Credit Card Foreign Exchange Rate

evilzeal
post Jun 7 2017, 11:30 AM

144 posts

Airasia

Need opinion. I wanted to purchase airasia ticket one way from korea so it will follow Korean Won. These are the price shown on airasia when it convert to RM.

RM = 1112
Korean Won = 277800
Google Korean Won to RM = 1055

so which is the best option? i have cimb mastercard, maybank visa,uob visa
DarReNz
post Jun 7 2017, 08:29 PM

7,496 posts

QUOTE(evilzeal @ Jun 7 2017, 11:30 AM)
Airasia

Need opinion. I wanted to purchase airasia ticket one way from korea so it will follow Korean Won. These are the price shown on airasia when it convert to RM.

RM = 1112
Korean Won = 277800
Google Korean Won to RM = 1055

so which is the best option? i have cimb mastercard, maybank visa,uob visa
if you take the rates from the first page

CIMB MC - 2%
MBB Visa - 2.26%
UOB Visa - 2.5%

however CIMB Plat MC excludes rebate for air tickets so you can use UOB YOLO Visa to get cash back nod.gif

This post has been edited by DarReNz: Jun 7 2017, 08:31 PM
Tsting
post Jun 15 2017, 01:19 PM

53 posts

QUOTE(ProxMatoR @ May 25 2017, 04:31 PM)
China DO NOT accept any other card.... only UNIONPAY. So, either you go to BOC (bank of china), or MBB to apply. And, if not mistaken, there are different UNIONPAY card, there is specific initial 4 digit card to be accepted in China.
1% is the admin fee. they will have forex rate charge too. so, it will add to 2.2 - 2.25

hope this clarifies.

Local Banks
- Maybank2C VISA/MasterCard : 2.26% (~ 1% + 1.25%)
- Maybank2C AMEX : 2.5%
- Maybank American Express with Maybank logo on top : 2.8-3%
- American Express : 2.8 -3%
- CIMB Bank : (cashback plat) 2.53% (should be ~ 1% + 1.5%)
- CIMB BANK (MC) 2%
- Public Bank : 1.25%, (VS) 1.0125%
- RHB Bank : (master plat) 1.02%
- AmBank : (VISA) 2.0 to 2.2%        (WM) 1%
- HLB VISA/MasterCard:
- EON Bank :
- Affin Bank :
- Alliance : (VISA) 2.17%
- Aeon: (gold) 1.5% (watami) 0.8-1.2%

Foreign Banks
- HSBC : (visa plat) 2.27% (should be ~ 1% + 1.25%)
- OCBC bank :
- Standard Chartered :
- UOB Bank : (YOLO) 2.5%
- Citibank : 1% + 1.4% (= 2.414%)
(if SGD, it is just 0.5%. surprising)
Sorry I have been trying to find info on the citibank Sgd 0.5% charges.
Can someone kindly point me in the right direction?

Ty

ProxMatoR
post Jun 19 2017, 02:19 PM

1,516 posts

QUOTE(Tsting @ Jun 15 2017, 01:19 PM)
Sorry I have been trying to find info on the citibank Sgd 0.5% charges.
Can someone kindly point me in the right direction?

Ty
That was based on my transaction record. It was online AA booking in SGD (flight from SIN).
Tsting
post Jun 19 2017, 10:17 PM

53 posts

QUOTE(ProxMatoR @ Jun 19 2017, 02:19 PM)
That was based on my transaction record. It was online AA booking in SGD (flight from SIN).
Ah ok.
Got it.
Thank you.
xyunknown
post Jun 20 2017, 11:14 AM

49 posts

Hi, would like to check. I am about to make some booking on Airbnb, and there are option to pay in RM or the destination curreny (JPY), I noticed there are some difference in the price, but I am not too sure if it can be saving after consider the bank charges. Anyone have experience in this before?
Thanks in advance for your reply.
DarReNz
post Jun 23 2017, 06:35 AM

7,496 posts

QUOTE(xyunknown @ Jun 20 2017, 11:14 AM)
Hi, would like to check. I am about to make some booking on Airbnb,  and there are option to pay in RM or the destination curreny (JPY),  I noticed there are some difference in the price, but I am not too sure if it can be saving after consider the bank charges. Anyone have experience in this before? 
Thanks in advance for your reply.
I always opt for foreign currency however you can select MYR and get the total amount then compare with the JPY conversion to RM to see which is better nod.gif
xyunknown
post Jun 23 2017, 06:02 PM

49 posts

QUOTE(DarReNz @ Jun 23 2017, 06:35 AM)
I always opt for foreign currency however you can select MYR and get the total amount then compare with the JPY conversion to RM to see which is better  nod.gif
Thanks for the reply. I have check through some earlier post here. Most suggested to use the foreign currency, and i happened to have pbb vs card which based on many forumer experience will have around lower charges of 1.25%. Will try going with foreign currency + pbb vs card.
DarReNz
post Jun 23 2017, 07:22 PM

7,496 posts

QUOTE(xyunknown @ Jun 23 2017, 06:02 PM)
Thanks for the reply. I have check through some earlier post here. Most suggested to use the foreign currency,  and i happened to have pbb vs card which based on many forumer experience will have around lower charges of 1.25%. Will try going with foreign currency + pbb vs card.
if you are buying something online, you'll get 6% cash back too thumbsup.gif
ProxMatoR
post Jun 27 2017, 10:32 PM

1,516 posts

recommended to use foreign currency.

Last year, oversea hotel accidentally charged me at MYR (eventhough I told them to charge in foreign currency, but it was offline transaction. Another person updated the transaction by selecting MYR).

That created additional charges by MY citibank towards me.

This post has been edited by ProxMatoR: Jun 27 2017, 10:33 PM
kyle_kl
post Jun 29 2017, 03:53 PM

1,057 posts

Long time didn't post here...
My last trip to Taiwan find out Aeon cc has better rate than HLB cc and OCBC cc rate is better than SC cc rate.
I swiped different cards on same day to do the comparison
bearbear
post Jun 29 2017, 06:01 PM

You'll Never Walk Alone!~!~
10,061 posts

QUOTE(ProxMatoR @ Jun 27 2017, 10:32 PM)
recommended to use foreign currency.

Last year, oversea hotel accidentally charged me at MYR (eventhough I told them to charge in foreign currency, but it was offline transaction. Another person updated the transaction by selecting MYR).

That created additional charges by MY citibank towards me.
google "dynamic currency conversion"

one of the 'con' that many people are still not aware of
unfished
post Jul 2 2017, 02:57 PM

Dear sifus, im planning to subscribe an online journal with CC priced at USD 149. Currently i have MBB AMex and PB Quantum card. Which card would give me the best rate for the transaction ? Thank you.
wjleong15
post Jul 2 2017, 03:19 PM

3,521 posts

QUOTE(unfished @ Jul 2 2017, 02:57 PM)
Dear sifus, im planning to subscribe an online journal with CC priced at USD 149. Currently i have MBB AMex and PB Quantum card. Which card would give me the best rate for the transaction ? Thank you.
Definitely PBB Quantum
Amex bank charge 2.5% in additional to amex conversion rate
unfished
post Jul 2 2017, 03:27 PM

QUOTE(wjleong15 @ Jul 2 2017, 03:19 PM)
Definitely PBB Quantum
Amex bank charge 2.5% in additional to amex conversion rate
with Amex 5%CB on weekend spending izit a better choice compared to PBB Quantum Visa (which Im not sure the transaction would entitled me for cashback)
wjleong15
post Jul 2 2017, 05:10 PM

3,521 posts

QUOTE(unfished @ Jul 2 2017, 03:27 PM)
with Amex 5%CB on weekend spending izit a better choice compared to PBB Quantum Visa (which Im not sure the transaction would entitled me for cashback)
basically non-pbe online payment considered as online transaction and eligible 5% cb for quantum master
quantum visa no cash back for online transaction
amex 2.5% additional charges is pain compare to 1% visa/master
ProxMatoR
post Jul 3 2017, 08:04 PM

1,516 posts

QUOTE(bearbear @ Jun 29 2017, 06:01 PM)
google "dynamic currency conversion"

one of the 'con' that many people are still not aware of
Ah! Yes! DCC!

QUOTE(unfished @ Jul 2 2017, 02:57 PM)
I will recommend MB2C AMEX, 5x points, 2.5% conversion rate. USD149 is not big amount, that additional 0.xx% on forex rate won't kill you, if you not mind. and btw, I think the weekend CB is not applicable for online purchase. sifus out there correct me if I'm wrong.

QUOTE(wjleong15 @ Jul 2 2017, 05:10 PM)
basically non-pbe online payment considered as online transaction and eligible 5% cb for quantum master
quantum visa no cash back for online transaction
amex 2.5% additional charges is pain compare to 1% visa/master
no, AMEX is 2.5% straight, no additional charges. VISA / MASTER 1% is just the admin fee. there is another 1.5% or +/- for forex rate. hope this clarifies.
pisang
post Jul 6 2017, 09:02 AM

854 posts

dear all,
just a quick question. For mastercard conversion, shall i take the "transaction date" or "posting date' for calculation.

thank you in advance!
alexwsk
post Jul 6 2017, 08:57 PM

4,094 posts

QUOTE(pisang @ Jul 6 2017, 09:02 AM)
dear all,
just a quick question. For mastercard conversion, shall i take the "transaction date" or "posting date' for calculation.

thank you in advance!
posting date
gommm
post Jul 6 2017, 09:40 PM

37 posts

50% of my credit card transactions are in Euro and 30% in JPY.

My experience so far is that roughly 60% of the times maybank amex reserve is lower than maybank visa infinite, I'm not sure why though...

I'm currently applying for a Ambank WMC which would be useful for non online transactions outside of Malaysia (almost the same amount of miles as maybank 2 premier but lower exchange rate)...

Even with the exchange fee, it's still a better deal to use my malaysia cc than a credit card in euros considering the amount of miles I get.

This post has been edited by gommm: Jul 6 2017, 09:41 PM

104 Pages « < 66 67 68 69 70 > » Top

0.0242sec    0.54    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 11th December 2025 - 03:32 PM