Ok, finally managed to update firmware and Netflix app but can't seem to stream 5.1 audio . Even though my HDMI output set to raw
HiMedia Media Player, All about HiMedia
Feb 4 2018, 09:57 PM
2,619 posts Joined: Apr 2005 From: KL |
Ok, finally managed to update firmware and Netflix app but can't seem to stream 5.1 audio . Even though my HDMI output set to raw
Feb 4 2018, 10:05 PM
7,118 posts Joined: Oct 2011 From: Wakanda |
QUOTE(carpathia @ Feb 4 2018, 09:57 PM) Ok, finally managed to update firmware and Netflix app but can't seem to stream 5.1 audio . Even though my HDMI output set to raw Not possible as it's not a Netflix certified device.. Max 480p res and stereo sound.. You will not get anymore than that from Netflix's servers. So current equipment's capabilities is irrelevant. |
Feb 4 2018, 10:38 PM
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]()
24,452 posts Joined: Nov 2010 |
QUOTE(carpathia @ Feb 4 2018, 09:57 PM) Ok, finally managed to update firmware and Netflix app but can't seem to stream 5.1 audio . Even though my HDMI output set to raw something u should know... better late than never,non netflix approved devices will NOT get anything better than 480p and aac2.0. only a few approved boxes and approved smart tv's can get better, up to 4k hdr, dolby vision even. this is netflix approach. |
Feb 4 2018, 11:01 PM
732 posts Joined: Jul 2010 |
QUOTE(voncrane @ Feb 4 2018, 10:05 PM) Not possible as it's not a Netflix certified device.. Max 480p res and stereo sound.. You will not get anymore than that from Netflix's servers. So current equipment's capabilities is irrelevant. QUOTE(AVFAN @ Feb 4 2018, 10:38 PM) non netflix approved devices will NOT get anything better than 480p and aac2.0. Meaning there's no hacked apk available to be install on non certfified netflix to enable 4k hdr stream at all? i remembered reading somehwere there was a hack apk to overcome this?only a few approved boxes and approved smart tv's can get better, up to 4k hdr, dolby vision even. this is netflix approach. |
Feb 5 2018, 12:15 AM
Show posts by this member only | IPv6 | Post
QUOTE(StevenL @ Feb 4 2018, 11:01 PM) Meaning there's no hacked apk available to be install on non certfified netflix to enable 4k hdr stream at all? i remembered reading somehwere there was a hack apk to overcome this? AFAIK.. Couple years ago? Yes, there were some apks floating around. None available at the moment.. Probably cuz no incentive to create such.. Almost all decent smart TVs from a couple years ago are all capable of outputting full res and surround sound (up to the TV's max specs). I.e my 2014 TV easily gets Netflix's 1080p + DD sound. Those with recognized UHD & HDR capable TVs enjoy the same too. As you can see, why bother when the TV's app does just fine. Those with incompatible TVs end up buying Netflix certified devices like Google's Chromecast, etc.. |
Feb 5 2018, 07:28 AM
2,619 posts Joined: Apr 2005 From: KL |
Ok thanks for the update on Netflix. Looks like time I upgrade to my dream 65" tv... choosing one is difficult...hahah.
Feb 5 2018, 09:23 PM
QUOTE(AVFAN @ Jan 28 2018, 01:59 PM) This is a wd sealed ext powered hdd just like to share this exp...Will try to pry it open and take a look. Just read that wd ones... the sata bridge card is integrated with the disc controller, not like other brands that separate the two. Not optimistic i can fix it... will see. .... Update Pried open, put drive in q10pro, good. Can use as spare or backup. As suspected, must be failure of the sata bridge card. Will check around, see if i can buy this spare part. if yr 3.5" portable hdd fails, pry it open and take out the drive. chances are the sata bridge card failed, can save it in 2 ways: .. plug it into q10pro, it will work if it is only the bridge card that failed. .. buy a docking station.. i bought below today at rm125... good for 3.5" and 2.5". save the drive!! ![]() i was told by the sales guy that this will only work for older portable hdds with the sata bridge card as an individual component. new portable hdds, the circuit is integrated - a design to fail n make u buy new!! better buy 3.5" sata drives with docking station to get more reliability! This post has been edited by AVFAN: Feb 5 2018, 09:36 PM |
Feb 22 2018, 01:18 AM
68 posts Joined: Jul 2007 |
Hi all.. Joining the bandwagon..
Bought a Hi media Q10 pro from a shop in Digital Mall. Everything works fine, however I can't seem to open play store from the box. Tried to insert Google account also failed as the add account is disabled. Box is running ON Android 7.0. I have a feeling the shop seller has blocked(?) access for these? Appreciate your inputs on how to go around this.. Thanka |
Feb 22 2018, 02:32 AM
QUOTE(underzoom @ Feb 22 2018, 01:18 AM) Hi all.. Joining the bandwagon.. First try a factory reset and if things are still locked out, maybe it's running a custom ROM. In which case, take note of current ROM/firmware version, then flash the latest update from HiMedia's website. I advise manually flashing the latest firmware regardless as this should eliminate all doubt and remove pre-installed crap.Bought a Hi media Q10 pro from a shop in Digital Mall. Everything works fine, however I can't seem to open play store from the box. Tried to insert Google account also failed as the add account is disabled. Box is running ON Android 7.0. I have a feeling the shop seller has blocked(?) access for these? Appreciate your inputs on how to go around this.. Thanka |
Feb 22 2018, 11:33 AM
4,038 posts Joined: Aug 2005 From: Earth |
QUOTE(underzoom @ Feb 22 2018, 01:18 AM) Hi all.. Joining the bandwagon.. Factory reset will fix this make sure u backup all your apps otherwise reinstall them backBought a Hi media Q10 pro from a shop in Digital Mall. Everything works fine, however I can't seem to open play store from the box. Tried to insert Google account also failed as the add account is disabled. Box is running ON Android 7.0. I have a feeling the shop seller has blocked(?) access for these? Appreciate your inputs on how to go around this.. Thanka |
Feb 23 2018, 12:52 AM
68 posts Joined: Jul 2007 |
QUOTE(voncrane @ Feb 22 2018, 02:32 AM) First try a factory reset and if things are still locked out, maybe it's running a custom ROM. In which case, take note of current ROM/firmware version, then flash the latest update from HiMedia's website. I advise manually flashing the latest firmware regardless as this should eliminate all doubt and remove pre-installed crap. QUOTE(MX510 @ Feb 22 2018, 11:33 AM) Thanks a lot. Factory reset did the trick. Upgraded to the latest firmware. Everything's smooth now. Thanks a bunch folks! |
Feb 23 2018, 08:08 AM
1,787 posts Joined: Jul 2007 |
Feb 23 2018, 08:12 AM
QUOTE(underzoom @ Feb 23 2018, 12:52 AM) Thanks a lot. Factory reset did the trick. Upgraded to the latest firmware. Everything's smooth now. Thanks a bunch folks! You're welcome :-)I am testing the kodi playing through my seedbox from Europe Able to stream .mkv 1080p without any hiccups via kodi through ftp network browse You need a router or access point with ac radio capability if you want to use WiFi otherwise use the LAN Cable Gigabit cat 6 |
Feb 23 2018, 08:16 AM
139 posts Joined: May 2007 |
How much is the current price of Q10 pro if I may ask. Thanks
Feb 23 2018, 08:18 AM
Feb 23 2018, 08:48 AM
QUOTE(GuyM @ Feb 23 2018, 08:08 AM) q10pro is almost 2 years old.u might as well wait for the next generation! QUOTE(MX510 @ Feb 23 2018, 08:12 AM) I am testing the kodi playing through my seedbox from Europe this is interesting...Able to stream .mkv 1080p without any hiccups via kodi through ftp network browse You need a router or access point with ac radio capability if you want to use WiFi otherwise use the LAN Cable Gigabit cat 6 seedbox.. fro online streaming. what capacity can u get? costly? will be meaningful if low cost for a few TB. if too costly, no point, might as well buy own HDD. |
Feb 23 2018, 12:58 PM
QUOTE(AVFAN @ Feb 23 2018, 08:48 AM) q10pro is almost 2 years old. It's cheap bro minimum is 5 usd i use the 10 usd per monthu might as well wait for the next generation! this is interesting... seedbox.. fro online streaming. what capacity can u get? costly? will be meaningful if low cost for a few TB. if too costly, no point, might as well buy own HDD. https://evoseedbox.com/ Tutorial can be found here https://cheapseedboxes.com/tutorials/ Kodi Streaming is like you have our own dedicated repo here is how https://cheapseedboxes.com/stream-from-your-seedbox/ I can spare you private invites for private tracker :-) foc |
Feb 23 2018, 01:44 PM
QUOTE(MX510 @ Feb 23 2018, 12:58 PM) It's cheap bro minimum is 5 usd i use the 10 usd per month monthly running costs...https://evoseedbox.com/ Tutorial can be found here https://cheapseedboxes.com/tutorials/ Kodi Streaming is like you have our own dedicated repo here is how https://cheapseedboxes.com/stream-from-your-seedbox/ I can spare you private invites for private tracker :-) foc maybe suitable for private ahem sharing... thanks for info. |
Feb 24 2018, 11:41 AM
49 posts Joined: Feb 2015 |
QUOTE(AVFAN @ Feb 5 2018, 09:23 PM) just like to share this exp... Sifu,if yr 3.5" portable hdd fails, pry it open and take out the drive. chances are the sata bridge card failed, can save it in 2 ways: .. plug it into q10pro, it will work if it is only the bridge card that failed. .. buy a docking station.. i bought below today at rm125... good for 3.5" and 2.5". save the drive!! ![]() i was told by the sales guy that this will only work for older portable hdds with the sata bridge card as an individual component. new portable hdds, the circuit is integrated - a design to fail n make u buy new!! better buy 3.5" sata drives with docking station to get more reliability! Will the tv box recognize the docking station and the drive? |
Feb 24 2018, 12:50 PM
QUOTE(franlow @ Feb 24 2018, 11:41 AM) sure it does.the docking station is essentially a SATA bridge card. it is just a bridge to connect the bare SATA drive to the USB card so that u can then plug the USB cable to box, like any other portable HDD with usb cable. some can do 3.5", some 2.5", some dual. some take 1 at a time, some can take 2. just go to an IT shop, u find yr choices. |
| Change to: | 0.2902sec
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 09:02 AM |