113 Pages « < 78 79 80 81 82 > » Bottom

Unifi Official TM UniFi High Speed Broadbrand Thread V10, FREE Installation Fee & SAVE RM200!!!

xcalibur
post May 24 2011, 01:22 AM

124 posts

Just got UniFi and am slowly trying to figure out how best to configure it!

Read about users with Apple AirPort Extreme routers having issues using the VLAN bridge method. Is it possible for me to configure the DIR-615 such that I only use it to do the dialing/connection and everything else (routing, NAT, wireless, etc.) is handled by the AirPort Extreme?

My thinking right now is that I'll have to change the configuration on the AirPort Extreme from PPPoE to Ethernet but how about the DIR-615?
fx_53_xt
post May 24 2011, 02:04 AM

2,048 posts

QUOTE(ckboon @ May 23 2011, 08:06 AM)
once fiber break u can't use it at all already, since after bending u still can use meant it's ok lo..

i just tidy and fully sealed up my fiber as well yesterday,

those TM guy doing to cable job like shit only...
the cable fly all the way on the ground

kid go and pull then habis..
Mine even worse, I have pet dog going freely around my house and might just bite the fiber off.
I read on the SAF form that we entitled for casing to cover those fiber cables as well, but my contractor did not even install a single inch of casing for me.

QUOTE(JinXXX @ May 23 2011, 09:08 AM)
usually those devices is design/made in oversea.. they are not designed for use in places with hot weather like malaysia... sad.gif thats why heat is a problem for these devices...
i doubt its glass, as glass based fibers are very expensive, more like its the modern plastic alternative...

yeah once break habis cannot pakai at all already.. becomes worthless
my alcatel ONT is not only warm, bare hand can feel that it is dangerously hot.

QUOTE(ckboon @ May 23 2011, 09:36 AM)
From what i saw during the UNIFI installation, the whole fiber box or somewhere it indicate that the cable is "made in Malaysia".

and fiber cable is once a very very expensive stuff, but the price degraded over due to high demand. It's the same goes to so many IT product, remember the price on CDRW during it first lauch? USB thumbdrive? then DVD? and now bluray. Their price range can be more than 80% different from the time it launch to now
Fiber cable was never expensive. The raw material and manufacturing cost is lower than copper lines. It turns out to be a premium products due to low demand low supply, and insufficient technical people to handle them.

QUOTE(fjoru103 @ May 23 2011, 02:49 PM)
Can i ask is the old "white" zte modem better or the new "black" huawei modem better?
u mean optical modem? mine is white color alcatel-lucent unit. not huawei not ZTE

QUOTE(OKLY @ May 23 2011, 07:16 PM)
Don't know if it's just me but I have made an observation on another matter.

By right I remember that IPTV has some sort of its own reserved bandwidth for watching the channels right?

However when my IPTV is on and watching a channel, my Internet/PC's bandwidth will drop.

Before IPTV is on, my PC can hit my usual max speed around 4.7-4.8mbps for both download and upload (VIP5). Once IPTV is on, my download speed becomes about 3.5-3.8mbps while upload still hits top speed.

Anyone can do a similar observation and tell me your outcome?
HSBB FTTH was designed to sustain over 100mbps bandwidth, and both IPTV and VOIP has dedicated separated pipeline from internet. It is technically unlikely that IPTV would affect internet bandwidth (not to mention internet bandwidth in your case is only 5mbps). That leaves the main suspect to be the shitty TM equipment.
rattan
post May 24 2011, 04:35 AM

Droid
Trade Dispute
3,379 posts

QUOTE(benQue @ May 24 2011, 12:25 AM)
guys,

in need advise on Tm unifi installation,

yesterday unifi helpline call me to confirm installation date, but then when i asked on streamyx termination..she told me that she wasnot informed on this. should i just proceed with the installation or should i terminate streamyx first? i did stress out that i want to terminate my streamyx during application...

then how la, is it easy to terminate?
From my experience its best TM is informed during unifi installation that yr streamyx/telephone line wants to be terminated. Had a similar case, customer installed unifi and then had problem terminating. Major problem bcos Streamyx got contract cannot simply terminate.
dimenxion
post May 24 2011, 07:12 AM

289 posts

in my case, after i terminate my streamyx, the bill came showed i owe streamyx around RM200+. but then i remember when i started the blockbuster deal, i paid RM100. so i hold my payment first and waited for the next bill. the new bill already came in, i just need to pay less than RM30. i guess that applied to all streamyx customers too.

fyi to the future unifiers biggrin.gif
GAMEOVER
post May 24 2011, 07:49 AM

119 posts

QUOTE(ckboon @ May 23 2011, 11:58 AM)
500++

Added on May 23, 2011, 12:51 pm5M = 1024x5 = 5120/8 = 640

max is 640kBps...
May I know why divided with 8?
ckboon
post May 24 2011, 08:23 AM

458 posts

QUOTE(GAMEOVER @ May 24 2011, 07:49 AM)
May I know why divided with 8?
8 bits = 1 BYTES
ericpires
post May 24 2011, 08:39 AM

Arsenal FC
2,657 posts

QUOTE(dimenxion @ May 24 2011, 07:12 AM)
in my case, after i terminate my streamyx, the bill came showed i owe streamyx around RM200+. but then i remember when i started the blockbuster deal, i paid RM100. so i hold my payment first and waited for the next bill. the new bill already came in, i just need to pay less than RM30. i guess that applied to all streamyx customers too.

fyi to the future unifiers biggrin.gif
So what u mean r? now i gotten a bill for streamyx even though i terminated it. and my unifi for 1st month alredi come which is 180. I just pay my UNIFI bill? or pay on the 2nd month??
*Star*
post May 24 2011, 09:49 AM

found this link for DIR-615 firmware and others model too

http://ftp.dlink.ru/pub/Router/DIR-615/

sorry if this has been shared before
JinXXX
post May 24 2011, 10:18 AM

2,516 posts

QUOTE(*Star* @ May 24 2011, 09:49 AM)
found this link for DIR-615 firmware and others model too

http://ftp.dlink.ru/pub/Router/DIR-615/

sorry if this has been shared before
if u flash those.. u gonna loose iptv.. function
XPS
post May 24 2011, 12:07 PM

322 posts

QUOTE(xcalibur @ May 24 2011, 01:22 AM)
Just got UniFi and am slowly trying to figure out how best to configure it!

Read about users with Apple AirPort Extreme routers having issues using the VLAN bridge method.  Is it possible for me to configure the DIR-615 such that I only use it to do the dialing/connection and everything else (routing, NAT, wireless, etc.) is handled by the AirPort Extreme?

My thinking right now is that I'll have to change the configuration on the AirPort Extreme from PPPoE to Ethernet but how about the DIR-615?
Wireless - yes when Airport is connected in a bridge mode.

NAT & DHCP - have not tried turning off DHCP in DIR-615 and letting Airport handle everything else.

Firewall - remember to turn on DIR-615 firewall (off by default).
dimenxion
post May 24 2011, 12:22 PM

289 posts

QUOTE(ericpires @ May 24 2011, 08:39 AM)
So what u mean r? now i gotten a bill for streamyx even though i terminated it. and my unifi for 1st month alredi come which is 180. I just pay my UNIFI bill? or pay on the 2nd month??
check your streamyx bill if it has the adjustment. if it's not, hold your payment first and wait for the next bill. that's what i did. so i just paid the unifi first
Paradise_Trader
post May 24 2011, 12:44 PM

525 posts

QUOTE(dimenxion @ May 24 2011, 12:22 PM)
check your streamyx bill if it has the adjustment. if it's not, hold your payment first and wait for the next bill. that's what i did. so i just paid the unifi first

TM should provide the better service... should concentrate on the bill status and clearly let the customer know the bill information.

ckboon
post May 24 2011, 12:51 PM

458 posts

unifi is still new to them..

they dunno anything on marketing side..

year after 1 year still new!!!

same happen to proton!! for so many years in the market still need gov help!!!
aaronlim
post May 24 2011, 02:59 PM

103 posts

QUOTE(rattan @ May 24 2011, 04:35 AM)
From my experience its best TM is informed during unifi installation that yr streamyx/telephone line wants to be terminated. Had a similar case, customer installed unifi and then had problem terminating. Major problem bcos Streamyx got contract cannot simply terminate.
I did not use my streamyx dah as I have moved to new house. When registering for unifi, the personnel ask me to hold it until I tak pakai streamyx.

I terminate yesterday and they need 2 weeks to come up with the bill. So I lose 2 weeks as they will average out how much i owe them..
fjoru103
post May 24 2011, 03:26 PM

645 posts

Technician came and change my modem from the black to white.
Is white better or vice versa?
I realise its the over heat issue i guess

This post has been edited by fjoru103: May 24 2011, 03:28 PM
aaronlim
post May 24 2011, 04:03 PM

103 posts

QUOTE(fjoru103 @ May 24 2011, 03:26 PM)
You use fulltime? day and nite?

if yes, i think i would have the potential to face this... hahaha
fjoru103
post May 24 2011, 04:39 PM

645 posts

QUOTE(aaronlim @ May 24 2011, 04:03 PM)
You use fulltime? day and nite?

if yes, i think i would have the potential to face this... hahaha
How not to?
Remember our phone line is attach to the modem.
If off means no 1 can reach u, but yea some of you may not use the phone in midnight smile.gif
But for my case i on it 24/7 .
I would gladly off it like streamyx i use b4 if the phone wasn't plug in the modem
hafizushi
post May 24 2011, 05:07 PM

28 posts

guys what speed you should get for VIP 5 package using unifi speed test???

http://www.unifi.my/unifi/index.php?option...d=75&Itemid=269

I get 3.6 for download speed while upload speed like 3.xx...
fjoru103
post May 24 2011, 05:38 PM

645 posts

Great just when i thought i can start enjoying my online game again.
Bravo i got dc here n there again with the white modem...
I am so so so sad now
Acrisius
post May 24 2011, 06:06 PM

QUOTE(fjoru103 @ May 24 2011, 03:26 PM)
White? ZTE?

113 Pages « < 78 79 80 81 82 > » Top

0.0198sec    0.27    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 12:50 PM