HiMedia Media Player, All about HiMedia

Ivan_T
post Sep 8 2017, 06:04 PM

133 posts

QUOTE(tsb16107 @ Sep 8 2017, 02:59 PM)
TQ for your advice. You just cannot have everything in 1 box. Any sifu knows if there would be newer version of Q10 Pro launching soon as this box is > 1 year?

Anyone has any idea if there is modded astro go /hyppwhere apk that can be installed in Q10 Pro?
Actually I'm also looking at these 2 boxes and incline towards buying the Q10 Pro for the main reason that it will provide better picture and audio quality.

In fact I still don't fully understand why Minix u9H cost so much higher than any other Android boxes that are using the same S912 chipset other than the good Wifi connection and maybe firmware support. Wonder how is Himedia A5 which is also using the same chipset but cheaper.
Ivan_T
post Nov 13 2017, 11:29 AM

133 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Nov 12 2017, 10:18 PM)
there have been changes with himedia boxes over the years when it comes to BDMV/BD ISO.

go back 6 years, they already can play BDMV DTSHDMA, DDtrueHD - with native player, not Kodi player.
go back 3 years, they can play DD Atmos as well but not DTSX - with native player, not Kodi player.

himedia since 3 years ago decided to go international, got Futeko as main distributor in UK for europe.
the customers there want playback with Kodi player as many want the extras - thumbnails, categorization, etc.
they also want facebook, skype and youtube 1080p/4k in the firmware (and dun care about astrogo, hyppe'where. biggrin.gif ).
so, u can see where that led to.

comes Q5/Q10pro... with latest firmware, u get a wrapper to "wrap" a local playback with kodi to push it thru native himedia player.
this is quite clever: no need to deal with kodi issues while all the extras are fine; actually playing with native player with imprex2 engine.
with auto frame switching, HDR, ddatmos, dtsx capabilities too.

kodi 17.5 made it possible for Q5/Q10pro to stream online with DD/DD+ and DTS transcoding to DD (i like this one very much.).
with earlier versions kodi 17.0-17.4, u can only get AAC2.0.
but there is still one more challenge - can't do DTS/DTSHDMA pass through for kodi online streams yet.

firmware 2.0.6 also offers full BD menu for 1080p and 4K - i love this one  but no use for those who dun play BDMV.

me, i am used to fast and easy local playback, never go thru kodi.
so, i do file manager or media center to get to native player for my own files - like it fast n easy.
Excellent summary! I have just ordered the Q10 Pro, so can I conclude that I must request for Android 7 with the latest 2.0.6 firmware?

Ivan_T
post Nov 20 2017, 04:45 PM

133 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Nov 19 2017, 01:19 PM)
you will be even happier... becos...

with 4k hdr tv, q10pro will be able to output to highest levels... 2160p 60hz, ycbcr 420/444, 10bit, HDR.

autoframe switching will take care of old, new, livetv video types.

all yr old videos will come out better; even astro/hypptv will come out better!

but make sure, if using AVR, your AVR is also 4k hdr compliant.
well... some people still think 4k tv is a waste of time.
I have display setting at 2160p 60Hz and trying to set the ycbcr 444 10bit but it is unsupported. Does this mean for 2160p 60hz on ycbcr 444 exceeded the HDMI 2.0 bandwidth limit?

So the best I can set is ycbcr 422. But there is no 8bit or 10bit option for ycbcr 422, so it is by default 8bit/10bit or 12bit?
Ivan_T
post Nov 20 2017, 06:19 PM

133 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Nov 20 2017, 06:03 PM)
Cant explain... dont really know the details. biggrin.gif

Just that 444 is good for static text, pc, gaming, maybe home cameras.

420 is commonly used for movies n tv shows, so nothing lost compared to 422 or 444.

I hv tried many combinations, no noticeable diff between 2160p 60z 420 10bit vs 2160p 24hz 444 10bit.

At least not for my tv n the videos i watch.

I set former and let auto frame switching do the rest.
Right.. I couldn't really see the different as well, it is video anyway as expected and not for PC connection. For all the settings I have tested, HDR is working properly.
Ivan_T
post Nov 20 2017, 07:06 PM

133 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Nov 20 2017, 06:47 PM)
You reported in another thread some weeks ago that an hdr video came out too dark.

Found the right tv settings yet?
Well, I wouldn't say the video is too dark, just lacking the vividness and the color is dull under HDR mode. I couldn't improve it directly on the TV. But with Q10 Pro, it is easier as I can play around with the PQ settings in the Imprex Engine and I would say it is definitely better. biggrin.gif
Ivan_T
post Nov 21 2017, 11:44 AM

133 posts

QUOTE(carpathia @ Nov 20 2017, 11:05 PM)
i think my problem is my TV. i have a good 4k avr BUT USING OLD 42" toshiba....
There is no need to buy this box for a 1080p LED TV, the cheaper box will do. I have a ~8 years old media player that can provide excellent PQ for 1080p files and support all HD audio of ATMOS, DTS:X & Dolby TrueHD. The only reason for me to get Q10 Pro is for the 4K HDR, just unfortunately Dolby Vision support is missing.

QUOTE(carpathia @ Nov 21 2017, 11:23 AM)
Fuck me
Price drop to 580 now.
Sorry to tell you that I got mine for RM520 from the same seller.
Ivan_T
post Nov 27 2017, 12:39 PM

133 posts

I got a problem with my google account on Q10 Pro, I changed my password on another device and Q10 Pro prompt error for authentication failed. There was no option to change password, so I have chosen to delete the google account. After deletion, I try to add back the google account but I can't do it as it exit immediately to the same menu after I select the add google account. Now the playstore is not working. Any advise?
Ivan_T
post Nov 27 2017, 04:52 PM

133 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Nov 27 2017, 01:35 PM)
U likely deleted google play services app.

U can...

1. Get the correct google play services apk, reinstall... or

2. Flash reinstall your last firmware but u will lose your apps... or

3. Take it back to seller shop to fix.

This is why it is impt to have a backup of your apps.

Easily done with one of those backup apps found in playstore.
Thanks !! Will try step 1 tonight and see how it goes, if not just download the APK which I want to install then, not a problem.

Btw, just found out Q10 pro doesn't support video with chroma subsampling 4.2.2.
Ivan_T
post Nov 28 2017, 02:24 PM

133 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Nov 28 2017, 12:07 PM)
Where did u read that?
I can set mine with 2160p 60hz.
Or it does nothing? biggrin.gif
But i usually set it to 420.
As previously said, i see little or no diff, incl 444.
Well, my current setting on Q10 Pro is 422. I play a movie with chroma subsampling 4.2.2 and there is only audio but no picture on the TV. The same movie can be played on my laptop.

So I did some reading and found that it is discussed here:
http://www.futeko.com/newforum/index.php?topic=711.705

Ivan_T
post Nov 30 2017, 11:26 AM

133 posts

QUOTE(basara2020 @ Nov 30 2017, 10:28 AM)
Can advise where can I buy Q10 pro at lowyat plaza with good price?
LC marketing has got their outlet at ASUS Kiosk, 4th Floor (Top Floor, right side of the escalator). However, the price you can get at Lowyat Plaza will be easily RM100 more than what you can get online from them.
Ivan_T
post Dec 13 2017, 11:53 AM

133 posts

QUOTE(captvizcenzo @ Dec 12 2017, 10:39 PM)
I think this is something to do with the CEC.
Based on what I read elsewhere, Q10pro isn't CEC friendly. It will kill CEC link between devices.
I read somewhere that this is an issue for Q10 Pro running on firmware lower than 2.0.3, FW 2.0.3 has completely disabled the CEC so that there will be no interference with other devices.
Ivan_T
post Dec 17 2017, 05:56 PM

133 posts

QUOTE(carpathia @ Dec 13 2017, 10:04 PM)
Wow, thanks for the heads up. So how to upgrade fw? Can be done via OTA??
Yes, just do over OTA. What is your current FW level? Are you on Android 5.1 or 7? Suggest you upgrade to Android 7 if you have not done it.
Ivan_T
post Dec 26 2017, 05:00 PM

133 posts

QUOTE(skyfusion @ Dec 26 2017, 04:07 PM)
Hi, Im currently using Q10 Pro. May I know is it a wise decision if I want to replace this box with Nvidia Shield 2017? Plan to give this box to my father who willl be using Youtube only. Or is it for me just buy a cheap Android box and give  him? Will I miss anything from upgrading from Q10 to Shield?
Well, been hearing peoples saying the Nvidia Shield is the best, but not sure how true and what exactly is better than the rest. But it is definitely the most expensive and the different is it is a gaming-centric streaming box. As you said you are upgrading, so it has to be better right?

Q10 for pure Youtube is a waste, I prefer youtube on my smart TV. Q10 should be more for 4K movies with HD audio, video streaming and even Kodi.
Ivan_T
post Jan 19 2018, 11:07 AM

133 posts

QUOTE(splinter @ Jan 18 2018, 11:27 PM)
Why can’t the player support deep color 444? My tv is LG UH770 which support deep color
The LG TV deep color support only Ycbcr 444 at 8bit for 2160p@60Hz. The same for chroma 422. 10bit & 12bit is only for 420. This is very common in the industry.

Most if not all videos/movies are with Ycbcr 420 except a few at 422 10bit. Btw, Himedia doesn't support the 422 10bit similar to the TV.
Ivan_T
post Apr 10 2018, 06:51 PM

133 posts

This is mentioned in Futeko for the 2.0.8 FW:

** THIS FIRMWARE IS FOR EUROPEAN HIMEDIA Q10 PRO ONLY!

** DO NOT INSTALL ON CHINESE HARDWARE VERSION Q10 PRO OR OR PREVIOUS GENERATION Q10 4K3D.

I believe our version is on Chinese Hardware right? Is this not a concern?

Ivan_T
post Apr 12 2018, 04:50 PM

133 posts

Upgraded my Q10 Pro to 2.0.8 FW. So far so good and it solved my Playstore problem which didn't work even after I have done the factory reset earlier.

Haven't try the Unifi PlayTV and AstroGO yet, hopefully both will work. However, there is still an issue with subtitle where the size can't be changed.
Ivan_T
post Apr 16 2018, 02:59 PM

133 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Apr 15 2018, 05:07 PM)
Got astrogo n unifi playtv to work?

Subs... embedded subs, can change position but not size.

External subs, can change position, change size, change color...
Unifi PlayTV working fine, haven't try AstroGO..

Yes.. can change position but can't change the size for embedded subs, so need to turn it off as it is too big for me.

0.0735sec    0.41    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 27th November 2025 - 01:19 AM