HiMedia Media Player, All about HiMedia

AVFAN
post Nov 30 2016, 09:34 AM

24,454 posts

QUOTE(GI Jie @ Nov 30 2016, 02:20 AM)
Hi everybody, new on this thread. My Q10Pro just arrived today. Plugged everything in and configured the wifi settings. Checked into Google Play and updated a few apps. Content searching is gonna be the trouble here. I don't actually watch much tv and the android box is for the missus. Any recommendations?
what apps have been preinstalled by the seller?

what kind of apps r u looking for?

those from playstore u want are kodi, es file explorer, maybe a launcher (if u dun like the native one).

the most popular entertainment apps are NOT found there. ways to get them:

.. get from seller (if and when new ones available)
.. download apk from website
.. download from links provided by other users
.. copy direct from other users

note these apps or apks go obsolete from time to time. some have auto update, some need new replacement. so, there is a need for continuous maintenance.

** i had directed u to check here as u may have questions specific to himedia/Q10pro. for generic android or apps questions, the other android box thread has some good info too.

cyrobytes
post Nov 30 2016, 06:42 PM

238 posts

QUOTE(GI Jie @ Nov 30 2016, 02:20 AM)
Hi everybody, new on this thread. My Q10Pro just arrived today. Plugged everything in and configured the wifi settings. Checked into Google Play and updated a few apps. Content searching is gonna be the trouble here. I don't actually watch much tv and the android box is for the missus. Any recommendations?
One advise to you. Do not install the latest 2.00 Android N firmware. Not stable and full of bugs.
GI Jie
post Nov 30 2016, 11:38 PM

722 posts

QUOTE(voncrane @ Nov 30 2016, 07:16 AM)
Try spending some time reading through the Android TV Box thread.. Much to learn there.. Congrats on your purchase.
Already am doing so. Learning new things everyday.

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Nov 30 2016, 09:34 AM)
what apps have been preinstalled by the seller?
what kind of apps r u looking for?
those from playstore u want are kodi, es file explorer, maybe a launcher (if u dun like the native one).
the most popular entertainment apps are NOT found there. ways to get them:
.. get from seller (if and when new ones available)
.. download apk from website
.. download from links provided by other users
.. copy direct from other users
note these apps or apks go obsolete from time to time. some have auto update, some need new replacement. so, there is a need for continuous maintenance.
** i had directed u to check here as u may have questions specific to himedia/Q10pro. for generic android or apps questions, the other android box thread has some good info too.
The usual stuff...Kodi, Chrome, Skype, Google Store, etc. (everything except Kodi needed update)
Ya. I am looking at quite a few sites, downloaded Viutv, HKTV, Phoenix apks into my pendrive but have yet to install it into the Q10. Will do so in the weekend when I am free.

QUOTE(cyrobytes @ Nov 30 2016, 06:42 PM)
One advise to you. Do not install the latest 2.00 Android N firmware. Not stable and full of bugs.
OK. Got it. Thanks
AVFAN
post Dec 1 2016, 12:14 AM

24,454 posts

QUOTE(GI Jie @ Nov 30 2016, 11:38 PM)
Already am doing so. Learning new things everyday.
The usual stuff...Kodi, Chrome, Skype, Google Store, etc. (everything except Kodi needed update)
Ya. I am looking at quite a few sites, downloaded Viutv, HKTV, Phoenix apks into my pendrive but have yet to install it into the Q10. Will do so in the weekend when I am free.
ya, try whatever apps u can get yr hands on, see if any good.

for HK stuff, there isn't all that many to choose from. i can only think of kakoze (standalone app) and azdrama, icdrama in kodi. mandarin stuff, a lot more available.

i have seen some good ones, some poor ones, some that last 2 years, some that last only 2 weeks. biggrin.gif
kaxe113
post Dec 1 2016, 09:08 AM

206 posts

latest himedia sold with latest firmware as well?

JayceOoi
post Dec 1 2016, 10:06 AM

Pro Blogger
2,741 posts

QUOTE(cyrobytes @ Nov 30 2016, 06:42 PM)
What kind of bugs? confused.gif
cyrobytes
post Dec 1 2016, 01:54 PM

238 posts

QUOTE(JayceOoi @ Dec 1 2016, 10:06 AM)
What kind of bugs? :confused:
What i have encountered so far,
1) The video color space will reset to default every time you switch off the tv box.
2) Random system freeze when open certain apps which are no problem on previous firmware
3) Demo video with Dolby Vision coding will only shown black screen which is able to play correctly on previous firmware even though i only have HDR TV (not Dolby Vision). Worth to mention, new firmware come with Dolby Vision playback.
4) Duplicate USB mount shown in Kodi.

You can refer to futeko.com for more discussion on the new firmware.

This post has been edited by cyrobytes: Dec 1 2016, 02:49 PM
Bliz
post Dec 2 2016, 08:58 AM

2,734 posts

Bought a q10pro yesterday, setup and running on my Sharp UE630x, may i know the what is the correct TV output i should set to? Both on my TV and Himedia Q10 media player , is it 2160p at 60Hz? How about colour space?

*Just found out need to set my TV HDMI settings to Full, but can't find any info about the q10 player since no user manual is supplied dry.gif *

This post has been edited by Bliz: Dec 2 2016, 09:01 AM
AVFAN
post Dec 2 2016, 09:29 AM

24,454 posts

QUOTE(Bliz @ Dec 2 2016, 08:58 AM)
Bought a q10pro yesterday, setup and running on my Sharp UE630x, may i know the what is the correct TV output i should set to? Both on my TV and Himedia Q10 media player , is it 2160p at 60Hz? How about colour space?

*Just found out need to set my TV HDMI settings to Full, but can't find any info about the q10 player since no user manual is supplied  dry.gif *
2160p at 60Hz will be the highest for this combination.

for the tv, it is done once u set it to full, will auto detect incoming.

q10pro, go to box settings/display and set it there.

then check with powering up tv first, then box; and box first then tv.

it may be that the tv need to be powered up first for the box to detect to keep the 2160p 60hz setting.

another thing is if u find video playback stuttering, u may have to change setting to 2160p 50 hz or 30hz - this may happen during playback of some lower quality videos.

kaxe113
post Dec 2 2016, 09:44 AM

206 posts

nice.. 4k tv with 4k player
himedia setting menu can straight away see graphic output
simple up/down selection
cyrobytes
post Dec 2 2016, 10:04 AM

238 posts

*Just found out need to set my TV HDMI settings to Full, but can't find any info about the q10 player since no user manual is supplied  dry.gif *
It really depend on your TV spec. For my tv, i set it to 2160p 60Hz and max video color space up to YCbCr420 10 bit only.
Bliz
post Dec 2 2016, 10:38 AM

2,734 posts

QUOTE(cyrobytes @ Dec 2 2016, 10:04 AM)
It really depend on your TV spec. For my tv, i set it to 2160p 60Hz and max video color space up to YCbCr420 10 bit only.
My TV is sharp UE630x, it doesn't support HDR, 10bit i supposed is for the HDR?
cyrobytes
post Dec 2 2016, 11:27 AM

238 posts

QUOTE(Bliz @ Dec 2 2016, 10:38 AM)
My TV is sharp UE630x, it doesn't support HDR, 10bit i supposed is for the HDR?
Yup. For HDR, you need 10bit to get proper color gamut and gradiant

Link
Bliz
post Dec 2 2016, 11:47 AM

2,734 posts

QUOTE(cyrobytes @ Dec 2 2016, 11:27 AM)
Yup. For HDR, you need 10bit to get proper color gamut and gradiant

Link
So my colour settings for my TV should be 8 bit, anyway is the HiMedia wrapper only work with locally stored media? While playing from NAS it seems like is defaulted to Kodi player, i have noticed the build in himedia player is playing back more smoothly and image quality seems better as well
GI Jie
post Dec 2 2016, 04:38 PM

722 posts

My new Q10Pro auto detected my TV's resolution so I didn't have to make any adjustments. I think it should also auto detect yours.
Bliz
post Dec 2 2016, 05:20 PM

2,734 posts

QUOTE(GI Jie @ Dec 2 2016, 04:38 PM)
My new Q10Pro auto detected my TV's resolution so I didn't have to make any adjustments. I think it should also auto detect yours.
So your q10pro is outputting 4k resolution to your TV? I have a few 4k movies here
AVFAN
post Dec 2 2016, 06:19 PM

24,454 posts

QUOTE(Bliz @ Dec 2 2016, 05:20 PM)
So your q10pro is outputting 4k resolution to your TV? I have a few 4k movies here
I assure u a 4k movie on a 4k tv will spoil your eyes. biggrin.gif
GI Jie
post Dec 2 2016, 11:34 PM

722 posts

QUOTE(Bliz @ Dec 2 2016, 05:20 PM)
Mine not 4K lah, only Full HD and the Q10Pro detected it as full HD.
Yours is 4K and the Q10Pro should detect it as so without you having to play with the settings.

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Dec 2 2016, 06:19 PM)
I assure u a 4k movie on a 4k tv will spoil your eyes. biggrin.gif
Depends on how many X is on the 4K movie. brows.gif

This post has been edited by GI Jie: Dec 2 2016, 11:36 PM
vectorian
post Dec 3 2016, 06:45 PM

377 posts

Hi folks.. just out of curiosity, besides the usual photos, music and videos to put into the enclosed HDD in the Q10, what other stuff do you guys use the HDD for?
voncrane
post Dec 3 2016, 09:08 PM

Noir et fier!
7,118 posts

QUOTE(vectorian @ Dec 3 2016, 06:45 PM)
Hi folks.. just out of curiosity, besides the usual photos, music and videos to put into the enclosed HDD in the Q10, what other stuff do you guys use the HDD for?
It's a media box for the living room (usually).. So primarily for media playback.. Documents perhaps?

176 Pages « < 86 87 88 89 90 > » Top

0.0238sec    0.43    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 07:45 PM