INTEL OVERCLOCKING THREAD, TIPS,Q n A, Results...Great For NueBis

toughnut
post Aug 26 2008, 06:22 PM

3,239 posts

really nice system...

yes, it's normal eventhough it shouldnt happen. on my X3320, it doesnt happen when both off but doing that on E6600 with same setting. kinda weird...

do u increase vMCH and vFSB? Maximus has heatpipe covering the NB/SB/Mosfet area, it should be that hot. how your case's air circulation?
roa85
post Aug 26 2008, 06:59 PM

14 posts

thanks, so is 87c in nb fine?

haven't really temper vmch and vfsb YET, they are all auto. Newbie ma so giv me some time to test

as for air circulation, what do you recommend i put? currently got 1 front, 1 top, 1 side and 1 rear. I'm going to buy another 120mm fan for better circulation (still got 1 space left for top)

Front - Intake?
Rear - Exhaust?
top - Intake?
side - Intake?
hilmiangah
post Aug 26 2008, 07:53 PM

Kongsi Gelap Elite Ramadass
5,602 posts

my e2180@3ghz@1.365v idle at 37'c on stock cooler.
is that ok???
clawhammer
post Aug 26 2008, 10:04 PM

///M
8,788 posts

QUOTE(hilmiangah @ Aug 26 2008, 07:53 PM)
my e2180@3ghz@1.365v idle at 37'c on stock cooler.
is that ok???
Yes, that's normal smile.gif You should worry about the load temps, not the idle.
hilmiangah
post Aug 27 2008, 12:24 AM

Kongsi Gelap Elite Ramadass
5,602 posts

well it load at 72'c max.....
i think that is kinda high..
what u guys think..
clawhammer
post Aug 27 2008, 01:19 AM

///M
8,788 posts

QUOTE(hilmiangah @ Aug 27 2008, 12:24 AM)
well it load at 72'c max.....
i think that is kinda high..
what u guys think..
If you're on a stock cooler then it's around there and maybe lower if your room is not too hot smile.gif Air cond helps.
roa85
post Aug 27 2008, 07:27 PM

14 posts

Added a new 120mm fan above and in front, Nb temperature decrease from 87 to 84 (load) sad.gif and idle at 73c any northbridge cooler to recommend, pls recommend sth tat is selling in lyp

My air circulation setup - 2 Front Intake, 1 Side Intake, 2 Top Exhaust, 1 Rear Exhaust.

some questions for overclocking:
for a quad like q9550, recommended temp is 65-70c? My proc overclock a bit only temp reach up to 65c load, using zalman 8700 here
also nb voltage(vmch i think) should not exceed how many volt?

Edit: Found out why nb temp so high liao, its because of the thermal paste.. Problem solved, now nb idle at 68, load at 76c yay biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by roa85: Aug 27 2008, 07:47 PM
fesick
post Aug 28 2008, 03:57 PM

Serious mode
2,009 posts

usually people stay below 55c for nb temp

This post has been edited by fesick: Aug 28 2008, 03:58 PM
roa85
post Aug 28 2008, 09:06 PM

14 posts

i tried everything, even without oc my nb temp is at 62 idle

read about some review saying it should be fine under 80c. 90c is the limit

what temp u guys got for ur nb? do u think the reason why my nb so hot is because of i have 4 pairs of ram and 2 pair of g/c which are putting stress there?
boon.fong
post Sep 2 2008, 11:49 AM

199 posts

Hi All, need help in ocing my rig.

i manage to ocing my e4600 to 2.822 (235 x 12.0) but everytime i try fsb 250 (3.0) it pass the POST but when come to the window, it will then restart the computer. is that mean not enough power (PSU: cooler master extreme power 460W). need your help!

my rig as in the signature below.

thank you,

My OC image
Kenneth85
post Sep 2 2008, 11:54 AM

208 posts

up vcore?
boon.fong
post Sep 2 2008, 12:04 PM

199 posts

I had tried up the vcore from 1.288 to 1.35 still keep restarting the windows....go into loop
presto86
post Sep 2 2008, 12:10 PM

146 posts

wats u Ram voltage and NB voltage?
boon.fong
post Sep 2 2008, 12:18 PM

199 posts

All i leave it to auto for now.....
rainingzero
post Sep 2 2008, 12:22 PM

I miss my student life~
2,497 posts

its either ur rig not enough juice or ur ocing not stable.
try to borrow true power PSU then test it on ur rig.
other than that, read more on the ocing tips and tricks to solve the instability prob...

edit:
just saw u use 3 HDD, might be causing not enough power to ur rig.
later kaboom~!! laugh.gif

This post has been edited by rainingzero: Sep 2 2008, 12:23 PM
fesick
post Sep 2 2008, 02:22 PM

Serious mode
2,009 posts

dont let your ram timing = auto

CHiNO730
post Sep 2 2008, 05:08 PM

526 posts

Coolermaster 460W is more than enough on that processor, even with 3HDD - and the instability is without load at all, so we can't blame the PSU.

If Vcore is up and you adjusted bridges and RAM, then you've probably reached the threshold. Not all processors are created equal.

Besides, are you even sure its stable at 235x12? And you're going from 235 fsb to 250 fsb in one jump?

I recommend you stress test for a few hours as 235x12, and if looks okay, stress test some more, maybe half a day while you're at work/school/out with gf/watching a movie/going clubbing/riding your bike/worki...nm....if you're cool, then adjust the fsb by 5Mhz and try it again.

If your system isn't even stable at 235 after stress testing, then there's no point trying to go up - which is probably why at 250 you can't get far.

If you can't do it in small increments, then stop there. You should be happy with the free performance gain.

And please monitor core temps.
SUSjoe_star
post Sep 2 2008, 08:17 PM

Serving the Servants
1,810 posts

QUOTE(fesick @ Sep 2 2008, 02:22 PM)
dont let your ram timing = auto
Timing auto should be ok if you use a suitable ram multiplier smile.gif
subrok007
post Sep 2 2008, 08:33 PM

Squirtle
1,632 posts

try up ur vMch voltage....then try set ur ram timing 5-5-5-15 on 800mhz...
boon.fong
post Sep 3 2008, 10:27 AM

199 posts

QUOTE(CHiNO730 @ Sep 2 2008, 05:08 PM)
Coolermaster 460W is more than enough on that processor, even with 3HDD - and the instability is without load at all, so we can't blame the PSU.

If Vcore is up and you adjusted bridges and RAM, then you've probably reached the threshold.  Not all processors are created equal.

Besides, are you even sure its stable at 235x12?  And you're going from 235 fsb to 250 fsb in one jump?

I recommend you stress test for a few hours as 235x12, and if looks okay, stress test some more, maybe half a day while you're at work/school/out with gf/watching a movie/going clubbing/riding your bike/worki...nm....if you're cool, then adjust the fsb by 5Mhz and try it again.

If your system isn't even stable at 235 after stress testing, then there's no point trying to go up - which is probably why at 250 you can't get far.

If you can't do it in small increments, then stop there.  You should be happy with the free performance gain.

And please monitor core temps.
thanks for the guidance. I had tried to up the vcore voltage in the bios to 1.3125v, but when boot into the windows, the cpu-z still showing 1.26-1.288v. as for the fsb i had stressed test (fsb 235 x 12.0) for few hours now and it is working fine in the test as well as playing games. but it can't pass 236 fsb with the voltage set to auto, but if i set it manually the voltage isn't show any changes at all. it will boot pass POST but when come to windows boot screen, it will run a while then restart the window.

do you think i should lower the multiplier to 10.0 to try higher fsb or it will not working as well?

Added on September 4, 2008, 12:39 pmHi all, one more question regarding the vcore vs vid. i had read some article on this but it is still very confusing to me, i set the cpu voltage in bios at 1.35v but in cpu-z it only show 1.288-1.312v. the intel spec say the vid is between 1.18 - 1.312, so is seeting 1.35v or more in bios okay for the processor?

This post has been edited by boon.fong: Sep 4 2008, 02:15 PM

211 Pages « < 182 183 184 185 186 > » Top

0.0170sec    0.26    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 01:02 AM