539 posts

-Deleted-

This post has been edited by XIELD: Jun 15 2011, 10:58 PM
XIELD
post Jun 28 2011, 11:00 AM

539 posts

Hi All...

This is my 1st time visiting taiwan and I having some problem of arranging my trip from taipei to Taichong, and i hope to get some advise from you guys

a) Which transportation should i use from Taipei station to reach Taichong?
b)If it possible, one day to cover cingjing, SM lake, and 9 village?
c) If i stay one night at cingjing, what transportation should i use to reach kaohsiung on the next day?

XIELD
post Jun 28 2011, 05:26 PM

539 posts

Thanks JLGoh, your info is really helpful to me ! notworthy.gif I just received a sudden email from youthtravel as below, may i know should i get a mobile phone in Taiwan?since only 3G SIM card provided right now.

Dear Sir / Madam,

Thank you for applying for the Digital Tour Buddy Service.

1. In order to approve your application, please provide your correct home address and reply in two days , or we will cancel your application.

2.Due to too large amount of applicants recently, we won’t have enough DTB cell phones available to lend to you.

So, we have changed your borrowing item into 3G SIM card.

There’s 100 NT credit in the 3G Sim card, too.

Please be advised the 3G option only provides a 3G SIM card. No DTB cell phone will be available for you to use.

Please be advised the 3G SIM card option does not fit into I phone.

If you choose not to take 3G SIM card, please let us know ASAP and we will cancel your application.

Your cooperation will be very much appreciated. Thank you.

We sincerely wish you a pleasant trip in Taiwan.

Sincerely yours,

吳亭萱
Claire Wu

This post has been edited by XIELD: Jun 28 2011, 05:28 PM
XIELD
post Jun 30 2011, 09:38 PM

539 posts

QUOTE(aiyume @ Jun 28 2011, 05:42 PM)
i think you can use your own phone as long as it's a 3G phone? unless u are using iphone then cannot loh.
Thanks Aiyume for the info...

I will be going Taiwan this Sunday 8D7N, i will be visiting Taipei,Taizhong, kenting and KaoShiung, exciting but nervous because many things arranged too rush blush.gif
I have a few question with me, hope to get some advise:

1)I have prepared my USD with me, therefore i like to know that either taoyuan airport or money changer at taipei has better exchange rate?

2)I will be using THSR -高铁 to access most of the main city such as:
a) taipei - taizhong (NT700/way)
b) taipei - Zuoying (NT1490/way)
c) ZuoYing - Tao Yuan (NT1330/way)
The question is do i need to advance online booking for THSR ticket or just buy it on the spot will do? sweat.gif

3)Besides newyork2, Sogo, wufenpu, Shin Kong Mitsukoshi, is there any other shooping area at taipei?

4)Since July is hot summer, so i skip most of the hot spring places such as wulai,xin bei tou, alishan, but should i give up? or is a "must" to visit?

5) Is there any special about National Palace museum at dansui station there.

6) Any device can be bought to detect the luggage weight?

Sorry for too many question doh.gif

XIELD
post Jun 30 2011, 11:05 PM

539 posts

QUOTE(stimix @ Jun 30 2011, 10:48 PM)
National Palace Museum is not at Danshui lo..It's closer to Shihlin station and from there take a connecting bus to National Palace museu.

For me, it is just a meseum showcasing the gift, & belongings of China past emperor since thousand years ago. Haha From Beijing Forbidden city now stucked in Taipei
Thanks Stimix, yes should stop at Shilin station and i was wrong... How about The Sun yat sen memorial hall and also the Chiang Kai Shek memorial Hall.....which one is more worth to visit because time is not enough to visit all this memorial hall laugh.gif
XIELD
post Jul 1 2011, 10:08 AM

539 posts

QUOTE(stimix @ Jun 30 2011, 11:09 PM)
For me, I rather skip National Museum.. Abit boring actually bcos not really a history museum but showcasing of Forbidden city collections.

Chiang Kai Shek memorial is a MUST lah..so scenic and Sun yat Sen memorial is actually not far. From Sun Yat sen can walk to Taipei 101
Thanks Stimix for your kind information, i saw there is a place is called Bopi Liao, good place for photo shooting, may i know where is it actually?
XIELD
post Jul 1 2011, 10:36 AM

539 posts

QUOTE(aiyume @ Jul 1 2011, 10:25 AM)
bopiliao old street? it's in wanhua district, address No. 101, Guangzhou St., Wanhua District, Taipei City. opens on sun-thu 10am-5pm, fri/sat opens until 7pm. take MRT to longshan temple station.

http://guidepal.com/taipei/see--do/bopiliao-historic-distric
Thanks Aiyume and ur previous advise as well... bopiliao seen interesting laugh.gif
XIELD
post Jul 1 2011, 11:51 PM

539 posts

May i know that can i hand carry my tripod? i heard is unable?

XIELD
post Jul 3 2011, 09:00 AM

539 posts

QUOTE(XIELD @ Jul 1 2011, 11:51 PM)
May i know that can i hand carry my tripod? i heard is unable?
Morning all...
now at LCCT waiting flight to Taipei,
Just fyi, we cannot hand carry the camera tripod and need to check in,because they said that tripod is made of steel and might be a dangerous weapon icon_idea.gif

Added on July 3, 2011, 9:03 am
QUOTE(smoochiesayn @ Jul 2 2011, 01:45 PM)
I'll answer based on my experience..

1) If wan say better exchange rate, not so sure coz dun have time to compare there.. but one thing for sure, hard to find money changer in taipei unless u go to their malls.. in my case, i change in the airport..

2) i also took HSR from Taoyuan - Zuoying, Zuoying - Taichung then Taichung to Taipei. all also buy on the spot.. and there are 2 type of seats, reserved or non reserved. non reserved is cheaper. based on my experience, during my HSR trips, the train were quite vacant.. not full house or hard to find place to seat...

3) is newyork2 still around? i heard it's closing down d.. u can shop at 台北地下街 (Taiwan Underground Mall) also. but IMHO, i still feel their night market is the best to shop tongue.gif

4) up to ur own preference. even when i was there during fall, i also skip the hot spring eventhough i have reach xin bei tou. jz walked around only.

5) If u like historical museum kinda thing can go lo.. CKS must go, Taiwan landmark so must go take picture.. SYS nothing much, quite like CKS also have guard changing ceremony

6) u stay in min shu or hotel? maybe can ask them if they have any weighing scale or not.
Thanks for your useful information, hoping tao yuan airport has good rate today

This post has been edited by XIELD: Jul 3 2011, 09:03 AM
XIELD
post Jul 4 2011, 06:25 PM

539 posts

QUOTE(andrekua @ Jul 3 2011, 02:13 PM)
3k++?

Im going on pretty similar trip round Taiwan on 30th August. Compared to my itenary, yours is a bit on the luxury side. I heard many friends telling me rounding Taiwan is like hell with long bus trip. Each day 3-5 hours in bus when traveling south and back to north. I wonder what kind of nightmare awaits me as my <2 years old son will tag along.

Added on July 3, 2011, 2:16 pm

I think you will reach at 3pm. Please update on the exchange rate. I'm thinking whether should exchange here or there.
Exchange rate for yesterday was 28.37 and today is 28.73
I was surprise that the rate at airport and banks at Taipen is different..
XIELD
post Jul 4 2011, 06:29 PM

539 posts

Hi guys....

Tomorrow i will be going away from Taipei city to area such as ye liu,jiu fen,pin xi, jin gua shi,kee lung, etc...

Taxi quoted me whole day for NT3500, pls advice me is it reasonable?

XIELD
post Jul 11 2011, 12:41 PM

539 posts

Just came back from Taiwan trip 8D7N, have been visited places such as Taipei - Taichong - Kenting - kaoshiong....
Yes, summer time is extremely hot and tiring but overall is fun and the food is great. Really respect their advance transportation like THSR and MRT.
Another thing is I love to watch their News - TVBs laugh.gif

0.0190sec    0.50    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 12th December 2025 - 09:09 AM