Travel Taiwan V2, Refer to pg 1 for compiled guides

kons
post Jun 17 2011, 02:06 PM

Конс
6,181 posts

QUOTE(Lester1987 @ Jun 17 2011, 11:29 AM)
So sien, my friend ffk me last min. Now I am going Taiwan alone. what can I do when i go alone? really dunno what to do. hahahaha.
Dey, I always go taiwan alone..
The people there are ultra friendly.
But I don't go there for vacation though..
kons
post Jun 17 2011, 03:28 PM

Конс
6,181 posts

QUOTE(stimix @ Jun 17 2011, 02:41 PM)
haha working & Holiday kenot mix wan. When working, you can only Holiday at nite..no shiok wan.  biggrin.gif
day got day syok, night got night syok.
during summer most syok.
kons
post Jun 17 2011, 05:58 PM

Конс
6,181 posts

QUOTE(stimix @ Jun 17 2011, 03:31 PM)
Shiok bcos of short-short minis  biggrin.gif no wonder I can't really see those Pinang girl during winter..all covered up liao  sad.gif
taipei pinang girls very seldom wear liddat.
i heard kaoshiung one is the most daring.
kons
post Jun 27 2011, 09:01 AM

Конс
6,181 posts

QUOTE(stimix @ Jun 24 2011, 05:45 PM)
No. Standard of living almost similar to KL.

Hostel you can even get RM30/nite and hawker food start from RM4/plate/bowl but avg RM5
And the people there are friendlier lot than we are in M'sia. smile.gif
kons
post Jun 30 2011, 12:14 PM

Конс
6,181 posts

QUOTE(@lice~~ @ Jun 30 2011, 12:05 PM)
most of them not really understand English, or I should say they very seldom use it, so when you speak the English term they will like "what!!??" expression in their face..  laugh.gif i got this experience when i went to 7eleven to purchase the Easy Card..  sad.gif
aha, when i first went there last time, the cashier wanted to tell me something, after saying to the same like 10 times but still I couldn't get it, she just gave up.
kons
post Jun 30 2011, 01:17 PM

Конс
6,181 posts

QUOTE(@lice~~ @ Jun 30 2011, 12:07 PM)
aiyume,

MUST try the restaurant opposite the Fun Taipei Backpackers hostel.. it's delicious..

Our lunch
One meat and 3 or 4 vege/side dish is a very common combination for 便当 over there.
I just like to sneak into the corporate canteen for lunch, can get 便当 for like 40 or 50 twd only.

kons
post Jul 3 2011, 09:31 AM

Конс
6,181 posts

QUOTE(XIELD @ Jul 3 2011, 09:00 AM)
Morning all...
now at LCCT waiting flight to Taipei,
Just fyi, we cannot hand carry the camera tripod and need to check in,because they said that tripod is made of steel and might be a dangerous weapon  icon_idea.gif
I was at LCCT too! But was sending someone off.
kons
post Jul 4 2011, 06:26 PM

Конс
6,181 posts

QUOTE(Hannibal @ Jul 4 2011, 11:36 AM)
Any idea about any promotional flight tickets to Taipei coming up? Last year I went with MAS was at RM900/pax, which is pretty much a steal. Was looking forward to visit again mid of next year but the ticket price is so expensive now.... sigh. Anyway, there's a AA-X promotion going on now and price was around RM650 (ticket+airport tax). Do u think this is a good price?
i get aax premium at approx myr 1400 before. that's the cheapest for aax premium i can see so far.
kons
post Jul 6 2011, 10:19 AM

Конс
6,181 posts

QUOTE(stimix @ Jul 5 2011, 05:54 PM)
But still better than MAS going to Taiwan using only Boeing 737-800..My Taiwan trip, MAS using B737--super narrow plane & so small..and seat similar to AA quality i.e the common black leather. The only consolation is the free food, drinks & comfort kit.

AAX to Taipei using bigger plane A330 or A340? so much more comfortable..unless MAS using 747 or A330/A340?
I'll never take MAS to Taipei.. NEVER!
Everytime it will be like either China Airlines or Eva Air, if not then Air Asia.
kons
post Aug 31 2011, 12:32 PM

Конс
6,181 posts

And most of the food around XMD sucks. Well, that's just my personal taste.
kons
post Sep 8 2011, 11:38 AM

Конс
6,181 posts

QUOTE(aiyume @ Sep 7 2011, 09:57 AM)
9 seater van from airport to taipei i got quoted for NTD1200 + NTD200 (late nite surcharge)
very cheap. last time i took s-class from airport - ntd 1100.
kons
post Sep 23 2011, 08:43 PM

Конс
6,181 posts

Starting October, Taipei will become colder.
Typically the weather is the hottest around July.
kons
post Sep 25 2011, 06:46 PM

Конс
6,181 posts

QUOTE(john_makaay @ Sep 25 2011, 02:36 AM)
Budget needed to go taiwan? 7 days 6 nights...
Deduct hotels and transport, basic necessities should not be more than TWD 5k.
I tried 10 days/9 nights in Taipei, spent less than TWD 3k on eating.

kons
post Oct 7 2011, 08:19 PM

Конс
6,181 posts

Nowadays I go TW also directly withdraw from ATM or use CC to do cash advance.

Night markets in TW is just very common, apart from XMD or ShihLin, there are plenty of other small night markets.

Wish I can go TW one day for vacation instead of work.
kons
post Oct 19 2011, 11:02 AM

Конс
6,181 posts

QUOTE(aiyume @ Oct 19 2011, 10:30 AM)
i know those shops around shilin night market close late....they only opening at 2pm. the  first night i went there was after midnite, still quite happening...
depends on weekday or weekend. on weekday, after 11 pm or 12 am, it's like nothing more.
kons
post Oct 29 2011, 07:32 AM

Конс
6,181 posts

QUOTE(aiyume @ Oct 26 2011, 11:42 PM)
i din take taxi when i was there. i heard some of them overcharge tourist. most of the travelling done via buses and MRT. if you can't read mandarin then buses abit hard, but MRT has english signboards, and it's very convenient to go around taipei.
their cabs is a bit expensive.. movie is even more expensive..
kons
post Oct 29 2011, 12:53 PM

Конс
6,181 posts

QUOTE(stimix @ Oct 29 2011, 07:55 AM)
The illegal cab guys in the airport already telling you not to take cab liao haha.. I was offered NT$1200 or ~ RM120 to Taipei from Taoyuen...darmn..I opted for NT100 bus instead
Taking bus is so much economical.

Just pretend to be kinda lost in the airport, some guy will always approach us to offer cab.
kons
post Oct 31 2011, 02:05 PM

Конс
6,181 posts

QUOTE(aiyume @ Oct 31 2011, 09:40 AM)
lol how much is the movie there? i saw those movies selling in Eslite and other CD shops, english movies all in mandarin doh.gif
Took the combo with salty popcorn and drinks, total up about TWD 1k per person.
No wonder their cinema is quite empty all the time...
I'm truly grateful that our GSC is so affordable, and for the popcorn that taste better.
kons
post Oct 31 2011, 06:53 PM

Конс
6,181 posts

QUOTE(aiyume @ Oct 31 2011, 02:59 PM)
walau....about RM100 per person XD and we complain our cinema is expensive laugh.gif
Almost everything in Taiwan is either more expensive or comparable to M'sia price only.
The only things make it worthwhile to go Taiwan is the scenery, the friendly people, the weather and also the variety of food.

Added on October 31, 2011, 6:56 pm
QUOTE(Mercedes @ Oct 31 2011, 02:42 PM)
Going to Taipei soon and will be staying at Wonstar Hotel Zhonghua, 82 Chung Hua Road Section 1 Ximending Taipei.  How's this hotel?  Anyone been there lately?  And how much cash do you think I should have with me for 5D4N just for makan and some light shopping?  Thanks.
When you add in shopping, it is a very subjective word... could be anything from TWD 1k to TWD 10k..
Personally, for 5D4N, I could spend less than TWD 2k for myself only, inclusive of food, without shopping, without taking cabs for long distance and travel by bus/rail only.
Usually I'll just change USD100 at the airport.

This post has been edited by kons: Oct 31 2011, 06:56 PM
kons
post Jan 17 2012, 02:55 PM

Конс
6,181 posts

QUOTE(zstan @ Jan 17 2012, 02:30 PM)
I know about their taxis. starting price already rm7 6 years ago. now should be more pricier.  why scold me la pooh pooh? sad.gif
okok thanks >_<
starting price is still twd 70 when i was there last year.
most of their taxi will use meter la, i spent more than 30 days in taiwan last year, taking taxi everyday, none of them never use meter before.
furthermore some of them will have discount after travel for certain distance.
and their taxi so much better than m'sia, toyota wish, camry, corolla.

food in taiwan, not all are nice, but the majority of those which i tried are quite nice.
but i'm not a fussy person, especially with food.

0.0223sec    0.42    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 15th December 2025 - 01:18 PM