HiMedia Media Player, All about HiMedia

carpathia
post Dec 18 2017, 03:14 PM

2,619 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Dec 18 2017, 12:03 AM)
What glue r u talking about?!!  rolleyes.gif
If you open the casing, you will notice there is a thermal pad that you are supposed to uncover and this sticks to your hdd, cooling it. If you remove your hdd from the case the thermal connectivity is gone.
AVFAN
post Dec 18 2017, 03:42 PM

24,454 posts

QUOTE(carpathia @ Dec 18 2017, 03:14 PM)
If you open the casing, you will notice there is a thermal pad that you are supposed to uncover and this sticks to your hdd, cooling it. If you remove your hdd from the case the thermal connectivity is gone.
U do NOT remove the pad!

The sata hdd will slot in nicely and stay firm.

Or... r u trying to stick in a portable ext hdd?
carpathia
post Dec 18 2017, 06:38 PM

2,619 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Dec 18 2017, 03:42 PM)
U do NOT remove the pad!

The sata hdd will slot in nicely and stay firm.

Or... r u trying to stick in a portable ext hdd?
not remove la....uncover the sticker
AVFAN
post Dec 18 2017, 07:01 PM

24,454 posts

QUOTE(carpathia @ Dec 18 2017, 06:38 PM)
not remove la....uncover the sticker
where did u read instruction to remove the sticker?
carpathia
post Dec 18 2017, 08:59 PM

2,619 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Dec 18 2017, 07:01 PM)
where did u read instruction to remove the sticker?
If you don't, how will the heat transfer with the plastic cover in between
AVFAN
post Dec 18 2017, 09:43 PM

24,454 posts

QUOTE(carpathia @ Dec 18 2017, 08:59 PM)
If you don't, how will the heat transfer with the plastic cover in between
err... u got it wrong...

that pad is not for thermal purpose.

it is just a cushion pad to keep the hdd in position.

no need to remove the sticker as it is a double sided sticky pad.

heat extraction is done with the fan and aluminum casing, stays cools all the time.

about file transfer, u can do via wifi with an appropriate app but will be slow.

it is much faster to connect the whole unit to a pc with usb type b cable.

take a look at the back and sides of the box - there are many features u can explore.
Sky.Live
post Dec 20 2017, 11:33 PM

Proctected Species
4,390 posts

I just bought q10 pro, still quite confused what i can do with it.. so far mostly use for spotify.. the user interface is kinda bad to use with the remote
voncrane
post Dec 21 2017, 06:46 AM

Noir et fier!
7,118 posts

QUOTE(Sky.Live @ Dec 20 2017, 11:33 PM)
I just bought q10 pro, still quite confused what i can do with it.. so far mostly use for spotify.. the user interface is kinda bad to use with the remote
I'm sorry..what!.. You bought a Q10 Pro for Spotify?.. If I may ask, what made you even buy the device in the first place?
dreamwave
post Dec 21 2017, 08:47 AM

Hi guys, I am about to purchase the Q10 Pro with Minix A2 Lite. Will be asking seller to install latest firmware (2.0.4 I think) is and Android 7. Also will get them to install latest Kodi with Quasar as I will be using this for English movies, series and Chinese, Korean movies and series.

Any other recommended apps for movies or good to have apps I should get pre installed? I'm wanting to get as much installed as possible so it's ready to go when I collect it.
AVFAN
post Dec 21 2017, 09:59 AM

24,454 posts

QUOTE(Sky.Live @ Dec 20 2017, 11:33 PM)
get a wireless mouse.

many apps are built for touchscreen, need a mouse to navigate.

QUOTE(dreamwave @ Dec 21 2017, 08:47 AM)
Hi guys, I am about to purchase the Q10 Pro with Minix A2 Lite. Will be asking seller to install latest firmware (2.0.4 I think) is and Android 7. Also will get them to install latest Kodi with Quasar as I will be using this for English movies, series and Chinese, Korean movies and series.

Any other recommended apps for movies or good to have apps I should get pre installed? I'm wanting to get as much installed as possible so it's ready to go when I collect it.
no... it's 2.0.6.

This post has been edited by AVFAN: Dec 21 2017, 10:01 AM
carpathia
post Dec 21 2017, 10:45 AM

2,619 posts

Sifu recommend me a wireless mouse
stormaker
post Dec 21 2017, 12:53 PM

3,130 posts

QUOTE(carpathia @ Dec 21 2017, 10:45 AM)
Sifu recommend me a wireless mouse
I'm using Logitech K400 Plus keyboard + mouse, making the typing to search thing much easier.
voncrane
post Dec 21 2017, 05:25 PM

Noir et fier!
7,118 posts

QUOTE(dreamwave @ Dec 21 2017, 08:47 AM)

Personally, I prefer a completely clean setup then install only what I need from scratch. Installing Kodi and addons is pretty easy when you get the hang of it.. There's a dedicated Kodi thread here on lyn.. Be wise to visit it and do read thru first.. lots of info there... As for other apps, That is a conversation better had with the seller.. Since he/she is already willing to do the above.. Else google/youtube are your pals.
skyfusion
post Dec 26 2017, 04:07 PM

274 posts

Hi, Im currently using Q10 Pro. May I know is it a wise decision if I want to replace this box with Nvidia Shield 2017? Plan to give this box to my father who willl be using Youtube only. Or is it for me just buy a cheap Android box and give him? Will I miss anything from upgrading from Q10 to Shield?
Ivan_T
post Dec 26 2017, 05:00 PM

133 posts

QUOTE(skyfusion @ Dec 26 2017, 04:07 PM)
Hi, Im currently using Q10 Pro. May I know is it a wise decision if I want to replace this box with Nvidia Shield 2017? Plan to give this box to my father who willl be using Youtube only. Or is it for me just buy a cheap Android box and give  him? Will I miss anything from upgrading from Q10 to Shield?
Well, been hearing peoples saying the Nvidia Shield is the best, but not sure how true and what exactly is better than the rest. But it is definitely the most expensive and the different is it is a gaming-centric streaming box. As you said you are upgrading, so it has to be better right?

Q10 for pure Youtube is a waste, I prefer youtube on my smart TV. Q10 should be more for 4K movies with HD audio, video streaming and even Kodi.
skyfusion
post Dec 26 2017, 05:45 PM

274 posts

QUOTE(Ivan_T @ Dec 26 2017, 05:00 PM)
Well, been hearing peoples saying the Nvidia Shield is the best, but not sure how true and what exactly is better than the rest. But it is definitely the most expensive and the different is it is a gaming-centric streaming box. As you said you are upgrading, so it has to be better right?

Q10 for pure Youtube is a waste, I prefer youtube on my smart TV. Q10 should be more for 4K movies with HD audio, video streaming and even Kodi.
I am not sure benefit of buying Shield other than it is a better gaming box. IMO, Shield comes with better gamepad compare to my current cheap RM50 Q10 gamepad where some games are not supported. Other than that, Biggest benefit of Q10 is that I can throw any movie format and so far able to play all without any problem. Shield able to play all format ? How about PQ is compare both boxes? Another feature that I like is Shield ability to play Youtube in 4K, but not sure if its additional benefit coz my LG Oled also can play Youtube 4K

Since my father TV is not a smart TV, so I'm thinking of giving him Q10 and then get Shield for myself. But if its not justifiable getting it, I think I will just get my father a cheap Andorid box then.
AVFAN
post Dec 26 2017, 06:03 PM

24,454 posts

QUOTE(skyfusion @ Dec 26 2017, 05:45 PM)
I am not sure benefit of buying Shield other than it is a better gaming box. IMO, Shield comes with better gamepad compare to my current cheap RM50 Q10 gamepad where some games are not supported. Other than that, Biggest benefit of Q10 is that I can throw any movie format and so far able to play all without any problem. Shield able to play all format ? How about PQ is compare both boxes? Another feature that I like is Shield ability to play Youtube in 4K, but not sure if its additional benefit coz my LG Oled also can play Youtube 4K

Since my father TV is not a smart TV, so I'm thinking of giving him Q10 and then get Shield for myself. But if its not justifiable getting it, I think I will just get my father a cheap Andorid box then.
Q10 pro can do youtube 4k.
U just need to use the right version.
I remember posting it in this thread.

I have never used shield, so, cannot really say anything about it.
I would hope u know enough what it is really good for against what u want.
It is expensive, but if u hv the moolah, sure can buy n try.

You dad... simple youtube... even 6 year box can do, second hand box maybe rm100, new rm200.

You can put up q10pro for sale.
Quite sure a lot of people will be interested if u price at rm300. tongue.gif
voncrane
post Dec 26 2017, 07:37 PM

Noir et fier!
7,118 posts

QUOTE(Ivan_T @ Dec 26 2017, 05:00 PM)

Oh it's true.. The Nvidia Shield TV Box reigns. Why? Cuz with all it does, it's an all-in-one & no other device ATM comes close to accomplishing it. I could list the advantages but that be derailing this HiMedia thread. Can see more info about it and discuss in the dedicated thread for Android devices.

QUOTE(skyfusion @ Dec 26 2017, 05:45 PM)

Since the Q10 Pro works for you now and your TV's smart enough to handle 4K YouTube, Netflix, etc. Then yes, to save cost.. Just get dad a cheap easy to use box. Something like a Roku device or similar.
GuyM
post Dec 26 2017, 09:38 PM

1,787 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Dec 26 2017, 06:03 PM)
You can put up q10pro for sale.
Quite sure a lot of people will be interested if u price at rm300. tongue.gif
I'm one of those willing to buy it off at $300 ....😝
AVFAN
post Dec 26 2017, 09:42 PM

24,454 posts

QUOTE(GuyM @ Dec 26 2017, 09:38 PM)
I'm one of those willing to buy it off at $300 ....😝
i will get a chance to check out the A5 next week.

will see how this amlogic box compares with the hisilicon one.

176 Pages « < 160 161 162 163 164 > » Top

0.0277sec    0.23    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 03:05 AM