QUOTE(alaskanbunny @ Apr 17 2011, 10:41 PM)
i slept 2 times while driving back.. cannot tahan after work
At the wheel?
Working in Singapore v6, Where maids carry bags for boys
Apr 17 2011, 10:46 PM
6,624 posts Joined: Jul 2006 From: singapore & ipoh |
QUOTE(alaskanbunny @ Apr 17 2011, 10:41 PM) i slept 2 times while driving back.. cannot tahan after work At the wheel? |
Apr 17 2011, 11:00 PM
809 posts Joined: Jan 2006 |
QUOTE(seantang @ Apr 17 2011, 10:46 PM) loaded with mp3 then will get u to focus. that wat i always do all the way from jb-->kl non-stop or stop just to rest room.sometimes, do feel tired driving after work. like go ss2 as lot makan places. du night time not many places to eat. realise people open restaurants in du really "lazy", weekends especially Sun no open. |
Apr 17 2011, 11:02 PM
1,305 posts Joined: Mar 2010 |
QUOTE(Mackiddo @ Apr 16 2011, 07:54 PM) Added on April 16, 2011, 7:56 pm is there a library card ? i remember mine using the PR NRIC and pay sgd10 for registration. |
Apr 17 2011, 11:04 PM
299 posts Joined: Feb 2006 |
anyone have any recommendation for coach service from sg to malacca/genting?
Apr 17 2011, 11:09 PM
339 posts Joined: Aug 2005 |
im thinkin about working around tuas/jurong and
stay around JB/gelang patah (save alot leh!) which means i will have to drive in and out of both country everyday anybody has experience of doing this? im wondering if you need any special visa/passport for frequent embarkment and since i am going to drive my car from my place to work do my car need some special sticker.tag or something too? i heard quite many malaysians do this too. living in my while working in sg |
Apr 17 2011, 11:10 PM
4,283 posts Joined: Nov 2009 From: Vietnam |
QUOTE(seantang @ Apr 17 2011, 10:46 PM) yes sir, eversince i ban myself from driving long distance after work... lucky no accident... 1 some1 honk me so i woke up, d other i managed to wake up again and sleep at the r&r gone are the days where i could drive 13 hours straight per day... zzzz old already.. |
Apr 17 2011, 11:12 PM
3,256 posts Joined: Dec 2006 From: Mars not Venus Status: In a Relationship |
QUOTE(totti 10 @ Apr 17 2011, 11:09 PM) im thinkin about working around tuas/jurong and You select your company based on the location of your company location? stay around JB/gelang patah (save alot leh!) which means i will have to drive in and out of both country everyday anybody has experience of doing this? im wondering if you need any special visa/passport for frequent embarkment and since i am going to drive my car from my place to work do my car need some special sticker.tag or something too? i heard quite many malaysians do this too. living in my while working in sg |
Apr 17 2011, 11:15 PM
809 posts Joined: Jan 2006 |
QUOTE(totti 10 @ Apr 17 2011, 11:09 PM) im thinkin about working around tuas/jurong and just need the autopass + the IU. with EP/passport.stay around JB/gelang patah (save alot leh!)Â which means i will have to drive in and out of both country everyday anybody has experience of doing this? im wondering if you need any special visa/passport for frequent embarkment and since i am going to drive my car from my place to work do my car need some special sticker.tag or something too? i heard quite many malaysians do this too. living in my while working in sg sometimes, away from work due to traveling. pls learn more yourself from here: http://www.lta.gov.sg/motoring_matters/ind...oring_guide.htm This post has been edited by ch_teo: Apr 17 2011, 11:17 PM |
Apr 17 2011, 11:28 PM
QUOTE(kockroach @ Apr 17 2011, 11:12 PM) well of course they will be other factors to be countedbut in this case i just add another factor in my selection, which is the location p/s: considering jurong is industrial area and i am an engineer, i probably gonna end up there anyway what about the passport for daily in/out how frequent do i have to change my passport since its gonna be stamped on every entry/departure right? and the last time i went to immigration in malaysia, i remember seeing a special passport for Thai/Sg IIRC, do i have to use that one? This post has been edited by totti 10: Apr 17 2011, 11:33 PM |
Apr 17 2011, 11:32 PM
3,256 posts Joined: Dec 2006 From: Mars not Venus Status: In a Relationship |
QUOTE(totti 10 @ Apr 17 2011, 11:28 PM) well of course they will be other factors to be counted If you get a job in Singapore, you will be issued either EP, S-Pass, or WP. So they will not stamped on your passport.but in this case i just add another factor in my selection, which is the location what about the passport for daily in/out how frequent do i have to change my passport since its gonna be stamped on every entry/departure right? and the last time i went to immigration in malaysia, i remember seeing a special passport for Thai/Sg IIRC, do i have to use that one? |
Apr 17 2011, 11:33 PM
thanks for clarifying that
Apr 17 2011, 11:43 PM
2,017 posts Joined: Jan 2007 |
QUOTE(totti 10 @ Apr 17 2011, 11:09 PM) im thinkin about working around tuas/jurong and This is a very very stupid idea. when you say drive, i assume that u are driving a Malaysian car? since u say smth about sticker etc etc.stay around JB/gelang patah (save alot leh!) which means i will have to drive in and out of both country everyday anybody has experience of doing this? im wondering if you need any special visa/passport for frequent embarkment and since i am going to drive my car from my place to work do my car need some special sticker.tag or something too? i heard quite many malaysians do this too. living in my while working in sg Just for your information, for a Malaysian car that enter Singapore during 2am-5pm (no matter u leave or enter Singapore as long as u are within that period), you need to pay 20 SGD VEP (Vehicle entry Permit) daily. Not only that, the toll on the 2nd link is gonna kill you as well. RM7.50 and $3.20 1 way. so 1 day u are paying 20SGD + 3.2 SGD + 3.2 SGD + RM7.50 + RM7.50 = 26.4 SGD + RM15. This is on a daily basis. With those money, its much better to rent a place in Jurong it self. save traveling time and also better security. |
Apr 18 2011, 12:09 AM
1,305 posts Joined: Mar 2010 |
If you are new here, you have to plan to save money. Stay Jb to save on rental but spend alot on transport or stay near company and save on transport. Places near mrt cost more, study the bus route near your company. See if you can find a place where you only need to take one bus trip to work.
Yes don't save on food, worst forget to eat. Once Im on projects and my meal time is a mess. My supper is my dinner, till today I can't take normal coffee. Till the day you can clone your own stomach, take care and eat on time don't skip meals. My Lowest expenses in the early days; Breakfast beehun + egg for $1+. lunch $2 meal + apple for $0.30 at canteen. I ride bicycle to work, take short cut about 2km but have to carry the bike up/down 30 steps staircase on a hill slope. Dinner eat at pasar with buddy, order a few dish then two bowl of rice. Work out about $2~3 perperson. So less than $300 for food per month. One time Transportation cost $80 used mountain bike. Today, I still eat at the same canteen once awhile. I get loyal customer rate from them haha. One easy breakfast is oat. Add sugar, water then microwave, dash some raisin and nuts and it's ready to eat. This post has been edited by r1v3r: Apr 18 2011, 12:24 AM |
Apr 18 2011, 12:13 AM
272 posts Joined: Sep 2008 |
Want to ask Spore Expats, whats everyone's plan after working for some time in Singapore? Any plans to migrate to another place? Back to home country? or live and set up a family in Singapore? Come Come share a little...
Apr 18 2011, 12:14 AM
4,283 posts Joined: Nov 2009 From: Vietnam |
QUOTE(mea05key @ Apr 18 2011, 12:13 AM) Want to ask Spore Expats, whats everyone's plan after working for some time in Singapore? Any plans to migrate to another place? Back to home country? or live and set up a family in Singapore? Come Come share a little... get pr get citizenship... then go aus get pr... lol |
Apr 18 2011, 12:19 AM
272 posts Joined: Sep 2008 |
QUOTE(alaskanbunny @ Apr 18 2011, 12:14 AM) How old are u now alaskan if you dont mind me asking?Em, I have such plan in mind also, looking forward to go to Aus. Its all still too early for me so ill work hard in Singapore first and get a good grounding. I heard now is the chance, they are needing people esp engineers but still, difficult for foreigners to get job. Apparently, many got rejected because they dont have Aus PR and local working experience. But the pay there..fuhh,,, lucrative... I thought i was happy with my Spore salary until I spoke to a friend who is working there. |
Apr 18 2011, 12:56 AM
1,820 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: KL/Singapore |
Anyone got common room available nearby purple line mrt???
Apr 18 2011, 02:37 AM
72 posts Joined: Mar 2011 |
QUOTE(shanelai @ Apr 18 2011, 12:56 AM) try thishttp://www.flathub.com you can search around the purple line. Added on April 18, 2011, 2:45 amWonder when they will build mrt around the second link or causeway.... Taking the bus in to Singapore is so tiring....maybe they could like build a lrt on the bridge or something I think if this happens....The brain drain in Malaysia will will rise at a faster rate n the Filipinos will be out of work....our people can come and get their jobs!! Added on April 18, 2011, 3:08 amAh....I just remembered something we all can do during the weekends....if u guys up...go to desaru and surf!! Novermber till March is the season big foot industries singapore has camps during the monsoon... I cant wait till its surf time! I will be going when its november!! This post has been edited by perkinsonline: Apr 18 2011, 03:08 AM |
Apr 18 2011, 09:49 AM
299 posts Joined: Feb 2006 |
can anyone recommend me coach/bus service from sg to malacca/genting in term of price and quality? Thanks in advance..
Apr 18 2011, 10:02 AM
4,414 posts Joined: Feb 2005 |
QUOTE(alvin227 @ Apr 18 2011, 09:49 AM) can anyone recommend me coach/bus service from sg to malacca/genting in term of price and quality? Thanks in advance.. Dont know about genting, but melaka its all the same bus since its mostly if not all express buses.The ones i know are delima, malacca-singapore express and 707 bus express. The odd one out is 707 since it doesnt stop half way at JB for a "pit stop" but goes directly to melaka without stopping so you dont waste your time at the JB bus stop area. I believe the stop area is yong peng. |
| Change to: | 0.0279sec
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 08:25 AM |