Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

Bump TopicReply to this topicRSS feed Start new topic Start Poll

Outline · [ Standard ] · Linear+

> HiMedia Media Player, All about HiMedia

voncrane
post Feb 4 2018, 05:41 PM

Noir et fier!
*******
Group: Senior Member
Posts: 4,476

Joined: Oct 2011
From: ARPANET


QUOTE(carpathia @ Feb 4 2018, 05:34 PM)
Actually I dunno how to upgrade firmware.
I tried using apkmirror but the file won't download...arrghhh
*
Clear instructions on how to upgrade your firmware are available on HiMedia's support website. Same place to download the firmware from too.. Or there's Youtube..

File should download.. If problematic using the device itself, you can use a PC then transfer the apk via USB drive or cloud..
AVFAN
post Feb 4 2018, 06:24 PM

10k Club
********
Group: Senior Member
Posts: 15,741

Joined: Nov 2010
QUOTE(carpathia @ Feb 4 2018, 05:34 PM)
Actually I dunno how to upgrade firmware.
I tried using apkmirror but the file won't download...arrghhh
*
I wasn't talking about firmware.

I meant current netflix version 5.12.2.


Firmware... yes, do check if u latest 2.0.7 too.

You look like u need help how to handle androids.

My suggestion, find a fren or neighbor who knows, ask him to show u.

Then watch some youtube videos.

All android boxes work pretty much the same.
carpathia
post Feb 4 2018, 09:57 PM

Look at all my stars!!
*******
Group: Senior Member
Posts: 2,295

Joined: Apr 2005
From: KL



Ok, finally managed to update firmware and Netflix app but can't seem to stream 5.1 audio . Even though my HDMI output set to raw
voncrane
post Feb 4 2018, 10:05 PM

Noir et fier!
*******
Group: Senior Member
Posts: 4,476

Joined: Oct 2011
From: ARPANET


QUOTE(carpathia @ Feb 4 2018, 09:57 PM)
Ok, finally managed to update firmware and Netflix app but can't seem to stream 5.1  audio . Even though my HDMI output set to raw
*
Not possible as it's not a Netflix certified device.. Max 480p res and stereo sound.. You will not get anymore than that from Netflix's servers. So current equipment's capabilities is irrelevant.
AVFAN
post Feb 4 2018, 10:38 PM

10k Club
********
Group: Senior Member
Posts: 15,741

Joined: Nov 2010
QUOTE(carpathia @ Feb 4 2018, 09:57 PM)
Ok, finally managed to update firmware and Netflix app but can't seem to stream 5.1  audio . Even though my HDMI output set to raw
*
something u should know... better late than never,

non netflix approved devices will NOT get anything better than 480p and aac2.0.

only a few approved boxes and approved smart tv's can get better, up to 4k hdr, dolby vision even.

this is netflix approach.
StevenL
post Feb 4 2018, 11:01 PM

Casual
***
Group: Junior Member
Posts: 410

Joined: Jul 2010
QUOTE(voncrane @ Feb 4 2018, 10:05 PM)
Not possible as it's not a Netflix certified device.. Max 480p res and stereo sound.. You will not get anymore than that from Netflix's servers. So current equipment's capabilities is irrelevant.
*
QUOTE(AVFAN @ Feb 4 2018, 10:38 PM)
non netflix approved devices will NOT get anything better than 480p and aac2.0.
only a few approved boxes and approved smart tv's can get better, up to 4k hdr, dolby vision even.
this is netflix approach.
*
Meaning there's no hacked apk available to be install on non certfified netflix to enable 4k hdr stream at all? i remembered reading somehwere there was a hack apk to overcome this?
voncrane
post Feb 5 2018, 12:15 AM

Noir et fier!
*******
Group: Senior Member
Posts: 4,476

Joined: Oct 2011
From: ARPANET


QUOTE(StevenL @ Feb 4 2018, 11:01 PM)
Meaning there's no hacked apk available to be install on non certfified netflix to enable 4k hdr stream at all? i remembered reading somehwere there was a hack apk to overcome this?
*
AFAIK.. Couple years ago? Yes, there were some apks floating around. None available at the moment.. Probably cuz no incentive to create such.. Almost all decent smart TVs from a couple years ago are all capable of outputting full res and surround sound (up to the TV's max specs). I.e my 2014 TV easily gets Netflix's 1080p + DD sound. Those with recognized UHD & HDR capable TVs enjoy the same too. As you can see, why bother when the TV's app does just fine. Those with incompatible TVs end up buying Netflix certified devices like Google's Chromecast, etc..
carpathia
post Feb 5 2018, 07:28 AM

Look at all my stars!!
*******
Group: Senior Member
Posts: 2,295

Joined: Apr 2005
From: KL



Ok thanks for the update on Netflix. Looks like time I upgrade to my dream 65" tv... choosing one is difficult...hahah.


AVFAN
post Feb 5 2018, 09:23 PM

10k Club
********
Group: Senior Member
Posts: 15,741

Joined: Nov 2010
QUOTE(AVFAN @ Jan 28 2018, 01:59 PM)
This is a wd sealed ext powered hdd

Will try to pry it open and take a look.

Just read that wd ones... the sata bridge card is integrated with the disc controller, not like other brands that separate the two.

Not optimistic i can fix it... will see.

....
Update

Pried open, put drive in q10pro, good.

Can use as spare or backup.

As suspected, must be failure of the sata bridge card.

Will check around, see if i can buy this spare part.
*
just like to share this exp...

if yr 3.5" portable hdd fails, pry it open and take out the drive.

chances are the sata bridge card failed, can save it in 2 ways:

.. plug it into q10pro, it will work if it is only the bridge card that failed.

.. buy a docking station.. i bought below today at rm125... good for 3.5" and 2.5".
save the drive!!
user posted image

i was told by the sales guy that this will only work for older portable hdds with the sata bridge card as an individual component.
new portable hdds, the circuit is integrated - a design to fail n make u buy new!! ranting.gif
better buy 3.5" sata drives with docking station to get more reliability!

This post has been edited by AVFAN: Feb 5 2018, 09:36 PM

Bump TopicReply to this topicTopic OptionsStart new topic
 

Switch to:
| Lo-Fi Version
0.0641sec    1.95    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 19th February 2018 - 02:18 AM