post Jul 4 2011, 11:44 PM

NO!!! IT'S HIM!!!
3,887 posts

QUOTE(XIELD @ Jul 4 2011, 06:25 PM)
Exchange rate for yesterday was 28.37 and today is 28.73
I was surprise that the rate at airport and banks at Taipen is different..
Eh... much lower than we exchange here @ 10.72 then...

I thought many people said exchange USD go there better rates... only purchase through CC or ATM withdrawal is worth it then...
andrekua
post Jul 5 2011, 01:14 AM

NO!!! IT'S HIM!!!
3,887 posts

I think you are correct. I was using 3.05 per USD and exchange at airport which end up being lesser. Not sure if I will have anytime visiting banks cos I'm joining tour package.

Thanks again... I can't wait for Hari Raya...
andrekua
post Aug 10 2011, 07:30 PM

NO!!! IT'S HIM!!!
3,887 posts

QUOTE(aiyume @ Aug 10 2011, 06:29 PM)
1. i took Cathay to HKG 3 years ago, not bad just a little cramp at the leg space especially if u sitting at window seat need to go toilet....there's tv screen for every seat so you can choose what u wanna watch.

2. depends on how long is your transit time.

3. go to hostelworld.com and find those with higher rating. i booked Fun Taipei Backpackers in Shilin, so far recommended by quite a few ppl but i'm yet to see it next month. it cost about NTD40-60 per nite depends on which type of room u choose. the more ppl the cheaper it goes.
NT or RM? So cheap NT40?
andrekua
post Aug 23 2011, 09:50 PM

NO!!! IT'S HIM!!!
3,887 posts

Argh~~~ I'm going there in 7 days....

Guys and girls,

Any recommendations on what to buy for souvenirs? I thought wanna buy mobile phone accessories since I suspect it will be cheaper there. Anything else? I heard some Taiwanese biscuit are famous but expensive.
andrekua
post Aug 25 2011, 11:44 PM

NO!!! IT'S HIM!!!
3,887 posts

Big thanks to aiyumes, moochiesayn, jlgoh9 and stimix...

Yeah, I think that the biscuit they were talking about... almost RM3 a piece.

andrekua
post Aug 31 2011, 09:31 AM

NO!!! IT'S HIM!!!
3,887 posts

Reporting from Taiwan... What a day CPU cos my son is sick. Luckily the medical center is not bad.

I was being slaughtered for fareastone 3g as I wasn't given anytime to buy it at the airport. Went to Taiwan Mobile in XMD and they ran out of stock. No choice but to get from those shop. 600NTD but value only 350NTD. Im not impressed with their night market.

This post has been edited by andrekua: Aug 31 2011, 09:45 AM
andrekua
post Aug 31 2011, 01:22 PM

NO!!! IT'S HIM!!!
3,887 posts

I find it interesting that they even had signal for 3g inside the tunnel. Speed is also consistent, around 1.5mbps for fet.

There are plenty of free wifi here in Taiwan but quite troublesome unless you stay in one place for a long period of time. Google Maps is brilliant.

Don't sign for FarEastone... Their signal outside of Taipei is really inconsistent. We happened to pass by a ChungHwa telco office and my bro signed up for it. Speed is almost 3mbps at best compared to FarEastone 1.5mbps, coverage also better. Not to mention it's also cheaper at 450NTD for 7 days vs 350NTD for 5days.

This post has been edited by andrekua: Sep 2 2011, 07:39 PM
andrekua
post Sep 6 2011, 07:59 PM

NO!!! IT'S HIM!!!
3,887 posts

Just landed this morning from Tao Yuan...

Feel rather disappointed with the trip. Its not like what I expected. The night markets are damn over-rated. I was wondering how they cope with the heat so well where as I was dripping and sweating like a sportman the moment I get out of the bus or train.

Anyway, I think Taiwan best attraction is still its cities and not those far far away places. There's nothing much to see really. The view is so so, or even gross after being hit by typhoon. Waters are murky. Their train system is really so efficient. Thats the one thing I really like about it when I was in Taipei. People are also nice but the night markets are overly crowded, its hot, humit, and worse, you have to queue to buy food in this terrible weather. The "3 pui kai" I ate in Malaysia's Taiwanese restaurant is much better than the one I had there. The "oh jian" is also better here (I mean the one I ate in Taiwanese restaurant). I would stop short of accusing them being bad since they are after-all, pasar malam standard.
andrekua
post Sep 6 2011, 11:37 PM

NO!!! IT'S HIM!!!
3,887 posts

QUOTE(MandyG @ Sep 6 2011, 09:59 PM)
act, i think is because recently they had flood and also i think is consider as summer there.... it will be very hot, but when i go on feb, it really ok with the crowd...
QUOTE(transit @ Sep 6 2011, 10:10 PM)
Agreed! It is SUMMER there :-(
Yeah, its really hot... but I still think their night markets are way over-rated.

andrekua
post Sep 6 2011, 11:40 PM

NO!!! IT'S HIM!!!
3,887 posts

Their One Piece theme park is quite nice... too bad I was with my son and had to look after him. Miss all the rides but we went at a bad timing, weekends which means a lot of people with long long queues.

andrekua
post Sep 6 2011, 11:52 PM

NO!!! IT'S HIM!!!
3,887 posts

We travel so far only to see this? This is the Tarako National Park? I wonder if they were rushing?

Cing Jing is another place, though like our very own Cameron or Fraser, but is quite nice. There are sheep here. Nice break for us who were exhausted due to the long travelling time from Taipei to KaohSiong for 2 days (plus a bad day yesterday due to bus breakdown and had to wait 3hours under very hot weather). Rooms are very very nice is another plus.

andrekua
post Sep 7 2011, 06:30 PM

NO!!! IT'S HIM!!!
3,887 posts

QUOTE(GKilla @ Sep 6 2011, 11:59 PM)
eh they have a One Piece theme park in taiwan? Where is it and how much per entry? Any website?

i tried to google but came back no result =(
Its probably not based on One Piece, but rather the theme that was there when I arrived was based on One Piece.
They are selling lots of One Piece figurines and jigsaw puzzles, and people were buying them like crazy.
Didnt check the pricing though.

http://www.nine.com.tw/english/e-welcome.htm
andrekua
post Sep 12 2011, 05:34 PM

NO!!! IT'S HIM!!!
3,887 posts

Tarako also considered high speed lor. My tour only arrange the slow commuter for us. Damn boring and keep stopping quite frequently.
andrekua
post Sep 14 2011, 10:17 PM

NO!!! IT'S HIM!!!
3,887 posts

QUOTE(toto4d @ Sep 14 2011, 05:36 PM)
Hehe, really depend on the perspective.

To me, Taroko Gorge is the most spectacular scene I saw in Taiwan, and I hope to go back again...hopefully can do some hiking and more walking..
QUOTE(stimix @ Sep 14 2011, 08:47 PM)
Me too.. but he probably have visited certain part of china 9Esp Yunnan & shangrila)or even great canyon of US and that's why he dun feel really spectacular. I hv few frens & even aeiou here that been to Yunnan China, and voted yunan having much better view  smile.gif
** Accidentally used my bro act to reply earlier.

I never been to US nor Yunnan. Isn't Tarako Gorge the hillside waterfall with a building behind? Maybe it's the tiring journey that spoilt the mood, but really don't know what to see there. For me, I think the best memory is from CingJing. Good weather, nice accommodation, nice food, nice morning view and best is get to feel sheep fur.
andrekua
post Sep 15 2011, 04:37 AM

NO!!! IT'S HIM!!!
3,887 posts

QUOTE(toto4d @ Sep 15 2011, 03:06 AM)
Oh, the hillside water with temple? That's just the early part of Taroko Gorge, I think the typical Taroko Gorge route end at Tian Xiang, around 15km from the entrance. There are more walking routes and hiking trails after the temple area.
We weren't given enough time. Just 30minutes to snap pics. No wonder nothing to see.
andrekua
post Sep 23 2011, 07:44 AM

NO!!! IT'S HIM!!!
3,887 posts

QUOTE(aiyume @ Sep 22 2011, 10:45 AM)
lol....it depends on how u define romantic lah.....if 2 person in love, go anywhere also romantic.....i think jiufen is romantic.
9 fen is romantic meh? Really like Stimix said. Most Taiwanese is nice but one or two barbarian will still try to ride a motorcycle in and out of 9 fen.

0.0268sec    0.43    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 12th December 2025 - 12:44 AM