QUOTE(Twins10 @ May 5 2017, 07:17 PM)
Wow, thanks for the tip Did they use VISA rate ?
Any cap for rebate?
This post has been edited by neobie: May 5 2017, 07:39 PM
Credit Card Foreign Exchange Rate
May 5 2017, 07:30 PM
133 posts Joined: Jan 2009 |
May 5 2017, 09:25 PM
9,301 posts Joined: Mar 2008 |
May 6 2017, 12:13 AM
May 6 2017, 07:11 AM
919 posts Joined: Aug 2015 |
May 9 2017, 11:41 AM
12 posts Joined: Mar 2017 |
Hi fellow Sifus,
I want to ask if my understanding below is correct for credit card charges in Overseas? Ticket purchased = 7400Yen Maybank TT rate = 100yen / RM 3.8960 AMEX = 2.5% Visa/Master = 2.25% Actual RM paid AMEX = [7400/100*3.896]*1.025 = RM295.51 Visa/Master = [7400/100*3.896]*1.0225 = RM294.79 This post has been edited by cakoi898: May 9 2017, 11:42 AM |
May 11 2017, 10:16 AM
66 posts Joined: Dec 2006 |
May 11 2017, 10:18 AM
Try not to used CC overseas unless you really short of cash, the exchange rate are normally higher for CC if compared to money changer.
May 12 2017, 02:54 PM
QUOTE(neobie @ May 5 2017, 07:30 PM) Transactions made in foreign currency will be converted to Ringgit Malaysia using US Dollar (USD) as the base currency on the date it is received and/or processed at the conversion rate as may be determined by Visa International at its absolute discretion. In addition, you will also have to pay foreign exchange spread of 1.25% of the converted Ringgit Malaysia amount for the conversion of the transactions made in foreign currency. The exchange may differ from the rate in effect on the date of the transaction due to market fluctuations. Such rate imposed shall be final and conclusive and the Company shall bear all exchange risks, losses, commission and other bank charges which may thereby be incurred. |
May 25 2017, 04:31 PM
1,516 posts Joined: Oct 2005 |
QUOTE(jiaen0509 @ Apr 25 2017, 05:52 PM) Just want to know, is it worth to use Maybank Visa/Amex credit card or change the cash when go travel? China DO NOT accept any other card.... only UNIONPAY. So, either you go to BOC (bank of china), or MBB to apply. And, if not mistaken, there are different UNIONPAY card, there is specific initial 4 digit card to be accepted in China.Like travel to China. Is it better change RMB at Malaysia first or change a bit and use Credit Card? QUOTE(neobie @ May 6 2017, 12:13 AM) 1% is the admin fee. they will have forex rate charge too. so, it will add to 2.2 - 2.25hope this clarifies. Local Banks - Maybank2C VISA/MasterCard : 2.26% (~ 1% + 1.25%) - Maybank2C AMEX : 2.5% - Maybank American Express with Maybank logo on top : 2.8-3% - American Express : 2.8 -3% - CIMB Bank : (cashback plat) 2.53% (should be ~ 1% + 1.5%) - CIMB BANK (MC) 2% - Public Bank : 1.25%, (VS) 1.0125% - RHB Bank : (master plat) 1.02% - AmBank : (VISA) 2.0 to 2.2% (WM) 1% - HLB VISA/MasterCard: - EON Bank : - Affin Bank : - Alliance : (VISA) 2.17% - Aeon: (gold) 1.5% (watami) 0.8-1.2% Foreign Banks - HSBC : (visa plat) 2.27% (should be ~ 1% + 1.25%) - OCBC bank : - Standard Chartered : - UOB Bank : (YOLO) 2.5% - Citibank : 1% + 1.4% (= 2.414%) (if SGD, it is just 0.5%. surprising) |
May 25 2017, 08:01 PM
9,301 posts Joined: Mar 2008 |
QUOTE(ProxMatoR @ May 25 2017, 04:31 PM) China DO NOT accept any other card.... only UNIONPAY. So, either you go to BOC (bank of china), or MBB to apply. And, if not mistaken, there are different UNIONPAY card, there is specific initial 4 digit card to be accepted in China. That is not entirely true. Major establishments in 1st tier cities such as Beijing do accept VISA or AMEX. And please use multi quote when posting. |
May 25 2017, 09:59 PM
Show posts by this member only | IPv6 | Post
3,305 posts Joined: Dec 2012 |
QUOTE(ProxMatoR @ May 25 2017, 04:31 PM) China DO NOT accept any other card.... only UNIONPAY. So, either you go to BOC (bank of china), or MBB to apply. And, if not mistaken, there are different UNIONPAY card, there is specific initial 4 digit card to be accepted in China. Maybank do not have UnionPay ya...1% is the admin fee. they will have forex rate charge too. so, it will add to 2.2 - 2.25 hope this clarifies. Local Banks - Maybank2C VISA/MasterCard : 2.26% (~ 1% + 1.25%) - Maybank2C AMEX : 2.5% - Maybank American Express with Maybank logo on top : 2.8-3% - American Express : 2.8 -3% - CIMB Bank : (cashback plat) 2.53% (should be ~ 1% + 1.5%) - CIMB BANK (MC) 2% - Public Bank : 1.25%, (VS) 1.0125% - RHB Bank : (master plat) 1.02% - AmBank : (VISA) 2.0 to 2.2% (WM) 1% - HLB VISA/MasterCard: - EON Bank : - Affin Bank : - Alliance : (VISA) 2.17% - Aeon: (gold) 1.5% (watami) 0.8-1.2% Foreign Banks - HSBC : (visa plat) 2.27% (should be ~ 1% + 1.25%) - OCBC bank : - Standard Chartered : - UOB Bank : (YOLO) 2.5% - Citibank : 1% + 1.4% (= 2.414%) (if SGD, it is just 0.5%. surprising) |
May 26 2017, 12:41 AM
QUOTE(MilesAndMore @ May 25 2017, 08:01 PM) That is not entirely true. Major establishments in 1st tier cities such as Beijing do accept VISA or AMEX. And please use multi quote when posting. Sorry, I didn't mean the entire China. I meant that nearly whole China... in fact, most of the places who accept VISA / MASTER / AMEX are big hotels / big companies that deals foreigner clients the most, which easily found in Beijing and Shanghai.... Thanks for your correction! QUOTE(jiaen0509 @ May 25 2017, 09:59 PM) yes, I personally think MBB don't have too.... I have no idea why, but I consulted with BoC, they said you can find out with MBB... and actually I think Ambank has it? PBB has it? why no refer to them instead? lolpls correct me if i'm wrong.... |
May 26 2017, 02:07 PM
53 posts Joined: Oct 2007 |
Dear MilesAndMore,
Your contribution to this forum has been invaluable. Been reading up alot on your post in the various topics. I am applying for a hsbc premier travel card (mastercard). Overseas spending are at 1.1 mile per 1 RM. I spend 1/2 my time in singapore. 1) Will you recommend using this card for all uses in Singapore, to get the miles? Seems very attractive, despite the 2.25% (1% mastercard charge, 1.25% bank currency conversion charges). another consideration is that I need to clock RM 45k a year to get waiver (else RM 625 per year), and I doubt I can spend that much locally in Malaysia in a year. 2) Buying MAS ticket from Singapore to Europe, in SGD. I assume that this will be considered local (malaysia) charges? without the 1.1 miles per RM1? Thank you in advance |
May 26 2017, 09:27 PM
1,263 posts Joined: Dec 2009 |
May 27 2017, 12:53 AM
QUOTE(Tsting @ May 26 2017, 02:07 PM) Dear MilesAndMore, will you consider Ambank World Master?Your contribution to this forum has been invaluable. Been reading up alot on your post in the various topics. I am applying for a hsbc premier travel card (mastercard). Overseas spending are at 1.1 mile per 1 RM. I spend 1/2 my time in singapore. 1) Will you recommend using this card for all uses in Singapore, to get the miles? Seems very attractive, despite the 2.25% (1% mastercard charge, 1.25% bank currency conversion charges). another consideration is that I need to clock RM 45k a year to get waiver (else RM 625 per year), and I doubt I can spend that much locally in Malaysia in a year. 2) Buying MAS ticket from Singapore to Europe, in SGD. I assume that this will be considered local (malaysia) charges? without the 1.1 miles per RM1? Thank you in advance reason being: 1. free annual fee (wins) 2. low forex charge (only 1% admin fee) (wins) 3. 5x points for all overseas expenses (not included for online) 4. 5,000points for 1,000 airmiles (cathay, mas, singaporeair). this converts to 1RM to 1airmiles (its just losing that 0.1mile per RM) |
May 27 2017, 01:14 PM
QUOTE(ProxMatoR @ May 27 2017, 12:53 AM) will you consider Ambank World Master? HSBCreason being: 1. free annual fee (wins) 2. low forex charge (only 1% admin fee) (wins) 3. 5x points for all overseas expenses (not included for online) 4. 5,000points for 1,000 airmiles (cathay, mas, singaporeair). this converts to 1RM to 1airmiles (its just losing that 0.1mile per RM) Another reason for the hsbc travel MC was the 12x loungekey per year. already have existing relationship with bank, and thus will probably be getting this card. Hence will like to seek feedback on using that overseas (Singapore), just to fulfill the RM 45k spending, along with points. Is it necessary a bad/dumb thing? Ambank: Thanks Proxmator. Very Interesting indeed. I was just looking at the ambank visa signature. Visa as to complement the hsbc travel MC. I didn't realize that the ambank wm was 1% foreign surcharge. Visa infinite alot higher very attractive indeed. I will probably apply for this card as well, at the very least just for the limited lounge access, and attractive foreign exchange surcharge. Maybe both? if they will let me. |
May 28 2017, 02:11 AM
QUOTE(Tsting @ May 27 2017, 01:14 PM) HSBC AFAIK, ambank WM and VI both has unlimited lounge access. that is a big win over HSBC if you consider that...Another reason for the hsbc travel MC was the 12x loungekey per year. already have existing relationship with bank, and thus will probably be getting this card. Hence will like to seek feedback on using that overseas (Singapore), just to fulfill the RM 45k spending, along with points. Is it necessary a bad/dumb thing? Ambank: Thanks Proxmator. Very Interesting indeed. I was just looking at the ambank visa signature. Visa as to complement the hsbc travel MC. I didn't realize that the ambank wm was 1% foreign surcharge. Visa infinite alot higher very attractive indeed. I will probably apply for this card as well, at the very least just for the limited lounge access, and attractive foreign exchange surcharge. Maybe both? if they will let me. |
May 28 2017, 09:10 PM
May 28 2017, 11:59 PM
QUOTE(Tsting @ May 28 2017, 09:10 PM) Agree ambank very attractive. oh ya, it is not with priority pass, it is just plaza premium lounge.... oops... hahahaNo. of countries seems a little more restricted, but very good complement to HSBC. Thanks ProxMatoR! you have established relationship with hsbc.... else if speaking of priority pass, I can think of UOB PBVI, just 6x per year tho. annual fee waived. |
Jun 4 2017, 11:06 AM
QUOTE(Twins10 @ Apr 11 2017, 10:43 AM) Just had latest statement for Visa Infinite.Date Posted: 03-Jun-2017 Date Charged: 31-May-2017 USD: US 119.78 RM Amount: 524.68 Compared to VISA rate, the difference is 2.01% base on posted date. So the fee should be 2.01% This post has been edited by neobie: Jun 4 2017, 11:07 AM |
| Change to: | 0.0281sec
Time is now: 13th December 2025 - 03:26 PM |