Working in Singapore v6, Where maids carry bags for boys

perkinsonline
post Apr 8 2011, 07:58 PM

72 posts

Hello friends,

I'll be joining you all working in this little plot of land.

I'm not looking forward to it. Worked in Japan, Taiwan, China and now finally the place i dread to be in Singapoor.

Singapore maybe rich in money but seriously they are poor; theres no land and I feel its so cramped here.
perkinsonline
post Apr 8 2011, 08:39 PM

72 posts

QUOTE(seantang @ Apr 8 2011, 08:28 PM)
You don't feel cramped in Japan but you do in Singapore?
Its even more worse in Japan but its not hot all year round, but then again if U asked me to choose between Singapore and Japan I would really think about it.

Japan was 2005, so its a long time ago. Right now, Japan is off limits, I dont want to have special kids; no not that special like X-men special. I'm talking about the bad special.

Added on April 8, 2011, 8:41 pm
QUOTE(crapp0 @ Apr 8 2011, 11:22 AM)
Nice shot at the SAF.

You could also say "Behind the success of every SAF personnel, there is a maid"
The softer they are better are the chances of the strong Malaysians to come over and get a good job.

This post has been edited by perkinsonline: Apr 8 2011, 08:41 PM
perkinsonline
post Apr 8 2011, 11:36 PM

72 posts

QUOTE(deodorant @ Apr 8 2011, 11:06 PM)
agreed. so until i see the offer letter with my own eyes i haven't even made a single arrangement to relocate, haha.
In stanchart, but the technology side, handling projects for their wholesale banking. but like crapp0 said - no black and white, for all i know they'll come up with some reason why i should only be getting 48k p.a. on the letter tongue.gif
when i was in china, even if it was in black and white it was no of no use. Contracts were only a formality.
perkinsonline
post Apr 9 2011, 12:35 AM

72 posts

QUOTE(alaskanbunny @ Apr 9 2011, 12:22 AM)
some1 pls help me... i got a quick question... can an ep pass holder with no sg driving license but having msia driving license drive a sg registered car? sad.gif
yes
perkinsonline
post Apr 9 2011, 12:38 AM

72 posts

ok better listen to them
hehe
perkinsonline
post Apr 9 2011, 12:40 AM

72 posts

QUOTE(Joshua_0718 @ Apr 9 2011, 12:39 AM)
Please do not provide information if you are unsure or you don't know.
but my cousin did it....
perkinsonline
post Apr 9 2011, 12:52 AM

72 posts

QUOTE(Joshua_0718 @ Apr 9 2011, 12:46 AM)
They just love to generalize all SG army like a sissy la.  laugh.gif  They are way better than our MY army and NS-men
depends how you look at it, we definitely have more quantity but do u think we have the quality too?

perkinsonline
post Apr 9 2011, 01:07 AM

72 posts

QUOTE(alaskanbunny @ Apr 9 2011, 12:59 AM)
i am so dead... company gave me a sg registered car to drive a client around for shopping 2molo n sunday... now it is downstairs... arghh!! how, 2molo take car n bring him around? zzz...

btw, where to buy those hiking bag ar? best place... like deuter, northface, karrimor...  etc etc
u should have told company u got no sg license....iits rare ppl get stopped in sg; well, unless u driving like a nut u should be safe.

perkinsonline
post Apr 9 2011, 01:14 AM

72 posts

QUOTE(alaskanbunny @ Apr 9 2011, 01:07 AM)
cont from previous V... increment n bonus list 2010

Added on April 9, 2011, 1:09 am
this morning i was driving my boss' car... but it was having a msia no. plate... so he must have thought ok... zzzz, 2molo die la...

my eyes short sighted, i dont have specs... cannot see when to bright or dark... driving not so good cause dont know road and have not been driving for a long time.... waaa, so much risk
U better tell boss the situation and give him/her other options like taxi etc.

Dont risk it in Sg.

But have u ever seen ppl getting stopped in Sg by police?
I have never.
perkinsonline
post Apr 10 2011, 08:51 PM

72 posts

Any how many percent does the government take for taxes and cpf per month?

perkinsonline
post Apr 10 2011, 11:26 PM

72 posts

QUOTE(mea05key @ Apr 10 2011, 09:32 PM)
Given two offer options, A,  B and C which which is more eye catching to you?

Option A
Salary: RM6000 pm + 13th month salary+ Performance Bonus
Company: MNC

Option B
Salary: S$ 4500 pm + 3 months fixed bonus
Company: MNC

Option C
Salary: GBP 2,000 pm
Company: Local
A or B is fine but definitely no C. The UK economy is S*it now. Friend who came back from UK told me the government laid of 20k public servants.

If u had a choice to go China. When I was in China I was having the time of my life!!

I wish I can go back there......

perkinsonline
post Apr 12 2011, 02:00 AM

72 posts

QUOTE(bageroz @ Apr 12 2011, 01:25 AM)
well my story is quite diffrnt frm urs actually. My 6 years was in canada during my study period. Its canada so racism is not an issue. Its there ofcoz but not as bad as in other country like russia n german (got friends study there). The people r okay,friendly and very helpfull once u break d ice. Wut bother me is the weather...  shakehead.gif ..i cant stand it..oways catch a cold..n during winter its cloudy all months!! Its effect ur mood n mindset..depressing...seriously, i almost dropout of college in my 3rd year of study..luckly got gf and no jakim  brows.gif survived!! Been to LA for the lakers game a few times..the pizza cashier one up my size coz she tought i'm a loco.. tongue.gif well..the main reason i wont go out of malaysia again - food n weather (my body just not up for it). Hey, u gotta be some big shot genius!! Can quit job as u like n still got another job at bigger company... notworthy.gif

i think i'm out of the topic..sorry TS!!! Singapore got racist meh? Nvr been there.. hmm.gif
This is my story.

Canada.
Studied in Canada for 3.3 yrs in Canada, weather is f-ed, cold cold cold. During the time there I never went back to Malaysia. I was achieving a lot there. Became well known. There was a price to pay, I had depression. Was very moody and could not sleep. Had to work, volunteer, and go to school.
On the bright side, had a great Taiwanese gf. Lasted 10 yrs and we just broke up. I am very heart broken right now.

Japan.
Since people knew about me and though I could apply for a job in Japan. So I was in Japan for a year. Japan was different from what people expected. Looking in from the outside u cant get the real picture unless u live there.

Taiwan
Taiwan was like Malaysia in a way but way better. People are nice. I was there for 1.5 yrs until i got disillusioned with life and left her to get a grip on reality and life.

China
By the time I was China I was feeling fine. China is an incredible place. Unlike Japan which looks good from the outside but not really great inside, China is the opposite. From the outside China looks bad but when I was there I had a great time. Met lots of cool people. This is where I broke up with my Taiwanese gf.

Singapore
Since breaking up having no support network, I'm moving to a place that is bit more familiar to heal my soul. My mother is in Singapore, so, this is the best place for me. I will be there really soon like next Monday or something. Was there off and on for my interviews.

I have lived my life to the fullest and I have one regret; I lost her.

Living in so many countries I believe I come out stronger now.

The sad thing is coming from my background now its hard for me to live in Malaysia. I look at this country and I am seriously disappointed. Its not moving forward; instead, its moving backwards. Last Sunday when I was having dinner at a Malay area, I saw a young girl wearing a veil; she must think its fashionable, but she knows not the repercussion of an Islamic state.

Money I dont have much, but stories and experience I do have bag full.

In two years I plan to come back to Malaysia and do day trading.

If if things go as planned I can live anywhere in the would. I would probably live in Taipei/Phuket/China depending on the season.

Well thats my live story. As for now I am waiting to see who is my next life partner!

Sorry if I am a bit long winded! rclxm9.gif

perkinsonline
post Apr 12 2011, 02:24 AM

72 posts

QUOTE(mea05key @ Apr 12 2011, 02:15 AM)
You have interesting stories to tell and sorry to hear about your relationship. Time will heal.

May I ask what you will be working as in Singapore? Sounds like investment banking.
Thanks, you're right time will heal my wounds.

I was thinking about that but I could not pass my CFA.

I am an English Teacher.

Investment Banking is a great field but I dont think I would be able to do it.

The whole world is in a mess because of banking; well thats my own opinion and another story. If you know about the American mortgage fall out and how it happened you will know why.

Oh, one more bit, my major was international business management. So I do know a bit about finance.

Question, If u were to choose between a Diploma from Cambridge or a Masters from Monash, which would you choose?

This post has been edited by perkinsonline: Apr 12 2011, 02:26 AM
perkinsonline
post Apr 12 2011, 03:16 AM

72 posts

QUOTE(mea05key @ Apr 12 2011, 02:58 AM)
Teaching, honourable profession that is!
Yeah, but most money comes from investment banking, the pressure is there, can't imagine how those fund managers tolerate the stress level. Its already that stressful looking at the index for a 3 dollar share that I bought recently. 
For your question, since you have a choice to do a masters, I suspect that you have already obtained your bachelor degree. In terms of course content, I suspect a master course will benefit you. I see no point moving a step backwards and learn something that you probably already know. I am not sure on which level are you planning on do your teaching but to teach in a university as a lecturer you will need at least a Masters in the relevant subject. Although Cambridge reputation exceeds Monash and employers do check out in this point when they hire their people, it's still not worth it. Another thing I can advise is for you to check the university ranking table for the specific course that you will be taking if you into comparing university's qualification.

Right now I am contemplating two options. Get my masters and get stuck in the rat race (work life) or get out and do day trading which entails studying by myself; which I am not good at.

I have been wanting to do day trading since a long time ago but never had the guts to do.

One of my old friends is currently doing it in London. He was a lawyer with his masters; he got sick of working for people and eventually went into it.

He's doing okay.

Talking about trading. I think holding a stock for a long time or short time is an emotional roller coaster ride. We need to master our emotions and have a game strategy. Easier said than done actually.
perkinsonline
post Apr 12 2011, 07:18 PM

72 posts

QUOTE(mercury8400 @ Apr 12 2011, 04:15 PM)
I completely opposite from you. My gf ask let me choose : 1) Go Singapore and forget about her or 2) Stay in msia wif her and together build our future. I weigh all my options and went to SG. I only live once and i'm sure gonna make full use of my youth before i settle down... but now single and lonely in SG. Haih...
True, our stories are different. You dont regret what you did, I did.
perkinsonline
post Apr 13 2011, 09:16 PM

72 posts

QUOTE(Aloong @ Apr 13 2011, 08:29 PM)
wow wat do u do that is so confidential?

i wanted to jump ship as well, but i prefer to secure my pr first, cos i super kiasu
I always quit and then take a break; then only find a new job.

In my last interview I met a China boss who emigrated to Singapore. The Chinaman boss's English was seriously "jialat".

Anyone got any crazy interview stories to share? biggrin.gif biggrin.gif
perkinsonline
post Apr 15 2011, 12:01 AM

72 posts

QUOTE(weihong @ Apr 14 2011, 11:41 PM)
I'm going to work in Singapore in June. Just wanted to know where is the best place to stay if my work location is at Beach Centre?

Some mys friend stay in Pungool.. but my potong pasir friend advise me to look somewhere else like Bugis.

SGD500-800 budget.
Try looking at:

http://www.flathub.com
http://www.easyroommate.com.sg

I'm looking for a place too but its hard to get a proper place. I am also moving to Singapore by the end of this month.

When I mean proper I mean a room with:

1.Air conditioning
2.Internet
3. Allowed cooking .....I'm a vegetarian and cook same thing always.....
perkinsonline
post Apr 15 2011, 12:19 AM

72 posts

QUOTE(seantang @ Apr 15 2011, 12:04 AM)
Internet... so much easier to get your own, rather than insist on the landlord providing it. I just renewed a 12 month mobile broadband contract with Singtel at $18.50 per month for a 2mbps 3G service.

Aircond, same thing. I negotiated a $100 per month reduction in rental if I buy my own aircond. After 2 years, if I move, landlord keeps the aircond. You can buy a very good aircond for much less than $2400.
Good idea!!

Aircond problem solved...

But lets say if I dont want 3G internet...I want broadband as I am heavy downloader...

If i get a landline internet when I move can I move it too?

I dont like 3G...its slow as hell ler...
perkinsonline
post Apr 15 2011, 12:41 AM

72 posts

QUOTE(seantang @ Apr 15 2011, 12:28 AM)
3G is broadband. I'm on just 2mbps and I can dl a gb in 1.5 hours if there are lots of seeds. Mobile bb speeds go up to 14.4mbps at Singtel and 21mbps at Starhub.

Granted, the bandwidth might not be as constant as cable, but unless you're gaming and need minimum latency, it's not a big issue.

But you can do cable. If the room has an existing cable tv point (for Starhub), then Starhub's cable service is a no brainer. But if there's no existing cable point or you want Singtel's cable bb, then it involves laying some cables, drilling, nailing etc... most landlords will not tolerate that if you're only renting a room.
Wow! U know a lot...

Whats the most minimum work broadband other than 3G internet?

What 3G internet package are u using now?

Thanks!!

perkinsonline
post Apr 15 2011, 01:04 AM

72 posts

QUOTE(seantang @ Apr 15 2011, 12:54 AM)
Besides cable and wireless, what other technology is there?

QUOTE(perkinsonline)
What 3G internet package are u using now?

Singtel mobile broadband. All 3 telcos have mobile broadband.
Is singtel 3g unlimited downloads?
How much for unlimited?

4 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0433sec    0.67    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 26th November 2025 - 04:23 AM