Credit Card Foreign Exchange Rate

ericlaiys
post Nov 12 2024, 06:00 PM

7,536 posts

QUOTE(JoNe91 @ Nov 12 2024, 05:11 PM)
Hi All Sifus,

I have recently swiped a few transactions with UOB Prvi Elite card, and i have noticed that the conversion rate is a bit high, becuz the website only state like 1% admin fee, but i calculated it was like 2.2%. So i have called the UOB customer service and ask them how they charged it. They told me that on top of the 1% admin fee, the bank has charged a 1.22% fee (can't hear what she said it was called). However, i did ask her like how this rate is determined and whether it is stated on their website. She told me it's all depend on the bank and there is no way to check in advance, and no history for reference as well. She did show me where it was stated in their T&Cs.

" In addition, an administration cost of 1% or such other rate as determined by us for the conversion of the transactions made in a currency other than Ringgit Malaysia will be chargeable to you."

She said the 1.22% is that "such other rat as determined by us"  sweat.gif

So they didn't really state like how much fee in the T&Cs, and they can charge whatever rate? I can't know what im being charged before i use the card? sweat.gif What if they charge like 5 or 10% shocking.gif
Correct. 1% is admin fees + extra fees till 2% plus. So far only rhb and PBB not charge 1%. Majority around 2% plus.
That why people use wise, GXBank, big pay for personal trip.
Just wonder, you did not use other cc before at overseas? It is standard rate till 2.5%
Bank love you to use at overseas coz they earn more

This post has been edited by ericlaiys: Nov 12 2024, 06:03 PM
JoNe91
post Nov 12 2024, 08:41 PM

20 posts

QUOTE(hye @ Nov 12 2024, 05:49 PM)
I tested UOB overseas rate before and it is the same as what you experienced - 2.2%. (Posted this info and some members insist it is 1%,  sweat.gif)
It all lies in how the bank writes the T&C - they are not wrong in the interpretation. So far UOB has been consistent in charging 2.2% on top of your charges for foreign expenses. (Other than RM dominated)

I believe there is a bank which varies this rate depending on the country but since I don't have enough sampling, will not post unverified info.
And there are banks who charges exactly as what they claim in their T&C.
OK if they have been consistent in this rate, then it's fine. I'm just worried that they will suddenly charge a higher rate. The main problem is we only get to know the rate after we spent with the card. doh.gif IMO, it's not transparent enough and the consumer cannot make better decision because of it.

Btw, thanks for confirming the 2.2% rate, now i'm less concerned since this has been consistently charged for everyone.

QUOTE(ericlaiys @ Nov 12 2024, 06:00 PM)
Correct. 1% is admin fees + extra fees till 2% plus. So far only rhb and PBB not charge 1%. Majority around 2% plus.
Just wonder, you did not use other cc before at overseas? It is standard rate till 2.5%
I have no problem with the rate 2.22%, but my concern is they didn't state clearly in the T&Cs the rate they use for this "other rate", and there's no cap to it.
ericlaiys
post Nov 12 2024, 10:59 PM

7,536 posts

QUOTE(JoNe91 @ Nov 12 2024, 08:41 PM)
OK if they have been consistent in this rate, then it's fine. I'm just worried that they will suddenly charge a higher rate. The main problem is we only get to know the rate after we spent with the card.  doh.gif IMO, it's not transparent enough and the consumer cannot make better decision because of it.

Btw, thanks for confirming the 2.2% rate, now i'm less concerned since this has been consistently charged for everyone.
I have no problem with the rate 2.22%, but my concern is they didn't state clearly in the T&Cs the rate they use for this "other rate", and there's no cap to it.
None of the bank will tell u the rate.
??!!
post Nov 19 2024, 11:20 AM

2,548 posts

Standard Chartered and CIMB charge a ‘cross boder transaction fee’ for non RM transactions over and Above the usual fees.
s9sa
post Dec 19 2024, 03:02 PM

45 posts

I found out about the Bank Rakyat Platinum Explorer Card, which says there's no fee for overseas transactions. Can anyone confirm this? I'm thinking of applying since some overseas transactions, like renting a car, can't be done with a debit card.
-Just found the answer thank you

This post has been edited by s9sa: Dec 23 2024, 09:14 PM
satellitel510
post Dec 20 2024, 02:38 PM

20 posts

hi.. i have recently used my UOB prvi miles elite for 2 agoda hotel booking but the FX rate charged were significantly different:

both transaction were on same date, and probably same minute, using same card, paying JPY (as stated in agoda), but the rate charged (manually recalculate back based on MYR charged to my card) were RM295+ and RM314+ respectively, per 10k JPY. Based on the lower rate, i would have pay RM100+ less.

tried calling UOB, which they request me to check with mastercard. mastercard then redirect me back to UOB malaysia doh.gif

meanwhile UOB advise me to wait for the transaction to be effective onto my statement before they can do further investigation.

any 1 has experience with this? rclxub.gif rclxub.gif
ericlaiys
post Dec 20 2024, 02:56 PM

7,536 posts

QUOTE(satellitel510 @ Dec 20 2024, 02:38 PM)
hi.. i have recently used my UOB prvi miles elite for 2 agoda hotel booking but the FX rate charged were significantly different:

both transaction were on same date, and probably same minute, using same card, paying JPY (as stated in agoda), but the rate charged (manually recalculate back based on MYR charged to my card) were RM295+ and RM314+ respectively, per 10k JPY. Based on the lower rate, i would have pay RM100+ less.

tried calling UOB, which they request me to check with mastercard. mastercard then redirect me back to UOB malaysia  doh.gif

meanwhile UOB advise me to wait for the transaction to be effective onto my statement before they can do further investigation.

any 1 has experience with this?  rclxub.gif  rclxub.gif
well...rate change every 1 sec on mastercard/visa. impossible u do 2 transaction on same time. exchange rate cannot argue with bank or change the rate
Steve78
post Dec 23 2024, 01:33 AM

143 posts

QUOTE(ericlaiys @ Dec 20 2024, 02:56 PM)
well...rate change every 1 sec on mastercard/visa. impossible u do 2 transaction on same time. exchange rate cannot argue with bank or change the rate
No, Mastercard and Visa do not update their foreign exchange rates every second, they update their exchange rates once per day.
eattan
post Dec 26 2024, 11:46 AM

52 posts

QUOTE(ericlaiys @ Nov 12 2024, 06:00 PM)
i try to swipe my UOB elite only for small transactions..,,to get the free ride back from airport
Smules52 P
post Jan 7 2025, 06:59 PM

Probation

I'm participating in PB foreign currency cashback campaign, T&C requires foreign currency transaction.

For Taobao purchases (in App/Website), is it considered a foreign currency transaction? The website shows MYR in final payment, so if i proceed to make payment, will this payment be considered a foreign currency transaction?
ericlaiys
post Jan 7 2025, 11:40 PM

7,536 posts

QUOTE(Smules52 @ Jan 7 2025, 06:59 PM)
I'm participating in PB foreign currency cashback campaign, T&C requires foreign currency transaction.

For Taobao purchases (in App/Website), is it considered a foreign currency transaction? The website shows MYR in final payment, so if i proceed to make payment, will this payment be considered a foreign currency transaction?
nope. dont count
anndroid
post Jan 12 2025, 01:59 PM

148 posts

Is there any credit card that has 0% foreign transaction fee meaning what we pay is similar to Wise / Gx?
xiaomoon
post Jan 13 2025, 08:41 AM

1,437 posts

QUOTE(anndroid @ Jan 12 2025, 01:59 PM)
Is there any credit card that has 0% foreign transaction fee meaning what we pay is similar to Wise / Gx?
hlb im card, but recently got ppl do compare seem like got hidden fee, rate still wise/gx/tng visa better
Steve78
post Jan 13 2025, 06:36 PM

143 posts

QUOTE(xiaomoon @ Jan 13 2025, 08:41 AM)
hlb im card, but recently got ppl do compare seem like got hidden fee, rate still wise/gx/tng visa better
HLB I'm Card has always had a 1% fee since it first came out, and the TnG Visa rate has never really been the best.

outsiders_86
post Jan 14 2025, 03:58 PM

198 posts

QUOTE(hye @ Jul 27 2024, 12:54 PM)
Sharing info obtained recently

Methodology - Rate obtained via making reference to VISA or Mastercard Currency Convertor Calculator
Total indicate the final transaction value after adding the bank fee percentage in the calculator.

AmBank  25/07/24  Enrich VI        USD 10 = RM47.22, Bank Fee 1.00%
OCBC      24/07/24  Titanium MC  USD 10 = RM47.83, Bank Fee 2.25%
OCBC      24/07/24  Voyage MC  USD 10 = RM47.83, Bank Fee 2.25%
so ambank card only charge 1% ya?
hye
post Jan 15 2025, 06:10 PM

White Tiger
3,395 posts

QUOTE(outsiders_86 @ Jan 14 2025, 03:58 PM)
so ambank card only charge 1% ya?
Yes, for the card AmBank card mentioned. And the figure will tally with what you see on the VISA currency calculator.

cenkudu
post Feb 3 2025, 08:38 AM

1,206 posts

Using Bank Rakyat Explorer credit card

19/1/2025

66.86 USD ~ RM 301.47 ~ 1 USD = RM 4.51

Master card exchange rate

66.86 USD ~ RM 301.47 ~ 1 USD= RM 4.51

0% bank fees I suppose
adurian
post Feb 10 2025, 07:10 PM

151 posts

Which card I can get that I can buy the foreign currency similar to wise
jiaen0509
post Feb 11 2025, 10:16 AM

3,305 posts

So far I read through the thread. PPB can be the one of the lowest fee among other credit card issuers in Malaysia?

I am thinking to use cc for overseas spending
ericlaiys
post Feb 11 2025, 10:25 AM

7,536 posts

QUOTE(jiaen0509 @ Feb 11 2025, 10:16 AM)
So far I read through the thread. PPB can be the one of the lowest fee among other credit card issuers in Malaysia?

I am thinking to use cc for overseas spending
pbb and rhb , the lowest. extra few sen on fees except hotel. hotel conversion is high. based on my observation from few business trip.

104 Pages « < 99 100 101 102 103 > » Top

0.0183sec    0.28    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 26th November 2025 - 02:38 PM